節日和活動

香港10月的賞心樂事

儘管天氣轉涼,但各式各樣精采活動於10月登場,氣氛依然熾熱,從佳餚到美酒,還有一些新穎別緻的新店開張

別過悶熱的颱風季節,迎來較為涼快清爽的日子,到了10月,香港有不少露天活動,讓大家享受戶外之樂。

Credit: Moonzen

在室外來一杯可能份外可口,一眾本地咖啡烘焙師和手工啤酒釀酒師分別於10月11至13日及18至20日雲集海港城,在Brew in the City活動中一展實力。而在附近的尖沙咀海濱長廊,奧地利藝術家Erwin Wurm以VW露營車改裝成造型宛如熱狗的公共藝術作品「熱狗巴士」,本月它會停留在K11 Musea,為大眾帶來肉汁豐盈的The Butchers Club熱狗餐。到了10月26日,手工啤酒音樂節Rotten Head Music and Craft Beer Festival假東涌舉行,為入場人士獻上「鬼佬涼茶」(即啤酒)和現場音樂表演。

Left:Col Sim - colsimphotography.com; Right: Courtesy/Nectar

至於其他美食新動向,似乎由女子獨領風騷,先有知名素食女主廚Peggy Chan在上環開設全新概念餐廳Nectar,旨在利用全植物食材炮製高級料理。而擁有葡萄酒大師專業認證的Debra Meiburg MW則在10月11日於香港金融大會堂舉辦女性葡萄酒節Women of Wine Festival,以表揚在釀酒界表現優秀的女性,同場更有啟發人心的講座和品酒活動。

至於贏得2019年James Beard年度廚師新星的Kwame Onwuachi,會在10月16至19日從美國華盛頓重臨香港,於Test Kitchen期間限定晚餐系列大展其非洲加勒比海廚藝功架。

如果藝術和美食都是你的杯中茶,記得預訂Secret Theatre互動劇場,體驗結合《沉默的羔羊》及《黑鏡》的劇場表演,以及名廚美饌的雙重享受。這項別開生面的表演在前中區警署改建的最新文化地標大館的牢房內進行,邀請觀眾融入劇中,身臨其境協助警探抓到真正的犯人。觀眾更可憑入場券,於表演前或結束後前往名廚David Thompson備受讚譽的高級泰菜餐廳Aaharn享用可口菜餚。

Credit: Courtesy/Women of Wine

令人心驚膽顫的氣氛延續至海洋公園哈囉喂全園祭,園內六個鬼域聚集了大量猛鬼和妖魔鬼怪,讓你從頭嚇到尾。從下午5時至夜色深濃,待得愈晚,氣氛愈恐怖。坐落在鰂魚涌的香港東隅亦加入萬聖節行列,天台酒吧Sugar (Bar.Deck.Lounge) 於10月28日至11月2日供應萬聖節主題雞尾酒,包括Freddy’s Martini、Sugar Elm Street和Night Mare等;Feast (Food by East) 則於10月31日萬聖節當天舉行面部彩繪工作坊和造型派對,讓一家大小享受豐富美食之餘,更能感受萬聖節氛圍。

從面部彩繪到美妝,城中多個新登場的美容品牌,保證你在10月更加明艷照人,由國際巨星Rihanna成立的美妝品牌Fenty Beauty已正式進駐香港,各式妝品在DFS旗下的T廣場Harvey Nichols,以及在國際金融中心商場新開業的Sephora旗艦店有售。另外荷蘭大熱品牌Rituals在8月進駐銅鑼灣時代廣場,備有琳琅滿目的家品及美體精品,並已於國際金融中心商場開設第二間分店,足以令你患上選擇困難症。

活動一覽

11月22至24日: Clockenflap音樂節

12月5至7日: DesignInspire

12月19至29日: 芭蕾舞劇《胡桃夾子》

1月25日: 農曆新年

國泰航空設有由香港飛往全球逾100個城市的航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Festivals and events

Best Things to Do in Hong Kong in October

The weather might be cooling but there are plenty of hot events to check out this October, from dining to drinking and a few chic openings across the city

We’re waving goodbye to typhoon season and welcoming cooler, dryer climes – and Hongkongers can’t wait to head outdoors. Luckily, there’s a wealth of open-air events this October.

Credit: Moonzen

At Harbour City, local coffee roasters and craft beer makers descend for Brew in the City (11-13 and 18-20 October). Nearby along the Tsim Sha Tsui promenade, The Hot Dog Bus – Austrian artist Erwin Wurm’s playfully droopy VW campervan (that looks as if it’s had a few hot dogs…) – serves up juicy renditions from The Butchers Club. It’s parked outside the new K11 Musea this month. And the Rotten Head Music and Craft Beer Festival (26 October) serves pints of hoppy nectar from local breweries alongside live music and plates of food in Tung Chung.

Left:Col Sim - colsimphotography.com; Right: Courtesy/Nectar

Speaking of Nectar, that’s the name of chef Peggy Chan’s new restaurant concept in Sheung Wan, which offers a high-end, plant-based tasting menu experience. In other female foodie news, Master of Wine Debra Meiburg celebrates the grape through her Women of Wine Festival (11 October, HKEX Connect Hall), with inspiring talks and indulgent tastings.

Credit: Courtesy/Women of Wine

Kwame Onwuachi – who won the 2019 James Beard Rising Star Chef of the Year award – returns to Hong Kong from Washington, DC, for a pop-up dinner series at Test Kitchen that showcases his Afro-Caribbean cooking (16-19 October).

For an art and food pairing, book the Secret Theatre Project – billed as ‘Silence of the Lambs meets Black Mirror’. Set in the cells of former police headquarters turned cultural landmark Tai Kwun, the immersive play invites you to help figure out whether the police have got the right suspect. Tickets can include either a pre- or post-show meal at chef David Thompson’s lauded Thai restaurant Aaharn.

The thrills and chills continue at the Ocean Park Halloween Fest, where ghosts and things that go thump in the night take over the park’s six haunted zones. Things kick off at 5pm – and the later you stay, the bigger the scares get… while at East Hong Kong in Quarry Bay, visitors to its rooftop bar Sugar can indulge in a few novelty cocktails including Freddy’s Martini, Sugar Elm Street and Night Mare from 28 October-2 November; and families dining at Feast (Food by East) on the 31 October can tuck into a wicked spread of treats while enjoying face painting and themed workshops.

Moving on from face paint to cosmetics, check out the new beauty options in town. Pop sensation Rihanna’s inclusive make-up line Fenty Beauty has launched in select outlets such as DFS’ T Galleria and Harvey Nichols. You’ll also find it in the new Sephora flagship that’s launched in Central’s IFC mall. Having made its Asia debut in Causeway Bay’s Times Square mall in August, leading Dutch cosmetics company Rituals now brings its luxurious home and body products to a second shop in IFC. You’ll be spoilt for choice.

Planning Ahead

22-24 November: Clockenflap

5-7 December: DesignInspire

19-29 December: The Nutcracker

25 January: Lunar New Year

Cathay Pacific flies to Hong Kong from more than 100 cities worldwide

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book