藝術和文化

香港6月的賞心樂事

隨著夏天到來,城中有眾多餐廳及和展覽相繼開幕,頓成本月清涼避暑好去處

踏入六月,香港炎熱潮濕的夏天正馬力全開,人人都在尋找避暑的方法。

或許這意味著你可以在香港的優質沙灘上嬉水,(把孩子們丟在在大嶼山貝澳海灘上的Treasure Island衝浪學校,然後自己大嘆冷飲和小食吧!);或者偷偷溜走上船,去南丫島長洲等風大的島嶼,或去鮮為人知但地貌醒目的東平洲

不過,在城市裡也有同樣棒的事情正在發生,那可是在室內有空調的地方……

美食動態

Mama-Always-Said-Country-Ham-Scarmoza-pressed-sandwich-Cured-Anchovies-Tomato-Confit

這個月,香港迎來一批新開和快閃的餐廳。首先是位於中環卑利街的Mamma Always Said,這是一家悠閒自在的餐廳,全日提供餐飲服務。先來一杯內格羅尼,然後再點一份讓人舒服的經典美食,譬如鄉村風的火腿芝士番茄三文治。更棒的是,現在電郵至hey@mammashk.com,即可在新張期間享受8折優惠。

在雲咸街附近,Black Sheep Restaurants推出了最新的概念餐廳──Crown Super Deluxe,它是一家以60年代東京為靈感的鐵板燒店,主打烤和牛及其他高級產品。

同樣在6月開業的還有以美食廣場作構想的Base Hall,它在中環怡和大廈地庫匯集了幾個餐廳概念。你可以品嚐到來自植物專家TREEHOUSE的一口美味、由Yardbird幕後主力製作的Roti Tori日式烤雞、Honbo漢堡、Co Thanh的越南街頭美食、墨西哥餐廳11 Westside的罕見菜色、本地手工啤酒的英雄人物少爺Cookie DPT的甜點。

Zuma-sushi-platter

另外,為慶祝餐廳成立13周年,現代居酒屋Zuma將於6月12至14日推出生日試吃菜單,將其2002年在倫敦開設Zuma時的菜單原汁原味重新推出。同時,它還將於6月20至21日推出父親節週末早午餐,並附有任添香檳的選項,讓你寵壞爸爸。

在金鐘,Cookie Department Pop-Up繼續在Instagram上大肆宣傳,吸引美食愛好者到奕居。在6樓The Lawn的戶外綠色空間上,由即日起至8月30日每天都會有該品牌的美式大塊曲奇供應。你可在此品嚐到特別為奕居設計的朱古力粒布朗尼蛋糕和伯爵茶等口味。

來自美國的Red Lobster落戶銅鑼灣,並在6月推出名為Endless Shrimp的促銷活動。只需HK$198,即可任食六款蝦類菜餚,包括爆谷蝦、椰子蝦及龍蝦奶油醬蝦意粉,同時可任吃車打芝士餅乾,讓你大飽口福。

文藝薰陶

在悠閒的大坑,The Shophouse將戰前的傳統唐樓改造成了一個4,000呎的畫廊空間,並在五層樓中的三層展出不同藝術家的作品。開幕展覽包括陶藝家Steve Harrison、時裝設計師Kiko Kostadinov及畫家Ben Edmunds的作品,展期至6月28日。

Tai-Kwun-They-Do-Not-Understand-Each-Other-Installation-view

這個夏天,大館將重新開放並舉辦兩個展覽。19位來自日本、新加坡、韓國、波多黎各、泰國等國家的藝術家在展覽《言語不通》(即日至9月13日)中,探索理解、誤解和包容的主題,在陌生中尋求共同點;而在《承受著自身的姿態》的展覽中,則包括了陳沁昕、Thea Djordjadze、Jason Dodge、Eisa Jocson和Pratchaya Phinthong的委託作品,實驗「雕塑」和形式的概念(即日至至9月1日)。

K11-Art-Mall-Peanuts-André-SaraivaxMr.A
K11-Art-Mall-Peanuts-Global-Artist-Collective-Viewing-Room

為紀念《花生》誕生70週年,K11購物藝術館將舉辦花生漫畫全球藝術家聯盟期間限定店,展出限量版收藏品、40多張海報版畫和15個迷你小塑像,向史諾比、查理.布朗和Charles M Schulz創作的其他成員致敬。

CHAT-Kato-Izumi-Museum-From-Home
Credit: CHAT (Centre for Heritage, Arts and Textile), Hong Kong

現在還有時間參觀正在荃灣南豐紗廠舉行的《意象連綿:方法的彌合與觀念的縱橫》,展覽由即日起於CHAT六廠展出至7月26日。當中包括香港土生土長的藝術家楊嘉輝、駐居香港的日本藝術家加藤泉及南韓藝術家咸京我的作品。此外,CHAT最新推出#museumfromhome的計劃,讓你安坐家中也能享受到網上導賞、工作坊和了解藝術家的樂趣。

良心購物

最近在油麻地開業的二手雜貨店1ofaKind旨在支持露宿者,為他們提供就業機會。你可以在這裡逛逛#kindnessmatters的杯子、T恤和服裝及充滿愛心的二手家居用品,以支持露宿者慈善機構ImpactHK﹐也可以在這裡喝杯咖啡、吃點小食,在繁華的九龍區歇腳休息。

留港度假

雖然現在我們都只能對下一趟海外之旅發白日夢,但留在香港最好的酒店,寵愛自己、享受泳池和精緻餐飲也相當不錯。查看時下留港度假最佳酒店精選,馬上預訂吧!

精采預告

7月15-21日:香港書展

8月13-17日:香港美食博覽

9月2日:盂蘭節

9月13日:中秋節

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

Best Things to Do in Hong Kong in June

As summer rolls in, we’re grateful for an uptick in restaurant openings and exhibitions that will keep things cool this month

It’s June, which means Hong Kong’s famously hot and humid summer is in full force. So we’re all looking for ways to cool off this month.

That might mean splashing around Hong Kong’s best beaches (on Lantau Island, drop the kids at Treasure Island’s surf school on Pui O beach, while you indulge in a few cold drinks and snacks) or slinking off on a ferry to windswept islands like Lamma, Cheung Chau or lesser-known Tung Ping Chau with its eye-catching geological formations.

But there are some equally cool things happening in the city – namely indoors, where there’s air conditioning…

Dining News

Mama-Always-Said-Country-Ham-Scarmoza-pressed-sandwich-Cured-Anchovies-Tomato-Confit

Hong Kong is welcoming a fresh batch of restaurants and pop-ups this month. First up, laid-back all-day-dining and drinking spot Mamma Always Said on Central’s Peel Street. Start with a negroni before tucking into comforting classics like country-style ham sandwiches oozing with cheese and a tomato. Better still, email hey@mammashk.com for 20 per cent off your bill during the soft launch.

Nearby on Wyndham Street, Black Sheep Restaurants debuts its latest concept – Crown Super Deluxe, a teppanyaki spot inspired by ’60s Tokyo and grilling wagyu beef and other premium ingredients.

Also opening in June is food court concept Base Hall, bringing together several concepts in the basement of Jardine House in Central. Check out tasty morsels from plant-based specialists TREEHOUSE; Japanese-style rotisserie chicken from the people behind Yardbird at Roti Tori; Honbo burgers; Vietnamese street food at Co Thanh; an outpost of Mexican restaurant 11 Westside; local craft brew heroes Young Master Ales; and sweet treats from Cookie DPT.

Zuma-sushi-platter

Meanwhile, modern izakaya Zuma turns 13 and marks the occasion with a Birthday Tasting Menu (12-14 June) reviving dishes from the opening of the original Zuma in London back in 2002. It’s also running a Father’s Day weekend brunch (20-21 June), with the option of free-flow champagne if you really want to spoil dad.

In Admiralty, the Cookie DPT pop-up continues to dominate Instagram stories and draw foodies to The Upper House. The brand’s beloved American-style (and sized…) cookies are available daily at the outdoor terrace of The Lawn on Level 6 until 30 August. Tuck into flavours such as brownie filled with chocolate chip and the ‘Earl Gray’, designed especially for The Upper House.

American import Red Lobster in Causeway Bay is offering an Endless Shrimp promotion for the month of June. For HK$198, you get all-you-can-eat portions of six shrimp dishes including popcorn shrimp, coconut shrimp and shrimp pasta with lobster cream sauce – with unlimited Cheddar Bay biscuits to mop it all up.

Getting Cultured

In sleepy Tai Hang, The Shophouse has turned a pre-war traditional tong lau into a 4,000 square-foot gallery space, showcasing works by different artists over three of its five storeys. Opening exhibitions include works from ceramist Steve Harrison, fashion designer Kiko Kostadinov and painter Ben Edmunds, and run until 28 June.

Tai-Kwun-They-Do-Not-Understand-Each-Other-Installation-view

Tai Kwun reopens with two exhibitions this summer. Nineteen artists from Japan, Singapore, South Korea, Puerto Rico, Thailand and beyond seek to find common ground in the unfamiliar through exploring themes of understanding, miscommunication and tolerance in They Do Not Understand Each Other (until 13 September), while My Body Holds Its Shape comprises commissioned works by Tap Chan, Thea Djordjadze, Jason Dodge, Eisa Jocson and Pratchaya Phinthong experimenting with concepts of sculpture and form (until 1 September).

K11-Art-Mall-Peanuts-André-SaraivaxMr.A
K11-Art-Mall-Peanuts-Global-Artist-Collective-Viewing-Room

To mark the 70th anniversary of Peanuts, K11 Art Mall is hosting a Peanuts Global Artist Collective Pop-up, with limited-edition collectibles and over 40 poster prints and 15 figurines paying tribute to Snoopy, Charlie Brown and the rest of the gang from Charles M Schulz’s beloved comic.

Mill-CHAT-Kato-Izumi-Museum-From-Hom
Credit: CHAT (Centre for Heritage, Arts and Textile), Hong Kong

And there’s still time to catch the ongoing Unconstrained Textiles: Stitching Methods, Crossing Ideas, showing until 26 July at the Centre for Heritage, Arts and Textile at The Mills in Tsuen Wan – including works by Hong Kong’s own Samson Young, Hong Kong-based Japanese artist Kato Izumi and South Korean artist Ham Kyungah. CHAT’s newly launched #museumfromhome initiative also lets you dive into online tours, workshops and artist from the comfort of home.

Shopping with a Conscience

Recently opened 1ofaKind in Yau Ma Tei is a thrift-shop with a strong charitable mission to support by the homeless by providing them with employment opportunities in the shop. It’s a fun place to browse its collection of #kindnessmatters mugs, t-shirts and clothing which supports homeless charity ImpactHK and pre-loved homewares – or simply a place to stop off for a coffee and snacks while explore the bustling Kowloon neighbourhood.

Holidays Close to Home

While we’re all dreaming of our next overseas getaway, staycations in Hong Kong’s best hotels are the next best thing – offering some pampering, pools and good-value dining. Check out the best Hong Kong hotel staycations to book right now.

Planning Ahead

15-21 Jul: Hong Kong Book Fair

13-17 Aug: Hong Kong Food Expo

2 Sep: Hungry Ghost Festival

13 Sep: Mid-Autumn Festival

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book