餐飲美食

香港12月的賞心樂事

12月的香港是充滿節慶歡樂的季節,不妨到多間型格新餐廳和酒吧品味佳餚,同時參與各項佳節慶祝活動

飲食男女

在聖誕佳節盡情吃喝,添上一點幸福肥,就像在夏天塗防曬品那樣自然不過。以下幾間新開業的餐廳,是你快樂地增磅的好去處。

Black Sheep Restaurants餐飲集團旗下擁有多間提供不同國家菜式的食府,最近更再添一員:在灣仔開設的意大利托斯卡尼小餐館Associazione Chianti呈奉窩心家鄉菜,包括自家風乾及以托斯卡尼烤爐烹調的厚切安格斯牛肉。附近J Senses則有另一家全新的泰國餐廳Ruam,那裡氣氛輕鬆舒適,設有一個綠蔭下的室外用餐區,讓客人享用各式大受歡迎的經典美食,如香氣四溢的紅咖哩鴨腿、炒河粉和芒果糯米飯。

一海之隔,尖沙咀同樣教一眾食客趨之若鶩。尖沙咀1881公館本月迎來壽司大師荒木水都弘的江戶前壽司店The Araki,他是唯一一名先後在東京和倫敦均摘下米芝蓮三星的日本大廚。餐廳只有12個座位,快珍惜難能可貴的機會品味日本進口的頂級海產,以及利用瀨尿蝦和花膠等香港食材炮製的壽司。至於同區的棉登徑則開設傳統福岡博多串燒專門店Kido,除了燒雞串燒讓你填飽肚子,還有不少蔬菜和其他輕怡選擇。

Test Kitchen亦推出多款由不同名廚炮製的期間限定菜單, 當中包括香港出生的愛爾蘭大廚鈞仔,把第二家鄉的滋味和靈感引入香港,於12月4至6日呈奉八道帶有香港特色的現代愛爾蘭佳節風味;Devon Hou和Christopher Ho則於12月19至22日攜手送上聖誕美食活動,普天同慶。

最近開業的豪華酒店香港瑰麗酒店多間餐廳和酒吧亦陸續開業:Asaya Kitchen主打營養豐富和可持續發展食材的菜式,專為講求健康養生的食客而設;Bayfare Social 則在猶如美食市場的環境提供全天候餐飲,有大廚Álvaro Ramos的西班牙小菜美食;還有美式牛扒餐廳Henry可滿足嗜肉的老饕; 而只招待女士的酒吧XX(名字來自女性的染色體), 如想造訪這間裝潢華麗的酒吧,你要先掀起絲絨布幕,並輸入密碼才可進入。盛載甜品的胃蠢蠢欲動了?法國糕餅大師Dominique Ansel在尖沙咀剛開設當文歷餅店,人氣甜品牛角包冬甩就是由他創製的。

快樂聖誕

雖然現在天氣還不算太嚴寒,但全城已瀰漫熱鬧歡騰的佳節氣氛。金鐘的太古廣場搖身變為聖誕印刷工場,讓你自製大型的聖誕卡送給摯愛,還有其他美輪美奐的裝飾佈置和聖誕工作坊,讓你沉浸於美好的節日氛圍中。

中環的置地廣塲則帶來聖誕小熊村莊,透過一系列手機互動擴增實境體驗,把傳統聖誕小鎮角落和風景都變得栩栩如生,仿如置身異地。至於港島南區的赤柱廣場,於12月7及8日、14及15日和21及22日舉行一年一度的聖誕市集,超過50多個攤位提供各式各樣的禮品及購物禮遇,買個痛快!

九龍方面,香港朗廷酒店精心準備了一系列「情迷倫敦聖誕」慶祝活動,包括大堂換上英倫街頭的節日佈置、所有餐廳推出應節特色美饌,如廷廊的「情迷倫敦聖誕」下午茶,以及夢幻聖誕住宿體驗優惠,提供豪華轎車來回酒店至機場接送服務、套房内擺放聖誕樹和聖誕主題兒童帳幕等,更送上雙人下午茶,為每位客人送上佳節祝福。

娛樂至上

香港芭蕾舞團繫好舞鞋,在12月19至29日於香港文化中心送上經典聖誕舞劇《胡桃夾子》;而12月18日至1月5日,亞洲國際博覽館亦會首度於香港公演百老匯音樂劇《獅子王》,讓觀眾感受愛的力量。

Dean Alexander/Courtesy of Hong Kong Ballet

如果你追求驚險刺激的機動遊戲和合家歡的攤位活動,12月12日起可到中環海濱的友邦嘉年華盡情暢玩;同一時間,歐陸雜技團亦再次回歸,帶來一系列前所未見的精湛雜技表演、空中飛人和亡命摩托車演出,令人嘖嘖稱奇。

九龍灣PORTAL 6311於12月20日至3月1日則舉辦Banksy:天才或破壞王」展覽,展出70多件這位英國街頭藝術家的佳品,讓大家認識他充滿諷刺意味的創作和尖銳的社會評論,並以影音裝置進一步了解這位引發諸多爭議的創作人,不容錯過。

最後,澳門巴黎人於12月14日至1月12日請來心理魔術師松明表演《心靈駭客》,以他令人迷失心智的讀心法和催眠法,讓你享受一場神奇而療愈的心靈之旅。他是否亞洲的意念控制大師Derren Brown?留待你自行分曉。

精采預告

1月25日:農曆新年

2月9日:香港馬拉松

2月10至15日:Start Me Up HK 創業節

3月19至21日:巴塞爾藝術展

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Best Things to Do in Hong Kong in December

Tis the season for festive fun and feasting in Hong Kong this December. Celebrate with chic new restaurants, bars and Christmas events around town

Eat and Drink

Putting on the pounds at Christmas is as natural as putting on sunscreen in summer, so get a head start on your festive padding with these new restaurant openings.

The Black Sheep Restaurants group adds another outlet to its international flock – this time bringing the soulful flavours of Tuscany to trattoria-style Associazione Chianti in Wan Chai. Highlights include prime cuts of Black Angus beef, dry aged in-house and finished on the Tuscan broiler. Round the corner, new casual Thai restaurant Ruam serves up a menu of classic favourites such as aromatic gaeng phed ped yang (red curry with duck leg), pad see ew (fried flat noodles) and mango stick rice on its leafy al fresco terrace in J Senses.

Across the harbour, droves of diners are heading to Tsim Sha Tsui to check out a flurry of new dining destinations. The Araki at House 1881 opens this month, led by Mitsuhiro Araki – the only Japanese chef to achieve three Michelin stars in both Tokyo and London. At just 12 seats, it’s a rarified way to experience locally sourced seafood, such as mantis shrimp and fish maw, plus premium seafood imported from Japan. Or if you prefer more casual environs: Kido has opened on Minden Avenue with a traditional Fukuoka-style hakata-ku skewer bar. Expect all the yakitori chicken skewers you can handle, alongside healthy and veggie-friendly options.

The latest in Test Kitchen’s series of pop-up menus by notable chefs features Hong Kong-born, Ireland-raised chef Kwanghi Chan, who brings the flavours and inspirations of his adopted country back to his roots with an eight-course feast of contemporary Irish cooking with hints of Hong Kong (4-6 December). A four-hands Christmas feast event follows with chefs Devon Hou and Christopher Ho (19-22 December).

The city’s newest luxury hotel, the Rosewood Hong Kong, has also debuted a host of new dining options. There’s the nutritious and sustainable menu options in Asaya Kitchen for wellness seekers; all-day dining with a food-market feel at Bayfare Social (featuring chef Álvaro Ramos’ tapas-inspired menu); and American steakhouse Henry. The hotel has also welcomed XX, a women-only speakeasy (named after the pair of XX chromosomes) housed in a luxurious velvet-draped parlour for which you’ll need a password to access. For dessert, stroll over to Dang Wen Li, the new bakery in Tsim Sha Tsui from Dominique Ansel, the French pastry chef and inventor of the cronut (a croissant-doughnut hybrid).

Be Merry

The weather outside is not exactly frightful, but the Yuletide spirit spreading through town is delightful. Admiralty’s Pacific Place mall celebrates with a series of decorative installations and workshops including Santa’s Printing House, allowing you to customise your own giant pop-up Christmas card.

Over in Central, the Landmark mall presents Santa Paws Village. Through a series of augmented reality experiences delivered to your mobile, the billboards and buildings burst into life to reveal classic Christmas scenes. And on the Southside, Stanley Plaza hosts its annual Christmas market with more than 50 booths selling gift items and treats (7-8, 14-15, 21-22 December).

In Kowloon, The Langham Hong Kong pays tribute to its heritage with ‘Christmas in London’ decorations in the lobby; festive menus at all its dining outlets including Palm Court’s Christmas in London afternoon tea; and a Magical Christmas room package, including round-trip limousine airport transfer, a Christmas tree and themed in-suite play tent for children and afternoon tea for two.

Be Entertained

The Hong Kong Ballet laces up for The Nutcracker at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre (19-29 December) while The Lion King makes audiences feel the love at AsiaWorld Expo (18 December-5 January).

Hong Kong, best thing to do in December
Dean Alexander/Courtesy of Hong Kong Ballet

If adrenaline-spiking rides and funfair games are more your thing, get down to the Central Harbourfront for the return of the AIA Carnival (from 12 Dec). Also returning is The Great Circus of Europe, featuring acrobats, high-wire acts and death-defying motorcyclists.

Over at Portal 6311 in Kowloon Bay, Banksy: Genius or Vandal (20 December-1 March) serves up a healthy dose of satirical works and spiky social commentary in an impressive audio-visual exhibition of more than 70 of the British street artist’s pieces.

Finally, Halloween may be long gone but if you want another trick, mentalist Tonny Jan performs his brand of mind-melting psychology and hypnosis in his Mind Hacker show at The Parisian Macao (14 December-12 January). Asia’s Derren Brown? You decide…

Plan Ahead

25 January: Chinese New Year

9 February: Hong Kong Marathon

10-15 February: Start Me Up HK Festival

19-21 March: Art Basel

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book