自然和户外

亞洲最佳觀星地點

請隨我們的觀星指南,前往亞洲最適合欣賞夢幻星空的地點

在星光點點的夜空中,肉眼可辨識的星星多達五千顆,流星則平均每小時有16顆。然而,全球大部分地區都不太容易看到銀河系,尤其在霓虹燈不滅、空氣污染嚴重的亞洲城市,觀星的機會更是渺茫。

不過只要離開亞洲主要城市,就有機會來一趟欣賞廣袤無邊、浩瀚群星的旅程。過去五年中,日本和韓國已相繼成為全亞洲最早獲得星空保護區認證的國家。偏遠海灘和山區的酒店及時掌握得天獨厚的優勢,透過興建天文觀測台及聘請天文學家,吸引喜愛觀星的遊客前來。

老撾的安縵塔迦

除了辨識星座或使用專業望遠鏡的樂趣之外,觀星者還可以體驗滿月冥想、徒步觀星、佛教占星術等長期在亞洲文化深具意義的活動。

欣逢2019年7月20日是阿波羅太空船登月50周年,不妨前往其中一個亞洲最佳觀星地點,既可慶祝這個偉大的日子,同時領略一下探索無垠太空的「星」動體驗。

馬爾代夫芭環礁

長期以來,許多遊客為了馬爾代夫水晶般清澈的海水、珊瑚海灘及豪華度假村慕名而來。不過近年來,人們意識到這個海島沒有人工照明和空氣污染,因此也是觀星的理想地點,再加上在絢麗的日落時分,海水會出現綠色的熒光現象,令這片世外桃源增加更多吸引力。馬爾代夫位於赤道附近,太陽和月亮上升的角度幾乎垂直,弦月的左右兩側朝上彎曲,形狀如碗,十分特別。經常有觀星者表示以肉眼看到南十字星、獵戶座最亮和第二亮的星星(分別為紅色和藍色的超巨星),或是用雙筒望遠鏡看到仙女座星系、金牛座的南群星,以及被形容為「珠寶盒星團」的彩色NGC 4755星團。望遠鏡還可以窺見更遠的距離,如蟹狀星雲大麥哲倫星系、煙圈、雙星及綽號為木星幽靈的NGC 3242星團等。

住宿地點:

2018年,馬爾代夫克哈瓦島安納塔拉別墅度假酒店推出了Sky雞尾酒吧和天文觀測台,配備了功能強勁的專業級40厘米Meade LX200望遠鏡,以及多款以天文星象為靈感的雞尾酒,如以著名太空人命名的Buzz、Hitchhiker以及Circle of the Sun等。2019年7月20日是登月50周年紀念,酒店籌備了一個名叫「Eagle Has Landed」的節日,客人可在深夜或清晨時與駐場天文學家共進早餐。

日本八重山群島

西表石垣國立公園座落在沖繩縣最南端的八重山群島之間,遠離東京的璀璨燈光,是日本第一個「星空保護區」。公園於2018年獲得臨時認證,為達到認證標準,地區政府承諾遵守嚴格規定,五年內將石垣市住宅區的光害降至規定範圍。這些改變亦使海豚、紅海龜、鯨鯊、琉球角鶚及野貓等多種野生動物受益。八重山群島的居民不同於一般日本人,他們比較接近千年前已懂觀測星象導航的波利尼西亞民族,因此當地有不少跟宇宙星辰有關的民間傳說。另一邊廂,波照間島擁有一座星空觀測塔,遊客可從4月下旬至6月中旬,透過塔內的200毫米折射望遠鏡觀測南十字星。

Credit:Hoshizora Tourism Ltd

住宿地點:

從石垣島乘搭快艇前往竹富島只需15分鐘,島上的Kaiji海灘以星砂而聞名,傳說這些星形的沙粒是被海蛇吞下的星星小孩,實際上,這是海洋原生物死後留下的外骨骼。入住竹富島虹夕諾雅,你可以嘗試Tinnu漂浮體驗,由水療師引導你躺入度假村中央窪地的水池,雙眼凝視夜空,想像自己與水融於一體、漂浮於太空之中。另外還有深呼吸練習、海邊夜間野餐、繁星下的水療護理及其他觀星活動。

老撾龍坡邦

老撾與泰國最近攜手展開一項湄公河天文計劃,目的在於教育當地的青年天文學家,協助他們憑肉眼觀測水星、金星、火星、木星及土星等行星。夜空中的星辰是老撾文化中的重要元素,從國旗上的滿月圖案,以至宗教節日都跟天象有關。老撾的新年於4月舉行,標誌著黃道星座中的雙魚座進入白羊座,當地人會以潑水慶祝這個節日。佛教四旬齋節於7月滿月之日開始,直到10月滿月的出夏節進入高潮,當地人會在這一天將芭蕉葉折成的小船,放入蠟燭、焚香和小花朵裝飾,然後在月光下把小船放入河中。老撾的原居民苗族人相信亡靈住在空中,祭司能夠騎著神馬攀上天梯到達天堂,與亡靈溝通。今天,老撾仍有許多墳墓、寺廟及瑤族道教神屋的屋頂放置了金色的星狀飾物。

Credit: istock photo

住宿地點:

瑯勃拉邦的安縵塔迦以一座寧靜的法國殖民地宅邸改建而成,你可以在黃昏時,乘坐老式的木船遊覽湄公河,或是在僧侶帶領下,穿過漆黑的河流,沿途欣賞滿天星斗。今年雙子星流星雨的日期是12月,正是觀賞流星的最佳時機。此外,安縵塔迦可為客人安排滿月冥想課程、佛教占星及遊覽帕烏石窟等活動。

不丹中部

由於夜間沒有大氣光,加上位於高海拔的喜馬拉雅山上,使不丹成為天文學家嚮往的觀星天堂。這裡的天空被奉為聖地,特別是在新月期間,當地人堅信這是屬神的時間,神聖不可侵犯,信眾和天文學家都會在這段期間前往散落在全國20區山巔的寺廟膜拜。不丹首都廷布坐擁16世紀的Pangri Zampa修道院及不丹占星學院。位於首都以東的古城普納卡,處處可見明亮的曼陀羅圖形和黃道星象圖。廷布有一條路向上延伸,經過西藏難民村Hongtso,最後到達高3,116米山頂的Dochula通道,冷冽的空氣中,迴盪著滾動轉經輪的聲音和空靈的鈴鐺聲,感覺遠離塵囂,你可以透過望遠鏡,觀看天王星和海王星等遙遠行星。

Left: Alamy Stock Photo/Argus Photo

住宿地點:

位於不丹中部的民宿Sherab Dema Farmhouse提供傳統熱石浴,以燒得滾燙的石頭溫熱河水,然後在水中撒入艾蒿植物,據說具有療效。你還可以與當地人互動,聽他們講述不丹文化中與星星有關的民間傳說。另外,Remote Lands可安排登山觀星及兩天一夜的遠足露營行程,提供配備舒適吊床的豪華帳篷、高功率望遠鏡、私人廚師以及知識豐富的當地導遊,沿途解說佛教的天文傳說。

泰國沽島

曼谷以東300公里,距離柬埔寨邊境僅一箭之遙,沽島是一個擁有熱帶雨林及悠閒漁村的島嶼,沿著海灘和潟湖有一排露天的按摩院。人口稀少,加上地理位置偏遠,使小島得以發展可持續旅遊業,對於熱愛星雲和天文學的遊客而言,更是一個夢寐以求的觀星勝地。接近赤道的地點可以看到更多星星,沽島的位置得天獨厚,保證讓你享有夢幻般的觀星良機。除此之外,沽島也是觀賞2019年8月30日即將出現的超級黑月(一個月中的第二個新月)的最佳地點,屆時天上的星星將會顯得更加燦爛。

Credit: Paul Raeside

住宿地點:

索尼娃奇瑞擁有附設望遠鏡的天文觀測台、超過40,000個星體資料的數據庫,聘請一位天文學家坐鎮,協助客人計算木星的衛星數目、見證土星環的光輪,以及區分希臘星座及中國星座(如青龍星及白虎星)之間的異同。客人可以參加海灘的月光營火派對、於露天電影院欣賞電影同時觀星,或者坐在沽島古老雨林樹冠上的藤編樹屋內,一邊享用美饌一邊數算劃過天空的流星。2012年,太空人Buzz Aldrin應邀前來分享經驗,自此度假村便聘請天文學家開設相關課程。對於預算有限的人,以設計風格為賣點的旅館Bann Makok也是不錯的選擇,旅館備有皮划艇,只需15分鐘就抵達湖泊或海洋,即可享受不受打擾的觀星體驗。

韓國英陽郡

位於首爾東南約5小時車程的山區,英陽螢火蟲生態公園於2015年獲指定為亞洲首個星空保護區。遊客可以親眼見識流星和銀河系,還可以利用現場的天文望遠鏡,嘗試尋找月球隕石坑及數百光年之外的閃爍星球。公園籌備了講述星座故事的營火會,並將於2019年年底推出名為「Running Towards the Stars」的登山活動,以及安東壩的月光之旅。除了星光熠熠的天空,遊客還有機會看到閃閃發光的螢火蟲。由於本地農業禁止使用殺蟲劑,加上改善森林管理制度及社區合作降低光污染,使當地的螢火蟲數量在8月高峰期屢創新高。

住宿地點:

聯合國教科文組織世界文化遺產,狀似蓮花的安東河回村離螢火蟲生態公園約30分鐘車程,村內的韓屋根據傳統建築學風水而建,其中北村宅建於1811年。這座瓦頂貴族之家經過修復,增設了加熱地板、桑木趟門和陽台,客人可以坐在300年的神聖古松樹下,欣賞滿天繁星。

日本祖谷溪谷

為譽為日本的香格里拉,神秘的祖古溪谷森林密佈,蜿蜒的松綠色河流穿過藤蔓小橋,晚間則被一片永恆的夜空籠罩。河畔甚至還有露天風呂,附設賞月平台,觀賞流星雨適合不過。同樣位於德島縣的月見丘海濱公園,數百年來一直被視為欣賞月亮從瀨戶內海上升的最佳「月見」地點,縣內還設有一所天文觀測台。然而,若論最令人期待的觀星體驗,則要數日本初創公司ALE推出的人造流星雨,該公司透過發射微型人造衛星,創造全球首場人造流星雨,預計2020年春天於瀨戶內海的天空測試,成功的話將會把這項效果驚人的高科技運用在2020年的東京奧運。

Credit: Getty Images

住宿地點:

桃源鄉祖谷之山里將傳統茅草農舍重新整修成供遊客居住的民宿,備有榻榻米房間、古老家具、WiFi、火爐和科技化的Toto坐廁。多間小屋都位於偏遠的山間小路旁,清晨時,薄霧籠罩山谷,如夢似幻,夜幕低垂之後,黑漆漆的天空繁星點點,令人陶醉。你可以從地面看到距離地球最近的半人馬座星系、南魚座及其塵環,以及天蠍座中的紅色超巨星。幸運的話,還可能看到仙后座當中的V762 Cas,這是用肉眼辨識離地球最遠的恆星。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往首爾、馬爾代夫和曼谷;國泰航空亦設有前往琅勃拉邦的代號共享航班;國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往沖繩縣的航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

Best Places to Go Stargazing in Asia

Follow our star-studded guide to astrotourism across Asia

Fifteen thousand stars are visible to the naked eye every night, and on average 30 meteors are visible every hour. Yet in much of the world, you’re lucky if you can spot the Milky Way. Prospects are especially dim in Asia, with its 24/7 neon-lit cities and air pollution.

Move beyond Asia’s major urban areas, however, and an expanding universe of astrotourism opportunities presents itself. In the past five years, the continent got its first official dark sky reserves in Japan and South Korea. And hotels in farflung beach and mountain destinations are taking advantage of their dazzling night skies by opening observatories and hiring resident astronomers.

Amantaka resort in Laos

Beyond the thrill of identifying a constellation or using professional-grade telescopes, stargazers can experience full moon meditation sessions, stargazing hikes, Buddhist astrology readings and other offerings that tap into the enduring significance of the celestial in many Asian cultures.

To mark the 50th anniversary of the Apollo moon landing on 20 July 2019, why not capture a bit of that thrill of discovery by venturing to Asia’s best places for stargazing.

Baa Atoll, Maldives

Crystal clear waters, coral beaches and luxury resorts have long lured travellers to the Maldives. Lately, stargazing is an added draw as awareness spreads of the lack of artificial light and air pollution – plus the frequent green flash phenomena seen during its brilliant pink-hued sunsets. The equatorial latitude means that the sun and moon rise vertically, with the ‘horns’ of a crescent moon facing upwards, creating a floating bowl effect. Stargazers regularly report naked-eye sightings of the Southern Cross, Rigel and Betelgeuse (red and blue supergiants), while the Andromeda galaxy, the southern Pleiades and the colourful NGC 4755, known as the Jewel Box cluster, are visible through binoculars. Telescopes can pinpoint even more distant sites like the Crab nebula, Large Magellanic Cloud, smoke rings, double stars and the NGC 3242, nicknamed the Ghost of Jupiter.

Where to Stay:

In 2018, Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas Resort introduced its Sky verwater cocktail bar and observatory, complete with a powerful research-grade 40-centimetres Meade LX200 telescope and astro-inspired cocktails (the Buzz, after the famed moonwalker; the Hitchhiker; and Circle of the Sun to name a few). For the 50th anniversary of the moon landing on 20 July 2019, the hotel is throwing an ‘Eagle Has Landed’ fête, which includes a late night/early morning breakfast with the on-staff astronomer.

Yaeyama Islands, Japan

Far from the bright lights of Tokyo, in the southernmost stretch of Okinawa prefecture, is Yaeyama archipelago, where you’ll find Iriomote-Ishigaki National Park, Japan’s first International Dark Sky Park. To achieve that 2018 designation, the municipalities pledged to comply with strict light remittance regulations. Those changes also benefit the abundant wildlife: dolphins, loggerhead turtles, whale sharks, Ryukyu scops-owls and wild cats. Culturally distinct from the rest of Japan, Yaeyama islanders have been more aligned with Polynesians who have navigated by stars for millennia; their folklore, for instance, centres on celestial objects. For visitors, Hateruma Island has a Starry Sky Observatory Tower with a 20-millimetre refracting telescope installed and offers views of the Southern Cross from late April through mid-June.

Credit:Hoshizora Tourism Ltd

Where to Stay:

It’s a 15-minute express boat ride from Ishigaki to Taketomi, where Kaiji Beach is known for hoshizuna, star-shaped grains of sand believed to the children of stars eaten by sea serpents – but actually exoskeleton remains of marine protozoa. Continue on to Hoshinoya Taketomi, where you can try the Tinnu floating experience: a guide whirls you around the sunken pool with your gaze fixed to the sky, distorting your sense of depth and making it feel as if you’ve been catapulted into space. Also on offer are deep breathing full moon exercises, seaside nighttime picnics and spa treatments under the Seven Sisters and other glittering constellations.

Luang Prabang, Laos

Laos recently started a joint Mekong Astronomy programme with Thailand to educate budding local astronomers and help identify planets like Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn, all visible without equipment. The night sky is so fundamental to Laotian culture that the moon turns up on its flag and informs religious holidays. April’s Boun Pi Mai, Laotian New Year, is marked by the Buddhist zodiac’s passing from Pisces to Aries and water-throwing ceremonies. Khao Phansa, a Theravada Buddhist festival, starts during the full moon in July and culminates at Awk Phansa, when locals gather under a full October moon to release small banana-leaf boats decorated with candles, incense and small flowers. Hmong beliefs state that spirits reside in the sky, and a shaman can climb a ladder to the heavens on his magical horse and contact them. Golden stars still are placed on the rooves of many tombs, temples and Satsana Phi spirit houses.

Credit: istock photo

Where to Stay:

Luang Prabang’s Amantaka, a tranquil French colonial property, has a vintage wooden boat for Mekong sunset cruises and can arrange stargazing hikes with monks who lead you across the inky river – ideally timed to shooting star events like December 2019’s Geminid meteor showers. Amantaka can also arrange full moon meditation sessions, Buddhist astrology readings and excursions to the sacred Pak Ou caves.

Central Bhutan

Bhutan is an astronomer’s paradise, thanks to its lack of nightglow and high Himalayan altitude. The sky is sacred here, especially during the namgang (new moon). For locals, these are highly superstitious times devoted to deities, and temples atop mountain passes in all 20 dzongkhag (districts) swell with worshippers and astronomers alike. The capital city of Thimphu is home to the 16th century Pangri Zampa monastery and its College of Bhutanese Astrology. To the east, the ancient capital, Punakha, is adorned with bright mandalas and paintings of Buddhist zodiac. It’s accessed by a road from Thimphu that climbs up to the Tibetan refugee village of Hongtso before topping off at the 3,116-metre-high Dochula Pass where the clacking crank of prayer wheels and airy twinkling bells linger in the cold air – not a bad place to telescope distant planets like Uranus and Neptune.

Left: Alamy Stock Photo/Argus Photo

Where to Stay:

In central Bhutan, the Sherab Dema Farmhouse Homestay, has its own traditional hot stone bath strewn with artemisia plants and heated with fired river stones. Staying here is an opportunity to interact with locals and hear about the celestial influence on Bhutanese culture. Alternatively, Remote Lands can arrange stargazing hikes and overnight treks in luxury tents with plush cots, high-powered telescopes, a private chef and local guides specialised in astro-Buddhist legends.

Koh Kood, Thailand

Three hundred kilometres east of Bangkok and a stone’s throw from the Cambodian border is Koh Kood, an island of mossy rainforests, languid fishing villages and open-air massage parlours lined up along beaches and lagoons. A small population and remote location helps keep tourism here sustainable – a bonus for nebulae nerds and astro-geeks in search of dark skies. More constellations are visible closer to the equator, and Koh Kood’s favourable latitudinal position promises fantastic viewing opportunities. Indeed, it’s the best place to be for new moons like the Super Black Moon (a second new moon in one month) on 30 August 2019, when many constellations will be especially vibrant.

Credit: Paul Raeside

Where to Stay:

Soneva Kiri has its own observatory with a telescope, a database of more than 40,000 celestial sights and an astronomer who helps guests count the moons of Jupiter; witness the halo of Saturn’s rings; and differentiate between Hellenic constellations and Chinese constellations like Azure Dragon and White Tiger. Guests can attend beach bonfire moonrise parties, stargaze while watching movies alfresco, or spy meteor showers while dining in a bamboo pod up in the canopy of Koh Kood’s ancient rainforest. In 2012, Buzz Aldrin visited to share his experiences and astronomy experts have lectured since. For those on a budget, design-minded Bann Makok guesthouse provides sea kayaks for DIY stargazers who want solo time in the lagoon or in the open ocean, a 15-minute paddle away.

Yeongyang, South Korea

The mountainous Yeongyang region’s firefly park – a five-hour drive southeast from Seoul – was designated Asia’s first International Dark Sky Park in 2015. Visitors can spot meteors and the Milky Way with their own eyes, while on-site telescopes help identify the moon’s craters and blinking planets hundreds of light years away. The park organises campfire storytelling sessions about the constellations, and a hiking program called Running Towards the Stars will launch in late 2019 along with moonlit tours of Andong Dam. Apart from the star-studded sky, expect to see the twinkling of fireflies. The local firefly population, which typically peaks on August evenings, has soared thanks to a ban on agricultural pesticides, better forest management and community partnerships that limit light pollution.

Where to Stay:

Thirty minutes away is the lotus-shaped Hahoe Hanok Village, Unesco inscribed for its thatched homes organised according to pungsu, an astronomically derived system of building. The restored Bukchondaek, a tile-roofed noble house built in 1811, has heated floors, sliding mulberry bark screen doors and verandas where you can linger in awe of the night sky alongside a sacred 300-year-old pine tree.

Iya Valley, Japan

Nicknamed the Shangri-La of Japan, the mystical Iya Valley’s steep forests and snakelike turquoise rivers crossed by vine rope bridges are blanketed by pristine night skies. There are even riverside onsen (hot springs) with moon viewing platforms, well-suited to observing meteor showers. Also in Tokushima prefecture is Tsukimigaoka Seaside Park – known for centuries as a prime tsukimi spot for watching the moon emerge from the Seto Inland Sea – and the Tokushima Observatory. Perhaps most thrilling is the Shooting Star Challenge by Japanese start-up Ale, which launched a microsatellite that will create the world’s first artificial meteor shower, aiming to fill the Seto Inland Sea’s skies in spring 2020, a taste of the high-tech theatrics we can expect from Tokyo’s 2020 Olympics.

Credit: Getty Images

Where to Stay:

Togenkyou-Iya’s thatched minka farmhouses have been restored with tatami mat rooms, mid-century furniture, WiFi, irori fire pits and high-tech electronic Toto toilets. They’re located along remote mountain roadsides that deliver stunning views of the mist-shrouded valley in the morning and, by night, Iya’s wondrously charcoal black skies. From the grounds, you can see Alpha Centauri, the closest star to Earth; Fomalhaut and its ring of dust; and Antares, the bright red supergiant. If you’re lucky, you might catch a glimpse of V762 Cas, the farthest star from Earth visible with the naked eye, in the Cassiopeia constellation.

Cathay Pacific flies to Seoul, Maldives and Bangkok from Hong Kong; Cathay Pacific flies codeshare to Luang Prabang; Cathay Dragon flies to Okinawa.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book