開普敦

開普敦: 民族美食

到非洲美食之都開普敦大快朵頤

Khoi族原住民將開普敦桌山腳下土地肥沃的山谷稱為Camissa,意思是「甜水之地」。也許因此吸引荷蘭東印度公司的商人於1652年在這裡建立了一個休息站,這是撒哈拉沙漠以南的非洲首個歐洲移民聚居地。由於當地物產豐盛,於是日見繁榮,最終引起當時最強大的殖民者英國人的注意,並且於1795年將這個地方據為己有。

到了今天,開普敦可說仍是個休息站,四周有遍植葡萄樹的山巒、盛產蔬果的山谷及海產豐富的海岸,不愁缺乏佳餚美酒。這個城市以美食見稱,靠的就是在當地四周出產的眾多優質食材,令出色的大廚能充份發揮精湛的廚藝。無論是從市集的小食檔上買回來的Karoo羊肉三文治、biltong肉乾、烤得香噴噴的boerewors螺旋形南非香腸,還是農夫市集上出售的新鮮蔬菜或是香氣四溢的開普馬來菜,甚至是有七道菜的高級嚐味餐單,眾人吃過後都一致讚不絕口,可見水準普遍相當高。因此,來開普敦之前,記住不要吃飽。

Biesmiellah餐廳

準備出門作一日遊?一於到Biesmiellah餐廳搜羅一些開普馬來小食,以便沿途品嚐。餐廳位於舊稱馬來區的Bo-Kaap區Signal Hill山坡上的Wale Street街頂端,為當地穆斯林社區提供美食。餐廳做的咖哩角與dhaltjies都不容錯過。後者以鷹嘴豆粉及辛香料脆炸而成,當地人又稱為chilli bites(香辣炸餅),是地道風味小食。biesmiellah.co.za

Honest Chocolate朱古力店

我知道這次打賭必勝無疑:沿著Wale Street街前往Honest Chocolate朱古力店,如果你離開時竟然沒有選購一盒店內的朱古力,我就會將自己的一盒統統吃光。無論何時何地,小酌一杯都是一件樂事,Gin Bar酒吧就在同一條街上,離朱古力店不遠,酒吧供應的氈酒款式繁多,在城中數一數二,不妨順道前去。honestchocolate.co.za

OZCF Market Day墟市日

Oranjezicht City Farm市集位於Granger Bay灣V&A Waterfront碼頭上,是開普敦最佳的農夫市集。獨立經營的農夫會在這裡出售農作物,也有當地的手製美食如Stokkiesdraai出品的美味biltong肉乾,採用符合人道飼養、來自納米比亞和博茨瓦納的草飼牛製成。逢星期六上午9時至下午2時, ozcf.co.za

Neighbourgoods Market市集

它是城中最新潮的美食市集,位於別具一格的Woodstock區兩座相連的倉庫內。這裡出售的主要是熟食,而現場音樂表演與手工精釀啤酒則吸引不少年輕顧客前來。除了瀏覽美食攤檔之外,附近的Old Biscuit Mill村莊有大型購物商場,值得一逛。 逢星期六上午9時至下午3時,neighbourgoodsmarket.co.za

The Test Kitchen餐廳

由大廚Luke Dale-Roberts主理,位於Woodstock區內Old Biscuit Mill村莊內。這家餐廳是全球50最佳餐廳榜的常客,因此經常座無虛席。客人可於一個月前在網上訂座,但很快就滿座。萬一向隅,可到位於市中心的姊妹餐廳The Shortmarket Club,單點菜單上的每一道菜都十分可口。theshortmarketclub.co.za

Bilboa 餐廳

從餐廳的一樓可以望到風光如畫的Camps Bay海灘,最適宜於風和日麗的晴朗日子前去,來一杯以南非sauvignonblanc葡萄釀造的美酒,配上烹調出色的羊肉與海鮮菜式,度過美味時光。bilboa.co.za

國泰航空於11月14日推出每周三班由香港飛往開普敦的季節性航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cape Town

The best meals in Cape Town

PIPPA DE BRUYN discovers why Cape Town is Africa’s best food destination

The original Khoi inhabitants named the fertile valleys at the base of the Cape’s tabletop mountain Camissa, ‘place of sweet waters’. It was partly this that motivated the Dutch East India Company merchants to establish a refreshment station here in 1652, literally rooting the first European settlement in sub-Saharan Africa in a kitchen garden. The outpost flourished, inevitably drawing the attention of those arch colonialists, the British, who claimed it for themselves in 1795.

Today, Cape Town is still a refreshment station of sorts, surrounded by vineyard-clad mountains, fruitful valleys and a bountiful coast. The city’s gourmand reputation is based on the variety and quality of local produce, and the sublime surroundings in which it grows – in turn a strong drawcard for talented chefs. Whether you’re tucking into a Karoo lamb sandwich at a market stall, biltong (cured meat jerky), boerewors (the local spiral sausages) cooked on the braai, fresh vegetables at the farmers’ market, the aromatic Cape Malay fusion cuisine, or working your way through a seven-course tasting menu, ‘outstanding’ is a common refrain. Just be sure to come hungry.

Biesmiellah

Heading out for the day? Stock up on Cape Malay snacks from Biesmiellah. Located at the top of Wale Street in Bo-Kaap, formerly known as the Malay Quarter, on the slopes of Signal Hill, it caters to the local Muslim community, and its samosas and dhaltjies – fried chickpea fritters also known as ‘chilli bites’ – are not to be missed. biesmiellah.co.za

Honest Chocolate

Here’s a bet I know I’ll win: stroll down Wale Street to Honest Chocolate, and if you leave without purchasing a box of its truffles, I’ll eat all mine. (Somewhere in the world it’s 5pm, so stroll over to Gin Bar after, down the road, which has one of the city’s most comprehensive collections of the stuff.) honestchocolate.co.za

OZCF Market Day

In Granger Bay, on the V&A Waterfront, you’ll find Oranjezicht City Farm, the city’s best farmers’ market. Come for tastings of crops from independent farmers and local artisanal producers like Stokkiesdraai, which makes the most delicious biltong from ethically sourced, grass-guzzling cattle from neighbouring Namibia and Botswana. Saturdays, 9am-2pm, ozcf.co.za

Neighbourgoods Market

Located in the edgy Woodstock neighbourhood and housed in two adjoining warehouses, Neighbourgoods Market is the city’s hippest foodie market. Here, the focus is more on prepared foods. The live music and craft beer also attract a younger crowd. Aside from browsing food stalls there’s also great shopping in the surrounding Old Biscuit Mill. Saturdays, 9am-3pm, neighbourgoodsmarket.co.za

The Test Kitchen

Chef Luke Dale-Roberts’ restaurant in the Old Biscuit Mill in Woodstock is a regular in the World’s 50 Best, and as such is much in demand. Bookings open online a month in advance and go quickly. But if you miss out, try sister restaurant The Shortmarket Club, located in the city centre. Almost everything on the a la carte menu is exceptional. theshortmarketclub.co.za

Bilboa

The place to be on a sunny day. Pair postcard-perfect views of Camps Bay beach from the first floor restaurant with a beautiful South African sauvignon blanc and a menu of superb lamb and seafood. bilboa.co.za

Cathay Pacific launches a seasonal three-times-weekly service to Cape Town from Hong Kong on 14 November

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book