頂級酒店

香港20年來最佳酒店:上集

自從1997年以來香港酒店業變得更多姿多采,既精品及時尚酒店,亦有度假樂園與古蹟酒店。 撰文:Mark Jones

過去20年,任何一個世界級都會,以至許多二線城市,嶄新落成的酒店如雨後春筍,相繼開業。此外,我們亦可從到處林立的新酒店中見識到酒店如何在建築、美食和時代精神的層面上,改變了它們落戶的城市面貌。

箇中原因,是因為酒店趨勢已然改變。豪華酒店過往都沉實低調,猶如隱身於大都會下盡展所長的專業領班。然而現在情況截然不同,新型酒店標榜的是藝術、美食,以及浮華風格。

香港又如何呢?直至1997年,半島酒店和文華東方酒店仍然是酒店業的龍頭,彼此在維多利亞港兩岸遙遙呼應。其後加入的耀目新貴,不僅深入九龍市中心,更延伸至港島東西區。我不妨在這裡向發展商和企業家獻計:可有想過在石澳或南丫島興建時髦的海灘酒店,或者是型格十足的住宿加早餐旅館?

金鐘,奕居

(2009年開幕)

身穿T恤的金融家、腳穿緊身褲的創意奇才,或是架著厚重眼鏡的藝術大亨之類的社會新貴,都需要在香港覓一個棲身之所。持有國泰航空的太古集團因此靈機一觸,設立這間廣受好評的超級精品酒店,其設計型格、環境寧謐而裝潢奪目的套房由建築師及室內設計師傅厚民操刀。

upperhouse.com

中環,四季酒店

(2005年開幕)

為多倫多的高檔商務旅遊和短期度假業界樹立指標的四季酒店,理應早就進駐香港。如果等待的原因是為了尋找合適地點,那又確實是值得的。酒店大樓坐落國際金融中心商場和碼頭之間,氣派非凡但絕不浮誇。除非閣下家住山頂,並且擁有私家泳池,否則這裡的泳池,在香港可謂無出其右。

fourseasons.com/hongkong

黃竹坑,奧華酒店 – 南岸

(2014年開幕)

說到香港,自然不得不提及這裡如何缺乏空間,以及用盡寸金尺土的妙法。奧華酒店的小巧客房設計方正而光線充足,善用房間每一平方呎。酒店坐落山上,居高臨下,與日益中產化的黃竹坑地鐵站近在咫尺。開揚的天台,還有充滿藝術氣質的公共空間,令這間酒店成為預算有限的創意工作者的不二之選。

ovolohotels.com.hk/ovolosouthside

中環,置地文華東方酒店

(2005年開幕)

如果文華東方酒店象徵著老香港的財富和權勢,置地文華東方酒店就是乘著富裕和華麗魅力新潮流而來的妹妹。更精緻時尚的套房、美食令人垂涎的Amber餐廳,還有和城裡最華麗的商場之間的共生關係,證明其名不虛傳。

mandarinoriental.com/landmark

尖沙咀,The Mira酒店

(2009年開幕)

如果要選擇一間酒店登上21世紀最大型的國家機密和網絡安全事件的國際舞台,這間酒店不可能榜上有名。然而在2013年,前美國國家安全局員工斯諾登匿藏之地,正是The Mira酒店。事件曝光後,酒店被人在網上瘋狂搜尋,數天內就躍升為Google搜尋次數最多的香港酒店。你可以在搜尋結果顯示的照片裡,看到豪華的套房、仿似奢華精品店的大堂、舒適寬敞的天台,以及尖沙咀的繁華景致。

themirahotel.com

西九龍,麗思卡爾頓酒店

(2011年開幕)

麗思卡爾頓酒店進駐九龍環球貿易廣場大樓頂部樓層時,為香港帶來多個引以為傲的成就:它是全港最高的酒店;鋪設最多大理石;擁有最快速的電梯;以及令賓客恍如身處雲端的酒吧。儘管它帶著耀武揚威的姿態,但仍是一座雍容華貴的作品。

ritzcarlton.com/en/hotels/china/
hong-kong

中環,石板街酒店

(2014年開幕)

這間優雅的精品酒店位於中環的狹窄小街上。區內有不少優雅的19世紀銀行建築和政府辦公室大樓,之後再改建成時尚酒店,而石板街酒店正是箇中翹楚。可是千萬不要被它高聳的天花和宏偉的樑柱誤導,其實大部分都是新加建的。酒店不論服務或設備均媲美城中同業,包括令人翹首以盼的Acca Kappa盥洗用品。

thepottinger.com

大坑,Little Tai Hang酒店

(2017年開幕)

酒店的未來應是怎樣的?小巧精緻,地點絕妙,樓下就是堪稱全港最佳的酒吧Second Draft。我希望像Little Tai Hang的酒店陸續有來,而且遠離中環和銅鑼灣等人人耳熟能詳的地區。

littletaihang.com

國泰假期備有機票連酒店套票,可瀏覽cathaypacific.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Hong Kong’s best hotels since 1997 (Part 1)

From boutiques to bling, havens to heritage – how the city’s hotel scene has changed since 1997. By MARK JONES

Consider any major world city – and plenty of minor ones – over the past 20 years and you’ll see thousands of hotel openings. But more than that, you’ll see how hotels have changed their host cities: architecturally, gastronomically, zeitgeistishly.

That’s because hotels themselves have changed. The great hotels were once discreet presences, like expert maître d’s hovering in the wings of the metropolis. No longer. The new breed of hotels – arty, foodie, glitzy – are at the heart of the action.

So what of Hong Kong? In 1997, the city was still dominated by The Peninsula and the Mandarin Oriental, two grandes dames eyeing each other across Victoria Harbour. The exciting newcomers opened since have spread deeper into Kowloon and further east and west on Hong Kong Island. But here’s a message to the developers and entrepreneurs: how about a funky beachy hotel or a super-cool B&B in Shek O or on Lamma Island?

The Upper House, Admiralty

Opened 2009

The new breed of T-shirted financier, tight-trousered creative guru and heavily spectacled art mogul needed a Hong Kong bolthole. That was a cue for the Swire Group (also owners of Cathay Pacific) to open this universally applauded super-boutique, with architect and interior designer Andre Fu’s cool, calm yet very sexy suites.

upperhouse.com

Four Seasons, Central

Opened 2005

It was high time Toronto’s greatest contribution to upscale business travel and short-breaking came to Hong Kong. If it was waiting for the right spot, then the wait was worth it: a commanding but not excessive block between the IFC Mall and the harbour. Is there a better swimming pool in Hong Kong? Not unless you live on The Peak and own one.

fourseasons.com/hongkong

Ovolo, Southside, Wong Chuk Hang

Opened 2014

You can’t talk about Hong Kong without talking about space and the ingenious ways to maximise it. Ovolo Southside’s bright little box rooms make the most of the few square feet they have, perched high above the hills and new MTR in gentrifying Wong Chuk Hang. A terrific roof terrace and arty public areas make this the choice for creatives without an Upper House budget.

ovolohotels.com.hk/ovolosouthside

The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Central

Opened 2005

If the Mandarin Oriental was the symbol of old Hong Kong money and power, its younger sister rode the new wave of affluence and glamour. Its constantly updated suites, eye-wateringly brilliant Amber restaurant and symbiotic relationship with the city’s fanciest mall have all helped it live up to its name.

mandarinoriental.com/landmark

The Mira, Tsim Sha Tsui

Opened 2009

If you had to choose one hotel to star in one of the 21st century’s biggest international dramas of state secrets and cyber security, it wouldn’t be this. But it was to The Mira that ex-NSA fugitive Edward Snowden fled in 2013, making it the most googled Hong Kong hotel ever for a few crazy days. Those results would have turned up photos of plush suites and a lobby resembling an ultra-luxe boutique (as in shop), a hugely comfy roof terrace and views over buzzy Tsim Sha Tsui.

themirahotel.com

The Ritz-Carlton, West Kowloon

Opened 2011

Highest; most marbled; fastest lifts; most stratospheric bar – there was plenty to make Hongkongers proud when The Ritz-Carlton moved into the upper floors of Kowloon’s ICC tower. It’s a classy production, albeit one not afraid to say it loud and say it swish.

ritzcarlton.com/en/hotels/china/
hong-kong

The Pottinger, Central

Opened 2014

This elegant boutique hotel on a narrow street in Central is typical of so many modern hotels created from fine 19th century buildings no longer required by the banks and government offices that once occupied them. But don’t be misled by the high ceilings and solid pillars – this is pretty much a new build. The service and amenities (Acca Kappa toiletries! Finally!) are the match of anywhere in the city.

thepottinger.com

Little Tai Hang, Tai Hang

Opened 2017

The future? Small-scale, super-cute location, possibly Hong Kong’s best ever pub (Second Draft) on the ground floor. More Little Tai Hangs, please – and set beyond the over-familiar areas of Central and Causeway Bay.

littletaihang.com

Flight and hotel packages are available from Cathay Pacific Holidays at cathaypacific.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book