音樂

Clockenflap – 不容錯過的2018音樂及藝術節 – 五個必看演出

香港最大型的音樂及藝術盛事Clockenflap音樂及藝術節於11月載譽歸來,重量級演出陣容包括國際巨星、本地樂人及後起之秀

為幫助你儘早規劃,Clockenflap音樂總監JUSTIN SWEETING精選了當中不容錯過的演出單位。

壯觀表演:David Byrne

Erika Goldring/Getty Images

音樂雜誌《NME》曾形容David Byrne的「American Utopia」世界巡迴演唱會為「有史以來最精采的現場演出」;《Q》雜誌則認為它「徹底顛覆流行演唱會的模式」。相關好評鋪天蓋地,因此我們很高興能夠將整支巡演製作團隊帶來Clockenflap音樂及藝術節,讓觀眾感受David Byrne在舞台上綻放的魅力。

他的演出充滿正能量,經典金曲、壯觀場面及神秘驚喜源源不絕,絕對不容錯過;讓我們一同發掘David Byrne扣人心弦的創作力量。

音樂節孖寶:Amadou and Mariam

Josh Brasted/WireImage/Getty Images

這對來自馬里的夫妻檔從小失明,以獨具一格的非洲藍調,奠定他們非洲一線音樂巨星的地位。他們曾與Manu Chao、Damon Albarn、TV On The Radio及David Gilmour等音樂單位合作,更曾與Coldplay及U2等巨星同台演出。

他們不受制於音樂類型,是真真正正在世界通行的音樂,能觸動任何人的心弦,最適合以現場演出的方式與眾同樂,保證你一定會聞歌起舞。

本地薑:雞蛋蒸肉餅

自從我在2014年聽到樂隊雞蛋蒸肉餅的單曲〈Double NoNo〉後,便為之著迷。她們將數字搖滾及另類流行曲糅合獨特的本土風格,不斷透過作品突破界限。我特別欣賞敢於破格創新和盡心盡力的藝術家,因此相當期待看到她們今年在更多黃金時段上台演出。能獲得這個機會,她們實至名歸,我肯定她們一定會令人留下深刻印象。

傳奇新聲:Khalid

Pedro Fiúza/NurPhoto via Getty Images

2016年,時年18歲的Khalid在推出首支單曲〈Location〉後,旋即舉世矚目,自此平步青雲。他隨後推出大獲好評的專輯《American Teen》,更與Kendrick Lamar、Martin Garrix、Marshmello、The Roots、Benny Blanco及Halsey等著名音樂人合作,並活躍於全球各大流行榜及社交平台。他的曲風完美流暢,是新生代R&B典範,令我們為他傾倒。

明日之星:Shame

依在下愚見,Shame是過去數年間英國最舉足輕重的新晉樂隊。這支來自倫敦南部的五人後龐克組合堅持以澎湃動人的音樂,帶動結他復興。他們於星期五晚的Clockenflap音樂及藝術節演出絕對不容錯過,你必須要親身在現場欣賞他們活力四射的演出,才能真正感受到他們獨有的感染力,保證畢生難忘,值回票價。

Clockenflap音樂及藝術節於11月9至11日舉行,機票連門票套餐於國泰假期有售。 

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Music

The best of Clockenflap 2018: 5 bands to watch

Clockenflap, Hong Kong’s biggest music and arts festival, returns in November with a lineup of superstar global names, local heroes and next-big-things

To help you plan your Clockenflap 2018 experience, the festival’s music director, JUSTIN SWEETING, picks out the acts you simply shouldn’t miss.

The live spectacle: David Byrne

Clockenflap
Erika Goldring/Getty Images

Music magazine NME said David Byrne’s American Utopia tour ‘may be the best live show of all time’. Q magazine stated it ‘completely reinvents the pop concert’. The reviews are overwhelmingly glowing across the board, and we’re so delighted that we’re able to bring over the full tour production for his highly anticipated performance at Clockenflap.

Brimming with greatest hits, spectacle and surprise, this is a joyful, life-affirming show you really must not miss. Come find out why Byrne is one of the most absorbing creative talents on the planet right now.

Festival favourites: Amadou and Mariam

Clockenflap
Josh Brasted/WireImage/Getty Images

Both blind from an early age, this Malinese husband and wife’s unique take on Afro-blues has them placed firmly at the pinnacle among African music icons. They have collaborated with Manu Chao, Damon Albarn, TV On The Radio and David Gilmour among others, and shared the stage with the likes of Coldplay and U2.

Not bound by any genre definitions, for me theirs is the truest form of world music. It’s music for the world, with songs that can touch your very core in a way that everyone can appreciate. It’s music best shared live, and I defy you not to dance along to it.

Hong Kong heroes: GDJYB

Clockenflap

From the moment I heard GDJYB’s Double NoNo single back in 2014, I was hooked. Melding math rock and indie pop with a quirky Hong Kong perspective, GDJYB have continued to push the boundaries throughout their work. I’m always drawn to artists that take creative risks and are so dedicated to their craft, and I’m really looking forward to seeing them play in a more prime time slot this year. It’s exactly what they deserve, and I’m sure it will be a really memorable set.

New urban legend: Khalid

Clockenflap
Pedro Fiúza/NurPhoto via Getty Images

When 18-year-old Khalid released his debut single Location in 2016, he was immediately thrust into the global spotlight. He’s not looked back since. His highly rated album American Teen followed, along with collaborations and features with the likes of Kendrick Lamar, Martin Garrix, Marshmello, The Roots, Benny Blanco and Halsey, all of which continue to see him bother charts and social platform stats across the world. This is the new generation of incredibly silky R&B, and we’re all for it.

Hotly tipped: Shame

Clockenflap

In my humble opinion, Shame are the most vital and exciting new band to emerge in the UK in the past few years.

The post-punk five-piece from South London are leading something of a guitar revival, with their uncompromising sound as charged as it is anthemic. Make sure you catch them Friday night at Clockenflap, as you definitely need the full, high-octane and contagious live experience to really get it. We promise you won’t forget it and you won’t regret it.

Clockenflap is held from 9 to 11 November. Flight and ticket packages are available through Cathay Pacific Holidays

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book