餐飲美食

高雄最佳藝術主題咖啡店

來到高雄這些藝文咖啡店的打卡熱點,不但能夠大飽口腹之慾,還能夠滿足愛藝術的心

中國台灣南部的高雄市,不乏嶄新宏偉的藝術場地,備受矚目;但若要感受地道的本土文創空間,便不能錯過當地別具特色的咖啡店。下列四間備受文青追捧的小店,除了能夠欣賞不時替換的展覽,還可以學習小手藝及品味窩心美食。

御書房藝廊

樓高三層的御書房藝廊毗鄰高雄文化中心,地點便捷,藝文愛好者都樂聚於此,悠然瀏覽多元化的書籍、參加工作坊及講座,當然少不了欣賞不同的展覽。大家還可以一邊賞藝,一邊享用豐富的養生火鍋,這裡有大量蔬菜和素食可供選擇,包括菊花小火鍋及健康的糙米粥。若想一嚐本地特色,可點吃苦茶油麵線配傳統的台灣梅子茶,輕怡可口。御書房採用中式家具,到處掛滿了精選的藝術品,裝潢雅致,店內的常客表示,這裡的擺設和氛圍自開業30多年來也從未變調,難怪他們一直支持。

挑食

在亮麗的綠色門後,可見餐廳經過一番悉心裝潢,以工業風營造舒適的空間,並齊備現代咖啡店和酒吧應有的裝備和元素。顧名思義,「挑食」點出了對食品的嚴格要求,但即使是大胃王,都可以在這裡每季更換的時令菜單得到大滿足。例如有屏東梅爾檸檬奶油香料燒半雞、現撈東港綜合蛤蜊毛豆青醬手工麵(意粉)、胡椒煙燻虱目魚接骨木花蜜地瓜花園沙律,以及春的冬瓜伯(冬瓜芝士餅)等。店內的牆壁放了本地藝術家的創作,供顧客欣賞之餘,也歡迎隨意選購。想有點動態?可透過廚房的玻璃門觀看大廚的手藝呢!

藝饌蘭亭

只要踏進明亮而寬敞的藝饌蘭亭,一股輕鬆悠閒的氛圍撲面而來。店內其中一道牆堆滿了高高的書籍,上層則經常舉辦各類相片、雕塑和畫作展覽,甚至是迷你音樂會。下層的咖啡室提供各式糕點、法式餡餅和美味的鹹批;如想好好果腹,則可選吃日本菜單。安坐其中,放空一切,轉瞬便度過了一個寫意的下午;或到餐廳寧謐的禪式花園,感受一番閒情逸趣。

織織人67號

如果想來點不一樣的體驗,或是親手動動工,織織人67號既是咖啡店,也是一家織品工作坊,讓你可以創作自己喜歡的織品。小店佔了一間日式古老洋屋的四層,每層也各有用途:地下是閒適的咖啡店,二樓是藝文展覽空間,三樓和四樓則是工作室。先吃一頓滋味的玉棋(餃子)和焗餅,配以水果汽酒消暑,然後不妨耗上數小時學習傳統的織品或藍染工藝,也可製作時尚小巧的精品,不亦樂乎。

本文原於2019年5月刊登,並於2020年9月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

The Best Art-Themed Cafes in Kaohsiung

At these popular Kaohsiung cafes, you can satisfy your appetite for both eats and the arts

The southern Taiwanese port city of Kaohsiung is making headlines for shiny new arts venues, but there’s another kind of place to savour the local creative scene: cafes. Head to these four favourites for rotating exhibitions, hands-on workshops and a dose of comfort food.

isArt Gallery

Conveniently located near the Kaohsiung Cultural Centre, the three-storey isArt Gallery is where arts lovers congregate to browse books, participate in workshops and talks, and peruse rotating exhibitions. It’s also where they fill their stomachs with hotpot – the extensive vegetarian and vegan options include a chrysanthemum soup base – and health-conscious multigrain congee concoctions. For an especially local treat, pair its signature ‘bitter tea oil’ thin noodles with a traditional Taiwanese plum juice. With traditional Chinese furniture throughout and art hung everywhere, frequent patrons will tell you that not much has changed since the space opened more than 30 years ago – and that’s why they keep coming back.

Gien Jia

Behind a green door awaits this refurbished, industrial-style loft space with all the trappings of a modern cafe and bar. ‘Gien jia’ means ‘picky eater’ in Mandarin – but even the choosiest of gourmands will find something they like from the seasonal menu, which may feature roasted chicken with caramel lemon butter; handmade pasta with clams and fresh herbs; smoked milk fish and elderflower honey sweet potatoes; or white gourd cheesecake. Gien Jia’s walls feature paintings by local artists, there for you to admire and potentially purchase to bring home. For art in action, observe the chefs at work from the glass-doored kitchen space.

Le Jardin du Gourmet

A relaxing vibe washes over you upon entering the bright, airy Le Jardin du Gourmet. One wall is piled high with books, and the upstairs floor hosts exhibitions of photography, sculptures and paintings as well as mini-concerts. Cakes, French pastries and savoury pies are available at the downstairs cafe (if you’re craving a heartier meal, order from the Japanese food menu). It’s easy to while away the afternoon here – there’s even a tranquil little zen garden on the premises.

67 Textile Studio

For something a little different – and more hands-on – this cafe space doubles as a textile workshop, where you can learn to create your own works of art. Taking up multiple floors of an old house, each level has its own function: the first is a cosy cafe, the second acts as a gallery space, and the third and fourth serve as textile studios. Fill your stomach with comforting dumplings and baked goods or cool down with a fruit spritzer, then settle in for a few fun hours of learning about traditional handiwork, fabric dyeing and the art of making trendy crafts. 

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book