頂級酒店

美景推薦:4家擁有迷人景色的中國酒店

坐落於中國地標景觀的酒店。撰文 CYNTHIA ROSENFELD

崇山峻嶺、丘壑起伏、竹林幽深、流水涓涓,山水畫自十世紀開始便已是中國水墨畫的表率。其實山水畫家不只白描風景,更會透過畫作抒發情懷。古時,騷人墨客寄情山水之間,以丹青寄寓心靈上的桃花源;今日,渴望避世的現代遊人,在同樣的美景中,卻能享受著古人無法想像的舒適和奢華。

陽朔悅榕莊

中國陽朔

這座距離桂林兩小時車程的酒店,被聳立於河流和稻田之間的喀斯特石灰岩山峰懷抱,構成古雅的華南景致。雖然低矮的傳統木建築建有古典的飛簷,但簷下142間別墅和套房的內部設計卻是徹頭徹尾的摩登時髦,更配備舒適的雙人大床、寬敞浴缸和悅榕莊的皇牌沐浴用品;就連標準客房也附設私人陽台,好讓遊客將壯麗的美景盡收眼底。此外,大家還可乘坐酒店的竹筏,來一趟發思古之幽情的灕江遊,欣賞無數古代名畫家取材入畫的沿岸風光,然後走訪擁有800年歷史的福利古鎮,穿梭於石頭小巷和紙扇工藝坊之間。好動的賓客可以划船或騎單車穿過一片翠綠美景到達渡頭村,或泛舟觀賞附近的隱世鍾乳洞。banyantree.com

瓦廠酒店

中國北京

長城是中國古時的防禦建築,現在不單吸引無數遊客朝聖,更為北京這座人氣精品酒店提供宏偉的背景。酒店前身是磚瓦工廠,後來由夫妻檔薩楊及唐亮合力改建成25間帶工業時尚風格的客房及套房。房間的磚牆不經批盪,並飾以各種中式古董,賓客更可於房中飽覽始建於14世紀的長城慕田峪段。主席套房的客廳備有壁爐,另外更有私人庭院和面向長城的日式浴缸,而入住其他客房的住客亦可一邊享用酒店水療中心的按摩浴池,一邊俯瞰長城景觀。至於酒店內氣氛閒適的餐廳,則以自家製作為宗旨,由麵包以至每天轉換口味的雪糕,全部都是酒店的出品。theschoolhouseatmutianyu.com

杭州西子湖四季酒店

中國杭州

Ken Seet

據說13世紀的探險家馬可孛羅曾被杭州的如畫山水,以及西湖上「如鰂的遊人水上泛舟」的景致迷倒,更將杭州稱為「世上最瑰麗的城市」。這個景點至今依然吸引不少人前來公幹和遊覽,讓杭州西子湖四季酒店客似雲來。酒店坐落於杭州著名的園林美景和西湖湖畔樹蔭下的步道之間,客房及公共空間的裝潢以花梨木為主,建築細節呼應四周的佛寺和亭台樓閣,構成美不勝收的景觀,而在81間客房當中,有部分更坐擁臨水的田園美景。住客若想在公務後輕鬆一下,不妨踏單車到訪柳浪聞鶯及斷橋殘雪等地,這些名字本身便能讓人浮想聯翩的醉人景色。fourseasons.com

Ken Seet

頤和安縵酒店

中國北京

於1750年落成的頤和園是中國帝王遠離紫禁城熱浪的避暑勝地,沒想到時至今日,原址會變成極簡約設計風格的頤和安縵酒店。酒店創辦人Adrian Zecha將原本為等候覲見慈禧太后的臣子而設的廳院和房舍,改建成環繞著九個庭園的51間客房。推開客房的格子木趟門,水磨青磚地板、木樑天花和蓋上絲綢的羅漢床隨即映入眼簾。同時,酒店亦備有不少現代設施,例如雪茄廊、設有Kinesis健身器材的健身房和25米室內游泳池等。此外,安縵酒店的貴賓更可繞過排隊進入頤和園的人龍,在東門附近透過專用通道,直接進入這個被列作聯合國世界文化遺產的景點,飽覽3,000座宮殿和亭台樓閣。入口附近的昆明湖拱橋常有老人放風箏,而柳樹下亦可見他們耍太極的英姿。aman.com

L dowell / Getty Images

探索更多

每周由香港出發的航班

國泰港龍航空及國泰航空: 北京:70

國泰港龍航空︰ 杭州:28 桂林:7

國泰假期備有機票連 酒店套票,可瀏覽cathaypacific.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Beauty spots: 4 China hotels with amazing views

Hotels set amid China’s iconic landscapes. Words by CYNTHIA ROSENFELD

Filled with towering mountains, rolling hills, lush bamboo forests and calm rivers, landscape paintings have been considered the highest form of Chinese ink art since the early 10th century. Artists produced shanshui or ‘mountain water’ paintings not to capture the scenery as it appeared but as a subtle means to convey emotions. Generations of literati sought refuge with their brushes in nature. Today’s travellers too seek sanctuary at China’s scenic sites, albeit with significantly more comforts and luxuries.

Banyan Tree Yangshuo

Yangshuo, China

Banyan Tree Yangshuo

Karst limestone peaks rise above rivers and rice paddies, providing the classical southern Chinese scenery that surrounds this resort two hours from Guilin. Wing-tipped rooflines cover this low-slung sprawl of traditional architecture, yet the interiors of these 142 wood-clad suites and villas feel decidedly modern, with plush king-size beds, oversized soaking tubs and Banyan Tree’s signature bath products. Even standard rooms have private verandas with captivating panoramas. Enhancing the lost-in-time effect here are romantic bamboo raft rides on the famed Li River – subject of countless imperial-era scroll paintings – and visits to 800-year-old Fuli village, with its stone alleyways and paper fan-making workshops. Active guests may paddle or cycle past the emerald green scenery to Dutou village or kayak to karst caves hidden nearby. banyantree.com

Banyan Tree Yangshuo

Brickyard Hotel

Beijing, China

Brickyard Mutianyu hotel

Built to keep out foreigner invaders, today the Great Wall of China is not only one of the country’s top tourist attractions, it’s also the setting for this boutique inn popular with Beijing’s expatriates. Converted from a tile factory by the husband-wife couple Jim Spear and Liang Tang, these 25 industrial-chic rooms and suites with exposed brick walls and Chinese antiques all boast unobstructed views of the Wall’s Mutianyu section, which dates to the 14th century. The Chairman’s Suite extends to a living room with a fireplace, a private courtyard and a Japanese soaking tub facing the legendary defensive wall. For everyone else, the spa’s Jacuzzi also overlooks this remarkable feat. Homemade is the mantra at the hotel’s cosy eatery, where everything from the breads to ice cream – with different flavours each day – is produced on the premises. theschoolhouseatmutianyu.com

Four Seasons Resort Hangzhou at West Lake

Hangzhou, China

Four Seasons Resort Hangzhou at West Lake
Ken Seet

Thirteenth-century explorer Marco Polo reportedly referred to Hangzhou as ‘the most splendid city on earth’ for its gently undulating landscape and ‘an endless procession of barges thronged with pleasure-seekers’ on West Lake. Today that same lake attracts business and leisure travellers to this luxury hotel. Perched between Hangzhou’s famous gardens and the tree-shaded walking paths that line West Lake’s banks, the hotel incorporates architectural details inspired by the surrounding Buddhist temples into its dramatic rosewood-accented public spaces and 81 guest rooms, some with idyllic water views. Between business meetings, guests can cycle to scenic local spots with whimsical names like Orioles Singing in the Willows Garden and Lingering Snow on Broken Bridge. fourseasons.com

China, Four Seasons Resort Hangzhou at West Lake
Ken Seet

Aman Summer Palace

Beijing, China

Aman Summer Palace

A refuge for Chinese imperials escaping the heat of Beijing’s Forbidden City, the Summer Palace, built in 1750, is an unlikely setting for Aman’s ultra-pared-down aesthetic. Founder Adrian Zecha turned a collection of dwellings originally used to shelter visitors awaiting an audience with Empress Dowager Cixi into 51 guest rooms surrounding nine intimate courtyards. Latticework doors slide open to reveal polished clay tiles, exposed wood-beam ceilings and silk-covered opium beds. Modern facilities include a cigar lounge, a Kinesis-equipped gym and a 25-metre indoor pool. Guests get to skip the ticket queues to enter the public areas of the UNESCO-listed Summer Palace, with its 3,000 palaces, pavilions and gazebos. Instead, they use a private-access door near the East Gate, which opens up to a view of elderly locals flying kites from the bridges over Kunming Lake and practising tai chi among the weeping willows. aman.com

China, Dragon Dens
L dowell / Getty Images

Discover More

Flights per week from Hong Kong

Cathay Dragon and Cathay Pacific: Beijing: 70

Cathay Dragon: Hangzhou: 28, Guilin: 7

Flight and hotel packages are available from Cathay Pacific Holidays at cathaypacific.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book