西班牙

巴塞羅那最型格區域:唐人街

巴塞羅那的拉巴爾區如何從充滿波希米亞風格進化為城中最新潮前衛的地區

當名廚Carles Abellán將位於時尚新潮小區波恩區的米芝蓮星級餐廳,遷往巴塞羅那破落的拉巴爾舊城區時,所有人都大為驚訝。

他笑道︰「老實說,我是在醉醺醺的情況下被說服的,最初我對這個決定也抱有懷疑。那是幾年前的事了,當時想到該區貧窮破敗,滿街妓女和窮困潦倒的居民,我的心登時冷了一截;我可沒把握有人會來光顧。」

但當他回想起當年跟同窗在早已消失的舞廳和水手酒吧徹夜狂歡,在至今仍吸引小眾的二手店選購搖滾服飾的日子,便又燃起了鬥志。

圖片:Gunnar Knechtel/laif/IC

拉巴爾區歷來一直予人藏污納垢的印象。數百年來,它一直位於城牆之外,無論地理和社會兩方面都屬於邊緣化地區。從屠宰場到為窮人而設的醫院,任何較富裕市民不欲觀之的齷齪活動,均被驅逐至蘭布拉大道的盡頭,實行「眼不見為淨」。儘管之後圍牆拆掉了,巴塞羅那仍明顯存在著一條無形界線,拉巴爾區在20世紀上半葉一直被貼上貧民窟的標籤,直至近年才形象大翻身。

當時Jean Genet在自傳小說《竊賊日記》中描述自己與罪犯和癮君子為伍,於拉巴爾區(又稱Barrio Chino,意為「唐人區」,是一名記者將亂七八糟的拉巴爾下城區直接比作三藩市唐人街)街頭流浪的日子。現在,除了許多以當地最著名的無政府主義者及失敗者命名的街道外,Genet筆下的拉巴爾區已不復見,而拉巴爾區更堪稱巴塞羅那最型格的區域。

心理學家Gemma Solsona居於宏偉的14世紀哥德式造船廠附近,她認為拉巴爾區最大的改變,是政府經營的藝術電影院La Filmoteca遷至該區。她表示︰「政府拆卸了不少建築,整頓附近的街道,並根除了賣淫和罪犯活動。街道煥然一新,自然吸引電影院和大量新商戶進駐,影迷蜂擁而至,他們無不想找個落腳點吃些餐前小吃和喝杯啤酒,令區內冒起許多新式酒吧和餐廳,服務那些以往絕不踏足拉巴爾區,現在卻視此地為型格的群眾。」

圖片:David Clapp / robertharding / Getty Images

La Filmoteca只是一連串拉巴爾區逐步改造的發展中最新項目之一。偌大的救濟院搖身變為時髦的巴塞羅那當代文化中心,扮演起當地主要的藝術和展覽場地;區內的大型醫院亦改建成圖書館、加泰隆尼亞文化研究所和綠葉成蔭的中庭咖啡室;而前聖若瑟修道院則成為繽紛喧鬧的Boqueria食品市場。港口地區曾是齷齪之地,過去有不少賣春女郎在此向酩酊大醉的水手招手,現在則以雄偉的海事博物館而聞名。

拉巴爾區脫胎換骨的原因,基本上可歸功巴塞羅那於1992年主辦奧運,將整座城市大翻新的工程。改造後的巴塞羅那可謂煥然一新,但其中三件事才是真正令拉巴爾區一掃過去陰霾的功臣。第一件事是在拉巴爾上城區興建巴塞羅那當代藝術博物館,這座由美國建築師Richard Meier設計的純白藝術寶庫專門收藏現代藝術品,令整個街區火速冒起風格相近的酒吧和餐廳,前衛的時裝精品店和藝廊亦緊隨其後,爭相進駐拉巴爾區。

拉巴爾區的命運在幾年後迎來另一個轉捩點,政府推出名為「拉巴爾重出新天」的計劃,並以推土機大規模清拆區內狹窄雜亂的街道,改建成拉巴爾步行街。在這條林蔭大道上,狗主愜意地遛狗,當地的巴基斯坦人於仲夏夜聚集一起打木球,一家大小於此度過休閒時光。小朋友亦喜歡攀爬雕塑家Fernando Botero創作的巨型肥貓雕像,父母則在附近的露天咖啡室喝咖啡。節慶假日期間,步行街亦化身演唱會和表演的舞台,周日更不定期舉行市集,那裡有售賣手工服飾的攤檔,以及摩洛哥茶檔。

Abellán選在拉巴爾步行街開設餐廳Suculent,其後在隔壁再開了一間風格較休閒的La Taverna del Suculent。他表示︰「我不後悔作出這個決定。走這一步絕不容易,但事實證明很成功,或許人們認為一間坐落於舊城區的高級餐廳有種矛盾的吸引力。餐廳旁邊設有車位,高尚住宅區的居民可駕車到此一遊,感受這個前衛社區的魅力。這裡雖不是什麼危險的地方,但仍保留著巴塞羅那舊城區的地道風情。他們就是喜歡這裡帶點破舊的感覺,可謂充滿趣味呢!」

不過部分居民卻比較欣賞拉巴爾區的舊模樣。15年前搬到拉巴爾區的音響工程師Graham Parker表示︰「我不覺得這裡有太多改變。不少遊客從聖安東尼區湧入拉巴爾區,而這裡亦開設了幾間前衛酒吧,但那些企圖吸引遊客的果汁店都失敗告終。這裡仍是日常市民生活的地方,有更多餐廳選擇固然是好,但你仍可在這裡找到修車房和補鞋店。」

Abellán認為這就是拉巴爾區大受歡迎的原因。他表示︰「這裡不但有美麗的舊式建築,而且鄰近蘭布拉大道和海邊。當然,這裡趨向中產化只是時間問題,但無論多少企業家和海外投資者在此開店,都永遠不能抹去拉巴爾區的本質;這裡依然是散發著危險魅力的巴塞羅那壞男孩。」

拉巴爾區推介景點

圖片:Mariano Herrera

住宿

美食

佳釀

觀光

Barceló Raval酒店

barcelo.com

這間圓柱形酒店令拉巴爾步行街顯得更璀璨,而頂樓游泳池更盡享城市極致美景。

Suculent餐廳

suculent.com

供應新派加泰隆尼亞菜的餐廳Suculent,以及旁邊較休閒的La Taverna del Suculent皆由名廚Carles Abellán主理。

Casa Almirall酒吧

casaalmirall.com

裝潢雅致的Casa Almirall是城中最古老的酒吧之一,店內的現代派(新藝術運動)木工家具尤其可觀。

巴塞羅那當代藝術博物館

macba.cat

這座當代藝術博物館收藏加泰隆尼亞及海外藝術家的作品,館內經常舉辦不同類型的臨時展覽。

Casa Camper酒店

casacamper.com

這間酒店玩味十足、設備新潮,並以24小時免費小食吧、屋頂的沐浴間和出色的服務受到旅客歡迎。

Casa Leopoldo餐廳

casaleopoldo.es

創業於1929年的傳統老店Casa Leopoldo以海鮮料理而聞名,儘管最近經過翻新,但風味保持不變。

La Confiteria酒吧

confiteria.cat

始創於1912年的La Confiteria前身為糖果店,店內仍保存許多原有的裝潢及設備,是小酌一杯的好去處。

海事博物館

mmb.cat

海事博物館前身為富哥德式建築風格的造船廠,對航海知識有興趣的人不容錯過。

國泰航空從7月2日起增設由香港飛往巴塞羅那的航班,每周有四班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Barcelona

Barcelona’s Coolest Area: Chinatown

How Barcelona’s Barrio Chino transformed from a gritty bohemia to the city’s cutting-edge centre of cool. Words by SALLY DAVIES

It surprised everyone when celebrity chef Carles Abellán pulled the shutters down on his Michelin-starred restaurant in Barcelona’s chic Born area and moved operations over to the Raval, long viewed as the pariah neighbourhood of Barcelona’s Old City.

‘To be honest I was talked into it during a slightly drunken lunch,’ he laughs. ‘I was initially a bit sceptical. This was a few years ago, and I was put off by the poverty, the prostitutes, the down-and-outs. I wasn’t sure anyone would come.’

But he was persuaded by the residual affection he holds for his nights spent there back when he and his student pals would hang out in the long-disappeared cabaret cafes and sailors’ bars, buying their rocker garb from the cultish second-hand shops that are still a feature of these streets.

Raval District, pedestrian Area in Calle de la Riera Baixa. A second hand vintage shop
Credit: Gunnar Knechtel/laif/IC

The Raval’s slightly grimy appeal is rooted in history. For centuries, it was outside the city walls, marginalised both geographically and socially. From abattoirs to hospitals for the poor, any kind of insalubrious endeavour that the wealthier citizens didn’t want on their doorsteps was exiled to the far side of La Rambla and conveniently forgotten about. As the city walls came down, an invisible frontier was still palpable, right through the first half of the 20th century when the Raval took on the underworld feel it has only recently lost.

It was in that period that Jean Genet wrote his book The Thief’s Journal, an account of his life on the streets among the felons and drug addicts of the Barrio Chino (‘Chinatown’ – a name given to the lower half of the Raval by a journalist who compared its seedy goings-on to those in the San Francisco area of the same name). Bar a handful of streets named after its most famous anarchists and ne’er-do-wells, there is nowadays little evidence of Genet’s Raval, however. Today, it’s arguably the coolest district in Barcelona.

For Gemma Solsona, a psychologist who lives down by the glorious 14th-century Gothic shipyards (‘drassanes’), the biggest change came when La Filmoteca – the Catalan government-run art-house cinema – was transplanted to the district. ‘They knocked down a lot of buildings, and cleaned up the streets around it, got rid of the prostitutes and lowlife,’ she says. ‘That attracted a lot of new businesses, as did the cinema itself, with all the filmgoers wandering about looking for somewhere to have a tapa and a beer. Suddenly there were bars and restaurants for the sort of people who previously wouldn’t have ventured into the Raval, but now it’s seen as cool.’

Balcony detail at the Museum of Contemporary Art, architects Richard Meier and Partners, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain, Europe
Credit: David Clapp / robertharding / Getty Images

La Filmoteca was just the latest in a series of developments that slowly transformed the Raval. The huge former almshouse became a gleaming arts centre and exhibition space, the CCCB; what was once its main hospital now houses a library, the Institute of Catalan Studies and a leafy courtyard cafe; and the former convent of Sant Josep (St Joseph) gave way to the colourful and clamorous Boqueria food market. The sleazy port area, once patrolled by ladies of the night looking out for drunken sailors, is now best known for its splendid Maritime Museum.

The makeover of the Raval followed, to a large extent, the sprucing up of the city as a whole, especially around the time of the 1992 Olympic Games, when Barcelona was transformed almost beyond recognition, but three events were to change the flavour of this area in particular. The first of them was the creation in the upper part of the Raval of the Museu Contemporani d’Art de Barcelona (MACBA), a shimmering white monolith designed by American architect Richard Meier to house the city’s collection of modern art. This part of the neighbourhood swiftly filled with bars and restaurants befitting its new cultural beacon, and quirky little boutiques and art galleries were soon to follow.

The next turnaround in the barrio’s fortunes came a few years later when bulldozers drove a long swathe through the heart of its cramped mesh of streets as part of a plan known as Raval obert al cel (‘Raval open to the sky’). This created the Rambla del Raval, a tree-lined boulevard beloved of dog-walkers and the local Pakistani community – who gather here on summer evenings to play cricket – and families, whose children scramble over Fernando Botero’s enormous, chubby Cat sculpture while their parents drink at one of the cafe terraces nearby. The space has also become a popular stage for concerts and performances during the city’s festivals, and is home to an occasional Sunday market of hand-stitched clothes and Moroccan tea stalls.

It was on the Rambla del Raval that Abellán chose to open his restaurant Suculent, swiftly followed by the less formal La Taverna del Suculent next door. ‘I have no regrets,’ he says. ‘It hasn’t always been easy, but it works. Maybe people are attracted to the counterpoint of a high-quality restaurant in a slightly shabby area. We’ve got parking next door so uptown types can dip in for a taste of an edgier neighbourhood. Not that it’s a dangerous place, but it still has an essence of the authentic, real Barcelona to it. They like that it’s a bit scruffy. It’s fun.’

But some residents enjoy the neighbourhood more for what it has always been. ‘I don’t think it’s all that different,’ says Graham Parker, a sound technician who moved to the Raval 15 years ago. ‘There’s a bit of overflow from Sant Antoni and a few hipster bars, but the attempts to pull in tourist trade – like the juice shops – tend to fall a bit flat.

This is still a place where ordinary people continue to live. It’s nice that we have a few more restaurant options now, but you can still find a place to get a puncture repaired or a shoe reheeled.’

And this, according to Abellán, is what makes the barrio so endearing. ‘There are beautiful old buildings and it’s close to both La Rambla and the sea,’ he says, ‘so of course there’s going to be gentrification – it was just a matter of time. But no matter how many entrepreneurs and foreign investors set up shop here, they will never truly rub out the spirit of the Raval. It’s the old rogue of Barcelona.’

THE RAVAL’S HIT LIST

general El Raval, Barcelona
Credit: Mariano Herrera

STAY

EAT

DRINK

SEE

Barceló Raval

barcelo.com

This cylindrical beacon lights up the Rambla del Raval, a tree-lined boulevard, and offers guests striking views from its rooftop pool.

Suculent

suculent.com

Serving Catalan food with a creative twist, Suculent and the adjacent La Taverna del Suculent are overseen by superchef Carles Abellán.

Casa Almirall

casaalmirall.com

One of the oldest in the city, this glorious bar is worth visiting for its Modernista (art nouveau) woodwork alone.

Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA)

macba.cat

The city’s modern art museum holds a mix of Catalan and international art, with frequently changing exhibitions.

Casa Camper

casacamper.com

Smart and hugely fun, this hotel is loved for its free, 24-hour snack bar, rooftop shower for cooling down and great service.

Casa Leopoldo

casaleopoldo.es

Casa Leopoldo has been doling out seafood since 1929 and, despite a recent makeover, has changed little since.

La Confiteria

confiteria.cat

A former sweetshop, dating back to 1912, La Confiteria has kept many of its original features and is a great spot for a drink.

Museu Marítim

mmb.cat

The former shipyards, featuring Gothic architecture, now house the Maritime Museum, a must for those with nautical interests.

Cathay Pacific begins four-times-weekly flights to Barcelona from Hong Kong on 2 July

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book