曼谷

曼谷湄南河的復興:翻新藝術

創意產業發展蓬勃,吸引旅客和居民重回曼谷河畔的懷抱

我乘坐著長尾船,在貫穿曼谷的湄南河上飛馳。「河堤上仍住著許多家庭,而我們幾代人依然在這裡定居。大家都期待著河畔的嶄新發展項目,為我們帶來更多收入。」船長如此向我解釋,至少我認為他是這麼說的,因為當時我正忙著保住小命,在震耳欲聾的引擎旁邊,出盡全力避免掉進被稱為「泰國大動脈」的河流中 。

「迅速」這個形容詞,可謂跟曼谷惡名昭彰的交通完全沾不上邊。我從曼谷蘇凡納布機場國際機場乘坐計程車前往市中心的酒店,本應是45分鐘的車程,結果足足花上兩小時,而這種狀況亦根本無可避免。因此當我知道經水路遊走能避開擠塞的馬路,頓時有種佔了上風的快感,加上沿途涼風輕拂,美景處處,單是不用因為塞車而大動肝火,已令我心滿意足。

Cedric Arnold

船公司Chao Phraya Tourist Boat的董事總經理Piriya Vachajitpan道︰「曼谷景點大多位於河畔,而碼頭亦連接著MRT(地鐵系統),令乘船成為暢遊曼谷的好方法。掛藍旗的觀光船專為遊客而設,停靠主要景點所在的碼頭,另外三條快速專線則為當地人而設。渡輪快捷便宜,每天約有兩萬名曼谷居民乘搭,而全程只需約45分鐘,相比起路面暢通時乘車亦得花上兩小時,可謂優哉游哉得多。」

數百年來,湄南河一直是首都賴以為生的命脈,更是當地的商業樞紐,沿岸盡是外國大使館。不過,踏入20世紀之際,英國大使館決定遷離湄南河,並落戶無線電路,其他國家亦緊隨其後,只剩葡萄牙和法國大使館留守河畔。大使館的遷移亦令商業區移至曼谷市中心,即現在擠得水洩不通的曼谷商圈,結果,一幢幢美麗建築漸遭荒廢、傾頹失修或改作其他用途,令湄南河失去了原有的魅力及傳統文化。

幸好,湄南河約於五年前開始復興,而這一切可歸功於Asiatique的開幕。這個河邊夜市由舊貨倉改建而成,並設置一座巨大的摩天輪,令河岸搖身變成遊客及顧客消遣的好去處。Bangkok Walking Adventures導賞團的總經理Les Huysmans表示,公司數年前的河岸步行導覽團因乏人問津決定取消,但「自去年已經重推,至今更愈來愈受歡迎。我們會向參加者介紹區內歷史及趣事;當然這可謂毫無難度,畢竟湄南河及其運河都蘊含著豐富的歷史價值。」

隨著河畔的人氣回升,湄南河亦開始展開更多令人期待的發展項目。The Jam Factory是由一眾舊工廠改造而成的生活文創空間,是一處讓人遠離煩囂的時尚桃花源。園區優美的景致適合拍照打卡,並吸引不少社交媒體達人到訪。現在The Jam Factory的幕後原班人馬更於對岸開設了Warehouse 30。這個入型入格的寬敞複合空間,延續活化舊建築的精神,以二次大戰時期的七座倉庫改建而成,設施包括日間水療中心、餐廳及咖啡館、市集、瑜伽中心及紀錄片放映室等,可謂包羅萬有。

Cedric Arnold
Cedric Arnold

Rungsima Kasikranund表示︰「湄南河正迅速回復舊有魅力。」她負責規劃進駐Warehouse 30的店舖,包括由她本人經營的Raw & Reed果汁吧。她續說︰「過去政府會乾脆將整幢舊建築拆卸重建,但近年投資者和發展商都看中古老建築的價值及潛力,因此不少舊建築得以重獲新生。事實上,湄南河沿岸的創意產業一直存在,只是現在終於有人將它發揚光大。」

這班人就是由河畔眾多商業單位組成的聯盟Bangkok River Partners,他們將河畔多個藝術及生活文創場所統一命名為Creative District區。聯盟旨在推廣湄南河區,總監David Robinson說︰「這區在去年已出現變化,在河畔熱點的訪客當中,年齡介乎21至45歲的人增加了30%,區內亦開始舉辦更多不同種類的活動。這個有趣的轉變促使奢華產業邁入新階段,古老建築亦成為了吸引訪客的景點。」

Cedric Arnold
Cedric Arnold
Cedric Arnold

湄南河的發展項目陸續有來,其中最矚目的得數預計今年開幕的超豪華購物中心Icon Siam。明年這幢綜合大樓更將迎來曼谷文華東方酒店式住宅,是自1876年起屹立於湄南河的曼谷文華東方酒店旗下分支項目。酒店的銷售和市場總監Robert O’Kennedy道︰「酒店的歷史建築最近經過全面翻新,並增設全新套房及設施,為酒店創建140周年誌慶,藉此與時並進,滿足顧客不斷轉變的需求。我們將繼續蓬勃發展,為湄南河創造輝煌歷史。」

沿著河流而下,便可到訪成立於1985年的曼谷河城藝術古董中心,而首屆曼谷藝術雙年展亦將於10月19日起在這裡舉行。

不過,湄南河最重要的作用始終如一,就是為人們提供居所。Robinson表示︰「無論你是泰國人抑或中國人,信奉伊斯蘭教、印度教還是基督教,在此定居的龐大社群在過去兩個世紀都和諧共處。不管你來自何方,總能在這裡找到安樂窩。」

國泰航空設有由香港飛往曼谷的航班,每周有60班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Bangkok

Bangkok’s river renaissance: An arty refurb

A thriving creative scene is luring tourists and residents back to Bangkok’s waterway. Photos by CEDRIC ARNOLD

A longtail boat was rocketing me down Chao Phraya, the river running through Bangkok. ‘There are still families living along the river, and we’ve been here for generations,’ the captain explains to me. ‘The new projects along the river are very exciting as that will provide us with more income.’ At least that’s what I think he said, as I was busy clinging on for dear life, trying my best not to fall into what is known as the artery of Thailand, while deaf from the motor booming next to me.

Speedy isn’t exactly the reputation of Bangkok’s traffic. A supposedly 45-minute taxi ride from Suvarnabhumi Airport to my hotel in central Bangkok took me two hours because that’s just the way it is. So knowing I was avoiding the roads when travelling on the river made me feel like I had some kind of upper hand, not to mention the cool breeze, the beautiful scenery and just the fact there wouldn’t be any road rage on my part.

BANGKOK RIVERSIDE CREATIVE DISTRICT

‘A lot of Bangkok sites are along the river, and piers are connected to the MRT (metro system), making this an amazing way to travel in the capital,’ says Piriya Vachajitpan, managing director of Chao Phraya Tourist Boat. ‘We have one boat with the blue flag just for tourists that hits your main attractions, and three other express boats for locals. About 20,000 locals use these boats every day, as they’re quick, fast and cheap. From one end to the other it’s a leisurely 45 minutes, whereas by car it’ll take you two hours, without traffic.’

For hundreds of years, the river has been the lifeblood of the capital city, as well as its commercial centre, with embassies dotted along the riverbank. However, at the turn of the 20th century, the British embassy decided to move away from the river (and set up camp on Wireless Road), and soon other embassies followed suit, with only the Portuguese and the French remaining. This effectively moved the business district away to the jam-packed central Bangkok we know today. As a result, beautiful buildings were either left to crumble or repurposed. Much of the river’s charm and heritage was lost.

Enter the river renaissance. It all started about five years ago with the opening of Asiatique, a retail space made up of warehouses and a giant Ferris wheel, which turned the riverbank into a destination for tourists and shoppers. Les Huysmans, general manager of Bangkok Walking Adventures, says his company scrapped a riverbank walking tour a few years back due to lack of interest. ‘We decided to revive it last year and it has been increasingly popular,’ he says. ‘We show them the heritage and interesting stories of the area, which isn’t hard, as the river and its canals have a lot of historical value.’

As the hype began to build, exciting projects followed. The Jam Factory, a series of old factory buildings converted into a lifestyle space, provides a trendy haven away from the hustle and bustle of the capital. It helps that it’s also photogenic, attracting the social media crowd. And now, across the bank, Warehouse 30, built by the same people behind The Jam Factory, has officially opened its doors. The ultra-cool space comprises seven warehouses, all dating to just after the Second World War. The massive complex houses a day spa, restaurants and cafes, a marketplace, a yoga centre, a screening venue with a focus on documentaries and much more.

BANGKOK RIVERSIDE CREATIVE DISTRICT
BANGKOK RIVERSIDE CREATIVE DISTRICT

‘The old charms of the river are quietly making this comeback,’ says Rungsima Kasikranund, who curates the shops in Warehouse 30, including her own juice bar Raw & Reed. ‘Back in the day, the government would just tear down the old buildings and construct something new, whereas these days investors and developers all see the value and potential of old buildings, and so they’re reviving a lot of them. The thing is, the creative scene has always been present along the river. It’s just somebody has finally initiated this movement.’

And that somebody is Bangkok River Partners, a collective of businesses along the river that works to promote the area. They coined the name Creative District for the area’s clutch of arts and lifestyle venues. ‘We have already seen the difference in the past year, with a 30 percent growth of people aged 21 to 45 years old visiting various outlets along the river, and more events are being held here as well,’ says David Robinson, director of Bangkok River Partners. ‘This interesting shift is contributing to the next stage of luxury, where people see old buildings as a fascination.’

BANGKOK RIVERSIDE CREATIVE DISTRICT
BANGKOK RIVERSIDE CREATIVE DISTRICT
BANGKOK RIVERSIDE CREATIVE DISTRICT

And there’s more to come. One of the most anticipated riverside developments is The Icon Siam, an ultra-luxury shopping mall set to open this year. Next year, the complex opens a residence offshoot of the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok, which has stood on the riverbank since 1876. ‘We recently completed a comprehensive renovation of our historical buildings with brand new suites and facilities in celebration of our 140th anniversary,’ says Robert O’Kennedy, the hotel’s director of sales and marketing. ‘This is our way to keep up with the times and meet the evolving needs of our clientele, and we’ll continue to contribute to the river’s legacy.’

And farther down the waterway, River City Bangkok, an arts and antiques hub that’s been around since 1985, is now preparing to host the first Bangkok Art Biennale, which starts on 19 October.

But the river’s most important role is simply as a place to live. ‘Whether they’re Thai, Chinese, Muslims, Hindu or Christian, these large communities have lived in perfect harmony for the past two centuries,’ says Robinson. ‘No matter where you’re coming from, you’ll always find a home here.’

Cathay Pacific flies to Bangkok from Hong Kong 60 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book