頂級酒店

亞洲頂級竹子酒店

竹是亞洲區內度假村酒店普遍採用的建築物料,環保而可塑性高,同時別具東方風情。撰文 CYNTHIA ROSENFELD

不單止可愛逗趣的熊貓,現在連酒店業界都變成無竹不歡。這種天然建築材料的生長速度稱霸全球,能夠於約18個月內由幼苗長至15米高,三年後已可作為木材使用,而且堅固、優雅和可塑性高。現時眾多酒店經營者都極為重視保護環境,而亞洲既然是竹的大本營,這種可持續發展的資源自然深受區內酒店歡迎。以下列舉數家正領導這股潮流的酒店。

Bawah Island度假村, 印尼

由新加坡東北部乘搭水上飛機約90分鐘,即可抵達被珊瑚礁環抱的印尼阿南巴斯群島。Bawah Island度假村是盤踞五座小島的度假天堂,百分百採用天然和回收再造的物料建成。竹是度假村的一大特色,它既是建築結構的素材,亦被廣泛應用於設計層面上,例如水上平房、海濱別墅和野外帳篷式套房裡的花格屏風。

當然這裡亦不乏其他天然物料。浴缸和洗手盆以回收再造的紅銅鑄造,而酒店內所有熱水系統均倚靠太陽能運作。酒店的環保願景可不止於此,其偌大的花園奉行永續栽種概念,而樹頂餐廳供應的菜式,更根據嚴謹的無農藥、無漁捕和零浪費的標準,完全以本土採購的食材入饌。

這些設計特點,旨在確保這個有海龜、八爪魚和黑鰭礁鯊棲息的潛水天堂,得以保存其天然面貌。bawahreserve.com

Raphael Olivier

Cempedak度假村, 印尼

這家佔地17公頃的度假村酒店賣點層出不窮:它是只招待成人賓客的私人島嶼(可從新加坡乘船前往),那裡有一個熱帶雨林,並提供遊船、潛水以至划艇等大量水上活動,圍繞島嶼的白沙海灘更是本土犀鳥、鷹、翠鳥、海獺和穿山甲的後樂園。但對於講究設計的旅客而言,最大的吸引力肯定在於完全由竹建成的別墅。

度假村設有20棟私人度假別墅,全都採用巨大的竹樑支撐屋頂,屋頂由本土採購的竹枝編成奪目的圓拱形,為別墅增添未來感。整個建築工程動用約50,000枝竹子,展現酒店致力保育環境的決心。cempedak.com

Naman Retreat度假村, 越南峴港

越南建築師Vo Trong Nghia是全球知名的竹建築推手之一。這家位於峴港和會安之間的度假村酒店,不僅將兩地各擅勝場的海灘和殖民地風情兼收並蓄,更充分體現Nghia大量採用竹元素的建築風格。他採用來自越南各地不同種類的竹子,糅合傳統建築技術、當代美學和現代技法,塑造出極為可觀的作品。

迎賓大堂、海灘酒吧和主餐廳內均以竹為焦點,如呈弧形的竹製樑柱,六棟VIP別墅更進一步採用竹牆點綴。受大自然啟發的設計延伸至酒店每個角落,最矚目的是位於度假村中心地帶、設有32間客房的Babylon酒店大樓,其外牆完全由植被覆蓋,綠意盎然。namanretreat.com

Qi Palawan度假村, 菲律賓巴拉望

Guj Tungpalan

以竹作為建築物料,既可宣示企業對環境保育的責任,亦具備經濟效益,是Qi旗下度假村酒店得以提供相宜價格的原因。度假村位於巴拉望島北端的海灘上,八棟以太陽能發電的竹建小屋,特意排列成扇形佈局,好讓每棟小屋都能盡覽蘇祿海的美景。竹牆連接挑高的茅草屋頂,帶有傳統菲律賓建築的風格;室外淋浴設施亦以老竹桿圍繞;就連家具也採用竹為素材,當中大部分均由鄰村的木匠製造。於竹砌瑜伽室裡舉行的免費瑜伽班深受賓客歡迎,而在巴拉望進行越野單車、風箏滑浪,還有在海洋生態豐富的水域浮潛和潛水,以及在毗鄰的Bacuit Bay海灣跳島遊,同樣是旅客喜愛的活動。qipalawan.com

探索更多

每周由香港出發的航班

國泰港龍航空:峴港:7
國泰航空︰馬尼拉:48, 新加坡:58

國泰假期備有機票連酒店套票,可瀏覽 cathaypacific.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Bamboo hotels: A growing trend

Eco-friendly, versatile and undeniably Asian, bamboo is increasingly at the forefront of some of our region’s resorts. Words by CYNTHIA ROSENFELD

No longer just for pandas, bamboo is soaring in fashion across the hotel world. The planet’s fastest-growing natural building material, bamboo is capable of rising from seedling to 15 metres in about 18 months. It can be used as timber after three years and has the added bonus of being strong, beautiful and versatile. With the environment at the forefront of many hoteliers’ minds, it’s no surprise that this sustainable resource is gaining popularity in hotels here in Asia, bamboo’s backyard. Here are a few leading the way…

Bawah Island, Indonesia

Bawah Island, bamboo hotel

In Indonesia’s coral-rich Anambas archipelago, about 90 minutes by seaplane northeast of Singapore, lies this five-island sanctuary built with only natural and recycled materials. Bamboo, of course, features heavily, both as a structural building material and in design elements such as latticework screens in overwater bungalows, beachfront villas and safari-tented suites.

There are other natural materials here, too. Bathtubs and washbasins were made from recycled copper, while the water heating system throughout the resort relies on solar energy. And the environmental vision goes further, with a vast permaculture garden and dishes at Tree Top restaurant made entirely from locally sourced ingredients according to a strict zero-pesticide, zero-fishing and zero-waste programme.

It’s all designed to ensure this divers’ paradise – home to turtles, octopuses and blacktip reef sharks – remains blissfully unspoilt. bawahreserve.com

Raphael Olivier

Cempedak, Indonesia

Cempedak, bamboo hotel

There are a lot of selling points for this 17-hectare resort: it’s an adults-only private island (accessible by ferry from Singapore), it has a rainforest, there’s a bevy of offshore activities from sailing to diving and kayaking, and it’s encircled by powder-like sand that serves as a sanctuary for native hornbills, eagles, kingfishers, sea otters and pangolins. But for the design-inclined, the biggest drawcard is surely the villas made entirely of bamboo.  There are 20 across the resort, each with massive bamboo poles holding up striking curvilinear roofs of locally sourced bamboo, which give the private retreats a futuristic feel. About 50,000 pieces of bamboo went into the construction, a demonstration of this resort’s commitment to conservation. cempedak.com

Cempedak, Bamboo hotel

Naman Retreat, Da Nang, Vietnam

Naman Retreat, bamboo hotel

Vietnamese architect Vo Trong Nghia is one of the world’s leaders in the bamboo architecture movement. This resort, located between the beaches of Da Nang and the colonial charms of Hoi An, shows why. Using bamboo species from across Vietnam, Nghia’s creations marry traditional construction skills, contemporary aesthetics and modern methodologies. The result is utterly photogenic.

Bamboo takes centre stage at the welcome hall, beach bar and main restaurant, with dramatic curved columns, while bamboo-textured walls adorn the six VIP villas. And the nature-inspired design extends, most strikingly, to the living wall that soars across Babylon, the 32-room hotel structure that sits at the heart of the property. namanretreat.com

Naman Retreat, bamboo hotel

Qi Palawan, Palawan, Philippines

Qi Palawan, bamboo hotel
Guj Tungpalan

Along with being environmentally responsible, using bamboo as a building material also makes financial sense – making it a viable choice for Qi’s well-priced retreats. Here, on the northern tip of Palawan Island, eight solar-powered, bamboo-clad cottages sit on the beach, designed in a staggered arc to optimise views of the Sulu Sea. There are bamboo walls, which rise to high thatched roofs, reminiscent of traditional Filipino structures; the outdoor showers are lined in mature bamboo poles; and even the furniture gets made from bamboo, much of it by carpenters living in the adjacent village. Complimentary daily yoga classes in the bamboo-clad shala are popular with guests, as are mountain biking, kite-boarding, snorkelling and diving in the waters rich with marine life, and island hopping around nearby Bacuit Bay. qipalawan.com

Discover More

Flights per week from Hong Kong

Cathay Dragon: Da Nang: 7

Cathay Pacific: Manila: 48, Singapore: 58

Flight and hotel packages are available from Cathay Pacific Holidays at cathaypacific.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book