自然和户外

蒲甘、齋浦爾和沙哇倫多躋身聯合國教科文組織世界遺產

聯合國教科文組織在2019年度的世界遺產委員會會議中,批准了29個《世界遺產名錄》新成員,其中當然少不了位於亞洲的歷史遺址

上星期,聯合國教科文組織宣布了《世界遺產名錄》的最新名單,所以是時候更新你的旅遊口袋清單,加入這29個新古蹟景點。隨著最新名單公布,聯合國教科文組織的世界遺產名錄總數增至1,121個地點,當中涵蓋文化與自然等多個類別。審核的條件相當嚴格,從「包含出色的自然美景與美學重要性的自然現象或地區」到「表現人類創造力的經典之作」等共有十項基準,提名地點必須至少符合其中一個。今年新增的遺產地跨越時代與地域,包括了巴林的迪爾穆恩墓葬群、曼徹斯特大學的Jodrell Bank Observatory天文台、公元前八世紀的布基納法索古冶鐵遺址,以至20世紀的美國建築家Frank Lloyd Wright設計的現代建築等。想知道今年亞洲有哪些地點上榜?讓我們為你一一介紹。

齋浦爾城(印度)

Credit: Traveler1116/Getty

印度的「粉紅之城」自建於1727年以來,一直以瑰麗的砂岩外牆吸引遊客。今年,聯合國教科文組織委員會以其城市規劃體現了古代印度教文化、莫臥兒文化及西方建築文化之間的互相交流,核准齋浦爾城成為世界文化遺產。如今齋浦爾已成為北印度的重要旅遊勝地,與德里和阿格拉合稱為「旅遊金三角」。當地的著名景點包括風之宮、現今的齋浦爾皇室居住的城市皇宮,以及琥珀堡。遊客可順道前往納哈加爾堡的雕塑博物館,欣賞世界各地藝術家的現代作品,還可以飽覽城市美景。齋浦爾具備兼容並蓄的特質,使拉賈斯坦邦的形象大為提升,邦內擁有豐富的聯合國教科文組織世界遺產,其中拉賈斯坦邦的山地要塞,是由六個不同地點的堡壘組成;還有年代可追溯至18世紀初的Jantar Mantar古天文台。從德里搭機前往齋浦爾,不消片刻即可抵達。

石缸平原(老撾)

Credit: Nhut jangnhut / Alamy Stock Photo

聯合國教科文組織的第三項基準是「呈現有關現存或者已經消失的文化傳統、文明的獨特或稀有之證據」,位於老撾東北部川壙省的石缸平原肯定符合這項要求。在這片平原上,散落了約2,100個來自2,500年前的鐵器時代的巨型石缸,據說可能是在喪葬儀式使用的器具。儘管位置偏遠,但你可以從首都萬象乘搭航班前往鄰近城市Phonsavan。從這裡驅車北行即可抵達另一個世界遺產:琅勃拉邦古鎮,悠遊其間,盡情欣賞精緻的寺廟、法國殖民建築及遼闊的山區景致,可說是一件令人心曠神怡的樂事。

蒲甘(緬甸)

Credit: Uschools/Getty

位於緬甸中部的伊洛瓦底江畔,蒲甘以古代佛教寺廟而聞名,這些宗教建築氣派莊嚴,足以媲美柬埔寨的吳哥窟。這座小鎮於九至13世紀期間曾風光一時,興建了一萬多座寺廟,至今仍有超過2,000座屹立,與樹冠茂密的綠樹相映成趣。想將金碧輝煌的寺廟盡收眼底,最好的方式莫過於黎明時分乘坐熱氣球升空。不過,你必須先飛往(乘搭飛機,不是坐熱氣球)首都仰光,再接駁其他交通工具前往蒲甘。時間充裕的旅客不妨向北前往卑謬。這座2014年被列入《世界遺產名錄》的古城,是古時驃國的首都,當地挖掘出罕林、毗濕奴城及室利差呾羅遺跡,包括規模龐大的佛教浮屠、寺廟及皇宮等。

韓國新儒學書院(韓國)

Credit: Iseo Yang/iStock

今年共有九所位於韓國中部及南部的書院,以新儒學書院之名被列入世界遺產。這些書院於15至19世紀的朝鮮王朝時,根據中國儒家思想為原則而建立,在當時扮演圖書館、教室、祠廟及出版社等角色。每所書院均依山傍水而建,與自然景觀融為一體,為知識份子提供一個修身養性,促進與自然更深層次連繫的理想地點。想要一次參觀所有書院是不切實際的想法,不過首爾擁有四通八達的高速鐵路網絡,可以帶你前往鄰近慶尚北道、慶尚南道、大邱、全羅南道、全羅北道和忠清南道等地區的書院。

百舌鳥和古市古墳群(日本)

Credit: Kyodo News / Contributor / Getty

京都擁有17個世界遺產地點,但相距不遠的大阪今年才獲得第一個世界遺產。百舌鳥和古市古墳群位於大阪南端的堺市,古蹟愛好者不必舟車勞頓,即可親自體驗古老文化之美。日本古墳的數量多不勝數,至今已發現了多達16萬座古墳,其中49座建於四至六世紀的巨石墓葬群,以狀似鎖孔的土堆組成,墓主皆屬貴族階級,其中長486米的「仁德天皇陵」是全世界面積最大的墳墓之一。

良渚古城遺址(中國)

Credit: VCG / Contributor

早期文明的城市規劃,讓我們從中一窺數千年前早已存在的社會等級制度。考古學家從近代出土的良渚古城遺址中,拼湊出一個可上溯至公元前3300年至2300年的早期區域性國家,其豐富面貌令人神往。遺址分布面積廣大,包括水壩、蓄水池和堤壩等功能複雜的基礎建設,展示人類如何以智慧抵禦洪水的嚴重威脅;不同的墓葬形式則證明了當時已有階級差異,例如富裕人家的墳墓內有象牙、玉器和絲綢,看似窮人的墳墓中則只有簡單的陶器。良渚古城遺址位於現今的浙江省杭州市的郊區,坐落在市區的西湖亦已被列入世界文化遺產。

黃海候鳥棲息地(中國)

Credit: Grus japonensis

這個世界自然遺產以具有保護生物多樣性棲息地的重要性而入選。位於中國黃海沿岸及渤海灣一帶的候鳥棲息地,居住了一些世上最珍貴的極瀕危鳥類。這個區域內的泥灘是17種全球受威脅候鳥,包括勺嘴鷸和黦鷸的重要繁殖區。列入《世界遺產名錄》將有助提高人們對這些瀕危物種的認識,並進一步保護此地區。

翁比林煤礦遺產(印尼)

Credit: Afriadi hikmal / Alamy Stock Photo

印尼沙哇倫多的翁比林煤礦遺產建於19世紀末,是亞洲區內最現代的世界遺產地。這個位於西蘇門答臘的荷蘭殖民工業遺址於1990年代已停止採礦,但許多相關的隧道、宿舍和基礎設施都原封不動地保留下來。有興趣深入了解本地歷史,可前往翁比林煤礦博物館,或走訪以昔日運送煤炭的火車站改建的博物館,以及過去供礦工使用的中央廚房博物館。荷蘭人於1920年代繁盛時期興建的聖塔芭芭拉教堂保存完善,亦值得前往參觀。若要前往沙哇倫多,可先飛往雅加達,再轉機至西蘇門答臘的Minangkabau國際機場。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

Bagan, Jaipur and Sawahlunto Join Unesco World Heritage List

Unesco gives us 29 new places to add to our bucket lists in newly announced World Heritage sites for 2019 – including several in Asia

Time to revise your bucket list: Unesco announced new additions to its World Heritage list last week, which means you have 29 more destinations to add to your travel plans. The United Nations’ ever-growing roundup of landmarks now counts 1,121 sites around the world. To earn the honour, each site must meet at least one of 10 criteria, which range from things like an area of exceptional natural beauty or aesthetic importance to a masterpiece of human creative genius. From Bahrain’s ancient Dilmun burial mounds to the University of Manchester’s Jodrell Bank Observatory to iron structures from the eighth century BC in Burkina Faso to the 20th century architecture of American architect Frank Lloyd Wright, this year’s new entrants span epochs and continents. Curious which sites in Asia made the list this year? Read on to find out.

Jaipur City, India

Credit: Traveler1116/Getty

India’s Pink City has been dazzling travellers with its rosy sandstone facades since it was founded in 1727; this year, the Unesco committee was taken by its urban planning and interplay of Hindu, Mughal and Western architecture. The city has become a key element of India’s Golden Triangle circuit that also includes Delhi and Agra. Landmarks include the Hawa Mahal, or the Palace of Wind; the City Palace, where the maharajah’s family still resides; and Amber Fort. Head to the sculpture park at Madhavendra Palace to enjoy modern works by global artists and panoramic city views. Jaipur’s inclusion raises the profile of Rajasthan, already rich in Unesco World Heritage sites – namely the hill forts of Rajasthan, comprising six historic forts across the state; and the Jantar Mantar, an astrological observation site dating back to the early 18th century. Getting to Jaipur requires just a short flight from Delhi.

The Plain of Jars, Laos

Credit: Nhut jangnhut / Alamy Stock Photo

The third of Unesco’s criteria is ‘to bear a unique or at least exceptional testimony to a cultural tradition or to a civilisation which is living or which has disappeared,’ and the megalithic jar sites in the Xiangkhouang province in northeastern Laos certainly fits the bill: the 2,100 stone jars scattered across a plateau date back to the Iron Age, about 2,500 years ago, when they were likely used in ancient burial rituals. While its location is remote, there are flights to the nearby town of Phonsavan from the capital, Vientiane. Drive north and you’ll find another World Heritage gem: the town of Luang Prabang, which mixes exquisite temples, French colonial buildings and mountain panoramas.

Bagan, Myanmar

Credit: Uschools/Getty

On the banks of the Ayeyarwady river in central Myanmar, Bagan is hailed for its collection of ancient Buddhist temples, which collectively rival Cambodia’s Angkor Wat for their atmospheric beauty. During the town’s heyday in the ninth to 13th centuries, more than 10,000 temples were built; today, more than 2,000 remain, jutting above a lush canopy of trees. The best way to get a bird’s eye view over the gilded temples: a scenic hot-air balloon ride at dawn. But first, you’ll have to fly (by plane, not balloon) to Yangon, then connect onward to Bagan. Those who can extend their itineraries can arrange to head north to the ancient cities of Pyu. Inscribed on the World Hertage list in 2014, the excavated remains of Halin, Beikthano and Sri Ksetra have turned up monumental Buddhist stupas, temples and palaces.

Seowon, Korean Neo-Confucian Academies, South Korea

Credit: Iseo Yang/iStock

Scattered across the central and southern parts of South Korea, nine seowon, academies founded on Confucian principles during the Joseon dynasty from the 15th through to the 19th centuries, were together listed as a World Heritage site this year. The series of pavilions served as libraries, classrooms, shrines and publishing houses. It’s easy to see why the seonbi (intellectuals) were inspired by them: each is set among mountains, lakes or rivers, intended to foster a deeper connection with nature. Visiting all in one trip is unrealistic, but the high-speed rail network stretching out from Seoul will get you close to many of the seowon scattered about North Gyeongsang, South Gyeongsang, Daegu, South Jeolla, North Jeolla and South Chungcheong provinces.

Mozu-Furuichi Tombs, Japan

Credit: Kyodo News / Contributor / Getty

While Kyoto boasts 17 World Heritage sites, this year marks the first entrant onto the list for neighbouring Osaka prefecture. Handily for heritage aficionados, the Mozu-Furuichi tombs are just a short trip south of Osaka, in the city of Sakai. Kofun (burial mounds) are numerous in Japan –more than 160,000 have been identified – but this particular cluster of 49 megalithic tombs, made of mounds of earth shaped like keyholes and built from the fourth to sixth century, house the remains of the elite. The tomb of Emperor Nintoku, which is a staggering 486 meters long, is one of the world’s largest burial mounds.

Ruins of Liangzhu City, China

Credit: VCG / Contributor

Looking to the layouts of early civilisations gives us a window into societies and hierarchies that existed millennia ago, and at the ruins of the ancient city of Liangzhu, researchers have pieced together fascinating details from a town dating back from 3300-2300 BC. The sprawling network of dams, reservoirs and levees suggests sophisticated infrastructure to fight a significant threat of flooding, for instance, and a difference in burial methods suggests entrenched class differences, with ivory, jade and silk found in wealthier graves and simple pottery found in poorer looking graves. The ruins are found on the outskirts of Hangzhou in eastern China, which also has another World Heritage site in its famous West Lake.

Migratory Bird Sanctuaries, China

Credit: Grus japonensis

Chosen for their significance as a habitat for conservation of biodiversity, these bird sanctuaries along the coast of the Yellow Sea and Bohai Gulf in the north are a hub for transiting bird, including some of the world’s most endangered species. The mudflats in the region are essential for the survival of 17 globally threatened migratory birds, including like the spoon-billed sandpiper and the far eastern curlew. The World Heritage listing has the potential to raise awareness of their plight, and help further preserve the area.

Ombilin Coal Mine, Indonesia

Credit: Afriadi hikmal / Alamy Stock Photo

The youngest Asian contribution to the list comes from Sawahlunto in West Sumatra, where a Dutch colonial mining town dating back to the late 1800s made the cut. Though mining ceased in the 1990s, many of the tunnels, dormitories and infrastructure around the industry have been preserved. Learn all about it at the Ombilin Coal Mining Museum; the Train Museum, fashioned from an old coal station; and the Goedang Ransoem Museum, a former kitchen for the miners. Other buildings dating back to the city’s heyday include the Santa Barbara Church, built in the 1920s by the Dutch. To get to Sawahlunto, fly to Jakarta then connect to Minangkabau International Airport in West Sumatra.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book