音樂

亞洲人最愛的喜好:卡拉OK

卡拉OK是源自日本的唱歌消遣活動,由菲律賓把它提升至另一個層次

一家大小如懂得一起享受唱歌之樂,感情定必融洽。卡拉OK在亞洲大行其道,這句至理名言定必得到當地人的認同,畢竟和諧是亞洲社會和家庭的象徵。然而作為菲律賓人,我敢斷言肯定,菲律賓對唱歌的熱情,其他國家可謂望塵莫及。

讓我細說我其中一次卡拉OK的派對經歷吧!那是菲律賓中部一個家庭聚會,當地人無不是音樂天才,這或許跟當地的拉丁文化背景有關。家庭卡拉OK也有其習俗,而長幼順序更是尤其重要。先由家族排行最小的表演,其後是他們的父母、姨母和叔父。雖然他們大唱Frank Sinatra的懷舊經典,眾人似乎都避唱金曲《My Way》,留待壓軸表演。

這首熱唱金曲曾為菲律賓的卡拉OK「樂壇」帶來無限激情,很多人甚至因獻唱《My Way》表現欠佳而招來殺生之禍,造就了「My Way血案」一詞的誕生。我那次家庭派對的尾聲,是族中最年長、年過90仍然老而彌堅的曾祖父在台上用心獻唱《My Way》,歌聲刺耳難耐。雖然他五音不全,不斷忘記重點歌詞,拍子全錯,卻獲得長達五分鐘的熱烈掌聲;這就是家族和諧的精髓。

有些菲律賓人對卡拉OK的熱愛程度,大得將這項發明的榮耀據為己有,然而真正的功臣為日本音樂家井上大佑,他於1971年發明了首部卡拉OK裝置。數年後,卻由菲律賓人Roberto del Rosario申請了有關專利。

儘管如此,幾乎每個菲律賓家庭都擁有一套卡拉OK設備,而無論是街頭或廣場,都總會有人在忘情高歌。

不論是亞洲或其他地區的卡拉OK新手,如果不是家庭聚會,最好注意一下應有的禮儀:先讓老闆或伴侶的母親表演,即使他們已唱遍整張專輯也要耐心等待。如他們將咪高峰遞給你,請表現羞怯,待他們三催四請,幾乎要把你拉上台才好演唱。請確保不要重覆已唱的歌曲,謹記亂入拍子和走調尤為重要。你會發現愈荒腔走板,愈能打破文化隔閡,你的業務才會無往而不利。

不過請緊記卡拉OK在菲律賓是一件認真的事情,若堅持以自己的風格表演可能會令人動殺機,好自為之吧。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Music

Asia’s weird obsession with karaoke

The singing pastime comes from Japan, but the Philippines has taken it to the next level. By REX AGUADO

The family that sings together, stays together. This wisdom might apply across Asia, where karaoke is a revered pastime – after all, harmony is a trademark of Asian societies and families. But as a Filipino, I would posit: nowhere in the world is it practised as passionately as the Philippines.

Let me describe one karaoke party I attended, a family celebration in central Philippines. People here are known for their musicality, which might have something to do with the Latino streak in their shared history, and there are certain customs that come with family karaoke. Household pecking order is important. The youngest members of the clan go first, then parents and aunts and uncles. Although several sang Frank Sinatra classics, everybody seemed to be avoiding the pièce de résistance, My Way: they were saving it for last.

So much passion has this song inspired on the karaoke floor in the Philippines that there’s even a phenomenon – the ‘My Way killings’ – of a handful of deaths that have resulted from violence over unsatisfactory renditions. For the finale at this family party, the clan’s oldest member, a youthful great-grandfather in his 90s, took the stage and gave his soul- and eardrum-piercing performance. He was out of tune, he kept missing key bits of lyrics, his tempo was off – yet he got a five-minute standing ovation. Talk about clan harmony. 

Some of us Filipinos love karaoke so much, we claim it as a Pinoy invention. That honour actually goes to Japanese musician Daisuke Inoue, who created the first karaoke box in 1971. But it was Filipino Roberto del Rosario who patented it a few years later.

Nevertheless, nearly every Philippine household has a karaoke system, and singing happens on the street and public squares.

Singalong novices – Asian or otherwise – should take note of karaoke etiquette outside the family setting. A few useful rules: let the boss or your date’s mum sing first. Wait your turn even if they belt through an entire album. If they hand you the mic, be bashful – let them push, pull and drag you on stage. Make sure you don’t repeat what’s been sung. And most of all, remember to go off tempo and sing out of tune. You’ll discover that the more octaves you stray from the original tune, the more cultural gaps you’ve bridged – and the more business deals you’ve won.

But always remember that in the Philippines, karaoke is serious business. Doing things your way can have lethal consequences.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book