頂級酒店

摩登驛站: 亞洲的頂級文物酒店

亞洲的古蹟活化潮流方興未艾。撰文 CYNTHIA ROSENFELD

文物酒店早就不是新鮮事,世界各地無數古舊或荒廢的建築,亦已陸續蛻變為別出心裁的酒店。這些具保留價值的文化遺跡,令住客真切地感受到當地的歷史風韻。在亞洲,這股潮流更是勢不可擋,促使一些建築迎來了引人注目的轉變,而改建的項目也日益多樣化;以下這四家近期開幕的奢華酒店正正印證了這股風潮。

阿麗拉彼尚葛堡, 印度齋浦爾

Alila Fort Bishangarh

想到酒店的水療中心?前往地牢吧。上圖這座具230年歷史的宏偉堡壘去年化身精品酒店。從齋浦爾驅車前往這間雄踞阿爾瓦利山脈的花崗岩山巔的酒店只需一小時,酒店的建築風格受蒙兀兒帝國和英國殖民時期影響,足兩米厚的淡紅色外牆,仍然保留發射槍砲的垛口,而堡壘內部則以氣派的大理石地板和石牆裝飾。59間客房的窗戶設計別出心裁,讓住客將窗外的醉人景色一覽無遺。酒店遵從品牌的可持續發展經營模式,從燈具、紡織用品到訂製家具,全部購自方圓100公里以內的店家。alilahotels.com

養雲安縵, 上海, 中國內地

在重新安置一萬棵古樹和50個遺跡的浩大工程之後,養雲安縵於焉誕生。這些見證歷史的舊物曾經受到撫州水庫工程威脅,於當地出生的一位慈善家決定出手相救,將部分森林和明清兩代的古宅遷到700公里外上海近郊的一塊土地,後來發展成為今天的養雲安縵。復修後的每一幢古宅均設有兩個庭院,其中一個設有壁爐和露天浴缸。其他現代化設施包括安縵水療、兩個泳池和六間餐廳,全都被綠林懷抱。身處蔥鬱的世外桃源,令人將不足一小時路程外的繁華上海拋諸腦後。aman.com

上海建業里嘉佩樂酒店, 上海, 中國內地

在嘉佩樂酒店集團重新打造下,一些於1930年代由法國地產商興建的上海石庫門建築群,搖身一變為擁有55棟別墅的奢華酒店。古雅幽靜的石庫門建築採用中西合璧的風格,搶眼的馬頭牆及石砌雕花拱廊令人印象深刻。嶄新設施包括水療中心、嘉佩樂圖書館,以及由享負盛名的法國大廚主理的Le Comptoir Pierre Gagnaire餐廳,呼應酒店的法式風情。酒店位於交通便利的建業里,住宅和名店林立,配套完善。為了突顯其奢華氣派,所有客房均提供私人助理服務,這亦是嘉佩樂品牌的一大特色。capellahotels.com

達士敦六善酒店, 新加坡

Seth Powers

獅城牛車水丹戎巴葛區的店屋近來大變身,展現了極具創意的嶄新面貌。剛於上月開幕的達士敦六善酒店,以達士敦路上一排19世紀殖民地時期的三層樓商住兩用店屋改建而成,其室內裝潢由著名室內設計師Anouska Hempel操刀,他為酒店打造出49間風格迥異的客房。相距僅數步之遙的麥士威六善酒店來自同一集團,酒店預計於今秋開業,屆時所有住客將可共享兩間酒店的設施。麥士威六善酒店的規模較大,不僅備有更多客房,更附設室外游泳池、威士忌酒吧、熱帶花園陽台及六善水療中心等設施。sixsenses.com 

探索更多

每周由香港出發的航班

國泰港龍航空及國泰航空:上海:114
國泰航空︰新德里:14, 新加坡:63

國泰假期備有機票連酒店套票,可瀏覽 cathaypacific.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Asia’s top new heritage hotels

Asia's heritage conversion trend is still going strong. Words by CYNTHIA ROSENFELD

The heritage hotel trend is nothing new: numerous run-down or abandoned properties around the world have become exclusive hotels, delighting guests with their history and authenticity while preserving valuable heritage. Here in Asia, the trend has moved into another gear, resulting in some spectacular transformations involving increasingly diverse buildings. The proof: these four luxury openings from the last year.

Alila Fort Bishangarh, Jaipur, India

Alila Fort Bishangarh

Looking for the spa? Head to the dungeon. That’s where it’s located in this imposing 230-year-old fortress that opened as a boutique hotel last year. Sitting high atop a granite hill in India’s Aravalli Range, an hour’s drive from Jaipur, the structure boasts architecture influenced by the Mughals and the British colonial era. Two-metre-thick, blush-hued exterior walls still have their openings for cannons and guns, while marble floors and stone walls fill the impressive interior. In the 59 rooms, guests enjoy captivating views of the landscape below through windows designed to frame the panorama. And keeping with Alila’s sustainable credentials, everything from light fixtures to textiles and custom furniture was sourced within 100 kilometres of the property. alilahotels.com

Amanyangyun, Shanghai, Mainland China

Amanyangyun

It was a huge undertaking: 10,000 old trees and 50 heritage structures were transported to create Amanyangyun. They came from Fuzhou, 700 kilometres away, where their existence was threatened by plans to build a reservoir. A Fuzhou-born philanthropist decided to relocate part of the forest and the Ming- and Qing-dynasty buildings to a huge plot just outside Shanghai for what would become Amanyangyun. After renovations, each heritage house now features two courtyards, one with a fireplace, plus an outdoor bath. Other contemporary indulgences include an Aman Spa with two swimming pools, and six dining venues, all surrounded by the forest. In these verdant surroundings, it’s hard to imagine that Shanghai’s metropolitan centre is less than an hour away. aman.com

Amanyangyun Antique Villa

Capella Shanghai, Jian Ye Li, Shanghai, Mainland China

Capella Shanghaino credit

Some of Shanghai’s quaint, calm shikumen buildings have been transformed into a luxury hotel. Capella created its 55 villas out of heritage structures built in the 1930s by a French real estate company. Shikumen architecture blends traditional Chinese and Western motifs, and the hotel’s houses feature striking gabled walls, with embellished stone arches over gates and doorways. The renovation has resulted in a spa, a library and, in keeping with the French influence here, Le Comptoir Pierre Gagnaire, a brasserie headlined by the celebrated French chef. The surrounding area is known as Jian Ye Li estate, a convenient spot that comprises the hotel, residences and luxury shops. As an ultra-luxurious touch, all rooms come with a dedicated personal assistant, a hallmark of the Capella brand. capellahotels.com

Six Senses Duxton, Singapore

Six Senses Duxtoncredit: Seth Powers
Seth Powers

Shophouses get a modern, creative second act in Singapore’s Chinatown district, Tanjong Pagar. Opening just last month, Six Senses Duxton is housed in a colonial-era property that joins a row of tri-level 19th-century shophouses along Duxton Road. Interiors are by celebrity designer Anouska Hempel, who created a unique look for each of the 49 guest rooms. Just steps away, a sister hotel, Six Senses Maxwell, is expected to open this autumn, and guests at each location will have access to facilities in both. Maxwell will be the larger of the two, with an outdoor swimming pool, a whisky room, a terrace and a Six Senses Spa. sixsenses.com 

Discover more

Flights per week from Hong Kong

Cathay Dragon and Cathay Pacific: Shanghai: 114
Cathay Pacific: New Delhi: 14, Singapore: 63

Flight and hotel packages are available from Cathay Pacific Holidays at cathaypacific.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book