旅遊大獎

最佳文化體驗的亞洲城市

由旅遊經驗豐富的國泰航空馬可孛羅會會員投票選舉的「會員優選大獎」2018經已揭曉,以下是最佳旅遊體驗類別的「最佳文化體驗的城市」首選及入圍名單

最佳文化體驗的城市

首選: 京都(日本)

京都是日本千年古都,市內有無數歷史、宗教和文化瑰寶。在這裡,你可穿戴華麗得像藝伎一樣參加茶道儀式、在傳統町屋之間漫步、下榻鋪設榻榻米的傳統旅館和浸溫泉,或是在逾2,000座神社、寺廟和枯山水庭園中挑選一處去參觀。由於京都的文化遺產極其豐富,日本政府近日已決定於2021年前將文化廳遷往那裡;近半數參與投票的馬可孛羅會會員將手中一票投給京都,原因亦在此。

最佳文化體驗的城市入圍名單

北京(中國內地)

北京昔日是中國的京城,今日的首都,擁有萬里長城、故宮和胡同等歷史古蹟,亦有798藝術區及俗稱「鳥巢」的國家體育場等現代建築,體現今昔並存的文化。

成都(中國內地)

四川省省會成都是國寶大熊貓之鄉,因而成為家喻戶曉的地方。當地生活悠閒,加上多姿多采的夜生活、無處不在的茶室和火辣惹味的地道菜式,令這個西部城市的愈來愈受各地旅客歡迎。

香港(中國香港)

香港雖為彈丸之地,但卻輸出對世界影響深遠的文化。從國際知名的巨星李小龍及成龍,以至精采的本土獨立樂壇及中西美食共冶一爐的餐飲業,均為世界各地人士津津樂道。

琅勃拉邦(老撾)

由於地理位置相對偏僻,加上交通轉折,所以得琅勃拉邦當地糅合老撾、中國及法國風格的建築得以完好存到今,並於1995年名列聯合國教科文組織世界文化遺產。

暹粒(柬埔寨)

暹粒就在巧奪天工的吳哥窟廟宇群附近,也是建築、歷史和文化的寶庫;加上這個城市雖然不大,但有不少手工藝精湛的工匠,為當地帶來豐富的文化體驗。

東京(日本)

東京既是日本的首都,同時也是全國最時尚新潮的城市。這個活力四射的大都會匯集各種品味和創意紛陳的次文化。從明治神宮等傳統廟宇,以至小型爵士樂表演場地,以及御台場令人大開眼界的Teamlab數碼藝術展,東京總令人目不暇給、靈感不絕。

Travel Awards

ASIA’S TOP CITY FOR CULTURE

We reveal the winner and shortlist for top city for culture in the Experiences category, as chosen in the 2018 Marco Polo Club Members' Choice Awards by Cathay Pacific's most frequent flyers.

Experiences: Top City For Culture

Winner: Kyoto (Japan)

Kyoto, Marco Polo Club Members, experience, culture

The imperial capital of Japan for more than 1,000 years, Kyoto is a city saturated with historical, religious and cultural treasures. Here, you can dress like geisha and join matcha tea ceremonies, wander through the traditional machiya (townhouses), sleep in tatami-matted ryokan (inns) and bathe in onsen, or visit one of the 2,000-odd Shinto shrines, temples and zen gardens. So rich is Kyoto’s cultural legacy, that the government recently decided to relocate the entire Agency for Cultural Affairs here by 2021. And why almost 50 per cent of respondents voted Kyoto Asia’s top city for culture.

Experiences: Top City For Culture Shortlist

Beijing (China)

From the Great Wall, Forbidden City and surrounding hutongs to 798 Art Zone and the ‘Bird’s Nest’ National Stadium, Beijing is the guardian of Chinese culture dating back millennia to the present day.

Chengdu (China)

Famed for its giant panda city mascot, the capital of Sichuan province has an easily recognisable identity. Combined with the relaxed pace of life, lively nightlife, pervading teahouse culture and fiery Sichuan cuisine, the western gateway to China is a rising star among tourist arrivals.

Hong Kong (Hong Kong SAR, China)

For a relatively small city, Hong Kong punches well above its weight in terms of its cultural contribution. From global icons like Bruce Lee and Jackie Chan, to a thriving indie music industry and a food scene that is championed for its diverse local and international flavours.

Luang Prabang (Laos)

In 1995, Luang Prabang was designated a Unesco World Heritage Site, due to its architecture that present a fusion of Lao, Chinese and French styles, that has been remarkably well preserved thanks in part to its relatively isolated geography and accessibility.

Siem Reap (Cambodia)

The gateway to the breathtaking Angkor Wat temple complex, Siem Reap is a treasure of architectural, historical and cultural significance. Add that to a city rich with local artisans, this tiny city offers a wealth of cultural experiences.

Tokyo (Japan)

Japan’s capital city also happens to be its hippest. It’s a vibrant metropolis with subcultures catering to all tastes and sensibilities. From traditional temples such as the Meiji Shrine to tiny jazz joints to eye-popping digital art in Teamlab’s exhibition in Odaiba, Tokyo is constantly impressing and inspiring.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book