頂級酒店

亞洲極具風格的膠囊酒店

日本以外令人驚艷的豪華膠囊酒店

1979年,大阪出現了第一間膠囊旅館,原意是為不能負擔或不需要傳統酒店服務的旅客,提供廉價的過夜住宿。旅客進入酒店後隨即換上日式浴衣和拖鞋,並將行李存放於細小的儲物櫃內,而簡陋的盥洗間則需共用。現在共享經濟的概念日漸抬頭,難怪這種「親密」的住宿空間愈來愈受新一代旅人歡迎。他們無不早出晚歸,樂於縮短窩在酒店客房的時間。分隔出一個個層疊式睡眠艙的膠囊旅館,遂如雨後春筍般在亞洲地區冒起。

Capsule by Container 膠囊酒店

馬來西亞,吉隆坡

這間走工業時尚風的膠囊酒店坐落於馬來西亞首都的吉隆坡國際機場,專為轉機旅客而設。120個膠囊艙以厚實木板分隔,備有柔軟的羽絨被和閱讀燈,並細分為女性宿舍、男性宿舍、男女混合宿舍,以及設有更寬闊並有額外枕頭的尊貴床位。入住模式跟日式膠囊旅館一樣:住客需在入口處換上拖鞋,登記入住後提取儲物櫃鑰匙和毛巾。這裡的升級服務更加考慮周全,包括贈送供住客攜帶個人物品的收納包等。至於裝飾更別具巧思,牆上懸掛了當地新銳藝術家的原創作品。住客可於等候轉機期間在Capsule Bar喝杯啤酒結識朋友,睡前更可向職員拿取耳塞和要求叫醒服務,極為細心及方便。capsulecontainer.com

Sleeep膠囊酒店

香港

香港空間不足,促使這間有型有格的環保膠囊酒店應運而生。兩名畢業於哈佛大學的創辦人希望善用空間設計,以解決市區人口密度高的問題。今年初開幕的Sleeep為城中首間膠囊酒店,坐落於日趨中產化的上環社區,並提供時租及過夜選項,而八個膠囊艙均飾有金屬外殼及簡約的木材裝潢。每個膠囊均內置可獨立調節的氣窗和全天候照明系統,以提高住客的睡眠質素。Sleeep不但採用無紙化運作模式和全LED照明系統,更利用熱能轉換器為住客提供淋浴的熱水,以及選用有機棉毛巾及本地生產的盥洗用品,有望成為全球首間獲LEED v4綠色建築認證的膠囊酒店。行李儲物櫃空間寬敞(酒店亦提供存放大型行李的空間),贈送的毛絨拖鞋柔軟舒適,而共用洗手間及淋浴間的人數限於八人以下使用。sleeep.io

Adler 膠囊酒店

新加坡

這間位於牛車水的膠囊酒店結合時下流行的共居和共用工作空間概念,並坐落於親切熱鬧的社區,令人流連忘返。自詡為奢華型青年旅館的Adler,前身為老當舖及茶室。在裝飾藝術風格的外牆背後,大堂以大量古董小物點綴,而人字形木地板上則放置洋溢熱帶風情的雅致家具。手頭拮据的旅客不妨選擇三層式床位,而每個膠囊艙均配備保護私隱的遮光窗簾、350針棉質亞麻布床單、羽毛枕頭和羽絨被。旅舍亦設有單人和雙人膠囊艙,以及女性專用住宿空間。這裡或許比不上傳統酒店寬敞,但基本設施均一應俱全,並提供免費早餐、高速Wi-Fi無線網絡、當地智能手機和洗衣等服務。adlerhostel.com

Time Capsule Retreat 膠囊酒店

馬來西亞,彭亨

並非所有膠囊酒店均清一色落戶鬧市。這間家族經營的獨立旅館坐落於馬來西亞半島以東,從毗鄰自然保護區的青蔥選址,以至水泥管升級改造而成的膠囊艙,均反映其不落俗套的特色。被茂密森林包圍的水泥管膠囊房間充滿未來感,放有一張加寬雙人床,床單散發剛洗過的香氣,並安裝空調和照明系統。有別於其他市區膠囊酒店,這裡的時尚膠囊艙寬敞得足以容納兩人,前往公共浴室及洗手間的小徑沿途標記清晰。酒店同時設有以舊貨櫃升級改造而成的玻璃頂雙人房,可飽覽叢林景致。酒店主人更提供手繪地圖,方便住客遊覽鄰近的19世紀錫礦小鎮雙溪林明,而地圖亦標有當地特色餐廳,以及觀賞日落的熱門地點Panorama Hill的行山徑。timecapsuleretreat.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Asia’s most stylish capsule hotels

Capsule hotels that are striking and plush – and not in Japan

Originally intended as inexpensive overnight accommodation for travellers who could not afford or did not require the services of conventional hotels, capsule hotels first appeared in 1979 in Osaka. Clothes and shoes were exchanged for a yukata robe and slippers on entry. Luggage was stored in a small locker and simple washrooms were communal. In our increasingly shared economy, it makes sense that this intimate genre has taken off for a new generation of travellers keen to spend less time in private spaces. These compact, usually stacked sleeping pods are popping up around Asia like never before.

Capsule by Container

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Located at the Malaysian capital’s international airport, this industrial-chic pod spot is designed for transit passengers. Among the 120 wood-lined capsules with plump duvets and reading lamps are female- and male-only options, as well as mixed quarters and a premium category with wider mattresses and extra pillows. Similar to the Japanese originals, guests leave their shoes at the entrance and are given a locker key and towel upon check-in. Thoughtful upgrades here include a complimentary amenity bag for carrying personal belongings and walls hung with original works by up-and-coming local artists. Capsule Bar provides a spot for socialising over beers between takeoffs and landings. Earplugs and a wake-up call are available upon request. capsulecontainer.com

Sleeep

Hong Kong

It’s an eco-friendly and stylish solution to Hong Kong’s lack of space. Conceived at Harvard University by two students seeking to address urban population problems through design, the city’s first capsule hotel opened earlier this year in the gentrifying Sheung Wan neighbourhood. Available by the hour or on a nightly basis, these eight metal-wrapped capsules feature minimalist wood-clad interiors. Each offers individually controlled circadian lighting and air supply designed to optimise sleep quality. Set to be the world’s first LEED v4-certified capsule hotel, the operation is paperless and uses all LED lighting, a heat recovery system for its rain showers, towels made of organic cotton and locally sourced bath amenities. Luggage lockers are distinctly roomy (and there’s a separate space for oversize baggage), the complimentary slippers are extra plush and no more than the eight guests share the toilets and shower rooms. sleeep.io

Adler

Singapore

This Chinatown address combines the oh-so-now concepts of communal living and co-working, and its inviting surroundings will make you want to linger longer. A self-described posh hostel, it’s built on the site of an old pawnshop and teahouse. Behind its art deco facade, the lobby is filled with vintage finds and tropical furnishings on herringbone wood floors. Those on the tightest budget can opt for tri-level dormitory beds, and the capsules are all placed behind blackout curtains for maximum privacy. They come pimped out with 350-thread-count linen plus down pillows and duvets. Single and double pods are available here, as is female-only accommodation. Guests may lack the space of a traditional hotel but other standard amenities are included, like free breakfast, high-speed Wi-Fi, a local smartphone and laundry service. adlerhostel.com

Time Capsule Retreat

Pahang, Malaysia

Not all capsule hotels are found in urban settings. This independent, family-operated version in eastern peninsular Malaysia is decidedly unconventional, from its lush location at the edge of a protected nature reserve to its capsule rooms upcycled from concrete pipe cylinders. Surrounded by dense greenery, these futuristic circular capsules are fitted with a queen-size mattress, freshly laundered sheets, air-conditioning and good lighting. Unlike most of their city counterparts, these funky pods are large enough for two people. Shared bathrooms are found along the well-marked paths. The site also has glass-clad two-bedroom units fashioned out of upcycled shipping containers that confer spectacular jungle views. The owners provide a hand-drawn map of nearby Sungai Lembing, a quaint 19th-century tin-mining town, marked with local restaurants and the trekking path up Panorama Hill, a popular place to watch the sunset. timecapsuleretreat.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book