旅遊大獎

亞洲最智慧的城市

由旅遊經驗豐富的國泰航空馬可孛羅會會員投票選舉的「會員優選大獎」2018經已揭曉,以下是最佳旅遊創新類別的「最智慧的城市」首選及入圍名單

創新: 最智慧的城市

首選: 東京(日本)

Marco Polo Club Members Choice Awards, Smartest City

去年,筑波快線列車比原定時間提早20秒開出,導致管理層就事件引起的「嚴重不便」向公眾鞠躬道歉,令東京成為媒體廣泛報導的主角。只有在建造出全球效率數一數二的交通系統的城市裡,才會出現這樣的現象。此外,當地正試行在近郊建造智慧城鎮,令大部分民居均可使用太陽能板,讓城鎮完全倚靠可再生能源運作,實現零碳排放;同時更提供智慧泊車方案和遍佈全市的無線網絡熱點,難怪東京能在一眾競逐大獎的對手中脫穎而出。

創新: 最智慧的城市入圍名單

北京(中國內地)

北京聚精會神發展科技,致力建構「智慧經濟體」。根據科技巨頭騰訊於2017年發表的報告指出,北京於推動「無現金社會」方面位列中國智慧城市榜首。此外,雄安新區等新崛起的智慧城市亦在京城附近迅速發展。

廣州(中國內地)

廣州是發展「智能交通」的重鎮,當地透過互聯網分析路面情況,並同時操控交通燈號,以作應對,有助提升市內交通運輸的平均速度,減少整體堵塞情況,司機亦可得悉最新資訊,協助他們籌劃行程。

首爾(南韓)

首爾市長朴元淳表示,這個南韓首都要成為智能社區,除有賴綜合運輸系統及國內多間科技龍頭公司外,關鍵是「在一個完全不同的層面上溝通」。首爾提供高速而廣泛的互聯網連線,更向低收入家庭捐贈二手智能設備,實行多管齊下,實踐上述理念。

上海(中國內地)

根據國家政策,2018年國際智慧城市大會的東道主上海,已被指定為落實智能基建、智能電網及物聯網相關政策的起點。

深圳(中國內地)

深圳向來銳意成為「中國矽谷」。這個地方前身是漁村,現已成為初創公司雲集的科技重鎮,騰訊及阿里巴巴等國內科技巨頭均以此為基地。市值逾10億美元的「獨角獸公司」(例如深圳無人機製造商DJI大疆創新)在此誕生,是這個不斷向前邁進的中國城市踏出的重要一步。

新加坡(新加坡)

新加坡的智能交通計劃,令當地成為亞洲其中一個率先採用共享單車計劃的地方。自2017年底起,全城採用電動車共享服務,令獅城成為目前繼巴黎之後電動車用量最高的城市。

台北(中國台灣)

台灣於1980至90年代稱霸電子產品生產市場,但現已逐漸被亞洲其他發展中經濟體所取代。有見及此,台灣政府推出重振「智能」科技行業的措施,透過指定的商業園區、巨額投資,及與教育界和業界攜手合作,務使當地的科技業能再度蓬勃發展。

更多2018創新大獎名單:

閱覽完整的馬可孛羅會員優選大獎名單

Travel Awards

ASIA’S SMARTEST CITY

We reveal the winner and shortlist for smartest city in the Innovation category, as chosen in the 2018 Marco Polo Club Members' Choice Awards by Cathay Pacific's most frequent flyers.

Innovation: Smartest City

Winner: Tokyo (Japan)

Macro Polo Club Members Choice Awards, smartest city

Tokyo hit the headlines last year when the Tsukuba Express departed 20 seconds early, prompting abject apologies from its management for the ‘severe inconvenience’. Such a reaction could only come from a city that has created one of the slickest transport systems in the world. Add to this Tokyo’s experiments to create suburban smart towns that produce zero carbon emissions and run completely on renewable energy, integrating a large proportion of homes with solar panels, offering smart parking solutions and Wi-Fi hotspots all over the place, and it’s clear to see why Tokyo is leading the line.

Innovation: Smartest City Shortlist

Beijing (China)

Beijing has particularly focused its technology on fostering a ‘smart economy’. The city ranks as China’s smartest city in terms of operating as a cashless society, according to a 2017 report by tech giant Tencent. On top of this, entirely new smart cities such as Xiong’an are being developed on the capital’s borders.

Guangzhou (China)

In Guangzhou, a focus on ‘intelligent traffic’ has seen the use of internet-connected traffic lights that can analyse road conditions and react accordingly, helping to raise the average speed of traffic in the city, reduce overall congestion and give drivers access to updated information to help them plan their journeys.

Seoul (South Korea)

In addition to the South Korean capital’s integrated transport system and being the hub for the country’s major tech companies, the key to becoming a smart society, according to the mayor of Seoul, Park Won-soon, is ‘communication on a totally different level’. Seoul demonstrates this with everything from fast, widespread internet to donating second-hand smart devices to low-income families. 

Shanghai (China)

Host to the international 2018 Smart City Expo, Shanghai has also been targeted as ground zero for a national plan to implement smart infrastructure, smart grid and Internet of Things-related policies.

Shenzhen (China)

Shenzhen has never hidden its ambitions to become the Silicon Valley of China. The country’s tech giants – including Tencent and Alibaba – are all headquartered in the former fishing village-turned-startup community. ‘Unicorns’ (businesses valued at more than US$1 billion) such as Shenzhen-based drone manufacturer DJI are just the start for this forward-facing Chinese city. 

Singapore (Singapore)

Singapore’s smart traffic initiatives saw the country become one of the first to adopt shared bicycle schemes in Asia and, so far, is the biggest adopter of e-vehicles (after Paris) with a city-wide electric car-sharing in operation since the end of 2017.

Taipei (Taiwan China)

Renowned for its dominance as an electronics manufacturer in the 1980s and ’90s, Taiwan has seen traditional industries being overtaken by other developing Asian economies. In response, the government has launched a renewed focus to push Taiwan’s ‘smart’ technologies, with dedicated business clusters, major investment and educational-industrial tie ups in the works.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book