科倫坡

斯里蘭卡: 亞州最好的新養生勝地

想尋覓新的養生勝地?斯里蘭卡不僅擁有壯麗風光和深厚文化,其數千年歷史的哲學,更助你如獲新生

我的醫生Fernando剛將診斷結果告訴我,情況比我想像中嚴重:「我建議你戒吃奶類製品、蛋、肉、煎炸食物或小麥製品,而且絕對不可沾酒。」他說這番話時面無表情,似乎沒有意識到他已將世上所有美好的東西全都摒除在我的世界之外。

我向來沒有高估自己的身體狀況。稍為超重?也許吧。喝太多酒?這就肯定了。至於身體有否痛症?不完全是,但Amangalla酒店駐場的阿育吠陀專家剛剛開出的處方,卻把我這數天的養生之旅的無憂無慮全嚇走了。他強調處方對我大有裨益,我們走著瞧就是了;詳情容我稍後再交代。

也許我應該從頭說起。我以養生為主題遊歷斯里蘭卡,這是我旅程的第四天。我一直聽說,正念和養生之類是時下潮流,人們尤其喜愛將之納入度假行程。峇里和泰國早已是養生勝地的老字號,那究竟我為何要選擇這個印度洋島國?

「斯里蘭卡跟其他養生勝地可謂大異其趣。這裡佛教盛行,擁有精采文化和秀麗風光,這些都跟養生有所關連。斯里蘭卡的能量與亞洲其他旅遊勝地亦迥然而異。無論你踏足的是寺廟、園林、野外或其他特別景點,都能感受與別不同的能量;這是斯里蘭卡獨有的特性。」Nilusha Kodithuwakku如此道。她是斯里蘭卡Ayurva Traveller的創辦人,而這家為我安排行程的新興養生禮賓中心,於去年的World Spa Awards大獎更獲選為「全球最佳養生旅行社」。

沒錯,斯里蘭卡雖是小國,卻擁有豐富多樣的風光。只消幾個小時的車程,就能從起伏有致的海灘直驅壯麗山巒,或從連綿茶園抵達熱帶雨林。

Mike Pickles

當我在離開科倫坡宛如迷宮的市區,前往首都以南80公里的Bentota鎮海灘時,就完全體會到這一點。轉眼間,風景迅即變成綠油油一片,高速公路兩旁盡是茶園、印度橡樹和在風中搖曳的瘦長棕櫚樹,沿途更看見海鮮餐廳和海龜保育區的招牌,直至我抵達俯瞰整個海灘的Saman Villas度假村酒店。

Kodithuwakku表示:「斯里蘭卡有許多的住宿都擁有迷人空間和景致,但卻未必配備養生設施。我們可以派遣任何醫師前往任何住宿設施,在優美的環境中提供養生服務。」

然後,Tajmilan Chinthakan就來到我下榻的Saman Villas度假村酒店。這位年輕而打扮新潮的當地人是全國最頂尖的養生醫師之一,更是斯里蘭卡前總統Mahinda Rajapaksa的瑜伽導師。

Mike Pickles

瑜伽近年在全球掀起熱潮,斯里蘭卡自然亦不例外,但這活動並非斯里蘭卡的傳統文化。當然你可在這裡修習瑜伽,但正如Chinthakan所言,如要接觸該國的靈性哲學,就非認識佛教不可。他表示:「斯里蘭卡人主要信奉佛教,因此大部分傳統冥想方式都與佛教有關。冥想對健康有莫大好處,可以觀照自我、體察事物美好的一面,甚至發現壞事中也有美善;佛陀的教誨沒有任何負面字句。」

我過往曾嘗試冥想,效果不盡相同,不過當我坐在度假村的草地之中,以落日餘暉、拍岸波濤、拂面清風和嶙峋海岸等為佈景,則構成一番截然不同的心境。我們在幾天裡進行呼吸和消除雜念的練習,此舉十分奏效,使我心情平靜。Chinthakan表示:「你已馴服了浮躁不安的內心。」靜坐和呼吸從未如此讓我滿足。

Mike Pickles

沿著海岸南下60公里,就會到達歷史悠久的堡壘城市加勒。當地風光宏偉壯麗,17世紀的荷蘭殖民地風格建築遍佈每個角落,其中一幢便是Amangalla酒店,而我正是在這裡跟家族三代均是阿育吠陀醫師的Fernando醫生會面 。

雖然阿育吠陀往往被視為印度哲學,但其實已扎根斯里蘭卡數千年,而且更另有名堂,稱為「蘭卡阿育吠陀」。它不但擷取一部分印度阿育吠陀,以調和身體的哲學和混合草藥為基礎,同時亦糅合傳統斯里蘭卡的僧伽羅和Desheeya Chikitsa的土著醫藥體系。在某程度上,它有點類似傳統中醫學,網羅草藥療法和身體療程。

Mike Pickles

Fernando醫生表示:「阿育吠陀在斯里蘭卡仍然廣受歡迎。它以預防疾病為主,讓人保持健康。現在愈來愈多人捨棄西藥療程,並採用更為天然的阿育吠陀療法來養生。」

療程首先鑑別個人的身心體質,以及是否處於平衡狀態。身心體質分成「pitta」、「kapha」和「vata」三類,各自對應風、火、水、土和以太等元素的組合。我的身心體質屬於「kapha」,亦即處於不平衡狀態(很明顯吧),亟需援助。

Fernando醫生建議的療程包括更多冥想(我的身心可以更放鬆)、阿育吠陀按摩療程(針對痠痛關節和背部)、排毒(這是顯而易見的),以及Shirodhara。Shirodhara或許是阿育吠陀療法當中最強效的療程,只可於醫生指示下進行。它採用完全以斯里蘭卡本土農產品煉製、並根據我的身心體質和症狀調配的草藥暖油,將之慢慢傾注在前額,過程中讓身體達致平衡並紓緩壓力。這令我身心舒暢之餘,更有助入眠。

美食當然也是不可或缺的一環。雖然我極其恐懼排毒食療,但幸好Amangalla酒店的斯里蘭卡風阿育吠陀食療,並不包括果汁或未經烹煮的食物。就以我部分指定餐膳為例,菜式包括以崩大碗和蝦鉗菜煮成的青咖哩;採用糙米炮製的斯里蘭卡美食阿榜糕,以及豆泥糊配椰奶。這些菜式全部根據我的身心體質和需要烹調而成,而且很合我的口味,讓我大飽口福。

那麼整個療程有哪方面起到實際作用?療程計劃完結時,Fernando醫生總結道:「你的血壓有所下降,而你的身心體質也更為平衡。對,你現在基本上十分健康。」

這無疑是一大喜訊,但我現在真的非常想吃炸雞呢!

Mike Pickles

計劃行程

Amangalla度假村

aman.com

這家度假村位於加勒殖民地時期的城牆之內,並坐落在一棟建於1684年的建築內。

Saman Villas度假村

samanvilla.com

度假村位於Bentota鎮海邊,享有壯麗的日落美景和豐富的水療項目。

Ayurva Traveller 養生禮賓中心

ayurvatraveller.com

這個養生禮賓中心可以根據你的旅遊目的地和健康目標為你度身定制行程。

國泰假期

預訂前往斯里蘭卡的六天套票,包括機票,酒店和觀光團。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往科倫坡的航班,每周有七班

Colombo

Ayurveda, Buddhism and nature: Why Sri Lanka’s now a top healthy travel destination

Looking for a new wellness destination? Sri Lanka brings together magnificent landscapes, rich culture and, most importantly, millennia-old philosophies on how to find a better you. Photos by MIKE PICKLES

My doctor has just broken the news, and it’s worse than I had feared. ‘I would recommend that you don’t eat dairy, eggs, meat, deep-fried food or wheat products,’ Dr Fernando tells me, deadpan, seemingly unaware that he’s listed literally everything good in the world. ‘And definitely no alcohol.’

I was under no illusions that I was in prime condition. Slightly overweight? Perhaps. Drink too much? Definitely. Generally living free of pain? Not exactly. But Amangalla’s resident ayurvedic expert had just delivered a prescription that had shocked me out of the super relaxed disposition I’d found over several days of this wellness holiday. It’ll help, he insists, but we’ll see. More on that later.

I should back up. I’m on day four of an expedition to discover Sri Lanka through wellness. Mindfulness, wellness and the like, I keep hearing, are things that everyone is doing nowadays, in particular on holiday. Bali and Thailand are well-established as wellness destinations. But what about this Indian Ocean island nation?

‘Sri Lanka is different to other wellness destinations. We have Buddhism, amazing culture, beautiful landscapes, and we can connect all these things together with wellness,’ Nilusha Kodithuwakku tells me. She is the founder of Ayurva Traveller, a new Sri Lanka-based wellness concierge service that has arranged my trip and that was voted World’s Best Wellness Travel Agency at last year’s World Spa Awards. ‘The energy of Sri Lanka is so different from other destinations around Asia. When you come to a temple, to landscapes, nature and other special places, you’ll find the energy of the place is so different. It’s unique.’

Indeed, Sri Lanka, while small, is incredibly diverse in its landscapes. A couple of hours’ drive can take you from rugged beaches to magnificent mountains, from sweeping tea fields to rainforests.

Sri Lanka, Saman Villas

It’s something I notice as I leave Colombo’s maze-like urban landscape and head to my first stop, Bentota Beach, 80 kilometres south of the capital. Soon, it all becomes green, the highway flanked by tea plantations, rubber trees, skinny palms bending to the whims of the wind. Signs for seafood restaurants and sea turtle sanctuaries appear, too, until I arrive at Saman Villas, a resort sitting elevated over the beach.

‘A lot of places in Sri Lanka have amazing spaces and views, but they might not have a wellness component. We can bring any practitioner to any property, to provide that wellness experience in these magnificent places,’ says Kodithuwakku.

At Saman Villas I meet Tajmilan Chinthakan, a young, hipster-ish local who is one of the country’s foremost wellness practitioners – and yoga teacher to the country’s former president, Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Yoga in Sri Lanka, like the rest of the world, has seen a surge in recent years, but it’s not part of the country’s tradition. Sure you can do it here, but as Chinthakan tells me, if you really want to connect with the country’s spiritual philosophies, it’s all about Buddhism. ‘Sri Lanka is mainly Buddhist, so the most traditional meditation is Buddhist,’ he says. ‘Meditation is good for a healthy body. When you meditate, you can see your self. You see the good things. Even the bad things are good. Buddha’s language doesn’t have any bad words.’

I’ve tried meditation before, to varying levels of satisfaction. But on the grass at Saman Villas – sun setting, waves crashing, breeze wafting, coastline being rugged, etc – it’s a different mindset. We do breathing and mind clearing exercises over a couple of days and, remarkably, I’m at peace. ‘You tamed the jumping monkey,’ says Chinthakan. Sitting and breathing has never been so rewarding.

The historic fort city of Galle is just 60 kilometres down the coast. It’s majestic, with 17th-century colonial Dutch buildings at every turn. And one of them houses Amangalla. It’s here that I meet Dr Fernando, who comes from three generations of ayurvedic doctors.

Ayurveda is often thought of as an Indian philosophy, but it’s also been practised in Sri Lanka for thousands of years, with its own identity: Lanka Ayurveda. It’s part Indian ayurveda, which is based on body balance philosophies and herbal cocktails, but it also incorporates traditional medicine of the Sinhalese (the majority ethnic group of Sri Lanka) and the indigenous system Desheeya Chikitsa. In some ways, it’s a little like traditional Chinese medicine, involving herbal remedies and body treatments.

Sri Lanka, slow down in Galle

‘Ayurveda is still very popular in Sri Lanka. It’s preventative and keeps people healthy,’ says Dr Fernando. ‘Now, more people are going from Western medicine to Ayurveda, a much more natural alternative.’

It all starts with determining your body type, or dosha, and whether it’s in balance. There are three doshas (pitta, kapha, vata), with each corresponding to a combination of various elements such as wind, fire, water, earth and ether. Me? I’m kapha, imbalanced (of course) and in need of some help.

Dr Fernando’s suggested treatments involve more meditation (I could still relax more), ayurvedic massage treatments (aching joints and back), detoxification (he needn’t remind me) and Shirodhara, which is perhaps ayurveda’s most powerful treatment, only to be done on doctor’s orders. It involves warm herbal oils – all made from local Sri Lankan produce, formulated for my body type and ailments – slowly drizzled over the forehead, balancing your body and relieving stress in the process. It’s fascinating and hypnotic.

And then there’s the food. I have an aversion to the idea of detox diets but, fortunately, Amangalla’s Sri Lankan ayurvedic diet doesn’t involve juices or raw foods. Take, for example, some of my designated meals: green curry made from pennywort and Joseph’s coat; a version of Sri Lanka’s finest culinary gem, the hopper, made from brown rice; daal with coconut milk. They were all made according to my dosha and my needs, and yet none of them lacked in satisfaction for my taste buds.

So did any of it actually help? At the end of the programme, Dr Fernando delivers his verdict: ‘Your blood pressure has gone down. Your dosha is more in balance. Yes, you’re basically good.’

It’s good to hear. But now I’m really craving some fried chicken.

Start planning‭ ‬

Amangalla

aman.com

Located within the colonial fort walls of Galle, this resort is housed in a building dating to 1684.

Saman Villas

samanvilla.com

This retreat is set beside the sea in Bentota, with fiery sunset views and an extensive spa programme.

Ayurva Traveller

ayurvatraveller.com

This wellness concierge can tailor trips based on both the destinations you would like to visit and your wellness objectives.

Cathay Pacific Holidays

Book a six-day package to Sri Lanka, inclusive of flights, hotels and a tour.

Cathay Pacific flies to Colombo from Hong Kong seven times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book