頂級酒店

亞洲最出色的酒店圖書館

書卷盈室的空間為住客營造典雅舒適的氣氛,並能讓他們充分感受到當地的文化。撰文:CYNTHIA ROSENFELD

書籍向來是旅人的絕佳遊伴。即使平板電腦和電子閱讀器有取代實體書的趨勢,眼光獨到的酒店經營者深諳圖書館依然能夠啟發人心。書卷盈室的空間為住客營造典雅舒適的氣氛,並能讓他們充分感受到當地的文化。壞天氣搞砸了沙灘之旅?不如踏進圖書館,邊品嚐紅茶及精緻甜點,邊細閱酒店精心搜羅的好書。

Taj Falaknuma Palace酒店

印度海得拉巴

這間佔地13公頃的酒店經專人悉心打理,前身為建於1894年的宮殿。酒店由尼隆姆王公的後人擁有,這個貴族一直統治海得拉巴,直至印度於1947年宣佈獨立為止。走進這座瓊堆玉砌的華麗宮殿,眼前以黃檀木和桃花紅木建成的圖書館,是每個愛書人夢寐以求的天堂。這裡約有6,000本以皮裝書為主的藏書,填滿了向上延伸至胡桃木方格天花板的書架。大部分藏書均極為珍罕,包括整套《大英百科全書》的初版,而館中最古老的書籍更可追溯至1801年。賓客可安坐於媲美博物館展品的古董扶手椅,投入經典巨著的文字世界中。館長Asif Husain Arastu特別向大家推薦這裡的插畫書,如以日本羊皮紙製成的《安徒生童話》,書中飾有出自愛爾蘭花窗玻璃專家之手的插圖。

tajhotels.com

國泰航空設有由香港飛往海得拉巴的航班,每周有四班。詳情請點擊這裡

安縵吉沃度假村

印尼爪哇

這座知名度假村以石灰岩興建而成,主要景點為全球最大的佛塔遺跡婆羅浮屠,而這三層高的佛塔就在酒店毗鄰。佛塔不遠處便是建於10世紀、雕刻華美的印度教廟普蘭巴南寺,更是印尼境內供奉濕婆的最大型神廟。賓客可前往安縵吉沃度假村內媲美攝影景點的圖書館,探究豐富神秘的爪哇文化。以絲綢、木窗花、古董地圖和歐洲瓷器點綴的典雅裝潢,令賓客禁不住到處參觀,而柔軟舒適的長沙發則吸引賓客坐下,休閒地呷著酒店自家製的香茅茶。在此,你可飽覽種類繁多的藏書,從中學習彈奏爪哇民族樂器甘美蘭,分辨不同種類的蠟染印花,甚至發掘印尼絕佳的滑浪勝地。

aman.com

國泰航空設有由香港飛往雅加達的航班,每周有26班。詳情請點擊這裡

港島香格里拉大酒店

香港

酒店的圖書館位於39樓,約有1,000本藏書,館內兩層高的落地玻璃窗外更盡享迷人香港都會風景。天花板的水晶吊燈和高聳的綠玉色大理石柱,為歐陸式家具和充滿東方色彩的地氈增添不少氣派。海軍藍色真皮扶手椅吸引人坐下來閱讀館內多種不同語言的藏書,當中包羅區內及國外的特別課題,住客也可外借圖書在館外享受開卷樂。賓客可利用滑動式木梯取下書架頂層的書籍,不過若想閱讀詹姆斯.希爾頓於1933年出版的《消失的地平線》,大可不必求助於圖書館,因為每間客房的床邊便有一本,書中描述的香格里拉正是酒店名稱的緣起。

shangri-la.com

曼谷文華東方酒店

泰國曼谷

位處湄南河畔的曼谷文華東方酒店於1887年開業,其Authors’ Lounge坐落於舊翼,主要是向Somerset Maugham及Graham Greene等曾入住的名作家致敬。走上階梯即見以Joseph Conrad、John le Carré、Iris Murdoch及VS Naipaul等大文豪命名的獨立套房,每間均經特別設計。賓客可於地下的露天花園品嚐享負盛名的下午茶,酒店提供多種法國頂級Marriage Frères茶葉,種類可媲美這裡的藏書。這間酒店與文學世界有深厚淵源,例如Authors’Lounge牆上掛了歷年來知名作家於酒店拍攝的照片,以及摘錄自其著作的名言,甚至有作家的簽名著作。

mandarinoriental.com

國泰航空設有由香港飛往曼谷的航班,每周有60班。詳情請點擊這裡

國泰假期備有機票連酒店套票,可瀏覽cathaypacific.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Asia’s best hotel libraries

For a truly quiet escape, try one of Asia’s best hotel libraries. Words by CYNTHIA ROSENFELD

Books have long made perfect travelling companions. And even while tablets and e-readers have come to replace paperbacks, discerning hoteliers know that libraries can still inspire. An elegant, well-curated room full of volumes extends a welcoming environment allowing guests to get up to speed on the culture of a destination, take refuge when poor weather dampens a beach day or enjoy tea and sweets.

Taj Falaknuma Palace

Hyderabad, India

Taj Falaknuma

Built in 1894, this former palace sprawled over 13 manicured hectares belonging to a succession of leaders called Nizam, who ruled Hyderabad until India’s independence in 1947. Inside this ornate complex, the vast rosewood and mahogany library is a bibliophile’s fantasy. The collection of about 6,000 mostly leather-bound books fills walls of shelves reaching to the coffered walnut wood ceiling. Many are rare, such as an entire first edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, while the oldest book here dates to 1801. Guests are encouraged to settle into one of the museum-quality antique armchairs with some of these vintage tomes. The hotel’s librarian, Asif Husain Arastu, especially recommends perusing the illustrated books here like Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen, which features artwork on Japanese vellum by an Irish stained-glass expert.

tajhotels.com

Cathay Pacific flies to Hyderabad from Hong Kong four times per week.
Click here to book

Amanjiwo

Java, Indonesia

amanjiwo

Borobudur, the world’s largest Buddhist monument, is the main attraction at this celebrated resort built out of limestone; the three-tiered shrine sits just adjacent to the hotel. And not far away is Prambanan, an ornately carved 10th-century Hindu temple, the largest dedicated to Shiva in Indonesia. Guests can learn more about these and other aspects of Java’s richly diverse and mystical culture in Amanjiwo’s ultra-photogenic library. Raw silk, latticework wood, vintage maps and European ceramics form an elegant setting to encourage exploration, while the plump daybeds invite guests to linger awhile with a glass of homemade lemongrass tea. Pick out books from this eclectic collection and learn to play the Javanese gamelan, identify the different batik textile prints and even find Indonesia’s best surf spots.

aman.com

Cathay Pacific flies to Jakarta from Hong Kong 26 times per week.
Click here to book

Island Shangri-La, Hong Kong

Hong Kong

Island Shangri La Hong Kong

Double-height windows on the 39th floor confer stunning views of the Hong Kong skyline to accompany the 1,000 or so titles at the Library at Island Shangri-La. A crystal chandelier hanging overhead and soaring jade marble columns add dramatic flair to the European furnishings and floor-wide oriental rug. Navy blue leather club chairs beckon, although guests are invited to borrow any volume from this multilingual selection, which includes special interest books on the region and beyond. A sliding wooden ladder gives access to books on the top shelf. But guests looking for a copy of Lost Horizon, the 1933 novel by James Hilton from which this hotel company derives its name, will find one by their bedside.

shangri-la.com

Mandarin Oriental Hotel, Bangkok

Bangkok, Thailand

Mandarin Oriental Bangkok

Named for past guests like Somerset Maugham and Graham Greene, the Authors’ Lounge is located in the oldest wing of this legendary hotel, which opened along the Chao Praya River in 1887. Upstairs, individually decorated suites are named for these and other accomplished writers including Joseph Conrad, John le Carré, Iris Murdoch and VS Naipaul. Back on ground level, an airy dining venue hosts the hotel’s popular afternoon tea. While the emphasis here is on the extensive selection of Marriage Frères teas, the property’s longstanding affinity with the literary world is also on display. It flourishes here between walls lined with original photos of famed authors taken at the hotel over the decades, along with quotations from their books and, in some cases, signed copies on display.

mandarinoriental.com

Cathay Pacific flies to Bangkok from Hong Kong 60 times per week.
Click here to book

Flight and hotel packages are available from Cathay Pacific Holidays at cathaypacific.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book