頂級酒店

亞洲最好的動物奇遇

Samantha Leese與我們前往亞洲多家可與猩猩、大象、鯨魚以及其他動物接觸的酒店

自從動物園、水族公園與馬戲團大行其道以來,動物觀光經已大有進步。

目前亞太區愈來愈多酒店,無論是豪華度假村還是環保旅舍,均讓客人以身歷其境及合乎人道的方式接觸動物,藉此了解及體驗當地的自然環境。

這是全球的大趨勢,而這股風氣亦吹到亞洲;隨著旅客愈來愈富裕,對保育的意識相應提高。愈來愈多人願意支付額外的費用,以便減少碳足跡,或者提高下一代的環保意識。

Lightfoot Travel旅行社的Lucy Jackson表示,不少家庭會要求安排以動物為主題的旅程,佔了旅行社業務的三分之一。她補充道:「我們的客人希望讓子女接觸大自然的世界。讓小朋友親身體驗生命循環不息,可以引發好奇心。」

以下介紹多個亞太區合乎人道的最佳動物觀光體驗。

西澳洲薩爾薩里斯寧格魯岸礁旅舍

西澳於2016年起准許人們於寧格魯岸礁一帶與座頭鯨一起游泳。薩爾薩里斯是位於海灘上、景色迷人的野生生態觀察營,每年8月至10月,約有30,000條鯨魚在遷徙時經過這一帶,營地會舉辦導賞團出海觀鯨。每艘船每次只容許少量乘客下水,以免打擾鯨魚。所有下水的泳客必須懂得游泳及浮潛。

salsalis.com.au

龍坡邦安縵塔卡酒店

極致奢華的安縵塔卡酒店位於龍坡邦,與關懷老撾大象福祉的MandaLao Elephant Conservation and Tours旅行社攜手合作,讓客人協助餵飼名叫Kit的幼象和另外兩隻年紀較大的大象,以及為牠們洗澡;這些大象都是從一個伐木營地內營救出來的。安縵塔卡是花園別墅式的酒店,位於龍坡邦舊城內。

aman.com/resorts/amantaka

沙巴婆羅洲雨林旅館

丹濃谷自然保護區位於UluSegama Forest Reserve森林保留區內,這片森林是沙巴面積最大的受保護低地雨林。區內有120種以上的哺乳類動物,包括紅毛猩猩。旅館舉辦的活動包括遠足導賞團,以及在樹冠之間搭建的看台或吊橋上尋找這種極度瀕危的靈長類動物。供客人住宿的小木屋十分注重對環境的影響,設計以留下最少的碳足印為宗旨。每間小木屋均設有戶外浴缸及寬闊的觀景台,可將河流及森林的景色盡收眼底。客人若想入住更優質的客房,旅館內設有三間高級別墅可供選擇。

borneonaturetours.com

成都博舍酒店

Michael Webder

博舍酒店提供前往成都大熊貓繁育研究基地的半日之旅,讓住客在寧靜的環境中與名滿天下的四川熊貓見面。訪客可在育嬰室內觀看熊貓媽媽及小熊貓,是深受歡迎的景點。博舍是風格雅致的古蹟酒店,位於時尚潮區遠洋太古里內,酒店建築仿照一座清朝廟宇的風格設計。從酒店前往大熊貓繁育研究基地,只需30分鐘車程即可抵達。

thetemplehousehotel.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Asia’s best ethical animal encounters

SAMANTHA LEESE finds hotels where encounters with apes, elephants, whales and more come as standard

Animal tourism has come a long way since the heyday of zoos, sea parks and circuses.

Now a growing number of hotels in Asia Pacific, from luxury resorts to eco-lodges, offer immersive and ethical animal encounters as a way for guests to experience a place through its natural inhabitants.

It’s a global trend that has caught on in Asia as travellers become increasingly affluent and aware, with more and more willing to pay a premium on their holidays to reduce their carbon footprint, or mould eco-conscious young minds.

Lucy Jackson of Lightfoot Travel says that animal-focused requests often come from families, which make up a third of the agency’s business. She adds: ‘Our guests want to show their children the natural world. To see the circle of life unfold in front of their young eyes is to illuminate our own sense of wonder.’

Here are the best ethical animal experiences in Asia Pacific.

Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, Western Australia

Hotel-Trend-2

Western Australia approved swimming with humpback whales at Ningaloo in 2016. Sal Salis, a dreamy beachside safari camp, runs tours from August to October, when some 30,000 whales migrate through the area. Only a handful of people from each boat are allowed in the water at one time so as not to disturb the animals. All swimmers must be confident and able to snorkel.

salsalis.com.au

Amantaka, Luang Prabang

Hotel-Trend-3

This ultra-luxe hotel in Luang Prabang works with MandaLao Elephant Conservation and Tours, which is focused on the care and comfort of Lao elephants. Guests help to feed and bathe a baby named Kit and two older elephants, all rescued from a logging camp. Afterwards, relax at Amantaka, a garden villa-style property in the old town.

aman.com/resorts/amantaka

Borneo Rainforest Lodge, Sabah

Hotel-Trend-4

Danum Valley Conservation Area is part of the Ulu Segama Forest Reserve, Sabah’s largest protected lowland rainforest. There are over 120 species of mammal in the area, including the orangutan. Activities at the lodge include guided trekking and canopy walks in search of these critically endangered primates. The eco-sensitive chalets are designed with a minimal footprint in mind – each has an outdoor bathtub and a spacious viewing deck overlooking the river and forest. Guests who would prefer a higher-end stay can book one of three premium villas.

borneonaturetours.com

The Temple House, Chengdu

Hotel-Trend-5
Michael Webder

The Temple House can arrange half-day trips to the Chengdu Research Base for Giant Panda Breeding, where guests will meet Sichuan’s famous bears in a peaceful environment. The nursery is a favourite attraction, where visitors can observe female pandas with their cubs. The research centre and panda park is only 30 minutes’ drive from the heritage-chic The Temple House hotel, fashioned from a Qing dynasty temple in the trendy Taikoo Li neighbourhood.

thetemplehousehotel.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book