藝術與文化

令檳城成為亞洲街頭藝術之都的壁畫

檳城街道上的牆壁佈滿壁畫,觸發城裡一場藝術風潮,塑造檳城的現代面貌

穿梭於檳城喬治市的大街小巷,走過嘎吱作響的碼頭,途經木造的貨倉,再沿著排列參差的房子前行,抵達散發著殖民時期餘暉的宏偉建築。前舖後居的窄長房子櫛比鱗次,油漆剝落,令木造的窗簾顯得斑駁。檳城讓每個尋幽探秘的旅人滿載而歸,只要信步蹓躂,會看到眾多意想不到的風景。

不過你大概不會注意到那些保存得完好無缺的娘惹大宅,或店舖住宅騎樓下的「五腳基」走廊,甚至對面前一碟美味的咖哩鵝無動於衷,因為你的目光總禁不住往牆上搜索,探視被凝在壁畫上的街童,在畫上他們正興高采烈地打籃球;或是尋訪李小龍在傾頹的紅磚牆上使出的一記李三腳;又或游目追蹤茶室外的一頭老虎;甚至張望攀爬在一幢房子外的藍衣女孩。每次拐彎,你都會看到字體潦草的塗鴉、一道鐵鑄的街景,以及覆蓋整堵建築外牆的壁畫;在檳城,街頭藝術無處不在。

圖片: yanatul/Shutterstock

檳城的街頭藝術,全因一個人而得以中興:他就是Ernest Zacharevic。2012年,檳城市議會委任這位當時26歲的立陶宛藝術家為喬治市文化藝術節創作六幅壁畫。檳城市中心早於2009年獲聯合國教科文組織確認為世界遺產,但政府卻沒有故步自封地維持當地的歷史原貌,反而決定為築起城市面貌的一牆一磚賦予新生命。

Zacharevic的作品是一闋小島風物誌。他以畫筆描繪檳城居民的日常生活,並融入當地風光,包括建築、交通以至斜倚在被陽光曬得發白的牆壁上的單車。他的壁畫中,有等待客人付錢的人力車伕;有嚮往大海的一群女生;也有愉快地在單車上擠在一起的孩童。一筆一畫,都捕捉了檳城活潑愉快的民間氣息。

Zacharevic成為了檳城的著名塗鴉藝術家Banksy,並以藝術令檳城獲得新生,因而備受世界注目。自此,街頭藝術大師紛紛在檳城留下真跡,而本土藝術家當然亦不甘後人,四處展露才華。現時仍旅居喬治市的Zacharevic,獨力扭轉世人對這前殖民地的印象。時至今天,來訪的旅客皆因這裡的美食、文化,以及牆上的藝術品慕名而來。Zacharevic的首本名作《Little Children on Bicycle》(單車上的孩童)大受歡迎,以至夜市出售的T恤上也有印上此畫,成為與檳城美食中心齊名的當地勝景。

圖片: Henrik Haven

於2010年移居到檳城的英國藝術家Thomas Powell,在當地的大街小巷創作《Chinese Zodiac》(中國生肖)壁畫系列,他表示:「大概沒有人想過檳城會以這樣的方式引進街頭藝術和壁畫,相信當初也沒有這個意圖吧。最美妙的是不論貧富、職業,抑或是本地人還是異鄉客,總之檳城上下都對這些藝術品喜愛有加;藝術擁有漠視或超越身份和地域疆界的偉大力量。」

Powell續說:「現今,任何形式的藝術和創作,其價值和裨益都經常被忽視,特別是在地球的這邊。父母總是向孩子說:『不許修讀藝術,你必須要當醫生』。檳城的壁畫不僅是自拍照中的美麗背景,更為國家帶來經濟效益。」

圖片: Nikko Tan/Beanoo

Hin Bus Depot藝術中心創立於2014年,為Zacharevic舉辦了首個個人作品展。其畫廊經理Wanida Razali表示過去十年間,當地的藝術界發展蓬勃:「檳城人才濟濟,無論是表演藝術抑或視覺藝術,在過去幾十年都人才輩出。雖然以前這裡沒什麼發展機會,但現在藝術節和展覽空間陸續湧現,讓更多藝術家可以發表作品,同時凝聚更多創意人才,共同策劃展覽和活動。」Hin Bus Depot為Zacharevic舉辦的個展十分成功,令這個位於舊城邊陲、前身為棄置巴士廠的展覽場地一夜之間火紅起來,成為品味生活的好去處,咖啡館、藝術工作室、酒吧、設計設施、都市農田和瑜伽中心一一進駐。

最近,島上的藝術家開始放眼遠處。在檳城海峽沿岸一個少有遊客踏足、名叫北海的小鎮上,陸續冒起繽紛的壁畫,而在小島的另一端,原本暮氣沉沉的小鎮Balik Pulau(馬拉語解作「島的後方」),往日只以盛產榴槤和肉豆蔻見稱,現在竟有藝術品妝點斑駁的牆壁。俄羅斯藝術家Julia Volchkova以一系列大型壁畫,向馬來傳統武術的宗師Johari Omar,以至客家舞蹈家彭依珺等當地人致敬。在赭紅色的陶土屋頂和一碟碟扁擔飯之間,檳城已成為朝氣蓬勃的創意博物館。

圖片: R.M. Nunes/Shutterstock

可是,這當中仍有待解決的難題。檳城也許是個活生生的博物館,但館內卻沒有溫度調節功能。炎熱潮濕的小島並非保存藝術品的理想地點,這些為當地塑造新形象的壁畫可能會逐漸褪色,並隨每個季候風來訪而一點一點地剝落,畢竟,街頭藝術的本質是短暫的,今天它能為街頭添上繽紛的色彩,但日子一天天過去,那點點色彩自然也會悄悄淡褪。
不過這亦並非必然。雖然《Little Children on Bicycle》在2015年曾遭惡意破壞,但Zacharevic已邀請Powell將之修繕而非重畫,恢復它原有的生氣。2016年底,Zacharevic亦修復了另外幾幅開始褪色的得意之作(由於壁畫太受歡迎,日間難以接近,他必須於晚間才能修補)。街頭藝術,雖為一種短暫的藝術媒介,已經永久地烙印於檳城這個不一樣的博物館中,在牆壁上生生不息。

本文原於2017年9月刊登,並於2020年9月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

How ‘Asia’s Banksy’ transformed Penang into a street art hub

Murals strewn across Penang’s walls have set off an art movement that forms the town’s modern-day identity. Words: ADAM WHITE

A walk through George Town in Penang takes you from creaking jetties to wooden warehouses, past ramshackle houses to buildings clinging to the final remnants of colonial splendour. Long, narrow shophouses are crammed shoulder-to-shoulder, the lacquer peeling from their wooden shutters. Penang rewards the very best kind of exploration: directionless wandering to destinations and sights you didn’t even know were awaiting you.

But you likely won’t be paying attention to the preserved Peranakan mansions, to the narrow ‘five foot way’ paths under the shophouse arches, nor even to the delicious goose curry on the plate in front of you. Instead you’re looking for the children playing basketball, frozen in place on the wall. You’re looking for Bruce Lee, suspended mid-kick as red brick crumbles around him. You’re looking for the tiger overlooking the tea shop or the giant girl in blue clambering across the side of a house. Around every next corner you’ll find an intricate little scribble, a wrought-iron street scene – a building-sized mural stretching out above you. You’ll find art.

Penang street art
Yanatul / Shutterstock

Penang’s street art renaissance started with one man: Ernest Zacharevic. In 2012, the city council commissioned the then-26-year-old Lithuanian artist to create six murals for the George Town Arts & Culture Festival. The city centre had been named a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2009, but instead of freezing the area in time, Penang decided to bring life to the very bricks and plaster that hold the city together.

Zacharevic’s pieces celebrated the island. He depicted the people of Penang living their lives, incorporating everything from its architecture to its transport to the bicycles that rested against its sun-bleached walls. He painted rickshaw drivers waiting for fares; girls looking wistfully out to sea; children riding gleefully on bicycles. He captured the playfulness and joy of Penang.

Zacharevic has become Penang’s Banksy, his art putting the island on the map in an all new way. Since then some of the biggest names in street art have brought their work to Penang alongside the city’s home-grown talent. Zacharevic, who is still based in George Town, has managed to change the way the world sees this little ex-colony. These days tourists visit for the food, the culture and the walls. Zacharevic’s signature piece, Little Children on Bicycle, is so popular that you’ll find it emblazoned on T-shirts sold in night markets. It’s as iconic as Penang’s hawker centres.

Ernest Zacharevic in Penang 2014
Henrik Haven

‘I don’t think anyone could have guessed that Penang would embrace and own street art and murals in the way it has – nor planned for it to do so,’ says Thomas Powell, a British artist who has been in Penang since 2010 and whose paintings of Chinese zodiac animals grace the city’s walls. ‘But the great thing is that people from all walks of life have embraced the art work in Penang: rich and poor, local and foreign. Art has a great way of ignoring or transcending the boundaries imposed on people and place.’

‘The world today easily forgets the value and benefit of art and creativity in all their forms, especially in this part of the world – “no, you can’t study art; you need to be a doctor”,’ says Powell. ‘The art works on the walls of Penang are not only a nice thing to take a selfie with. They have also had a hugely positive economic impact on the state.’

Ernest Zacharevic penang street art
Nikko Tan/Beanoo
Penang street art

Wanida Razali, gallery manager of the Hin Bus Depot, an art space that opened in 2014 with Zacharevic’s first ever solo exhibition, says that the art scene has exploded in the past decade. ‘Penang has produced a lot of talent, both performance and visual artists, for decades. But there weren’t as many opportunities for them to stay here at that time. Now there are more festivals being organised, more creative spaces popping up, more artists pushing their work out here and more creative minds getting together to organise shows and events.’ That first Zacharevic show was so popular that the venue – an abandoned bus depot on the edge of the old town – has since become a lifestyle hub, with cafes, artists’ studios, bars, design facilities, an urban farming plot and a yoga studio.

Recently, the island’s artists have begun venturing farther afield. Across the Penang Strait in the considerably less-visited town of Butterworth, murals are springing up. And on the other side of the island, the sleepy town of Balik Pulau (Malay for ‘the back of the island’), once known for its durian and nutmeg, has seen art come to its battered walls. Russian artist Julia Volchkova has unveiled a series of large murals depicting the people of Penang, from silat martial arts master Johari Omar to Hakka dancer Pang Yi Chuen. Penang has become a living museum of creativity, set among the rich ochre of terracotta rooftops and dishes of nasi kanda.

Penang street art
R.M. Nunes / Shutterstock

And that’s the conundrum. Penang may be a museum, but there are no temperature controls. The hot, wet island doesn’t provide ideal conditions for the preservation of the art work that’s given the town a whole new identity. The inked walls of the island fade over time, washing off a little more with every monsoon season. After all, street art is intended to be ephemeral – here today, eroded away over time.

But that doesn’t always have to be the case. When Little Children on Bicycle was vandalised last year, Zacharevic asked Powell to retouch the piece – not redo it, but just bring it back to life. And at the end of 2016, Zacharevic retouched some of his other favourite pieces that had started to fade (he had to work by night as the murals were too popular to go near during the day). Street art, that short-lived medium, has become permanently inked into the life of Penang, a museum in spite of itself, living through its walls.

Cathay Dragon flies to Penang from Hong Kong 12 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book