法國

喚醒Arthur de Villepin的勃艮第

葡萄酒品牌及當代藝廊的行政總裁細說勃艮第如何珍視生活

我在餐桌上首次發現勃艮第這個地方。那是15年前的事了,我父親當時是法國外交部長,我在他的辦公室內嚐到一款產自勃艮第大區內Gevrey-Chambertin鎮小型酒莊的頂級名釀,那是1971年的Domaine Trapet Père et Fils;味道既細緻又複雜,不單令我感到欣喜,同時也令我的內心有某種東西甦醒過來。

七年前,我與我的葡萄酒品牌Pont des Arts的合夥人Thibault Pontallier及他的父親一同前往勃艮第。我們這個品牌搜羅波爾多及勃艮第小型酒莊釀造的葡萄酒,再為瓶身配上藝術作品。我們租了輛轎車,從巴黎啟程前往勃艮第。

First Time I saw, Burgundy

我們從人煙稠密、高樓大廈林立的市區出發,不久沿途就可見到遍植葡萄樹的山坡、由許多小石屋組成的村莊,還有修道院。我們的目的地是一個名為Beaune的寨城,位於以葡萄酒聞名的勃艮第大區的中心。當時是10月上旬,剛過了葡萄收成季節,當地舉行不少有趣的活動,氣氛熱鬧,正是前往遊訪的好時機。我們跟朋友見面,到多個葡萄園參觀,然後一起午餐,並品嚐當地出品的葡萄酒。

勃艮第區內的風土條件變化多端,因此每間酒莊釀造的葡萄酒各有自己的風格和傳統。這裡的釀酒業世代傳承,你可以從各個酒莊的故事和傳統中了解勃艮第的歷史。

自從那次之後,我每隔一、兩年就會舊地重遊。香港的生活節奏急速,有時令人忙得喘不過氣來,但是勃艮第提醒我什麼才是人生的重點。土地和自然環境教導我們每天都要心存謙卑,因為我們活在大自然的恩澤之下。大自然令釀酒商對酒莊的風土條件心懷敬意,並且珍視生活中簡單而美好的事物。

Arthur de Villepin是生活藝術集團的行政總裁,集團旗下包括葡萄酒品牌Pont des Arts及當代藝廊Carré d’artistes首家香港分館

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

France

Arthur De Villepin on his Burgundy awakening

The wine and art entrepreneur describes how Burgundy reminded him to savour life

I first discovered Burgundy on the dinner table 15 years ago. We were in my father’s office – he was the minister of foreign affairs for France at the time. We had an amazing 1971 Domaine Trapet Père et Fils from Gevrey-Chambertin, a small appellation in Burgundy. It was so delicate, but at the same time so complex. It was a simple pleasure – but it also awakened something in me.

Seven years ago I visited Burgundy myself. I was with Thibault Pontallier – my partner in wine label Pont des Arts, which pairs wines from small producers in Bordeaux and Burgundy with artworks for the bottles – and his father. We rented a car and drove from Paris.

The first time I saw Burgundy, Arthur de Villepin

You come from a very urban place, full of crowds and buildings, and slowly you’re in the middle of vine-covered slopes, cobblestoned villages and abbeys. Our destination was Beaune, a town at the heart of the Burgundy winemaking region. It was early October, just after the harvest, which is a good time to visit because there’s a real buzz about the place. We met friends, toured vineyards, had lunch, drank wine.

In Burgundy, the terroir is so diverse. Each producer has their own style and their own story. They’ve been doing this for generations. You come to understand the history of Burgundy through these stories.

Since that trip, I’ve been back every year or two. In Hong Kong, we’re sometimes a bit too swept up with the pace of life and business. Burgundy reminds me what’s important in life. The land teaches people to be humble every day. You’re at the mercy of nature. It pushes each winemaker to respect their terroir – and the simple pleasures of life.

Arthur de Villepin is CEO of Art de Vivre, which includes wine label Pont des Arts and Hong Kong’s first outpost of contemporary art gallery, Carré d’artistes

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book