紐約

大衛卓納的紐約藝術之旅

在藝術界地位舉足輕重的畫廊創辦人大衛卓納最近在香港開設首間畫廊,並跟PAUL KAY分享多個他最喜愛的紐約藝術熱點

大衛卓納在德國科隆出生,童年時首次隨父親往紐約,隨即愛上了這個城市。15歲時,他到紐約讀書,從此與這個城市結下不解之緣。卓納說:「我當時正值青少年時代,對世界的一切都感到好奇,而我當時在紐約,老天,那真是個精采萬分的世界。」如今大衛卓納在紐約住了30多年,並且在城中開設了三家畫廊。

大都會藝術博物館

Sylvain Sonnet / Corbis Documentary / Getty Images

「我喜歡紐約的博物館,因此經常到不同的博物館參觀。但假如我被流放到一座無人荒島,只可以將一家博物館搬到島上的話,我會選擇TheMet(大都會藝術博物館的簡稱)。這家博物館館藏非常豐富,我的餘生將忙於欣賞,無暇感到寂寞。The Met並非蒐藏當代藝術品的重鎮,雖然他們在這方面作了不少努力。不過我喜歡博物館包羅萬有、百科全書式的藏品,既有來自古廟的文物,也有中世紀與拜占庭帝國的專題展廳,讓人可以忘我地神遊其中,飽覽不同年代與地方的藝術精華。」metmuseum.org

中央公園

Jason Wyche, Courtesy Public Art Fund, NY

「儘管紐約市大部分公共藝術品都只作短期展覽,但這個城市在推動公共藝術方面可謂不遺餘力。紐約公共藝術基金可說是藝術界極著名的機構,基金在中央公園一個美麗的角落內,設有展覽空間,可以陳列巨型雕塑作品。最近我們藝廊其中一位藝術家Isa Genzken的巨型蘭花雕塑作品,就在那裡展出。作品會在那裡展覽六個月,然後又會有其他新作品出現。」nycgovparks.org/art-map

High Line高架公園

Iwan Baan

「High Line高架公園是紐約市過去20年來最令人讚歎的發展項目。昔日荒廢的舊鐵路軌道,現在變身成為美麗的城市公園,將切爾西區至下西城區連接起來。HighLine高架公園內有很多公共藝術品,而且經常更換,令人目不暇給。公園策展人是我的朋友,他們為遊人帶來很多精采的藝術品,我也十分喜歡這些藝術品,幾乎每天都在HighLine高架公園散步。」thehighline.org

東村

Bertrand Gardel / Hemis / Getty Images

「東村是個洋溢青春氣息的地方。我們居住那一帶,主要受到不斷向外擴展的紐約大學帶動。當你走到街上,就會感受到一股輕快活潑的氣氛。」卓納與他的太太Monica除了不時在他們位於東村的家舉行藝術晚宴,亦經常與客戶及好友前往意大利餐廳Il Buco Alimentari & Vineria (ilbucovineria.com)享受美食;他也是這家餐廳的股東。「餐廳的佈置十分簡樸,看上去就像一間托斯卡納的住宅;這裡的食物非常出色,氣氛輕鬆自在,是午餐或晚飯的好去處。」

切爾西區

Maremagnum / Photolibrary RM / Getty Images

卓納表示:「切爾西區是紐約藝術界的中心。」他在這一區擁有兩家藝廊。此外,他還在這裡再興建另一家全新的藝廊,由意大利建築師Renzo Piano設計,耗資5,000萬美元(3.93億港元),預計於2020年落成。「我們的展覽廳共佔三層,這些展覽空間非常獨特,每一層都各具特色。」

上東城區

「上東城區是另一個傳統的紐約藝術市場集中地。在1950及60年代全力推動抽象表現主義藝術運動(現在被稱為紐約畫派)的藝廊,幾乎全部都集中在上城區。傳統上那一區的藝廊大多小巧舒適,帶有親切的家居氣氛。」卓納於2017年在區內開設了一家藝廊,在此之前,他曾與Iwan Wirth共同開設另一家藝廊,而且有過一次極為難忘的經歷。那是2005年的時候,有一天職員告訴他藝廊來了一位「衣著不甚整齊但氣度不凡」的男士,他出去一看,竟然是著名的抽象表現主義畫家Cy Twombly。

前往位於中環皇后大道中新落成的H Queen’s大廈內的卓納畫廊參觀。davidzwirner.com.hk

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

New York

Art itinerary: David Zwirner’s top New York art spots

Fresh from the opening of his Hong Kong space, powerhouse gallerist David Zwirner gives PAUL KAY a tour of his favourite New York art hotspots

Born in Cologne, David Zwirner fell in love with New York when his father took him there for the first time as a child. It was a relationship that blossomed when he returned, aged 15, to study in the city. ‘It’s that great moment as a teenager when you really open up to the world, and I was in New York, and – boy – what a world I saw there,’ says Zwirner, who now owns three galleries in the city that has been his home for more than 30 years.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art

New York, Main, Metropolitan Museum of Art
Sylvain Sonnet / Corbis Documentary / Getty Images

‘I love New York’s museums and I visit them all quite frequently, but if I had to take one away with me to a lonely island it would be The Met – it would keep me busy for the rest of my life. The Met is not where contemporary art necessarily is front and centre, even though it’s making a big push. I just love that it’s encyclopaedic and you can lose yourself in some temple or in medieval history or in the Byzantine rooms.’ metmuseum.org

Central Park

David-Zwirner-Two Orchids Pulic Art Fund
Jason Wyche, Courtesy Public Art Fund, NY

‘There’s a very active public art programme in New York, though most of the works are temporary. There’s the Public Art Fund, which is maybe the most famous organisation, and it has a beautiful space on the corner of Central Park where it presents big sculptures. Recently, one of our artists, Isa Genzken, had a big orchid sculpture there, and you get to see that for six months, then something else happens.’
nycgovparks.org/art-map

The High Line

New York High Line, David Zwirner
Iwan Baan

‘One of the most incredible developments in the city over the past 20 years. It was just an old rail track and now it’s a beautiful city park connecting Chelsea to the Lower West Side. It has a really vibrant public art programme that changes all the time. The curators are great: they’re friends, and that’s something I just absolutely love. I walk on the High Line almost every day.’ thehighline.org

The East Village

United States, New York, Manhattan, East Village, St Mark Square
Bertrand Gardel / Hemis / Getty Images

‘The East Village is very young. Where we live, it’s really driven by the sprawling New York University campus. When you go out it’s very vibrant and lively.’ As well the art dinners Zwirner and his wife, Monica, host at their home, he’s also a partner in Italian restaurant Il Buco Alimentari & Vineria (ilbucovineria.com), where he often dines with clients and friends. ‘It’s very rustic, almost like a Tuscan townhouse, and has excellent food but it’s very informal, so it’s a fun place to have lunch or dinner.’

Chelsea

View of the 14th street, David Zwirner
Maremagnum / Photolibrary RM / Getty Images

‘The epicentre [of the New York art scene] is Chelsea,’ says Zwirner, who has two galleries in the area. A new US$50 million (HK$393 million) gallery designed by Italian architect Renzo Piano is also under construction and will open in the area in 2020. ‘We’ll have exhibitions on three floors, and the spaces will be unique. Each floor will have its own character.’

The Upper East Side

David Zwirner galleries, upper east side 69th Street gallery

‘The other traditional New York art market place. The gallery world that drove that great moment of abstract expressionism [in the 1950s and ’60s] now called the New York School was almost exclusively uptown. There’s a long tradition of beautiful smaller spaces in more domestic settings.’ Zwirner opened a gallery there in 2017 and previously had a space with Iwan Wirth, where a memorable encounter took place in 2005 when his staff alerted him to the presence of a ‘dishevelled but distinguished’ gentleman in the gallery. It was abstract expressionist Cy Twombly.

Find David Zwirner’s Hong Kong gallery in the new H Queen’s building on Queen’s Road Central. davidzwirner.com.hk

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book