頂級酒店

裝飾藝術風格的酒店捲土重來

這種歷久不衰的建築與設計風格再度回歸,比以往更大膽奪目

20世紀初,裝飾藝術隨著現代主義興起,全盛時期更成為小說《大亨小傳》那個紙醉金迷年代的主流風格。當時亦正值酒店業的黃金歲月,歐美的富裕階層周遊列國,到處尋歡作樂,實行今朝有酒今朝醉。對這些生於第一次世界大戰一代的人而言,他們的確沒有明天。

裝飾藝術設計師為這個年代提供華麗的道具和佈景:鏡面餐桌、雞尾酒調酒器、以幾何形狀設計、氣派堂皇有如宮殿的混凝土建築,以及風格創新大膽的排版及字形設計。

隨著經濟大蕭條出現及另一場世界大戰爆發,裝飾藝術一度沉寂,直至1970年代中期,《大亨小傳》被改編成電影搬上大銀幕,加上人們也希望逃避被褪色牛仔褲熱潮淹沒的困局,遂使這股美學風潮得以復興。

及至2013年,另一部《大亨小傳》電影再度面世,黑、銅兩色相襯的閃亮壁板、旋轉樓梯,以及弧面牆身又再成為時尚潮流。

若要好好欣賞裝飾藝術風格的精髓,只需前往美國邁阿密海灘閒逛一回即可。不過當地只是將裝飾藝術完好保存,至於其他地方,除了保存這種藝術風格的本來面目之外,更將之改頭換面,甚至連根拔起,或加入其他新元素。

倫敦The Savoy

沒有了American Bar酒吧及Savoy Grill餐廳,這個城市頓然變得黯然失色;幸好酒店經過三年翻新工程後,於2010年重新開業,而且裝飾藝術風格有增無減。American Bar酒吧仍然是你盡展魅力的地方,但位於歌舞廳舞台原來位置的BeaufortBar酒吧才最能表現裝飾藝術堂皇奢靡的精髓。新業主費爾蒙對其姊妹餐廳Simpson’sIn TheStrand的風韻依依不捨,因此這間老派經典食府保留以往舒適堂皇的環境,只是少了煮過頭的牛扒發出的難聞氣味,而男士昔日享有的特權亦已取消。

令The Savoy揚名立萬的總經理César Ritz後來自立門戶,開創了另一名聞遐邇的酒店品牌。但要追尋裝飾藝術的源頭,只要將新藝術的花卉和漩渦圖案拋開,再捨棄愛德華時代的古板風格,你就找到了。

康城Hôtel Martinez 酒店

Paul-Henri Verlooy

裝飾藝術風格散發的魅力無與倫比,而法國南部康城這個度假勝地的享受則可謂極盡奢靡,要兩者兼得,必定要到Hôtel Martinez酒店不可。

雖然酒店的Martinez Bar酒吧現仍在康城電影節和廣告節舉行期間,舉行星光熠熠的盛會,然而過去數十年來,這裡靠的是刻意模仿其輝煌年代的面貌作招徠。去年,凱悅成為酒店的最新經營者,將酒店換上裝飾藝術風格,單是標誌及使用的字體,就將你帶回法國蔚藍海岸在兩次世界大戰之間的浮華歲月。客房有如傳統遠洋郵輪般華麗,至於酒吧則風采依然。

Patrice Lapoirie

三藩市Galleria Park Hotel

Joie de Vivre Hotels

在三藩市金融區各大名牌酒店當中,有一間小巧別緻的精品酒店,隱身於一幢樓高八層的裝飾藝術風格大樓內。這幢建築物建於1911年,用以取代毀於1906年的地震和火災中的兩家豪華酒店Occidental Hotel和Lick House。

1920年代,美國實行禁酒令,這裡曾是出售私酒的豪華地下酒吧。酒店去年全面翻新,於入口鋪上雲石地板,並裝嵌特大的仿古銅鏡,設計美學見證了昔日的輝煌。酒店內的燈飾造型各異,繽紛奪目的色調令人心情愉快。講究設計而有意了解背後歷史、細賞建築韻味的客人,定必大感滿意。

Joie de Vivre Hotels

燈火通明的大堂中庭擺放了火光熊熊的壁爐,令人注目,而通往閣樓的樓梯已有上百年歷史,兩側綴上花紋鐵欄。天台花園可飽覽四周歌德式、新藝術、文藝復興及巴洛克風格的建築,令你目不暇給。

上海和平飯店

Andrew Rowat

上海的面貌日新月異,變化之大令人歎為觀止,唯有上海外灘的河畔景致由1920年代至今並無重大變遷。其中一幢樓高十層、有綠色三角樓頂的建築物顯得格外出眾。1929年正值裝飾藝術風靡的時期,商人Victor Sassoon於黃埔灘頭開設華懋飯店;飯店的命運隨著滬市經歷多番歷史轉折,直至2010年,費爾蒙將飯店翻新重開。酒店的室內外裝潢均忠於原來的裝飾藝術風格,而且爵士樂優美的旋律與觥籌交錯之聲不絕於耳,彷彿把90年前的繁華時光凝住。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Art Deco Hotels Are Back and Bolder Than Ever

Art deco: the architectural and design style they couldn’t kill. By MARK JONES and VANESSA KO

Art deco flourished alongside the rise of modernism in the first decades of the 20th century, reaching its apogee as the house style of the Gatsby generation. That most glamorous era was also the golden age of hotels, as affluent Europeans and Americans travelled and partied like there was no tomorrow. (For many of that First World War generation there hadn’t been one.)

The art deco designers supplied the props and the backdrop: mirror-topped tables, cocktail shakers, geometric concrete palaces, bold typography.

Depression and another war stamped the movement out until its resurrection in the mid-70s thanks to a film version of, guess what, The Great Gatsby – that, and an escape from a world sinking under faded denim.

By the time of the next Great Gatsby film (2013) we were ready for another go at the shiny black and copper panels, the sweeping staircases and curvy walls.

Our tour of art deco hotels could just stick to one small American enclave: Miami Beach. That’s where you go if you want to drown in deco. But Miami is an act of preservation. Elsewhere, they’re not only revering art deco – they’re changing it, uprooting it, playing with it.

The Savoy London

The Savoy, London

The Savoy London

The city seemed a lot duller without the American Bar and Savoy Grill. But after the hotel’s three-year refurbishment they returned in 2010, more deco-tastic than ever. The American is still where you go to impress; but the Beaufort Bar, on the site of the old cabaret stage, is deco at its most decadent. New owners Fairmont have also shown some much-overdue love to the venerable Simpson’s In The Strand: cosy and clubby as ever, just without the rather stale odour of overcooked beef and male privilege that used to hang over the place.

The general manager who made The Savoy’s name was one César Ritz (who went on to start his own rather famous hotels). But if you want to know where the era of deco glam began, uprooting the florals and swirls of art nouveau, slamming the door on Edwardian stuffiness, it’s here.

The Savoy London

Hôtel Martinez, Cannes

Le Jardin - Bar
Paul-Henri Verlooy

No style says ‘glamour’ more loudly than art deco, and no resort says ‘decadence’ less apologetically than the southern French resort of Cannes. Put them together and you get the Hôtel Martinez.

Except that for decades this was a fussy imitation of its glory days – though the Martinez bar still hosted legendary sessions during the film and advertising festivals. Then, last year, its latest managers, Hyatt, unveiled a loving, deco-focused renovation. The very logo and typeface transport you back to the swinging inter-war Riviera years. The rooms are swish as a classic ocean liner and the bar is – the bar.

Lieux Publics-Escaliers
Patrice Lapoirie

Galleria Park Hotel, San Francisco

Galleria Park hotel, San Francisco.
Joie de Vivre Hotels

Amid the big-brand hotels that dominate San Francisco’s financial district, this boutique gem is discreetly tucked into an eight-storey art deco building. It was built in 1911, replacing two grandes dames – Occidental Hotel and Lick House – destroyed in the 1906 earthquake and fire.

In the prohibition era of the 1920s, the site was home to a lavish speakeasy.

Galleria Park hotel, San Francisco.
Joie de Vivre Hotels

The hotel underwent extensive renovations last year, unveiling an aesthetic that references its glamorous past with details like a marble entryway and outsized faux-antique mirrors. Throughout the property, eclectic light fixtures and bright pops of colour keep the mood elevated, satisfying design-minded guests who appreciate a bit of history and lots of character. The light-filled lobby atrium features a dramatic swirling fireplace, and from here a century-old staircase with a decorative iron balustrade leads up to a mezzanine, while a roof garden looks onto the striking architecture of neighbouring buildings: gothic, art nouveau, renaissance, baroque.

Fairmont Peace Hotel, Shanghai

Fairmont Peace Hotel Shanghai
Andrew Rowat

The skyline changes fast. This is Shanghai – no skyline changes faster. But there’s one constant: the 1920s riverside frontages of The Bund. Prominent among them is a 10-storey building with a distinctive pyramid-shaped green roof. It was opened as the Cathay Hotel by the businessman Victor Sassoon in 1929, at the height of the art deco craze. Its fortunes followed the city’s turbulent history until it was restored and reopened by Fairmont in 2010. As well as staying true to its art deco exterior and interior, the hotel is filled with the sounds of jazz and clinking glasses – almost as if the past 90 years hadn’t happened.