建築

《末日困獸戰》的芝加哥之旅

AARON MILLAR趁著芝加哥的一流建築尚未被本月機上全新放映的賣座動作片《末日困獸戰》中的巨獸打得粉碎前,到那裡好好欣賞

芝加哥近年在電影中屢次遭受嚴重破壞。首先,在2011年的《變形金剛:黑月降臨》中,狂派成員在城中掀起大混戰;三年之後,輪到《分歧者:異類叛逃》來無情踐踏。現在《末日困獸戰》可能為這座風之城帶來空前重創。

本片改編自1986年推出的同名電子遊戲,遊戲以芝加哥為背景,現在電影亦在同一個地方拍攝。在電影中,巨型的變種豺狼、鱷魚及猩猩在全國多個地方大肆破壞,引起連番混亂,最後的高潮當然就是在芝加哥市中心一決生死的大戰。

芝城市中心確是終極大戰的理想地點。你一定認為欣賞建築是件十分高雅的事,想對這些傑作有多一點認識。那麼,最佳的方式莫如看著它們被變種怪獸打得粉碎。現在不妨來看看你認得片中哪幾座著名地標吧。

威利斯大廈

Rampage, Skydeck Chicago
Courtesy of Skydeck Chicago at Willis Tower

在晴朗無雲的日子,站在威利斯大廈103樓的觀景台上,你可以望見附近四個州,把80公里內的景物盡收眼底。不過,如果你處身於電影中,威利斯大廈的頂端安裝了一個發射器,將巨型猩猩George吸引前來,屆時你應該不會想站在這裡看風景了。更可怕的是:這個發射器會釋放出一種電波,令暴怒的變種巨獸行為更加瘋狂。想要更震撼的場面?接下來George就像另一部電影《金剛》那隻猩猩一樣,爬上大廈;在電腦特效的魔法下,芝城其中一座最壯觀的摩天大樓就此倒塌。

密西根大道

Rampage
Andrew Woodley / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

片中的芝加哥場景幾乎都是從空中拍攝的。其中一場戲是綽號「TheRock」的靈長類動物學家DwayneJohnson及軍隊於2017年6月某個星期日清早率先抵達芝城,大群直升機在密西根大道上空穿梭盤旋。這條大道高級精品店林立,有「MagnificentMile」(華麗一哩)之稱,是購物好去處,購物商場水塔大廈廣場就位於這條大道上。看來變種異獸跟一般遊客無異,都同樣喜歡逛逛大型商場密集的熱門旅遊點。至於匯聚最時尚的新餐廳和酒吧的林肯公園與威克公園等地區,卻未能獲得異獸垂青。

芝加哥河濱步道

Rampage, Stairs to the Chicago Riverwalk
Pgiam / Getty Images

「河裡好像有個什麼東西是嗎?」是的,不過它並非芝加哥建築基金會主辦的河上導賞團(這是全美數一數二的優秀建築導賞團)的載客遊船。在河裡游動的其實是一條碩大無比的變種鱷魚,牠從佛羅里達州大沼澤地不遠千里北上,目的就只是為風之城帶來破壞。電影拍攝期間,直升機在芝加哥河的市中心上空盤旋了兩個周末,拍攝片中一個極為壯觀的場面:一頭超大型的鱷魚爬到全長兩公里、氣氛向來恬靜宜人的河濱步道上,大開殺戒,恣意摧毀一切。

聯邦廣場

Rampage
Busara / Shutterstock

這個廣場位於摩天大廈林立的市中心地段,其中陳列了一座高16米的紅色《Flamingo》雕塑,非常顯眼。由於巨型的變種異獸似乎統統都對高大的建築極感興趣,因此《末日困獸戰》結局的一場大混戰,發生的地點自然就在聯邦廣場。芝加哥堪稱摩天大樓之城,因為建於1884年、樓高十層的Home Insurance Building是當時率先使用鋼筋作框架的建築。其後高樓大廈在城裡不斷湧現,今天芝加哥有高328米的Aon Center與高259米的Chase Tower等摩天大樓。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往芝加哥的航班,每周有七班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Chicago

Architecture tour of Chicago: 4 scenes from the movie Rampage

AARON MILLAR tours Chicago’s best architecture – before it gets smashed to smithereens in new onboard action blockbuster Rampage

Chicago has taken some knocks in recent years. First the Decepticons gave it a beating in the 2011 movie Transformers: Dark of the Moon; then, three years later, Divergent had its shot. Now, perhaps, the most arresting flick of them all has arrived in the Windy City: Rampage.

Based on the 1986 videogame of the same name, which was also developed in Chicago, the film follows the cross-country mayhem of a giant mutated wolf, alligator and gorilla hell-bent on wreaking as much havoc as possible, before culminating in an epic showdown in downtown Chicago.

It’s the perfect setting for a final battle. It’s also a perfect way for visitors to check out Chicago’s masterpiece skyscrapers and other sights which have made this one of the most iconic skylines in the US.

See if you can spot a few of these landmarks along the way.

Willis Tower

Rampage
Courtesy of Skydeck Chicago at Willis Tower

From the Willis Tower’s 103rd-floor observation deck, The Skydeck, 412 meters above the ground, you can see across four states and as far away as 80 kilometres on a clear day. Not that you’d want to be up there when George the giant gorilla turns up, lured by a transmitter placed on its summit. In real life, visitors can simply revel in one of Chicago’s most spectacular views while standing in a glass box which juts out 1.3 metres over the edge.

Michigan Avenue

Rampage,Marshall Fields store Water Tower Place North Michigan Avenue Chicago Illinois USA
Andrew Woodley / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Almost all of the Chicago scenes in the movie were shot from the air. To film the sequence where primatologist Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson and the military arrive in the city, helicopters criss-crossed Michigan Avenue, Chicago’s ‘Magnificent Mile’ of high-end shopping, early one Sunday morning in June 2017. It seems that mutants behave much like most tourists, sticking to this popular district where the main attractions are malls like Water Tower Place (instead of heading to neighbourhoods like Lincoln Park and Wicker Park, where you’ll find the trendiest new restaurants and bars).

Chicago Riverwalk

Rampage, Stairs to the Chicago Riverwalk
Pgiam / Getty Images

‘Is there something in the river?’ Yes, but it’s not the boats ferrying visitors on one of Chicago Architecture Foundation’s river cruises – one of the most intriguing architectural tours in the country. It’s actually a giant mutant crocodile who’s swum up from the Everglades intending to create mayhem. Helicopters buzzed over the downtown section of the Chicago River for two weekends to collect footage for one of the movie’s most epic scenes. Back in the real world, the two kilometre walkway is an elongated playground, attracting anglers, birdwatchers, artists and courting couples. There’s a stack of places to eat and drink, too.

Federal Plaza

Rampage
Busara / Shutterstock

This square, with its distinctive 16-metre-high red Flamingo sculpture, is in the heart of the skyscraper district and, unsurprisingly, given the giant mutant’s seemingly insatiable interest in tall buildings, the epicentre of Rampage’s final battle. Chicago could be called the home of the skyscraper, as the 10-storey 1884 Home Insurance Building was the first to use structural steel in its frame. Others quickly sprouted, and today the city’s skyline is pierced by such amazing structures as the Aon Center (328 metres) and Chase Tower (259 metres).

Cathay Pacific flies to Chicago from Hong Kong seven times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book