美國

美國音樂之旅: 與Bob Dylan去旅行

TIM COOPER與率性而不拘一格的美國民謠歌手踏上旅途

縱觀美國的著名作家、劇作家、詩人及唱作人,沒有人能比BobDylan更能體現美國精神,他可說是美國文化、歷史及傳統的精髓。

若要逐一遊遍他在歌曲中提及的地方,恐怕需花上好幾年時間。可是,像他這樣對地方有如此強烈感受的唱作人,畢竟相當稀罕,所以,我們盡力而為吧。

若想以Bob Dylan歌曲中的世界為藍本構思一條旅行路線,首先要從美國腹地明尼蘇達州的Hibbing市出發。這座小城因兩件事而聞名:那裡的露天鐵礦場規模全球數一數二,而且是Bob Dylan的家鄉。我們跟隨他的腳步,離開家鄉前往紐約市闖天下。當年那個頂著一頭亂髮的小伙子,帶著木結他和口琴,在格林威治村的民歌酒館初試啼聲,不久就脫穎而出,受人注目。其後他前往羅得島州繼續音樂生涯;1965年,他在新港民謠音樂節中用電結他伴奏,被觀眾報以噓聲。

之後,我們從明尼蘇達州一路南下,朝藍調流傳的相反方向走,來到密西西比河三角洲,尋找〈New Orleans Rag〉一曲的靈感之源。你想必知道,BobDylan是個喜歡離群索居的人,所以沿途即使有他同行,感覺亦有如一人獨行。

Travel with Bob Dylan
Val Wilmer/Redferns/Getty Images
Bob Dylan, Archway walk
Michelle McMahon / Moment Open / Getty Images

當漫長的一天將盡時,他總喜歡飲威士忌和緬懷年輕時曾經啟發過他的音樂人。譬如17歲那年,他去看BuddyHolly的演唱會,三日後,這位歌手因飛機失事逝世。有時候,他又會興高采烈地談論從遙遠的路易斯安那州Shreveport的電台收聽對藍調及鄉謠影響深遠的歌手RobertJohnson及HankWilliams的歌聲,從此展開對音樂的追求,還有暢論Little Richard和Jerry Lee Lewis如何將藍調和鄉謠化作搖滾樂。

他會滔滔不絕地講述傳奇民謠歌手Woody Guthrie如何憑歌曲宣示政治立場,又或者貓王Elvis Presley如何借民歌發揮性感魅力,迷倒萬千少女。BobDylan的表演從來沒有效法兩人的作風,但他卻集百家之大成,融會貫通,發展出自己的風格。

Bob Dylan, paddlewheel
wsfurlan / Gettey Images

說著說著,我們乘坐的蒸汽輪船已抵達密西西比州。下船後,我們將探訪對Bob Dylan別具意義的牛津市。1962年,非裔美國人民權運動其中一個關鍵時刻在這個地方出現;JamesMeredith打破種族隔離主義,成為首位註冊入讀只供白人就讀的大學的黑人學生。BobDylan翌年發行的突破性大碟《The Freewheelin’Bob Dylan》中,就收錄了〈OxfordTown〉這首歌,紀念這件重要事件。

美國南部是個音樂搖籃,這裡是Bob Dylan的靈感泉源。我們首先前往在〈Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again〉一曲中將BobDylan「困住」的阿拉巴馬州Mobile市,然後再前往他曾灌錄不少精采之作的納什維爾,包括專輯《Blonde OnBlonde》,以及與城市同名的《Nashville Skyline》。我們隨後在德州ElPaso越過邊境,前往墨西哥的Durango州,感受一下專輯《Desire》裡〈Romance In Durango〉一曲中,Bob Dylan與Magdalena私奔的浪漫。

Bob Dylan
MMpai / Shutterstock

我們當然也要前往歐洲,因為行程若缺了曼徹斯特的FreeTradeHall音樂廳,那就不算圓滿。1966年,BobDylan在這裡拿起電結他表演時,一名對此舉極為不滿的民謠樂迷喊出那著名的一句「叛徒」。然後我們來到亞洲,在東京稍作停留,因為Bob Dylan於1978年在這裡灌錄經典現場表演專輯《Bob Dylan At Budokan》。接著再追隨這位永不言倦的歌手,前往他在2011年舉行演唱會的北京遊覽一番。寶刀未老的Bob Dylan每年仍舉行80多場演唱會,包括本月在香港會議展覽中心為樂迷獻唱。

來到旅程尾聲,終站當然是斯德哥爾摩。2016年,BobDylan成為首位榮獲諾貝爾文學獎的唱作人。對這位在世界各地留下深遠影響的作家兼音樂人而言,這個獎項可謂實至名歸。

Bob Dylan於8月4日在香港會議展覽中心舉行演唱會。hkticketing.com

Bob Dylan, El Paso Dowtown Panoramic
Steven R. Green / Moment RF / Getty Images

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

USA

American music tour: Travels with Bob Dylan

TIM COOPER goes travelling with the freewheelin’ American folk musician

In the pantheon of American writers – comprising authors, playwrights, poets and songwriters – nobody epitomises the spirit of Americana, that mythic quintessence of the country’s culture, history and tradition, more than Bob Dylan.

It would take years to travel to all the places he’s name-checked in song: few artists write lyrics with such a strong sense of place. But we’re going to try.

If we were to plot a route for a tour that encapsulates Bob’s lyrical world, we would have to begin in the American heartland, in Hibbing, Minnesota. It’s a small town famous for two things: one of the world’s largest open-pit iron mines, and being Bob’s place of birth. From there we might move on, as he did, to New York City, where the tousle-haired teenage troubadour with an acoustic guitar and a harmonica first made his name in the folk clubs of Greenwich Village, and up again to Rhode Island where he was booed off for playing an electric guitar at the 1965 Newport Folk Festival.

More likely we would head south from Minnesota, and reverse the migration of the blues all the way back to the Mississippi Delta that inspired New Orleans Rag. Bob’s a reclusive character (you may have heard that), which makes him a solitary sort of travelling companion.

Travel with Bob Dylan
Val Wilmer/Redferns/Getty Images
Travel with Bob Dylan, Paddlewheel
Michelle McMahon / Moment Open / Getty Images

But at the end of a long day he likes to drink whiskey and reminisce about the musicians who inspired him as a young man. Like the time when, aged 17, he got to see Buddy Holly play just three days before he died in a plane crash. Sometimes he’ll light up talking about how it all began, hearing Robert Johnson and Hank Williams on distant radio stations from Shreveport, Louisiana, and how Little Richard and Jerry Lee Lewis turned their blues and country music into rock’n’roll.

He’ll talk passionately about how his idol Woody Guthrie put political protest into folk music and how Elvis Presley injected it with the sex appeal that made girls go wild. Bob never quite did that; that wasn’t his thing. But he took what they all did and made it his own.

Travel with Bob Dylan, Paddlewheel
wsfurlan / Gettey Images

By now our paddle steamer has reached Mississippi so we’ll hop off for Bob to visit Oxford. It was here, in 1962, that one of the defining moments of the Civil Rights Movement took place, when James Meredith became the first black student to enrol at the segregated university – commemorated in Oxford Town on Bob’s breakthrough album, The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan, the following year.

Staying in the South, where so much music began, we’ll move on to Alabama, where Bob was once Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again, and across to Nashville, where he recorded some of his greatest albums, including Blonde On Blonde and, of course, Nashville Skyline itself, before heading further south. We’ll cross the border at El Paso and head into Mexico for Romance In Durango, where Dylan once went on the run with Magdalena on the album Desire.

Travel with Bob Dylan
MMpai / Shutterstock

We’ll travel to Europe, too. No tour would be complete without a trip to Manchester’s Free Trade Hall, where a disgruntled folk fan famously yelled out ‘Judas!’ when Bob picked up his electric guitar in 1966. And we’d go to Asia, stopping off in Tokyo, where he recorded the classic live album Bob Dylan At Budokan in 1978. And to China, where the tireless performer – at 77, he still does more than 80 concerts a year, including one this month at Hong Kong’s Convention and Exhibition Centre – performed in Beijing in 2011.

Our return leg could only end in one place: Stockholm, where Dylan was honoured in 2016 as the first songwriting recipient of the Nobel Prize for Literature – a fitting award for a writer and musician whose influence has travelled to every corner of the world.

Bob Dylan is playing at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre on 4 August. hkticketing.com

Travel with Bob Dylan
Steven R. Green / Moment RF / Getty Images

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book