國泰航空

A350贏得機師讚賞的十大特色

國泰航空機長Evan Summerfield為我們列出空中巴士A350客機令機師與乘客同感稱心滿意的功能

國泰航空擁有翱翔空中最年輕的長途機隊之一,最近更新添了空中巴士A350客機這名新成員。這架新一代飛機在各方面均有所改良,提供更理想的乘客體驗、載重量和機師操作。國泰航空A350機隊的飛行網絡遍佈全球,包括美國的西雅圖、歐洲的倫敦格域(蓋特威克)機場及西班牙馬德里,以及多個亞洲及西南太平洋地區的航點

國泰航空機長Evan Summerfield為我們列出以下A350-1000客機和A350-900客機最令他讚不絕口的十個特點。

1. 更安靜

比起其他尚在服役的飛機,A350客機更為安靜,尤其在惡劣天氣下降落時更為明顯。在雨中準備進場降落時,飛機會承受較多風吹雨打,但我們在駕駛艙卻無需提高音量,依然可以不受干擾地對話。乘客亦可享受更安靜的環境,這一點有助減少時差帶來的不適,因為噪音是造成時差及疲勞的原因之一。套用國泰航空的廣告詞,減少噪音將會讓你「翱翔萬里,神采飛揚」。

2. 更快速

A350客機的飛行速度比目前大多數廣體客機,如波音777及空中巴士A330來得更快。唯一可以相提並論的是國泰貨機機隊中的波音747。速度更快帶來更多好處,因為飛機以更快速度飛行相同距離,可讓你縮短待在飛機上的時間。

3. 客艙壓力高度更低

A350客機的機身材質不是鋁製,而是碳纖維增強塑料,所以機艙可以承受更大的壓力,亦即可降低客艙壓力高度。當A350客機的實際飛行高度為35,000至40,000呎時,客艙壓力只有5,500呎左右,傳統鋁製機身的客艙壓力高度則是8,000呎左右。這麽一來,將可降低時差造成的影響,抵達後也不會那麼疲勞。更安靜、更快速及更低的客艙壓力高度,結合這三個優點,將可讓你在機艙內及飛行後感覺更舒適愜意。

4. 供機師使用的折疊桌

在空中巴士的駕駛艙內,可折疊的小桌是常見的標準配備。由於機師使用側桿操作飛行控制器, 所以可將傳統的控制柱改為折疊式桌子。我們可以在桌子上寫字,或是將餐盤放在上面進食,如果將桌子翻轉,背面是一個完整的鍵盤,方便把數據輸入飛航管理電腦。

5. 更環保

A350客機的耗油量比大部分上一代飛機少25%,因此產生較少二氧化碳,而且更安靜,在許多方面都有利環境。儘管國泰現在擁有比以往更多架飛機,但自1998年至今已成功減少28%耗油量,這一點必須歸功於歷代飛機不斷改良、持續提升效能,尤以機隊最新成員A350客機為甚。

6. 抬頭顯示器

抬頭顯示器簡稱「HUD」,這是使機師提升對飛行環境警覺性的有效工具,讓機師在變化莫測的飛行環境中更容易操作飛機,尤其是起飛及降落。具體來說,HUD是一個位於機師平視水平的下拉屏幕,讓我們直視前方,看到駕駛窗前的情況,同時看到儀表板上的所有數據。它為我們提供眾多資訊,包括速度、高度及方向等。這種尖端技術原屬軍事用途,現在亦已應用於民航界。

7. 自動制動脫離跑道

飛機跑道的設計通常會加入許多轉彎,方便飛機盡快啟動及駛入滑行道,不會阻礙其他飛機行進。我們可以利用自動制動脫離跑道(簡稱BTV)的功能,設定理想的跑道出口,盡可能縮短飛機降落後在跑道上滑行的時間。然後飛機會自動減速,並以預定的速度駛離跑道。此功能有助於縮短飛機佔用跑道的時間,減少航班在機場延誤的機會,以及剎車和輪胎的磨損,從而提高我們的營運效益。

8. 機場導航功能

機場導航功能(簡稱ANF)是指當飛機降落時,機艙內的主要導航顯示屏就會呈現機場地圖,在某些建築規劃十分複雜的機場,這項功能可在飛機滑行至客運大樓時,協助我們提高判斷現場情況的警覺性。

9. 攝影鏡頭

我們在機尾和機身下方都安置了攝影鏡頭,我知道乘客喜歡透過機上娛樂系統觀看四周環境。從機艙看著飛機移動,感覺十分特別,也有助我們在行進當中發現障礙物。

10. 緩慢降落

沒錯,飛機在高空以極快速度航行,但由於機翼的設計及可擴展面積的襟翼,讓飛機進場降落時的速度相當緩慢。攀升速度快加上降落速度慢,這樣的組合可為我們帶來更多商機,因為只需要較短的跑道便可停下飛機,我們將可乘載更多載重量進入規模較小的機場。

服務國泰航空25年的高級機長兼航線營運經理Evan Summerfield,負責從法國圖盧茲的空中巴士總部駕駛國泰首架A350-1000客機返回香港。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

A Pilot’s 10 Favourite Features of the Airbus A350

Cathay Pacific Captain Evan Summerfield lists some of the features of the Airbus A350 that make it a pleasure to fly for pilots and passengers alike

Cathay Pacific has one of the youngest long-haul fleets in the sky. The latest addition to the family has been the Airbus A350, a new generation of aircraft that brings improvements for passengers, payloads – and pilots. Cathay Pacific’s A350 fleet is deployed to a number of destinations worldwide including to Seattle in the US, London Gatwick and Madrid in Europe and various regional and southwest Pacific destinations. Here, Cathay Pacific Captain Evan Summerfield breaks down a few of his favourite things about the A350-1000 and A350-900 aircraft.

1. It’s Quiet

The A350 is noticeably quieter than other aircraft in the cruise, and I particularly notice it when coming into land through horrible weather. It’s raining and you’re being battered around a bit on approach, but on the flight deck you can talk at normal conversation levels. It’s quiet for passengers too – and this is great because one of the things that adds to jet lag and fatigue is noise. Reduce the noise, and you ‘arrive in better shape’, to use an old Cathay Pacific slogan.

2. It’s Quick

The A350 travels a lot faster than most of the widebody planes flying at the moment. It’s faster than both the Boeing 777 and the Airbus A330. The only thing that keeps up with it is the Boeing 747, like those in our freighter fleet. Speed is good because you’re spending less time in the aircraft by covering the same ground in a quicker time.

3. The Low Cabin Altitude

Because the fuselage is made from a carbon-fibre composite plastic rather than aluminium, the cabin can be pressurised more. Essentially that means that the cabin altitude is lower. On an A350, you can be flying at 35,000 to 40,000 feet, but the cabin will be at around 5,500 feet. (On a conventional aluminium aircraft, the cabin will be around 8,000 feet.) This helps with the effects of jet lag and how you feel after a flight too. It’s less fatiguing. These three things – quiet, quick, low cabin altitude – all combine to make you feel better in the cabin and after the flight.

4. The Fold-Out Table (for Pilots)

This is common to all Airbus flight decks because pilots use a sidestick to operate the flight controls. That means we can have a fold-out table where the conventional control column would be. You can write on it, balance a meal tray on it to eat and, if you flip the table over, there’s a full keyboard to enter data into the flight computers.

5. It’s Greener

The A350 burns 25 per cent less fuel than most previous generation aircraft, so it generates less carbon dioxide. It is quieter too, so it’s better for the environment in a number of ways. Cathay Pacific has managed to reduced its fuel burn by 28 per cent since 1998 – even though it now has more aircraft – thanks to the improvements brought by each generation of aircraft, of which the A350 is the latest.

6. The HUD

That stands for ‘head up display’, which is a fantastic tool for situational awareness. It makes it easier to operate the aircraft in a dynamic environment, particularly during take-off and landing. Specifically, the HUD is a pull-down screen that sits in front of the pilots’ eyes, so we can see ahead through the window but also see all the instrument readings. It provides us with a lot of information including speed, altitude and direction. The cutting-edge technology was initially used in the military and has now been adopted in civil aviation.

7. The BTV

A runway has loads of turn-offs so that aircraft can get off and on to a taxiway quickly, to avoid holding up other planes. The ‘brake to vacate’ function, or BTV, enables us to programme our desired exit point to minimise the time we spend on the runway after landing. The aircraft then decelerates automatically and leaves the runway at a pre-determined speed. This helps reduce our runway occupancy time – which helps reduce delays at airports – and reduces wear on brakes and tyres. It adds to our operational efficiency.

8. The ANF

This is the ‘airport navigation function’. As soon as we’ve landed, the airport map comes up on our primary navigation display, which again helps with situational awareness, particularly at some airports with a very complicated layout when we are taxiing to the terminal.

9. The Cameras

We have cameras on the tail and under the aircraft, which is a feature I know our passengers enjoy and can be accessed via the Inflight Entertainment System. It looks good from the cabin, but it’s also helpful for us in identifying obstacles as we’re moving around.

10. It’s Slow for Landing

Yes, it’s very fast at altitude but because of the way that the wings have been designed as well as its flaps – which extend the surface area – it has a very low approach speed for landing. The combination of quick upstairs and slow downstairs opens up possibilities for us commercially; we can carry heavier payloads into airports with shorter runways because we need less distance to stop.

Senior Captain and Line Operations Manager Evan Summerfield has been with Cathay Pacific for 25 years and flew the airline’s first A350-1000 home from the Airbus factory in Toulouse, France. 

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book