建築與設計

大館八寶

這幅插畫地圖為你揭開全新大館古蹟及藝術綜合空間的隱藏瑰寶。圖片 MIKE PICKLES

插畫 Lok Wong

大館最古老的建築物

D倉建於1858年,採用了新喬治王朝風格建築,在香港割讓予英國短短16年後落成,在大館一眾有史可考的建築物當中,年代屬於最古老的一幢。D倉曾是囚倉和醫院,起初規模遠較現時龐大,不過之後部分建築遭拆卸。D倉現已改建為歷史故事展覽空間,並設有使用由農場直送食材入饌的社企餐廳FT2 。

「鋁」創新猷

包圍賽馬會立方和賽馬會藝方大館當代美術館的鋁金屬架外牆,由合金輪圈循環再造而成,奪目耀眼。不妨留意建築群原有的磚牆如何啟發這些新添的現代設計,帶出新舊文化承傳的意念。

胡志明的活動庭院

胡志明於1931至1933年被囚禁在域多利監獄,其日記記載他每天可到狹小的天井活動15分鐘。天井四周被高牆重重包圍,感覺猶如身處井底。這描述與A倉和B倉之間的天井完全吻合,現時牆頭正加建鐵絲網,以重現胡志明當年被囚的真實情況。

鐵窗生涯

域多利監獄是香港第一所監獄,運作年期亦屬最長(1841至2006年)。B倉保留原貌,沒有空調,更擺放了多件藝術裝置,模仿昔日囚犯呼叫喧嘩、描述單調乏味的牢獄生涯,氣氛蕭瑟凝重,令參觀者恍如親歷其境。

水泥傑作

旋轉樓梯以水泥建造,貫穿四層藝術展覽廳,是名副其實的雕塑藝術傑作。樓梯由著名建築師事務所Herzog & de Meuron設計,旨在展現大館兼顧歷史和現代建築的風格。

傳奇芒果樹

許多警務人員相信檢閱廣場的巨型芒果樹如碩果纍纍,那年定必有多人升遷,但亦有人認為這是大凶之兆。部分歷史資料更推說是印裔警員引入芒果,並推介給香港同袍。

一絲不苟的牆身設計

要把擁有99年歷史的警察總部外牆翻新,需要動用上萬件新製的紅磚。古蹟團隊為此追源溯始,尋找100年前原建築使用的英國製磚技術,並特別委託工匠使用相同技術製作15,000塊紅磚,是磚砌建築迷的一大喜訊。

天主教壁畫

監獄長樓曾被改建為小教堂,在翻新工程時發現其入口通道有一幅繪上羅馬天主教常見的十字架圖案的七彩壁畫。經修復後現時已開放予公眾參觀。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Architecture

8 great finds at Tai Kwun, Hong Kong’s new art and heritage space

Uncover a few secrets lurking within the new Tai Kwun heritage and arts complex using our illustrated map. Photography by MIKE PICKLES

Tai Kwun Hong Kong
Click to expand image. Illustration by Lok Wong

Tai Kwun’s oldest building

The neo-Georgian D Hall dates from 1858, only 16 years after Hong Kong was ceded to Britain, and is the oldest datable building in the Tai Kwun complex. It was initially far more extensive but part of it has been knocked down over time. It has served as a prison block and a hospital, and now is home to a heritage storytelling space and FT2, a farm-to-table restaurant and social enterprise.

Bricks in aluminium

You won’t miss the aluminium cladding, recycled from alloy wheels, that has been added to the exterior of JC Cube and JC Contemporary art galleries. But notice how the original brickwork of the complex has inspired the structure of these modern additions, and the continuity between old and new becomes apparent.

Ho Chi Minh’s exercise yard 

Ho Chi Minh was confined in Victoria Prison from 1931 to 1933, and his diaries describe being allowed out to exercise for 15 minutes a day in a narrow courtyard surrounded by walls, feeling like he was at the bottom of a well. The description best matches the yard between A and B Halls, and work is currently under way to add barbed wire to the top of the surrounding walls to recreate Ho’s descriptions even more closely.

Life behind bars

Victoria Prison was Hong Kong’s first and longest-running prison, operating from 1841 to 2006. The cells in B Hall have been left intact. There’s no aircon, and artistic installations mimic the shouts, clatters and monotony of daily prison life to produce a walk-through both sobering and engaging.

Tai Kwun Hong Kong

Spiral staircase

This four-storey concrete spiral staircase that winds up through the galleries is a sculptural work of art in its own right. Created by acclaimed architects Herzog & de Meuron, this showpiece stairwell aims to encapsulate Tai Kwun’s modern outlook amid its historic settings.

A legendary mango tree

Many police officers believed if the giant mango tree in the parade ground courtyard bore plenty of fruit the year would be filled with promotions. However, others felt that lots of fruit was a bad omen. Some sources posit that Indian police officers introduced the mango to their Hong Kong counterparts.

Wall perfection

Renovations to the facade of the 99-year-old Police Headquarters called for thousands of new red bricks. So the heritage team traced the same British brickworks that made the originals a century ago and commissioned it to custom produce 15,000 red bricks. A real victory for brick completists everywhere.

The Catholic mural

A colourful mural depicting a cross potent (a common motif in Roman Catholicism) was uncovered during renovations at the entrance to the superintendent’s house, which had been converted into a chapel. It has now been restored for the public to examine.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book