北京

北京7個最新潮的體驗 – 到訪北京的原因

首次造訪北京的旅客可能會以歷史古蹟為首選。不過隨著嶄新的高級娛樂和現代風格進佔古都,現在正是遊覽京城的好時機

喜歡在中國眾多大都會追求新潮體驗的旅客,或許會傾向到訪上海。但另一邊廂,北京的蛻變步伐縱然更沉穩含蓄,卻同樣精采,絕對不可忽視。我們在京城發掘的新穎體驗和景點,建議納入你下趟上京之旅的行程之內。

1.直升機遨遊慕田峪長城

Beijing, Four Seasons Beijing helicopter ride

事實上,從太空中俯瞰,根本難以看清萬里長城,因此乘坐直升機觀賞窗外景致,就是最佳的替代方案吧。

對於海外遊客而言,慕田峪已是萬里長城最受歡迎的一段,而背後自然理據十足:該處距離北京僅70公里,位置較近;遊客人數遠遠不及過分擁擠的八達嶺;其氣勢比起綠意盎然的司馬台來得驚為天人;而於去年底推出的全新直升機之旅,更讓遊客從前所未有的角度飽覽慕田峪。

曾任職機師的G-Max直升機旅行團創辦人陳雪表示:「從高空俯瞰時,實在令我感嘆古人到底如何建造長城。」他於2015年成立公司,起初開辦飛越八達嶺的行程,後來將業務擴展至慕田峪。他指出:「現在大眾追求愈來愈多的體驗。透過這趟直升機之旅,我們可帶你遊覽沒有經過人工修葺的箭扣長城;該處並無公路可達,亦不對遊客開放,讓你以嶄新角度飽覽長城。」

Beijing, Great Wall of China
View Stock / Getty Images

直升機剛起飛時,萬里長城的蹤影隱沒於崇山峻嶺和翠綠蔚林之間,不過其蜿蜒宏偉的姿態,隨即慢慢映入眼簾。長城的規模令人歎為觀止,它曲折地纏繞高山之巔,復又於山的另一端延伸開去,再因遭逢低谷而氣勢低沉,然後又躍現於及目所見的視野。此情此景持續不絕,彷彿永無止盡。

北京四季酒店舉辦遊覽慕田峪長城的非凡直升機之旅。更多詳情,請瀏覽 fourseasons.com/beijing 

2.王府井

Beijing, Wangfujing street
Imagenavi / Getty Images

你或許會大感詫異:「王府井?那個販賣炸蠍子、充斥成群結隊的旅行團,滿街都是古老連鎖店的王府井?」

沒錯。

的而且確,過去20年來,隨著城東冒起成為北京的華麗焦點,歷史悠久的市中心縱然毗鄰紫禁城、天安門廣場和中國國家博物館等傑出文化結晶,亦已顯得日漸失色。不過請聽我說:王府井士別三日,刮目相看。

3.王府中環

Beijing

且讓我們以王府中環為起點。這幢堂皇的全新綜合建築坐落京城最古老的行人步行街南端,於今年5月開幕,薈萃奢華購物商店、餐廳和酒吧,更即將迎來設有73間客房的文華東方酒店,它是個極具宏大野心的地產項目。

王府中環與香港的置地廣場同樣隸屬香港置地集團,其執行董事周明祖表示:「我們有意嘗試改善整區的面貌,並希望能夠一石激起千層浪,造就漣漪效應。我期望王府井大街能夠於十年內躍升為全球首屈一指的國際大道,成為所有到訪北京的人必遊的景點,而且一訪再訪。」

4.蛇形美術館展亭

Beijing, Serpentine Pavilion
Gilles Sabrie

不過,除了購物、飲食和享樂以外,該區更乘其文化和藝術傳統之利進行發展,而這種概念亦糅合至王府中環當中。綜合建築其中一邊坐擁該樞紐最為奪目的焦點蛇形美術館展亭,是倫敦的蛇形美術館委約設計的臨時空間。這個洋溢雕塑風格的場地由備受推崇的中國建築師劉家琨設計,是英國以外首個蛇形美術館展亭,呈圓拱形的鋼樑橫跨開放空間,展現奪目的現代格調。

即日起至10月31日為止,展亭將呈獻一系列音樂、表演和論壇節目。蛇形美術館藝術總監Hans Ulrich Oblast表示:「我們希望它能夠成為真正的樞紐和活力的核心,既與我們於倫敦的工作類近,又切合本土風格。我們與當地夥伴進行大規模合作,務求為這個獨特場地構建共同願景。展亭是可盛載內涵的容器,並非空虛的軀殼,非常適合進行藝術實驗。」

5.嘉德藝術中心

Beijing, Guardian Art Center
Guardian Art Center by Ole Scheeren © Buro-OS

繼續向北走,穿越昔日的簡樸建築,便可找到格調前衛的嘉德藝術中心。這幢造型方正的建築於去年10月開幕,是中國嘉德拍賣行的新總部。配合中心60萬平方呎的空間,集團正涉足拍賣業務以外的領域,突破固有模式。

嘉德藝術中心策展人之一的王端表示:「嘉德的確是著名的古董專家,但那並非我們的唯一業務。透過這個中心,我們希望涉足當代藝術,將嶄新事物呈現觀眾眼前。王府井雖是非常傳統的地區,但我們渴望人們能夠了解當代藝術,參觀我們的展覽,走近藝術,並與藝術家對話,令這裡成為全新的文化地標。」

藝術中心充滿雄心壯志,經常設置公眾展覽以及舉辦藝術節,而這些都是王府井不斷進化的一部分。王端表示:「這區的而且確正在轉變,而我亦認為這裡很快就會發展成更高尚的地段。現在北京的重心正逐漸移至王府井這邊,而非三里屯等地。」

Beijing
Imaginechina

6.餐廳: 宴錦堂

Beijing, Yan Jin Tang
Gilles Sabrie

在後海湖北面對開的孝友胡同,穿越數條巷弄,即可找到一座光鮮的四合院。院內沒有招牌,也沒有什麼標示說明它就是城中最具人氣的餐廳之一。

將宴錦堂稱為餐廳或許並非最為恰當,皆因其形式更類近私房菜,或如掌廚張志成所言,它不過是一處「吃飯的地方」,只是假如大家希望品嚐該處的佳餚,就必須等候長達兩個月之久。

Beijing, Yan Jin Tang
Gilles Sabrie

張志成堪稱年輕奇葩。年僅24歲的他於去年7月開設宴錦堂,面對傳媒的作風頗為低調,但憑藉其洋溢高級料理格調的住家菜,他已被推崇為北京飲食界急速冒起的新星。

那很大程度歸功於張志成的款客之道。他會將每道菜式親自奉上桌,並提供精采絕倫的詳盡解說,為此,他將每天晚上的食客人數限制在18位以內。對他而言,最重要是他願意挑戰現代中國飲食文化的方向。暱稱為「小胖」的張志成說:「我將自己視為謙遜的僕人,而這種接待方式教人勾起昔日朝廷的傳統。很多人都過分著重擺盤方式,我則認為食物才是關鍵所在。我同時也希望對有關中菜的理念提出質疑,舉例說,烹煮魚類有許多不同方式,並非只局限於蒸魚而已;最終結果才是至為重要吧。」

Beijing, Yan Jin Tang
Gilles Sabrie

在宴錦堂,張志成供應多款高級菜式,例如黃酒醃淡水龍蝦、花雕魚肚天婦羅,以及香橙燕窩。他亦希望盡快開設另一家分店,將其烹飪哲學應用於經典京菜。

7.酒吧: Equis

Beijing, bar in beijing
Chiara Ye

北京的夜生活向來由兩大種類分庭抗禮:大型娛樂場所和潮人胡同酒吧。Equis兩者皆是之餘,更不止於此。Equis不但有樂隊和DJ坐鎮,同時還設有一處名為「隱」的雞尾酒廊,氣氛親切。此外,這裡還設有海鮮吧、會員專區和四個寬敞陽台。每一個角落,展現的概念都截然不同,貫徹其設計靈感。Equis的首席調酒師Keith Motsi表示:「整個空間都是圍繞胡同風格而設計。」酒吧除供應茅台雞尾酒外,Motsi還自創了一款煙霧繚繞的Old Fashioned,是一杯以北京廣為人知的空氣質素為設計靈感的雞尾酒。

Equis不但佔地達8萬平方呎,更位處發展日益蓬勃的商業和使館區亮馬橋,或許能為北京重塑娛樂新景象吧。雖然它尚未能跟鼓樓胡同或三里屯媲美,但在高級酒吧門庭若市的京城,這裡算得上是現時最炙手可熱的潮流勝地。

Beijing, Equis Bar

Cathay Pacific and 國泰航空及國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往北京的航班,每周有70班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Beijing

7 most exciting reasons to visit Beijing soon

First-time visitiors flock to its historic landmarks. But with Beijing’s latest infusion of high-end entertainment and modern culture, there are new reasons to visit the capital

Travellers seeking the new and modern among China’s metropolises might gravitate towards Shanghai. Beijing’s evolution, on the other hand, is more measured and subtle but no less thrilling – and definitely not to be ignored. We explore the fresh experiences and places that should be on your itinerary on your next trip to the capital.

1. The Mutianyu Great Wall by Helicopter

Four Seasons Beijing helicopter ride

Fact: you can’t see the Great Wall from space. The best alternative? To see the Great Wall from a helicopter.

Mutianyu is already the most popular part of the Great Wall for overseas visitors and for good reason: it’s close, just 70 kilometres from Beijing; it’s far less touristy than overcrowded Badaling; and it’s more dramatic than the green-covered beauty of Simatai. And late last year, a new helicopter tour started to offer a whole new view of Mutianyu.

‘Seeing it from above really makes me wonder how they built it,’ says Snow Chen, a former pilot who founded G-Max helictoper tours. Chen started his company in 2015, flying over Badaling before expanding operations to Mutianyu. ‘People are now looking for more and more experiences,’ he says. ‘And with this, we can take you to the original great wall of Jiankou, where there’s no road and it’s not open to tourists. It’s a different perspective of the wall.’

Beijing, Great Wall of China
View Stock / Getty Images

Immediately after takeoff, the Great Wall is difficult to spot, lost in the craggy peaks and scrubby landscape. But then it slowly comes into focus, winding and majestic. The scale of the wall is what is really striking. It snakes over peaks and continues on the other side; it collapses as if exhausted and then appears in the peripheries of your vision. This goes on and on. It seems endless.

The Four Seasons Beijing offers special helicopter trips over the Great Wall at Mutianyu. See fourseasons.com/beijing for more details

2. Wangfujing

Beijing, Wangfujing street
Imagenavi / Getty Images

‘Wangfujing?’ you might be wondering. ‘The Wangfujing of deep-fried scorpions, hordes of flag-led tour groups and ageing chain outlets?’

Yes.

Indeed, over the past two decades, as Beijing glamour has shifted to the city’s east, this historic part of central Beijing, adjacent to the cultural tours de force of the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and the National Museum of China, has become a less and less desirable address. But hear me out: Wangfujing is changing.

 3. WF Central

Beijing

Let’s start with WF Central, the glamorous new complex sitting at the southern end of the capital’s oldest pedestrian street. This shiny hub of high-end shopping, restaurants, bars and a forthcoming 73-room Mandarin Oriental hotel opened in May – with big ambitions.

‘We want to try to improve the whole district. We’re hoping we can be the pebble in a pond and, from that, we can get a ripple effect,’ says Raymond Chow, executive director of Hongkong Land, the owner of WF Central and Hong Kong’s Landmark. ‘In 10 years’ time, I see Wangfujing Street becoming one of the most important international streets in the world. Everyone who comes to Beijing will have to come here at least once.’

4. Serpentine Pavilion

Serpentine Pavilion, Beijing
Gilles Sabrie

But it’s not just shopping, eating and indulgence; the district rides on its cultural and artistic heritage, a concept that has been infused into WF Central. On one side of the complex lies one of the hub’s biggest statements: the Serpentine Pavilion, a temporary space commissioned by London’s Serpentine Galleries. Designed by revered Chinese architect Liu Jiakun, the sculptural venue is the first Serpentine Pavilion outside of the UK and is arresting in its modernity, with steel beams arching across open space.

Until 31 October, the pavilion will host a programme of music, performances and discussions. ‘We want it to be a real hub, a real centre of energy, similar to what we do in London but very localised,’ says Hans Ulrich Oblast, artistic director of Serpentine Galleries. ‘We’ve worked extensively with local partners to have a shared vision for this special site. The pavilion is a content machine, not an empty shell. It’s very much a place for experimentation.’

5. Guardian Art Center

Beijing, Guardian Art Center
Guardian Art Center by Ole Scheeren © Buro-OS

Venture north, past the austere buildings of the past, and you’ll come across the avant-garde Guardian Art Center, which opened in October last year. The angular centre is the new headquarters of China Guardian auction house. And with 600,000 square feet of space, the group is branching out of the auction realm – and its own comfort zone.

‘Guardian is really well known for antiques. But that’s not all we do,’ says Wang Duan, one of Guardian Art Center’s curators. ‘With this centre, we want to do contemporary art too and put new things in front of the audience. Wangfujing is a very traditional area but we want people to learn about contemporary art, visit our programmes, get close to the art and talk to artists. We want this to be a new cultural landmark.’

There are big ambitions for the centre, with public exhibitions showing constantly and festivals. It’s all part of the changing face of Wangfujing. ‘The area is definitely changing,’ says Wang. ‘Soon, I think it will become much more elegant. Things are starting to move to Wangfujing instead of places like Sanlitun.’

Beijing
Imaginechina

6. Yan Jin Tang restaurant

Beijing, Yan Jin Tang
Gilles Sabrie

In Xiaoyou Hutong, just north of Houhai Lake, down a couple of alleys, there’s an immaculate courtyard house. There’s no signage and pretty much nothing to tell you that this is one of the hottest restaurants in town.

Restaurant perhaps isn’t the best description of Yan Jin Tang (‘banquet hall’). It’s more of a private kitchen. Or, as chef Zhang Zhicheng calls it, ‘a place to eat’. One that has a two-month waiting list.

Beijing, Yan Jin Tang
Gilles Sabrie

Zhang is something of a phenome. He’s only 24, opened Yan Jin Tang in July last year and is rather media shy. Yet, with his fine dining iteration of home cooking, he’s already being identified as the emerging star of Beijing’s food scene.

A lot of that has to do with his approach to hospitality. He serves every dish at the table personally, with a generous side of colourful explanation. He limits the space to 18 diners each night. And, most importantly to him, he’s willing to challenge the direction of modern Chinese food culture. ‘I see myself as a humble server and in that sense my approach harkens back to the traditions of the imperial court,’ says Zhang, whose nickname is Chubby. ‘People concentrate too much on presentation. For me, it’s about the food. But I also want to question the ideas around Chinese food. For example, there are many ways to cook a fish, not just steamed. The end result is all that is important to me.’

Beijing, Yan Jin Tang
Gilles Sabrie

At Yan Jin Tang, he serves high-end dishes such as crawfish pickled with yellow wine; fish maw tempura with huadiao; and bird’s nest with orange. And Zhang hopes to open another spot soon to apply his philosophy to the staples of Beijing cuisine.

7. Equis bar

Beijing
Chiara Ye

Beijing bars and nightlife have been dominated by two cliches: the mega club and the hipster hutong bar. Equis is both, and then some. It has a club with bands and DJs. It also has an intimate cocktail lounge called the Library. There’s a seafood bar, a members’ area and four sprawling terraces. Around every turn, there’s a different concept – which is kind of the inspiration. ‘The whole thing is designed around hutong style,’ says Keith Motsi, Equis’ head bartender. There are moutai cocktails here, as well as one of Motsi’s creations, a smoky Old Fashioned inspired by Beijing’s famous air quality.

With its unrivalled 80,000 square feet of space and its location in the growing business and consulate district of Liangmaqiao, Equis may just be helping to redefine Beijing’s entertainment scene. This isn’t the Gulou hutongs or Sanlitun, yet somehow it’s the hottest high-end bar in a very big town.

Beijing, Equis bar

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly to Beijing from Hong Kong 70 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book