餐飲美食

壽司大師荒木水都弘最愛的六間餐廳

榮獲米芝蓮三星的江戶前壽司大將荒木水都弘,跟我們分享啟發其廚藝的餐廳

史上唯一憑壽司在東京和倫敦分別摘下米芝蓮三星殊榮的荒木水都弘,雖以近200年歷史的日本傳統江戶前壽司名聞天下,眼界並不囿於日本本土。去年12月,他在香港尖沙咀1881公館開設The Araki,並親自在這間只設12個座位的壽司吧坐鎮,為客人呈奉廚師發辦壽司盛宴。荒木水都弘表示他不打算用言語向客人面授江戶前壽司的奧妙之處,而是以一雙巧手握出不同款式的壽司和炮製多款小菜,讓食客用味蕾自行領會。他指出:「壽司世界其實非常簡單,就只有美味和不美味。如果客人覺得我的壽司味道不好,即使我如何向他們傳授我對江戶前壽司的見解,都沒有任何意義。最重要的是放下理所當然的想法,徹底理解客人的喜好。不能抱著『我是壽司專家』的態度,而嘗試去改變客人。」此外,他更大方分享全球多間對其料理帶來啟發的餐廳。

1. 香港福臨門酒家

Credit: Courtesy of Fook Lam Moon

荒木在2011年首次來港,並造訪了福臨門酒家。他說:「那裡的菜式,不論是蒸、焗、燉的都做得非常出色。我發現香港的本地食材種類繁多,如瀨尿蝦、石斑、大蜆、虎蝦和魷魚等,它們全都是優質的食材。故此我在香港跟本地漁民合作,直接向他們採購海產,並盡量利用它們製作江戶前壽司。」

國泰航空和國泰港龍航空以香港為家

2. 佛羅倫斯Enoteca Pinchiorri餐廳

Credit: Courtesy of Enoteca Pinchiorri

Enoteca Pinchiorri餐廳位於富文藝復興時代建築風格的酒店內,是當地唯一獲頒米芝蓮三星的餐廳,吸引荒木先後造訪三次。他表示:「那裡讓我強烈地感受到意大利菜的本色,儘管所有菜式都是意大利麵食,但全都予人驚喜。」餐廳行政主廚Annie Féolde和丈夫Giorgio Pinchiorri從前就常常光顧荒木位於銀座的壽司店,可謂識英雄重英雄。

國泰航空設有直航航班飛往米蘭和羅馬,兩地都有接駁交通前往佛羅倫斯

3. 巴黎L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon餐廳

Credit: Courtesy of L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon

憑炮製薯蓉享譽國際的Joël Robuchon,在世界各地建立飲食王國,荒木就造訪過他位於凱旋門附近的餐廳。他表示:「當年我在銀座店打算到海外發展時,曾經跟Robuchon商量過有關地點的選址,他建議我可去倫敦、紐約或香港。當時我的女兒已在倫敦留學,所以順理成章我先選倫敦,然後再來香港。」

國泰航空設有直航航班飛往巴黎

4. 紐約Nobu餐廳

Credit: Courtesy of Nobu Restaurants

老闆松久信幸於1980年代在美國洛杉磯開設日本餐廳,然後在1994年跟荷李活巨星Robert De Niro合作,在紐約開設NOBU餐廳,把日本料理引入這個世界之都,贏得「和食之神」的美譽。荒木表示:「海外有不少日本人開餐館,但像松久信幸在國際間如此享負盛名,如此轟動的,他是第一人。他為我帶來很大的啟發,對我來說就像導師一樣。」

國泰航空設有直航航班飛往紐約

5. 紐約Per Se餐廳

Credit: Courtesy of Per Se, New York

餐廳呈奉的是新派美國和法國的融和菜,每天提供兩款九道菜盛宴,一款是大廚嚐味餐單,另一款是素食菜單,所有菜式的食材絕不重複出現。荒木表示:「在那裡的用餐體驗令我感到非常震撼,服務亦非常出色。」主廚Thomas Keller亦造訪了荒木在倫敦的壽司店。

國泰航空設有直航航班飛往紐約

6. 東京Kiyota壽司店

Credit: Courtesy of Sushi Kiyota

此店是日本的殿堂級壽司店,第二代掌門人新津武昭是壽司界的傳奇人物,他主理Kiyota壽司店的時候,荒木曾跟他學習做壽司的技藝。Kiyota以頂級吞拿魚壽司馳名,而荒木在自家店呈奉的吞拿魚壽司亦變化多端,非同凡響。

東京都中央區銀座6-3-15; +81 3-3572-4854

國泰航空設有直航航班飛往東京

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

6 Restaurants Where Sushi Master Mitsuhiro Araki Eats for Inspiration

How does Araki roll? The master sushi chef shares the restaurants that have inspired him on his culinary journey

Chef-Mitsuhiro-Araki-Sushi master

Chef Mitsuhiro Araki is the only sushi master in history to have won three Michelin stars for his eponymous establishments in both Tokyo and London. In December 2019, the itamae (sushi chef) opened his latest outlet in Hong Kong, bringing his revered omakase – chef’s choice – experience to House 1881 in Tsim Sha Tsui. Here, guests have a rare chance to interact with the sushi specialist at the intimate 12-counter restaurant – but don’t expect a masterclass: ‘The last thing I want to do is to tutor my customers like some “sushi expert”,’ says Araki. ‘The most important thing is to ditch preconceptions and embrace customers’ preferences. It is meaningless to show them how much I know about Edomae sushi if they don’t find my sushi tasty: the sushi world is as simple as that.’ Here, Chef Araki shares six restaurants around the world that have inspired him on his culinary journey.

1. Fook Lam Moon, Hong Kong

Fook Lam Moon Double Boiled Fish Maw Chinese Soup Restaurant
Credit: Courtesy of Fook Lam Moon

During his first sojourn in Hong Kong in 2011, Araki paid a visit to Fook Lam Moon. ‘They excel in all sorts of cooking skills: steaming, stewing, braising – you name it. I was amazed by the variety and quality of local ingredients in Hong Kong – mantis shrimp, garoupa fish, clam and cuttlefish.’ It inspired the chef in his own cooking. ‘A significant proportion of ingredients used in my Hong Kong restaurant are sourced directly from local fishermen to create Edomae sushi,’ he says.

Hong Kong is the home city of Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon

2. Enoteca Pinchiorri, Florence

Chef Araki Sandwich di acciughe olio alle cime di rapa missicanza campestre al limone e gelato alle olive taggische
Credit: Courtesy of Enoteca Pinchiorri

Enoteca Pinchiorri is the only three Michelin-starred restaurant in Florence – and a place Araki had three exceptional gourmet experiences. ‘I was truly immersed in the authentic tastes of Italy. Although they serve mainly pasta dishes, the menu is full of surprises,’ he recalls of the restaurant, which occupies a Renaissance-era palazzo. Chef Araki repaid the favour: Enoteca Pinchiorri’s executive chef Annie Féolde and her husband Giorgio Pinchiorri are frequent diners at The Araki in Ginza, Tokyo.

Cathay Pacific flies direct to Milan and Rome, which both have onward connections to Florence

3. L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon, Paris

L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon Chef Araki Michelin starred Ginza Tokyo
Credit: Courtesy of L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon

Joël Robuchon made a legend out of ordinary mashed potatoes. Of the French master chef’s haute cuisine kingdom, Araki favours the Etoile outlet near the Arc de Triomphe. ‘I asked Robuchon for advice on my overseas expansion when I was running The Araki Ginza. He told me to look to London, New York or Hong Kong,’ he recalls. ‘I chose London first because my daughter was studying there. Hong Kong is my next stop.’

Cathay Pacific flies direct to Paris

4. Nobu, New York

Nobu New York Black Cod Miso Henru Hargreaves
Credit: Courtesy of Nobu Restaurants

Hailed as the ‘god of washoku’ – traditional Japanese cuisine – Nobu Matsuhisa is credited with introducing the US to Japanese cuisine in the 1980s, first in Los Angeles before launching Nobu in New York with Robert De Niro in 1994. ‘Of all Japanese chefs who run restaurants away from home, chef Matsuhisa inspires me with his unprecedented prominence and presence on the international scene,’ says Araki. ‘He is like my mentor’.

Cathay Pacific flies direct to New York

5. Per Se, New York

Per Se New York Deborah Jones Chef Araki
Credit: Courtesy of Per Se, New York

Thomas Keller’s contemporary American-French fusion joint offers two nine-course menus each day – a chef’s tasting menu and a vegetarian menu, with no single ingredient repeated at any point within the meal. ‘The dining experience is stunning, with excellent service too,’ says Araki.

Cathay Pacific flies direct to New York

6. Sushi Kiyota, Tokyo

Sushi Kiyota Chef Araki Tokyo Tuna Niitsu Takeaki
Credit: Courtesy of Sushi Kiyota

Revered as the Mecca for sushi aficionados, Sushi Kiyota was the restaurant where Araki honed his skills under legendary second-generation owner Niitsu Takeaki, before launching his own restaurant. The rich variety of tuna sushi dishes served at The Araki is a nod to Sushi Kiyota’s famous tuna, in all its fatty goodness.

6 Chome-3-15 Ginza, Tokyo; +81 3-3572-4854

Cathay Pacific flies direct to Tokyo

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book