餐飲美食

品嚐全球最美味火腿的5個最佳地點

CHRIS DWYER食指大動,前往西班牙追尋因橡實而美味非凡的西班牙火腿

經過長年累月的悉心照顧,不但換來令人垂涎的撲鼻香氣,更令這種火腿成為肉類中的貴族,一隻全腿身價可高達4,100歐元(37,000港元)。油而不膩的質感縈繞指間與舌尖,質感濃厚而豐富,鹹鮮而帶堅果甘香的味道,充斥整個口腔,有如上乘佳釀一樣令人齒頰留香。

在這種人見人愛的西班牙伊比利亞火腿面前,我全無招架的能力。這種火腿來自生活得十分快樂的豬隻;法律保障每頭豬可以在古老的西班牙軟木橡樹林中享有最少兩公頃的生活空間,可以自由活動,並以橡實為食物。

西班牙飼養patanegra黑蹄豬已有上千年的歷史,是歐洲少數現時仍於原生草原飼養的家畜之一。飼養牠們的時間比一般工業飼養的動物長三倍,而腌製、風乾和熟成牠們的後腿至少要再多花兩年。這種火腿僅佔西班牙火腿產量的1%,卻令全球饕客為之著迷,而中國的美食家亦對這種人間滋味愈來愈渴求。不過若想盡情品嚐伊比利亞火腿的風味,原產地西班牙仍然是首選。

1. Jabugo 鎮

這個小鎮位於安達盧西亞西南部的山間,是西班牙兩個伊比利亞火腿主要產地之一,兩鎮出產的火腿皆有Denominación de Origen 原產地名稱保護標籤。在芸芸眾多火腿商當中,以1879年開業、歷史最悠久的Cinco Jotas最備受推崇。火腿工場設有導賞團,讓訪客了解火腿的製作過程,並進入風乾火腿的陰涼地窖參觀,天花板上懸吊的火腿數以千計,頗為壯觀。小鎮上有許多酒吧與餐廳,遊人可以隨時入內品嚐這種當地名產。 cincojotas.com

2. Guijuelo 鎮

從馬德里駕車向東駛,兩小時後便可到達Salamanca市附近的Guijuelo鎮,這裡是另一個盛產伊比利亞火腿的地方,另一頂級火腿名牌Joselito就在這裡製造。小鎮的風景不算特別迷人,但鎮上火腿店、酒吧和餐廳林立。在眾多伊比利亞火腿產地中,以Guijuelo的氣候最清涼,因此當地出產的火腿味道特別鮮美,在極受歡迎的El Pernil Ibérico餐廳就能嚐到這種別有風味的火腿。 facebook.com/elpernilIberico

3. Salamanca 市

Salamanca市是個古城,這裡每年10月都會舉行伊比利亞豬肉博覽會。除了品嚐美味火腿和各種佳餚美食,當地的歷史文化亦相當吸引。城裡的中世紀鵝卵石街道旁商店林立,大型的Plaza Mayor廣場更是拍照勝地。1947年開業至今的El Meson de Gonzalo餐廳於當地十分馳名,訂座時不妨預約餐廳樓下的一層,在古老的石牆環繞下用膳,品嚐味道冠絕西班牙的香辣番茄汁馬鈴薯塊patatas bravas。 elmesondegonzalo.es

4. 馬德里

Casa González餐廳位於馬德里的Literary Quarter區,格調高雅,氣氛悠閒,自1931年起一直為顧客帶來西班牙最頂級的火腿、芝士和各式農產品。除了各地區特產美食與林林總總的火腿之外,餐廳的馳名菜式還有炆牛尾和野豬。這裡還有超過200款美酒可供選擇,每杯只售兩歐元(18港元)起,定能讓你樂而忘返。 casagonzalez.es

5. 巴塞羅那

CasaAlfonso餐廳的建築物是巴塞羅那的法定古蹟建築,踏進餐廳內,伊比利亞火腿的芳香撲鼻而來。從長長的雲石吧檯向上望,可以見到從天花懸著的火腿,坐在那裡享受tapas下酒小菜別有風味;若想來一頓豐富的大餐,不妨到餐室去,那裡的牆上有典雅的木鑲板,掛滿舊照片和海報,氣氛親切舒適。casaalfonso.com

國泰航空每周有五班由香港飛往 馬德里的航班,以及每周有四班 由香港飛往巴塞羅那的航班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Food and drink

5 best places to eat the world’s tastiest ham

Drooling only slightly, CHRIS DWYER hunts down the prized Spanish ham that owes a great deal to the humble acorn

First it’s the heady aroma, the perfume of years of love and care that have gone into making one of the world’s most exclusive and expensive meats – up to €4,100 (HK$37,000) for a single leg. Then the feel between the fingers and on the tongue, lightly oiled but never greasy; before the wave of flavour, an umami tsunami of deep, rich, gently salted and nutty joy, spreading across the palate and lingering like a great wine. 

It’s safe to say I’m a fan of jamón ibérico de bellota, Spain’s much-admired cured ham made from pigs raised on acorns. To ensure the best quality, by law these indulged animals must have a minimum of two hectares each to roam free in the ancient oak glades and cork forests of Spain, known as dehesas.

Iberico, ham, spain

These pata negra pigs – named after their black hooves – have been raised in Spain for millennia and are some of Europe’s last meat grazed on original pasture. They live three times longer than industrially raised animals, while the subsequent salting, hanging, drying and ageing of their back legs adds at least two years before they can be enjoyed. They represent just one per cent of Spain’s total ham production and are sought-after the world over – increasingly in China. But it’s their homeland that provides the ultimate opportunities to indulge.

1. Jabugo

This small town in the gently rolling hills of southwest Andalusia is one of Spain’s two main production centres of jamón ibérico de bellota, both of which hold a Denominación de Origen label. While there are scores of producers, the oldest and most revered is Cinco Jotas, in business since 1879. Follow a fascinating tour of the production process – including a visit to the cool subterranean cellars known as bodegas where thousands of legs hang from the ceiling – with tastings in bars and restaurants dotted all over town. cincojotas.com

2. Guijuelo

Spain’s other great centre of jamón ibérico de bellota is Guijuelo near Salamanca, two hours’ drive west of Madrid. It’s home to another top-end brand, Joselito, but again there are scores of shops, bars and restaurants to choose from across the compact if not especially pretty town. It’s the coolest of the jamón-producing regions, resulting in noticeably sweeter meat, as you can taste at a long-time local favourite restaurant, El Pernil Ibérico. facebook.com/elpernilIberico

3. Salamanca

Salamanca is an historical and cultural delight, even before you add in a world of jamón tasting and dining options, while the annual ibérico pork forum is held here in October. Shops dot the medieval cobblestone streets, while the huge Plaza Mayor square is hard to beat as a backdrop. El Meson de Gonzalo is a good choice and has been around since 1947. Reserve a table downstairs to eat surrounded by ancient walls, while their patatas bravas (potato cubes with spicy tomato sauce) have also been named among Spain’s best. elmesondegonzalo.es

4. Madrid

Casa González has been showcasing Spain’s finest hams, cheeses and other produce since 1931 in an elegant but relaxed deli-restaurant in Madrid’s Literary Quarter. Choose from countless regional specialities and multiple types of ham, while succulent oxtail stew and wild boar are two other highlights. More than 200 wines from just two euros (HK$18) a glass will ensure you stay there longer than you expected. casagonzalez.es

5. Barcelona

Walking into Casa Alfonso, in a listed building that celebrates Barcelona’s architectural heritage, the aroma of jamón ibérico is unmistakeable. Go for tapas at the long marble bar, with hams hanging from the ceiling, or take a table for more substantial eating surrounded by elegant wood panels showing old photos and posters. casaalfonso.com

Cathay Pacific flies to Madrid from Hong Kong five times a week, and to Barcelona four times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book