都市生活

新蒲崗暴動50年後

我們細述新蒲崗在50年前曾發生過一宗震驚全球的暴動事件

現代香港可說是在新蒲崗製造出來的,但在這個毫不起眼的工廠區內,你看不到任何牌匾或紀念碑,眼前只見到一幢幢與水泥高樓並立的舊工廠大廈。

1967年春季,新蒲崗一間塑膠花工廠罷工,事件觸發了後來人稱的「六七暴動」,令香港出現二次大戰以來最動盪不安的時期,並對日後的香港帶來深遠的影響和改變。

5月6日,塑膠業大亨唐鼎康開設的香港人造花廠因勞資糾紛爆發衝突。當防暴警察到場鎮壓時,大有街工廠內的工人對警察投擲玻璃瓶和鐵罐。結果有21名示威者被捕,導致香港左派工會高調介入事件。翌日,左派工會發起大遊行,號召全港工人上街示威。

當時香港的新工廠如雨後春筍般出現,但工作環境惡劣,工人收入僅堪糊口,生活十分艱苦。當反對天星小輪(當時橫渡維港的主要交通工具)加價的示威遊行演變成暴動時,香港的左派工會乘機將中國的文化大革命輸入香港,試圖推翻英國殖民政府。

1967年5月7日,大批示威者手持《毛主席語錄》上街抗議。警察逮捕了逾100人,政府宣布實施宵禁。左派分子則報以恐怖襲擊,在全港各區放置1,167枚炸彈;造成15人死亡,死者包括兩名住在北角的幼童。反共時事評論員亦遭人襲擊;8月,電台主持林彬駕車上班途中,座駕遭人攔截縱火,他被活活燒死於車內。

由於中國總理周恩來正式否定暴力,香港動盪不安的六七暴動最後在12月劃上句號。殖民政府亦明白,暴動本身雖然過分激烈,但是背後的原因亦情有可原,因此在1967年之後的十年間,持續推行連串社會改革,例如將中、英文並列為法定語文,展開全新的社會服務,包括免費教育及全民醫療保健等。

自從六七暴動之後,新蒲崗再次經歷了另一次改變。中國在1990年代推行經濟自由化,區內的工廠從此陸續北移,許多空置的工廠大廈改建為酒店,以容納人數激增的內地旅客。50年前這裡的街頭充斥手持《毛主席語錄》的示威者,現在則變成了荷包飽滿的遊客。

圖片:Calvin Sit

今天,新蒲崗的舊工廠大廈及建於1960年代的舊式住宅大廈內,開設了不少茶餐廳,還有好些經營了幾十年的家庭式小生意。由於區內租金相對低廉,因此亦吸引了一些新潮店舖進駐,例如展出1980及90年代懷舊文具的銀の文房具。此外,一些新的發展項目,如香港九龍貝爾特酒店、Mikiki商場及豪華住宅等,則為這個地區帶來更高級的格調。

圖片:Calvin Sit

與舊人造花工廠相距幾個街口的啟德河,在二次大戰期間曾被改作一條疏洪渠道。後來附近一帶成了工廠區,啟德河亦變成一條臭氣薰天的大水溝。但過去15年來,隨著許多工廠相繼遷離,加上新的污水管制規例,令啟德明渠的狀況大為改善。現在你可以見到魚兒在清澈的河水中暢泳,河岸經過綠化,有人更建議沿岸建一條散步徑。這裡現在一片寧靜祥和,與昔日從窗口拋擲鐵罐的景況不可同日而語。

從很多方面來看,新蒲崗的演變,正好反映香港的變化。1967年爆發暴動時,正值全球冷戰高峰期,也是港人爭取更理想生活環境的時候。如今無論是世界大環境,還是香港本身,都與昔日有天淵之別,然而處境並不比昔日簡單。究竟現在的新蒲崗是更勝從前,還是失去了本身的歷史和傳統?

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

50 years beyond the riots of San Po Kong

CHRISTOPHER DEWOLF tells the story of San Po Kong, 50 years after it dominated global headlines

Modern Hong Kong was forged in San Po Kong, but you won’t find any plaques or monuments in this low-key industrial neighbourhood in northeast Kowloon, where former factory blocks jostle for space with concrete high-rises.

It was here, in the spring of 1967, that a strike at a plastic flowers factory launched Hong Kong’s worst period of instability since the Second World War – a period that changed the city in some very profound ways.

It all began on 6 May, when picketing workers clashed with management at the Hong Kong Artificial Flower Works, which was owned by plastics tycoon Duncan Tong. When riot police arrived, workers inside the factories along Tai Yau Street began throwing glass bottles and cans at them. Twenty-one demonstrators were arrested, which unleashed the fury of Hong Kong’s pro-communist trade unions. The next day, they organised huge demonstrations across the city in response to the arrests.

At the time, Hong Kong was booming with new factories, but working conditions were often dire and much of the population was barely scraping by. When a protest against a fare increase for the Star Ferry (the main way to cross the harbour at the time) turned into a riot, pro-communist trade unions saw their chance to bring China’s Cultural Revolution to Hong Kong, with the ultimate goal of overthrowing the British colonial government.

And so on 7 May 1967, demonstrators waved copies of Mao’s Little Red Book as they took to the streets. Police arrested more than 100 protesters and the government imposed a curfew. Communists responded with terrorist attacks: 1,167 bombs were planted throughout the city, killing 15 people, including two young children in North Point. Anti-communist commentators were attacked; in August, radio host Lam Bun was burned alive in his car as he drove to work.

The instability finally ended in December, when Chinese premier Zhou Enlai expressed his official disapproval of the violence. The colonial government understood that, for all its excesses, the riots had been fuelled by legitimate grievances, and the decade following 1967 saw a wave of reforms. Chinese was made an official language, along with English, and new social services were introduced, such as free public education and universal healthcare.

Since the riots, San Po Kong has undergone its own set of changes. China’s economic liberalisation in the 1990s saw the neighbourhood’s factories move across the border. Many of them have been replaced by hotels to accommodate the surge of tourists visiting from the mainland. Streets that were filled 50 years ago with demonstrators waving the Little Red Book are now home to visitors brandishing something very different: wallets full of cash.

Mikki shopping mall san po kong hong kong
Credit: Calvin Sit

Today, San Po Kong’s old factory blocks and 1960s-era apartment buildings are home to classic Hong Kong-style cafés and decades-old family businesses. But the area’s relatively affordable rents have also invited a new wave of enterprises, like Silver Stationery, which taps into nostalgia for products from the 1980s and ’90s. Meanwhile, new developments like Pentahotel, the towering Mikiki shopping mall and luxury housing estates are taking the district in a more upscale direction.

Credit: Calvin Sit

A few blocks away from the old plastic flowers factory runs the Kai Tak River, an old stream that was converted into a drainage channel during the Second World War. As the area industrialised, it became a fetid open sewer, but new pollution controls and the departure of the area’s many factories have led to a renewal in the past 15 years. Fish swim through crystal-clear waters, and a green walkway along the river has been proposed. It’s a tranquil place – a far cry from the days when paint cans were being hurled out of nearby windows.

In many ways, San Po Kong’s evolution mirrors that of Hong Kong itself. When the 1967 riots broke out, this was a place where workers strove for a better life against a backdrop of Cold War political dramas. Now the picture has changed, but it is no less complicated. Is this a neighbourhood doing better for itself, or one that is losing touch with its history and heritage? 

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book