藝術和文化

村上春樹筆下的五個東京熱點

Felix Chan 一頭栽進村上的世界,遊走於這位國際知名的日本作家筆下故事中描寫成長及超現實的空間

文學引領我們前往異國、新大陸,甚至純然未知的宇宙。但有時我們可以親自走進書本的世界,探索深愛的故事描述的真實地點。村上春樹的小說充滿了真正的東京風情。從新宿的隱世酒吧到辻堂海濱的衝浪熱點,跟我們一起走訪他在書中描述過的東京周邊地區,觸摸書頁中的生活質感。

1. 爵士酒吧DUG

東京新宿

Credit: Dan Nevill

德語課一結束,我們就乘坐公共汽車來到新宿,鑽進紀伊國書店的地下酒吧Dug,各自喝了兩杯伏特加湯力。她說:「我時不時來這裡。即使白天在這裡喝酒,也感到心安理得。」

年輕時的村上常來這家不起眼的地下室酒吧,這裡也是《挪威的森林》的主角渡邊與渴望愛情的小林綠消磨時間的地方。自1967年開業至今,Dug的小小霓虹招牌,就先後懸掛在東京的數個地點,儘管酒吧的樓上就是喧囂熱鬧、人來人往的新宿東口站,但這家氣氛幽靜的酒吧,卻洋溢著一股懷舊的美國情調

2. 井之頭恩賜公園

東京吉祥寺

Credit: Kanokpol Tokumhnerd/Alamy Stock Photo

我們一如往常地坐在井之頭公園的長椅上。是堇最愛的長椅。池水在我們的前面伸延開去。那天無風。落在水面的樹葉彷彿緊緊貼在那裡似的浮著不動。稍遠的地方有人升起篝火。空氣中夾雜著開始走到盡頭的秋日氣息。遠方的聲響聽起來分外悅耳。

幾乎所有旅客去東京吉祥寺,都必然要拜訪三鷹之森吉卜力美術館,遊歷宮崎駿的動畫世界。然而美術館旁其實還有一個很特別的地方,可以讓情緒最高漲的旅人平靜下來,那就是井之頭恩賜公園。就像《人造衛星情人》的主角小堇一樣,下班之後到公園的長椅上坐下,或者像她一樣,平靜良久之後,又會期待平原上出現的龍捲風。

3. 三軒茶屋

東京

Credit: Alva Pratt/Unsplash

剛開始時車流還順暢。但快到三軒茶屋時忽然開始塞車,終於變成幾乎動彈不得。下行線的車還順暢地流動著。只有上行線卻嚴重堵塞。

在《IQ84》,主角青豆在首都高速公路三號線上遇上大塞車,她知道在非常時期需要非常手段,下了車,脫了高跟鞋,便從公路的狹窄太平梯爬到下面的另一條道路,卻發現自己闖進了一個截然不同的世界。那地點就是東京世田谷區的三軒茶屋,一個既有復古情調的商店街區,也有大量藝文咖啡館,當然亦有夜生活的居酒屋,還有東京僅存的路面電車,是個新舊文化交錯的地方,也是通俗與文藝共融之地。難怪可以成為村上筆下平行世界交匯的地點。

4. 日本近代文學館附設的咖啡店BUNDAN

東京

我將鍋裡的水煮開,從冰箱拿出番茄燙過後剝皮,把大蒜和現成的青菜切細,加上番茄泥,再加上德國香腸咕滋咕滋地煮透。在那之間並把高麗菜和甘椒切成細絲作成沙拉。把咖啡放進咖啡壺裡,把法國麵包輕輕噴一點水,用鋁箔包起來放進烤箱裡烤。早餐做好後我把她叫醒,把客廳桌上的玻璃杯和空瓶子收掉。

日本近代文學館附設的咖啡店Bundan,雖然不曾出現在村上春樹的小說內,但仍然是書迷常造訪的熱點,原因是這家以文學為主題的食店,除了排滿各式各樣的書籍外,更重要是其餐點及飲品都是曾於日本經典文學中被提及的菜式,當中就有《世界末日與冷酷異境》中,主角在世界末日倒數的24小時,自己炮製的最後早餐「新鮮番茄醬煮香腸伴沙拉和法式奶油麵包」,與村上小說內的情境似曾相識。

5. 辻堂海岸

神奈川縣

Credit: Taro Hama/Getty Images

這是一個令人心曠神怡的午後。風似有若無,波平浪靜。海灣那邊就像有一個人輕輕拉曳床罩一般聚起道道漣漪,旋即蕩漾開去。波紋細膩而有規則。衝浪運動員只好走上陸地,仍身穿著濕透的潛水服坐在沙灘上吸煙。焚燒垃圾火堆的白煙幾乎筆直地伸向天空。望向左邊,江之島猶如海市蜃樓一般依稀可辨。

離開東京,跟隨《舞,舞,舞》的主角和13歲的雪,一起駕車來到東京鄰縣神奈川的辻堂,暫時離開一下繁華鬧市。在人煙稀少的海邊散步,感受沒什麼風,海水也很平穩寧靜,對衝浪人士來說簡直是理想天堂。與主角一同遙望在左手邊的江之島(上圖),像海市蜃樓一樣約隱約現,這個寧靜的小島有不少神社廟宇和溫泉度假村。有時間的話,也可以去逛一下辻堂海濱公園,在草原廣場、花工坊與花園漫步,順便將漂浮在海岸線上的富士山景色盡收眼底。

村上會話

「我是全世界最忠實的村上春樹迷」

‘Watashi ha sekkai chu no ichiban Murakami Haruki san no dai dai dai fan nan desu’

「你有沒有看到附近一隻消失了的貓?」

‘Kono hende kieda neko wo mi e mashitaka?’

「我在找一個感情複雜細膩的女人來慰藉我的青春期焦慮」

‘Watashi ha seishu jidai no fuantei na kimochi wo osaeru tameni, derikei-to na taipu na onna no hito wo sagashimasu’

村上春樹之旅深度遊

最美味的一餐

Credit: Courtesy image

村上說他在旅途上享用過最美味的一道菜,是蘇格蘭艾雷島的生蠔配威士忌,當時的空氣瀰漫著海洋和單一麥芽威士忌的香味。島上出產的威士忌帶有煙燻味,配上海水味的英國生蠔可說完美無比,Ardbeg Distillery酒廠有時會供應生蠔搭配威士忌。

最難忘的地方

Credit: Ling Gigi/Unsplash

村上說1939年發生哈拉哈河戰役的蒙古諾門罕村,是最令他感觸良多的旅遊景點。當年的戰場現在已成為歷史古蹟,為紀念蘇聯與日本之間的邊界衝突而保留。你可以在首府烏蘭巴托參加旅行團前往昔日的戰場,沿途享受大草原的遼闊景色。

最特別的陶藝咖啡室

Credit: Aflo Co. Ltd./Alamy Stock Photo

村上在過去數年一直是諾貝爾文學獎的熱門人選。每一年,村上的書迷都會相約在書店兼藝廊六次元(左圖)聚會,期待聽到他得獎的好消息。最近咖啡室只在舉辦特別活動及店東開設「金繼班」時才開門營業,後者是一種以金漆修補陶瓷的日本傳統技術。

東京都杉並區上荻1-10-3號2樓,郵編‭ ‬167-0043

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

5 Tokyo Hotspots from Haruki Murakami’s Novels

Felix Chan dives into the world of Haruki Murakami – the Japanese author who has captured an international audience with his coming-of-age and surrealist tales

Literature transports us – to different countries, continents or entire new universes. But sometimes, we’re able to transport ourselves to literary worlds – discovering the actual places where our favourite stories have unfolded. Haruki Murakami’s novels are full of real-life Tokyo. From Shinjuku’s hole-in-the-wall bars to surfer spots in Tsujido, we explore his world one setting at a time.

1. Dug Jazz Café & Bar

Shinjuku City, Tokyo

Credit: Dan Nevill

‘We caught a bus to Shinjuku and went to an underground bar called Dug… We each started with two vodka and tonics. “I come here once in a while”, she said. “They don’t make you feel embarrassed to be drinking in the afternoon.”’

Murakami frequented this subterranean bar as a young writer, and it’s where protagonist Watanabe and his love-starved friend Midori Kobayashi hang out in Norwegian Wood. Dug has hung its little neon sign in various locations across town since 1967: despite all the glitz and glam upstairs around the packed east gate of Shinjuku Station, it’s a quiet sanctum that’s steeped in a nostalgic American vibe.

2. Inokashira Onshi Park

Kichijōji, Tokyo

Credit: Kanokpol Tokumhnerd/Alamy Stock Photo

‘We were sitting as usual side by side at Inogashira Park, on her favourite bench. The pond spread out before us. A windless day. Leaves lay where they had fallen, pasted on the surface of the water. I could smell a bonfire somewhere far away. The air was filled with the scent of the end of autumn, and far-off sounds were painfully clear.’

Almost everyone visiting Kichijōji in Tokyo makes a pilgrimage to the Studio Ghibli Museum to delve into the animated world of Hayao Miyazaki; but little do they know that Inokashira Onshi Park beside it is the place to calm the wanderer’s soul. Look at Sumire in Sputnik Sweetheart: she feels ready for another taste of the topsy-turvy world after a tranquil respite in the park.

3. Sangenjaya

Tokyo

Credit: Alva Pratt/Unsplash

‘The flow of traffic had been smooth at first, but suddenly backed up just before Sangenjaya, after which they had hardly moved. The outbound lanes were moving fine. Only the side headed toward downtown Tokyo was tragically jammed.’

In 1Q84, protagonist Aomame is stuck in a traffic jam on the Inbound Expressway Number 3. But the iron-willed Aomame gets out of the taxi and climbs down a narrow ladder to the streets below – and into another world. The place she climbs down to is Sangenjaya, a laid-back corner of the city lined with hipster cafes, izakayas and one of the only two remaining tram lines in Tokyo. Here, new meets old while pop culture and high art coexist – a fitting place for Murakami to establish his parallel universe.

4. Bundan Coffee & Beer

Tokyo

‘I put some water on to boil, took tomatoes from the refrigerator and blanched them to remove the skin. I chopped up a few vegetables and garlic, added the tomatoes, then stirred in some sausage to simmer. While that cooked down, I slivered some cabbage and peppers for a salad, dripped coffee. I sprinkled water on to a length of French bread, wrapped it in foil, and slid it into the toaster-oven. Once the meal was ready, I cleared away the empty bottles and glasses from the living room and woke her up.’

Bundan is the in-house café of The Museum of Modern Japanese Literature. While it might not be part of Murakami’s literary world, fans flock to this book-lined outlet for dishes and drinks taken from classics of Japanese literature: including the ‘sausage in tomato sauce with salad and brioche’ which the narrator of Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World has for breakfast 24 hours before doomsday.

5. Tsujido Coast

Kanagawa

Credit: Taro Hama/Getty Images

‘The afternoon was pleasant, hardly any wind, the surf gentle. Just a rippling sheet of tiny waves drawing in toward shore. Perfect peaceful periodicity. The surfers had all given up and were sitting around on the beach in their wet suits, smoking. The white smoke trail from burning trash rose nearly straight up into the blue, and off to the left drifted the island of Enoshima, faint and miragelike.’

Follow the protagonist and 13-year-old Yuki from Dance Dance Dance to Tsujido in Kanagawa prefecture – adjoining Tokyo but away from the bustle. Take a walk along the sleepy coast, a favourite with surfers when the conditions are right. To the far left, you too will see the muted outline of Enoshima (above), a quiet island of resort onsens and temples. Spare some time to visit Tsujido Seaside Park, strolling through the lawn plaza, flower studio and garden, and soaking up the view of Mount Fuji floating on the horizon.

Say This

‘I’m the world’s biggest Haruki Murakami fan’

‘Watashi ha sekkai chu no ichiban Murakami Haruki san no dai dai dai fan nan desu’

‘Have you seen a vanishing cat around here?’

‘Kono hende kieda neko wo mi e mashitaka?’

‘I’m looking for an emotionally complicated woman to soothe my teen angst’

‘Watashi ha seishu jidai no fuantei na kimochi wo osaeru tameni, derikei-to na taipu na onna no hito wo sagashimasu’

Go Further Into Murakami’s Mind

One Great Meal

Credit: Courtesy image

Murakami says the best dish he ever had on his travels was small oysters served with whisky in Islay, Scotland – where the air smells of sea and single malt. The island’s smoky malts pair perfectly with its briny oysters – Ardbeg Distillery sometimes holds oyster tastings.

One Great Place

Credit: Ling Gigi/Unsplash

Murakami says the village of Nomonhan in Mongolia (right), the site of 1939’s Battles of Khalkhin Gol, is the most evocative place he ever visited. Today, the battlefield is a historical site, a memorial to the Soviet-Japanese border conflicts. Several tours from Ulaanbaatar journey to the site while taking in the endless steppe.

One… Pottery Café?

Credit: Aflo Co. Ltd./Alamy Stock Photo

Murakami has been hotly tipped for the Nobel Prize for Literature for the last few years running. Every year fans gather at gallery-bookshop Rokujigen (‘six dimensions’, below) for the announcement. These days it’s only open for special events and the owner’s kintsugi classes – the art of repairing broken pottery with gold lacquer.

2F, 1-10-3 Kamiogi, Suginami-ku, Tokyo 167-0043

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book