廣州

廣州美食之旅

隨著《米芝蓮指南廣州》首次推出,CATHY ADAMS前往南中國最大城市羊城遍嚐各式巧手粵菜。插圖 NIK COOLE

EatingAdventures旅行社創辦人櫻子對粵菜烹調推崇備至,因此亦不遺餘力地對外推廣。她說:「我住在廣州,簡直是被慣壞了。這裡的烹飪之講究和精緻,在全中國可說無出其右。」中國有句古老的俗語說:「生在蘇州,住在杭州,食在廣州,死在柳州」,可見這並非她個人自吹自擂。

櫻子跟我正在炳勝.禪意茶素享用晚餐,這是一家環境與佈置均清雅怡人的素菜館,位於曉港公園入口。這是我在廣州吃的第三餐,也是整個周末最美味的一餐。這句話並非我信口開河隨便說的,而是在狼吞虎嚥了大量點心和腸粉,並灌下多種風味奇特的珍異茗茶之後所得出的結論。

廣州市是廣東省的省會,亦是中國八大菜系之一粵菜的發源地,而香港飲食界亦繼承了粵菜許多優良的傳統。隨著《米芝蓮指南廣州》於今年6月底推出,廣州的佳餚美食終於獲得了早就應該獲得的正式榮譽。

過去數十年來,大量外省人移居廣州,有人估計數目高達500萬。因此,廣州的美食絕不只局限於粵菜。你會發現城中有不少餐廳供應其他省份的菜式,就連川菜甚至新疆菜也可以嚐到。

以下精選廣州多個風味各異的美食好去處,不妨前往大快朵頤。

炳勝.禪意茶素

這家素菜館位於曉港公園正門,佈置得清幽雅緻。從舒適的私人廂房內,可以望見窗外蒼翠的榕樹。客人可以坐在其中,享用以小碟奉上的素食。餐廳備有多款茶葉供客人選擇,包括普洱、龍井,以及一款美味的蘋果蜜棗茶。大廚將各種菇菌類食材入饌,有些菜式模仿椒鹽鮮魷和咕嚕肉,賣相唯肖唯妙,是悠閒地享受周末午飯的理想去處。

海珠區前進路146號

愉粵軒

這家位於四季酒店內的米芝蓮一星級點心食府居高臨下,位於國際金融中心大廈71樓,俯瞰廣州商業區。蘿蔔糕、叉燒包和燒賣等經典點心當然不可或缺,還有海鮮和風味燒臘等典型粵菜,而馳名芒果布甸更是非常美味。 

fourseasons.com/guangzhou

點都德

點都德與粵語「點都得」諧音,意思是凡事皆有可能。這是一家茶樓,在廣州有數家分店,但論風味之地道,當數其荔灣老店。餐廳裝潢洋溢傳統西關風格,配上木椅和天花板懸掛的紅燈籠,別具特色。這裡的蛋撻遠近馳名,甚至有人認為比澳門葡撻更美味,至於是否屬實,就真是見仁見智了。

荔灣區龍津中路587號

黃沙水產交易市場

位於珠江畔,是華南最大的海鮮市場,裡面的海鮮品種包羅萬有,包括巨型波士頓蟹、特大虎蝦和滿佈皺紋的象拔蚌等,供人隨意挑選。市場的主大樓裡設有多家餐廳,可為客人即時烹調於樓下選購的新鮮海產。海產煮熟後,只需略加檸檬汁和蒜蓉,味道已經十分鮮美。

荔灣區黃沙大道15號

荔灣名食家

這家位於舊城區上下九步行街的美食店,供應的都是非常傳統的廣州美食。這裡可以吃到全廣東以至中國內地最肥美飽滿的煎餃,如果你對煎餃沒有興趣,也可一嚐雲吞麵、手拉腸粉和各式粥品,滋味全都相當不俗。

荔灣區第十甫路99號

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往廣州的航班,每周有14班

Eating Adventures旅行社在廣州、上海和香港舉辦美食步賞團 eatingadventures.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Guangzhou

5 of the best restaurants in Guangzhou

As the inaugural Michelin Guide Guangzhou launches, CATHY ADAMS finds the best restaurants in southern China’s biggest city. Illustrations by NIK COOLE

‘I’m so spoilt living in Guangzhou,’ says Wai Zhou, founder of Eating Adventures and a local foodie champion. ‘The cuisine here is the finest in all of China.’ The old Chinese saying ‘Be born in Suzhou, live in Hangzhou, eat in Guangzhou, die in Liuzhou’ suggests that she’s not the only one to think so.

Zhou and I are having dinner at Bingsheng Zen Tea House, a cute vegetarian restaurant on the cusp of Xiaogang Park. It’s my third meal in Guangzhou, and the tastiest I’ve had all weekend. Which is quite a statement, given I’ve had lashings of dim sum and cheung fan (a Cantonese delicacy of steamed rice noodle rolls), washed down with all kinds of exotic tea.

Guangzhou – formerly Canton – is the capital of Guangdong province, and the spiritual home of Cantonese cuisine (sorry, Hong Kong). As Guangzhou welcomed its first Michelin Guide at the end of June, it’s finally getting the official recognition it deserves.

And thanks to a high level of domestic migration over the past few decades – some estimates put the number of Chinese from other provinces as high as five million –Guangzhou’s food scene is not just limited to Cantonese cuisine. You’ll find that the city is laced with restaurants serving dishes from provinces as far away as Sichuan and Xinjiang.

Here’s a selection of the best restaurants in Guangzhou.

Bingsheng Zen Tea House

Guangzhou food

At the main entrance to Xiaogang Park, this vegetarian restaurant serves small plates in cosy private rooms overlooking the park’s trees. There’s a large selection of tea (pu’er, longjing green tea and a tasty apple and date infusion) and mushrooms trussed up in numerous different ways, including fungi-based dishes that look like salt and pepper squid and sweet and sour pork. It’s ideal for a long, lazy weekend lunch.

146 Qianjin Lu, Haizhu

Yu Yue Heen

Guangzhou food

Four Seasons’ dizzying one-Michelin-starred dim sum restaurant overlooks the CBD from the 71st floor of the Guangzhou International Finance Centre. Dishes span classic dim sum – turnip cake, char siu bao, siu mai – as well as seafood dishes and barbecued meats. The signature mango pudding is especially delicious. 

fourseasons.com/guangzhou

Dian Dou De

Guangzhou food

Dian Dou De – which means ‘anything is possible’ in Cantonese – has several branches around town, but the Liwan outpost is the original and best. It’s decked out in traditional xiguan style (wooden benches, red lanterns hanging from the ceiling) and its signature dish is its egg tart, which some claim (controversially) is better than those in Macao.

587 Long Jin Zhong Lu, Liwan

Huangsha Aquatic Products Market

Guangzhou food

The largest seafood market in southern China, right on the Zhujiang River, is not for the faint-hearted. There are huge Boston crabs, monumental tiger prawns and wrinkled geoducks ready for consumption. Inside the main market building is a selection of restaurants that will cook the fresh seafood you’ve just bought downstairs with nothing more than a squeeze of lemon and some garlic.

15 Huangsha Dadao, Liwan

Liwan Mingshijia

Guangzhou food

Sometimes called Liwan Famous Eatery, this super-traditional Cantonese restaurant on the old town’s Shangxiajiu Pedestrian Street serves the fattest dumplings you’ll find anywhere in Guangdong (and in mainland China). If you’re not here for dumplings, there’s also wonton noodle soup, hand-pulled cheung fan and congee to try. 

99 Dishifu Lu, Liwan

Eating Adventures offers walking food tours in Guangzhou, Shanghai and Hong Kong. eatingadventures.com

Cathay Dragon flies to Guangzhou from Hong Kong 14 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book