公路旅行

澳洲五大城市郊區探索一天遊提案

澳洲五大城市的市中心精采繽紛,但從市區出發只需短短的路程,就能將你送到澳洲名聞遐邇的郊野,見識綺麗山巒、甚少人踏足的島嶼等。以下是五大一日遊提案

澳洲的大都會固然充滿文化、美食和娛樂的驚喜,但在城市之外,還有大量自然美態和鮮為人知的旅遊秘景,非常適合作為短途冒險的目的地。無論你想沉浸於藍山風光中,抑或到袋鼠島探索,以下的一日遊行程都能為你的下一趙澳洲之旅帶來靈感。

城市:珀斯

一日遊目的地:巴塞爾頓

車程:2小時40分鐘;220公里

從十九世紀末至今,巴塞爾頓的海灘一直是西澳歷史悠久的度假勝地。其最著名的景點是被列為西澳遺產的巴塞爾頓棧橋,此碼頭於1865年首次開放,之後經過工程被延長至1.8公里,成為世界上最長的木板棧道之一。

你可以在懷舊的海濱長廊上漫步,或者乘搭每小時一班的電動小火車,觀賞360度的喬格拉菲灣景致。到達碼頭的盡頭,在海浪下8米深處有一個水底觀景台,可以近看圍繞著舊碼頭樁的人工珊瑚礁和300多種海洋物種,生機盎然。歡迎前往模仿船屋建造的Interpretive Centre講解中心的文化遺產博物館,更深入了解巴塞爾頓棧橋的歷史,探究它如何抵禦颱風、蛤蜊入侵、火災和拆遷的威脅,甚至成為當地地標。接下來,不妨在任何一間氣氛悠閒的咖啡店或海濱餐廳享用午餐,一邊品嘗滋味海鮮,一邊欣賞海景,再於日落時分在夕陽陪伴下返回珀斯。

國泰航空設有飛往珀斯的航班

城市:墨爾本

一日遊目的地戴爾斯福特

車程:1小時25分鐘;114公里

如果水療養生和天然溫泉在你理想的一日遊中必不可少,那把GPS定位到距離墨爾本不到90分鐘車程的戴爾斯福特吧!這片令當地民眾引以為傲的溫泉地區遍布富含礦物質的溫泉,其療養功效已被追捧了幾個世紀。赫本溫泉區村落僅有約600名居民,但已發展成一個溫泉度假勝地,擁有大量天然溫泉、浴場和水療中心,幫助疲憊的旅行者舒展身心。

當你的精神回復飽滿後,動身前往戴爾斯福特歷史悠久的Convent Gallery修道院畫廊,埋首於藝術品陶冶性情。這座建於19世紀的華麗豪宅樓高三層,輪流展覽包括本地和國際藝術家的多元作品。如果你喜歡戶外活動,不妨租一艘獨木舟,沉醉於茱比利湖的靜謐,或者去位於死火山之巔的袋熊山植物園遠足,舒展筋骨。

運動一番後,是時候品嘗地道美食。這裡有幾家酒廠都可讓訪客在酒窖內品酒,有機咖啡館和食店等更是應有盡有。如果你鐘情高級餐飲,直接前往Lake House餐廳吧!這家屢獲殊榮的餐廳有大量由農場直送餐桌的本地美食,是老饕的心頭好,你還能在綺麗的鄉村美景前用餐。之後,你大可延長行程,在Lake House的別墅或套房中過夜,放慢步伐,放鬆身心。

國泰航空設有飛往墨爾本的航班

城市:悉尼

一日遊目的地:卡頓巴

車程:1小時30分鐘;100公里

Credit: Tourism Australia

遊悉尼怎能不到藍山?藍山的山脈令人驚艷,坐擁3.4億年歷史的石灰岩懸崖、桉樹森林、霹靂懾人的瀑布和雨林生態系統。卡頓巴是通往藍山地區眾多遠足路線的門戶,同時是新南威爾士州的一個熱鬧小鎮,鄰近最著名的景點之一是回音角的三姐妹峰。

崎嶇不平的地形正是愛好刺激者的樂土,峽谷、高原和高聳的砂岩峭壁,對嗜好攀岩、游繩下降、溪降蹦谷和攀山來說,非常適合。另有較不膽顫的探險活動,譬如通過19世紀的Scenic Railway觀景鐵路、亦即世界上最陡峭的鐵路,在斜角52度的山坡上運行,進入賈米森山谷鬱鬱蔥蔥的雨林;或者乘坐玻璃底的纜車逐一欣賞三姐妹峰、孤兒岩和隱士峰等地標。

回到卡頓巴後,不妨到歷史悠久的The Carrington酒店享用澳洲為數不多的正宗維多利亞時期餐廳的美饌,然後才返回市中心。

國泰航空設有飛往悉尼的航班

城市:阿德萊德

一日遊目的地:袋鼠島

車程+船程:1小時30分鐘的車程及45分鐘的渡輪;160公里的路程

假如你想深度親近大自然,便不要錯過袋鼠島的原始荒野。袋鼠島位於阿德萊德南部海岸外,面積達4400平方公里,小島有三分之一的面積用作保育,其餘則是一個由迂迥海岸線、白沙海灘、延綿山脈和叢林組成的天堂,等待你去發掘。豐富的野生動物生態賦予該島獨特的魅力,也是它名字的來由。你能看見袋鼠在草地上歡快地打滾、海獅在海灘上曬太陽、毛鼻袋熊蹣跚慢走和樹熊在桉樹上打瞌睡。

雖然去年肆虐澳洲的山火對該島的部分地區造成了破壞,但幸好大部分主要的保護區都沒有受到傷害,例如南岸的海豹灣保育公園,仍然是澳洲最大的海獅聚居地之一;而為受傷或失去父母的野生禽鳥提供避難所的猛禽救助中心,也依然健在。

其實,前往袋鼠島的中途景色和目的地一樣風光如畫,沿海岸線驅車1.5小時可觀賞傑維斯角,然後乘坐45分鐘的渡輪,你便到達該島的港口小鎮Penneshaw,在此可以數算長駐該地的活潑小企鵝。

國泰航空設有飛往阿德萊德的航班

城市:布里斯班

一日遊目的地:馬倫賓比

車程:1小時45分鐘;150公里

Credit: Lyn McCarthy, Niche Pictures

拜倫灣過去數十年來一直是旅遊熱點,但隨著這個海濱小鎮越來越熱鬧,旁邊較少人知曉的馬倫賓比鎮也逐漸冒起,是一個更新潮、更時尚的社區;這兒的瑜伽練習室、環保精品店、復古舊物店、有機咖啡館、雜貨店、藝術畫廊、鄉村風小店等,一一成為塑造優悠小鎮的新勢力。

Mullum農產品市集(逢周五早上7點到11點開放)是文青愛煞的去處,可讓你閒逛一個早上。接著去Lulu’s Cafe咖啡店吃一頓健康的有機素食午餐,在The Patch咖啡館喝一杯有機香料茶,再漫步遍布鎮上各處、充滿活力的街頭藝術。準備好踏入靈性新時代嗎?去水晶堡壘與Shambhala花園逛逛吧!這個自然公園內到處都是巨大的天然水晶,你可以遊走紫水晶的洞穴,在石佛前靜思片刻,或參加每天舉辦的心靈平安打坐體驗。

國泰航空設有飛往布里斯班的航班

眷戀城市的姿采?

沒時間遠赴一日遊?我們為你列出市中心主流而外的精采活動

Credit: Tourism Australia

珀斯的塗鴉之旅

無論是在海街樓高27層的壁畫,還是市郊區Como的Alfred Hitchcock名導醒目畫像,珀斯的巨型壁畫彷佛將這座城市的外牆變成豐富多采的掛毯。

墨爾本時空旅遊

除了咖啡,墨爾本的酒吧界亦以創新另類見稱。踏進Berlin Bar酒吧的感覺猶如重回冷戰時期的德國,氣氛耐人尋味,酒客間的互動恍如資本主義和共產主義碰撞,擦出非一般的火花。常客愛這裡模仿上世紀的款客服務,也愛這裡容易令人醉醺醺的雞尾酒。

風高浪急的悉尼

略過邦迪海灘,直接前往相對地幽靜的莫納谷海灘吧!這裡距離市中心僅28公里,是衝浪者的天堂。當人們在邦迪海灘爭空間來放墊子時,你或許可以獨佔整個莫納谷海灘。

參觀阿德萊德的玩具城

帶著子女參觀The Big Rocking Horse & The Toy Factory特大搖搖馬和玩具工廠吧!孩子除了可以攀上這巨型的木制搖搖馬外,還可以參加導賞團了解木制玩具的製作過程,並在旁邊的動物公園餵飼沙袋鼠、風頭鸚鵡和羊駝。

興「高」采烈 盡在布里斯班

有什麼比用腳逛酒吧,一處接一處喝酒更好?那當然是用直升機了!乘坐Pterodactyl公司的直升機,翱翔天際,飛遊城中最著名的5個酒吧吧(午餐已包括在內)。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Road trips

5 Adventurous Day Trips in Australia

A short hop from Australia’s city centres lie everything from majestic mountains to unspoilt islands. Here’s where to day trip Down Under

Australia’s cosmopolitan cities are full of cultural, gastronomic and entertainment delights. But beyond the city limits, there’s a world of natural beauty and lesser-known tourist spots that make perfect mini-adventures. From getting lost in the Blue Mountains to exploring Kangaroo Island, here are some great day trips for your next city break in Australia.

The City: Perth

The Day Trip: Busselton

How Far? 2 hrs 40 mins; 220 kilometres

Busselton-Jetty00015-BUSSELTON-JETTY

The old-world beach resort of Busselton has been the holiday heartland of Western Australia since the late 19th century. Its most famous attraction is the heritage-listed Busselton Jetty, which first opened in 1865, and has since been extended to 1.8 kilometres – making it one of the longest wooden boardwalks in the world.

Stroll down the historic promenade, drinking in 360-degree views of Geographe Bay, or hop on the electric train that departs hourly. At the end of the jetty, eight metres below the waves, lies an underwater observatory offering views of the vibrant artificial reefs placed around old jetty piles, teeming with more than 300 marine species. For a deep dive into the history of the Busselton Jetty, head to the Cultural Heritage Museum in the boathouse-styled Interpretive Centre, and learn how it endured cyclones, clam invasions, fires and demolition threats to become a regional icon. Grab lunch at one of the casual cafes or waterfront restaurants for great seafood and sea views, before heading back to Perth in time for sunset.

Cathay Pacific flies to Perth

The City: Melbourne

The Day Trip: Daylesford

How Far? 1 hr 25 mins; 114 kilometres

Convent Gallery, Daylesford

If your ideal day trip involves spas, natural hot springs and pampering – then set your GPS for Daylesford, less than 90 minutes from Melbourne by car. The glorious spa region is dotted with clusters of mineral-rich hot springs, whose healing properties have been sought-after for centuries. The 600-inhabitant village of Hepburn Springs has boomed as a spa resort, boasting a bevy of natural springs and numerous bathhouses and spas ready to soothe the stresses of the weary traveller.

Once you’re suitably invigorated, head to the historic Convent Gallery in Daylesford for a fine art fix. The gorgeous 19th-century mansion houses three floors of rotating exhibitions, spanning a diverse range of local and international artists. If you prefer outdoor pursuits: rent a kayak and enjoy the serenity of Jubilee Lake, or get the blood flowing with a hike to Wombat Hill Botanical Gardens, situated on top of an extinct volcano.

After working up an appetite, it’s time to sample the region’s abundance of gastronomic delights. Several wineries offer cellar-door tastings, with organic cafes and eateries aplenty. And if it’s haute cuisine you’re looking for, head straight to the Lake House. Flush with farm-to-table, locally produced fare, this award-winning restaurant is a gourmand’s delight, and offers magnificent views of the countryside. Slow down, unwind and even prolong your trip by staying overnight in one of the Lake House’s villas or suites.

Cathay Pacific flies to Melbourne

The City: Sydney

The Day Trip: Katoomba

How Far? 1 hr 30 mins; 100 kilometres

The Three Sisters from Echo Point, Blue Mountains National Park,
Credit: Tourism Australia

The dramatic scenery of the Blue Mountains should be on any Sydney-bound tourist’s hit list, with its 340 million-year old limestone cliffs, eucalyptus forests, thundering waterfalls and rainforest ecosystems. Katoomba, a lively town in New South Wales, is a gateway to the many hiking trails in the region, and close to one of its most famous sights: the Three Sisters rock formation at Echo Point.

The rugged topography is a playground for adrenaline junkies, with canyons, plateaus and towering sandstone crags offering the perfect conditions for rock climbing, abseiling, canyoning and mountaineering. Less extreme adventures include a descent into the lush rainforest of Jamison Valley via the 19th-century Scenic Railway – the world’s steepest railway, operating on a 52-degree incline or enjoying the views from a glass-floored cable car which passes landmarks such as the Three Sisters, Orphan Rock and Mount Solitary.

Back in Katoomba, pop by the historic hotel The Carrington for a spot of wining and dining in one of the few authentic Victorian dining rooms still operating in Australia, before calling it a day and heading back to the capital.

Cathay Pacific flies to Sydney

The City: Adelaide

The Day Trip: Kangaroo Island

How Far? 1 hr 30 mins drive; ferry 45 mins; 160 kilometres

Koala on a branch of eucalyptus tree outside of Adelaide, Australia

For the ultimate ‘back-to-nature’ vibes, head to the unspoiled wilderness of Kangaroo Island. Located just off the southern coast of Adelaide, a third of this 4,400-square-kilometre island is dedicated to conservation, while the rest is a paradise of rugged coastline, white beaches, mountains and bushland waiting to be discovered. The abundance of wildlife is a huge part of what gives the island its unique appeal – and its name. You’ll be greeted by kangaroos lolloping across grassy plains, sea lions basking on beaches, waddling wombats and koalas dozing in eucalyptus trees.

While the bushfires that ravaged parts of Australia last year took their toll on parts of the island, many of the main sanctuaries were unharmed, such as Seal Bay Conservation Park on the south coast – home to one of the largest sea lion colonies in Australia; and Raptor Domain, a wildlife refuge for injured or orphaned birds of prey. The journey to Kangaroo Island is almost as scenic as the destination, with a 1.5-hour coastal drive to Cape Jervis, followed by a hop on the 45-minute ferry to the small port town of Penneshaw – where you’ll also spot the small but lively resident penguin colony.

Cathay Pacific flies to Adelaide

The City: Brisbane

The Day Trip: Mullumbimby

How Far? 1 hr 45 mins; 150 kilometres

Mullum-Farmers-Market-Brisbane-Mullumbimby-Australia
Credit: Lyn McCarthy, Niche Pictures

Byron Bay has been on the travel radar for decades now, but with the coastal town getting busier, its lesser-known neighbour Mullumbimby has emerged as the newer, hipper place to be. Its laid-back credentials include a slew of yoga studios, eco-friendly boutiques, vintage shops, organic cafes and grocery stores, art galleries and lashings of rural charm.

Enjoy a perfectly hipster morning browsing the Mullum Farmers Market (Friday morning 7am-11am), before heading to Lulu’s Cafe for a healthy  vegan lunch. Grab an organic chai at The Patch Cafe, then take in the vibrant street art dotted around the city. Ready to go truly New Age? Check out the Crystal Castle & Shambhala Gardens, a nature park dotted with huge naturally formed crystals. Wander around in amethyst caves, spend a reflective moment in front of the stone Buddha and join the daily Peace Experience.

Cathay Pacific flies to Brisbane

Stuck in the City

No time for a day trip? Here are a few under-the-radar activities in the cities themselves

Graffiti Perth WA
Credit: Tourism Australia

Graffiti-touring Perth

From the 27-storey-high painting on Hay Street to the eye-catching portrait of Alfred Hitchcock in Como, Perth’s mega-murals have transformed the city’s walls into a rich and diverse tapestry.

Do the Time Warp in Melbourne

Get transported to Cold War Germany by stepping into Berlin Bar, perhaps the most popular bar in a city famous for its quirky watering holes. Known for its heady cocktails and old-world service, the bar’s capitalist-meets-communist ambience immerses you into a world of intrigue.

Surf’s up in Sydney

Skip Bondi Beach and head to Mona Vale Beach, a surfer’s paradise just 28 kilometres from CBD. While crowds fight for towel space at Bondi, you might have the entire beach to yourself at Mona Vale.

Visit toy town in Adelaide

Treat your kids to a visit to The Big Rocking Horse and The Toy Factory. Kids can climb this enormous wooden construction, join tours to see how wooden toys are made, and feed wallabies, corellas and alpacas at the adjacent animal park.

Get high in Brisbane

What’s better than a pub crawl? A pub chopper tour. Pterodactyl Helicopters literally takes you on a flying visit to the city’s five most famous watering holes, with lunch included.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book