開普敦

領略非洲南部精采之處的四種方式

非洲南部觀光熱點精采多元。國泰航空除了飛往繁華熱鬧的約翰內斯堡,更於本月開辦季節航班飛往風光秀麗的開普敦。不妨以這兩個航點為旅程的起點,盡情探索區內的秀麗風光及風土人情。 撰文 PIPPA DE BRUYN

開普敦

世外桃源

群山環抱的開普敦濱臨大西洋,其自然風光教人神往。作為全球歷史最悠久的新世界酒鄉,開普敦的釀酒歷史可追溯至1652年,人們於這一年在公司花園種下第一批葡萄藤。時至今日,花園依然是開普敦的城市綠肺。

峰頂異常平坦的桌山是開普敦的地標。於夜間登上信號山,俯瞰山腳下的都市夜景,彷彿在欣賞一條由點點燈光串連而成的璀璨頸鏈。想要細探大自然奧秘,可造訪Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens植物公園。在淙淙流水前野餐,欣賞品種冠絕全球的繁花,如茵的綠草與漫山的原生林構成一片蒼翠風光。

閱讀更多開普敦旅遊文章:

野生動物亦棲息於此。循峭壁的沿海查普曼峰公路駛往非洲西南盡頭的開普角,沿途可停車觀賞狒狒的忘我舞姿。不過,自然景觀並非開普敦的唯一資產。非洲當代藝術界的首個且館藏最豐富的非洲當代藝術博物館,為開普敦贏得了「非洲藝術之都」的聲譽。場館以穀倉改建,其建築物本身亦非常值得參觀。如想對當地歷史有進一步了解,囚禁曼德拉長達18年的羅本島為訪客舉辦監獄導賞團。

約翰內斯堡

浮華都會

開普敦的懾人美態吸引遊客慕名而至,但要真正感受非洲的都會魅力,則非要在人稱「約堡」的約翰內斯堡逗留數天不可。約堡為移民城市,人們前來這個「黃金之城」希望在此淘金,同時將撒哈拉沙漠以南的非洲地區菜式一一帶來,令這裡成為美食大熔爐,因此這裡不愁沒有正宗非洲風味佳餚。你可在Manna Epicure餐廳品嚐由布隆迪籍主廚Coco Reinardz主理的精緻美饌,也可到Yeoville Dinner Club餐廳嚐遍主廚Sanza Sandile炮製的家庭式素菜佳餚。

RAJESH JANTILAL / AFP

約堡也是上南非歷史課的最佳課室:種族隔離博物館如實展示人們從高壓統治中獲得解放自由的震撼史料,讓遊客有所得著和啟發。不過假如你對人類的久遠過去感興趣,不妨前往距離約堡約45分鐘車程,又稱之為「人類搖籃遺址」的Origins Museum博物館一遊。科學家至今仍不斷於該處發掘出史前文物,而最新出土的則是估計約有367萬年歷史的原始人骸骨。

若要更深入了解這城市,可嘗試到訪故作風雅的Parkhurst區,在那裡的路邊餐廳與當地人搭訕;或到Melville區氣氛較狂野的4th Avenue大街,在酒吧小酌一杯。至於個人推介,必數在Maboneng市中心的步行街Fox Street消磨一個晚上。在這個黃金之城,市民才是其魅力所在。

RosaIreneBetancourt 10 / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

博茨瓦納

野外桃園

博茨瓦納一向被譽為南非最出色的野外觀光熱點,當中以奧卡萬戈三角洲最引人入勝,共15,000平方公里的沖積扇將河水引進卡拉哈里沙漠,形成這個猶如伊甸園的生態大觀園。奧卡萬戈三角洲的河道錯落有致,兩旁紙莎草叢生,湖水清澈如鏡,可看到一朵朵白雲的倒影。一個個蒼鬱的島嶼物種豐富,孕育出1,061種植物、89種魚類、64種爬蟲類動物,以及130種包括大象、牛羚、長頸鹿、大型貓科動物和犀牛等哺乳類動物。不過對很多人而言,多達482種的鳥類才是真正的賣點。

Peter & Beverly Pickford Wildlife Photography

來往三角洲的主要交通大多是乘搭從馬翁鎮出發的小型飛機。由於三角洲遠離煩囂,因此被視為非洲野生天堂。博茨瓦納嘗試限制旅客數目,將其維持於低水平以保護生態,並設置費用高昂的野生動物園,為富有的旅客締造奢華的動物觀賞之旅。

Wilderness Safari旅行社提供的營地選擇繁多,它的旗艦營地Mombo Camp被視為奧卡萬戈三角洲內最豪華的一個,營地的帳篷別墅面積寬敞,前臨沖積平原的景色。至於價錢相宜的住宿選擇亦在近年相繼落成,鄰近達2,000平方公里Khwai Private Reserve保護區的Sable Alley營地便是其中之一。這個設計時尚的營地讓住客既可近距離欣賞壯觀的野外生態,又可享高度私隱。除了Sable Alley營地外,保護區另外僅有兩座營地供遊客入住。

2630ben / Getty Images

納米比亞

洗滌心靈

納米比亞是世上人口密度最低的國家之一,除了壯麗的天然風光,如果你遠離遊客較多的索蘇斯鹽沼,到人跡罕至的外圍探索,更會有獨享美景的尊貴感覺。

納米比亞因沿海沙漠納米比而得名。這個沙漠估計擁有5,500萬年歷史,據說是全球最古老,也是最美麗的沙漠。廣袤的砂礫平原在雨後會變成綠色沼澤,雨水乾涸後又化為金色的平原,加上古銅色沙丘、淡紫色山丘及黑色岩石點綴其中,構成一幅壯闊的風景。納米比沙漠看似是不毛之地,但其實萬物叢生,包括能在血液流至腦部前將血液冷卻的劍羚,以克服沙漠苛刻的環境,還有為吸取晨霧在清早倒立而行的Tenebrionid甲蟲。

Sbedaux / Getty Images

另外,考克蘭沙漠的山丘型態精緻,恍如出自巨匠之手。你可在Mowani Mountain Camp營地追蹤在旱漠中適者生存的犀牛和大象,或在Hoanib Valley Camp營地中尋覓長頸鹿的蹤影。

驅車遊覽納米比亞可謂最好不過的選擇。大家可先向北前往埃托沙國家公園探索野外生態,或到卡普里維區觀鳥,然後往西南遊遍考克蘭區及埃龍戈區,再到沿海城市斯瓦科普蒙德放慢腳步歇息數天。最後往南到達最終目的地,即風景懾人的納米布-諾克盧福國家公園。這裡沿途車路多半崎嶇不平,但請勿因此卻步,因為當走過遼闊的大地,臣服於大自然的壯麗景色之下,你便會在旅途中有所感悟,心境豁然開朗。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往約翰內斯堡的航班,每周有七班;並於2018年11月13日至2019年2月18日期間營運由香港飛往開普敦的航班,每周有三班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Cape Town

4 ways to experience the best of Southern Africa

Southern Africa is a region of diverse attractions. Use bustling Johannesburg and scenic Cape Town as your jumping off points to explore the region’s best landscapes, museums and culture. Words by PIPPA DE BRUYN

Cape Town

City of natural beauty

It’s easy to fall in love with Cape Town, a city surrounding a mountainous reserve that curls into the Atlantic. The oldest winemaking region in the New World, Cape Town’s history goes back to 1652, when vines were planted in the Company’s Garden – still the city’s green lung.

Cape Town’s icon is the flat-topped Table Mountain. Head up Signal Hill at night and you’ll see the city lights strung like a bejewelled necklace along the base of the range’s striking form. For a more close-up look at nature, picnic beside a gurgling stream at Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, a showcase of the world’s richest collection of flora. Its terraced lawns blend seamlessly into the indigenous forests that carpet the surrounding slopes.

There’s wildlife here, too. Drive along Chapman’s Peak Drive, a coastal road carved into perpendicular cliffs, to Cape Point, Africa’s most southwesterly location, and stop to watch baboons gambolling on the side of the road.

But Cape Town is more than a nature spot. Its reputation as Africa’s art hub is captured in the Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa, the first and largest repository for the continent’s contemporary work. Housed in a repurposed grain silo, the building alone is worth a visit. And for a bit of history, Robben Island offers tours of the prison where Nelson Mandela spent 18 years.

Johannesburg

Big city pulse

People flock to Cape Town for its beauty, but to feel the pulse of Africa you need to spend a few nights in Jozi, as Johannesburg is known. It is a city of migrants who come to seek their fortune in the City of Gold, bringing with them the flavours from kitchens across sub-Saharan Africa. This, then, is the most reliable place to sample authentic pan-African cuisine, from the sophisticated Manna Epicure, helmed by Burundian-born chef Coco Reinardz, to the virtually all-vegan delights served family-style by chef Sanza Sandile in his Yeoville Dinner Club.

Nelson Mandela Capture Site Apartheid Museum , Cape town
RAJESH JANTILAL / AFP

It’s also the best place to come to grips with South Africa’s past: the Apartheid Museum is edifying, moving and inspiring, documenting as it does the people’s liberation from oppressive rule. Or take a step way back into our collective past at the Origins Museum or the Cradle of Humankind, an area about 45 minutes from the city where scientists keep unearthing clues, the most recent being a hominid skeleton thought to be about 3.67 million years old. To really get to know the city, join the locals at one of the pavement tables in chi-chi Parkhurst, explore the bars along grungier Melville’s 4th Avenue, or – a personal favourite – spend the evening on pedestrianised Fox Street in downtown Maboneng. Because in the City of Gold, the people are the pulse.

Johannesburg South Africa African Maboneng District Arts , Cape town
RosaIreneBetancourt 10 / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Botswana

Safari Hotspot

Botswana has long been known as the best safari destination in Southern Africa, and its glittering jewel is the Okavango Delta. A 15,000-square kilometre alluvial fan of river water that drains away into the Kalahari desert, the Okavango Delta is a miracle of nature: a wonderland of papyrus-fringed channels and lagoons, with clouds reflected on the mirrored waters. Its lush islands support a great diversity of species: 1,061 plants, 89 fish, 64 reptiles and 130 mammals. These include elephants, wildebeest, giraffes, big cats and rhinos. But for many it is the birds – 482 species of them – that provide the best eye candy.

Cape town
Peter & Beverly Pickford Wildlife Photography

Accessed primarily by light aircraft from Maun, the remoteness of the delta is another reason it’s seen as Africa’s prime wilderness area. The country tries to keep tourist numbers low while offering high-priced safaris for those who can afford it – this means experiences tend to be ultra-luxe.

Wilderness Safari has the largest selection of camps, and its flagship Mombo Camp is the most luxurious in the delta, featuring spacious tented villas facing the floodplains. A few new good-value options have opened recently, including Sable Alley in nearby Khwai Private Reserve. This stylish lodge is one of only three in the vast 2,000-square-kilometre reserve, ensuring seclusion amid spectacular wildlife.

Okavango Floating, cape town
2630ben / Getty Images

Namibia

Spiritual Space

One of the least densely populated countries in the world, Namibia features painterly landscapes that are not only extraordinary in their raw beauty, but – outside of relatively busy Sossusvlei – offer the luxury of experiencing much of it alone.

The country is named after the coastal Namib, believed to be the world’s oldest desert, dating back an estimated 55 million years. Certainly it is the most beautiful. After the rains, enormous gravel plains turn pale green and then dry to gold, backdropped by copper-coloured dunes, or lilac hillocks and black rock. And while the Namib might appear arid, it’s filled with life, from the desert-adapted oryx, which is able to cool its blood before it reaches the brain, to the Tenebrionid beetle, which stands on its head at dawn to capture the morning fog.

Cape Town, Walking Big Daddy Dune in Namibia
Sbedaux / Getty Images

Meanwhile, the Kaokoveld Desert’s landscape is defined by sculptural massifs. Here, you can track desert-adapted rhinos and elephants, best done while staying at Mowani Mountain Camp, or seek out giraffes at Hoanib Valley Camp.

The country is best experienced on a looping road trip. Head north to Etosha for safari or Caprivi for birding, then southwest through Koakoveld and Erongo before stopping in the coastal town of Swakopmund for a few days’ cool respite. Then it’s the last loop south, travelling through the awe-inspiring Namib-Naukluft National Park. It requires a fair amount of driving on rutted roads, but don’t let this put you off. Travelling through this vastness, dwarfed by its wild grandeur, you gain perspective, the kind that comes on a journey that touches the spirit.

Cathay Pacific flies from Hong Kong to Johannesburg seven times a week, and to Cape Town three times a week from 13 November 2018 to 18 February 2019

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book