印尼

4條棉蘭主題精華遊路線

以下的指南為你推介印尼棉蘭的當地美食、購物熱點、文化特色及大自然體驗,讓你行程更添精采

美食

A YIP

不妨到歷史悠久的餐廳Tip Top Restaurant,展開這趟棉蘭美食之旅。餐廳於1934年創立,當時印尼仍受荷蘭管治,餐廳曾是無數官員及種植園員工的飯堂,現時為客人呈奉糅合西方及印尼特色的料理。

接下來是品嚐簡便的棉蘭美食。Wahidin大道上的Mie Pangsit Akun麵檔主打豬肉麵和雲吞,在當地深受歡迎。另一邊廂,Kari Tabona餐廳則以咖哩雞肉馬鈴薯檬粉聞名,食客更喜歡追加雞肝和雞胗伴吃。孫逸仙街的餐廳Asan Chasio供應叉燒及燒腩仔,配上白飯,就是一頓簡單美味的午餐。你亦可在Rumah Makan Padang Lawas餐廳品嚐窩心美食,那裡提供蘇門答臘北部的南打巴奴里及曼特寧菜餚,拿手菜是魚、咖哩及雞肉料理,每碟份量不多,讓客人可享用多幾道不同菜式。至於印度餐廳Cahaya Baru則為食客炮製印度香飯配咖哩等多道菜式。

想吃晚餐和宵夜的話,可前往街頭小吃攤檔林立的Selat Panjang大街逛逛,最後,再到食肆琳瑯滿目的唐人街Asia Mega Mas為美食之旅劃上完美句號。

購物

A YIP

棉蘭最著名的手信非甜點莫屬。餅店Bika Ambon Zulaikha售賣以椰奶製成、鬆軟彈牙的印尼黃金糕,更推出斑蘭味道以供選擇。這間餅店的本店位於Mojopahit Road大道,在市內亦有多間分店。Kruing Road路上的Bolu Meranti則是售賣印尼海綿蛋糕卷的人氣餅店,除原味外,顧客亦可選擇澆上朱古力醬或芝士醬的口味。從Bolu Meranti餅店走過幾間店舖,便會來到另一家餅店Medan Napoleon,這裡的蛋糕款式更多元化,有紅絲絨(朱古力)、綠茶、意大利芝士餅及榴槤等味道。位於Brigjen Katamso Road路的Mei Yan Cake Shop餅店出售包裹豬肉餡的中式老婆餅,另有黑豆餡及綠豆餡任君選擇。

當地的布料也是極受歡迎的手信。Galery Ulos Sianipar商店內有男女成衣和巴塔克風格布料,布料價格豐儉由人,視乎所用的絲線及圖案而定。

如果你喜歡逛光鮮亮麗的商場,不妨去棉蘭最大的購物中心Sun Plaza,那裡網羅一系列國際時尚品牌,還有一間戲院。而市中心的Centre Point購物商場同樣不乏大型品牌及娛樂設施,都是購物消遣好去處。

文化

A YIP

為紀念棉蘭創始人Guru Patimpus,當地人在馬路的迴旋處正中豎立了Tugu Guru Patimpus紀念碑。如想了解當地歷史,可驅車駛經紀念碑,再參觀蘇門答臘北部博物館,那裡大部分藏品都是當地的手工藝,包括石雕、雕工細膩的木製棺材、卷軸和紡織品。

多元宗教的漂亮殿堂是棉蘭文化的精采一環。參觀印尼規模數一數二的佛寺Maha Vihara Maitreya,那裡的殿堂和佛像定必令你讚歎不已。至於Shri Mariamman Temple則是棉蘭最古老的印度廟,可於此欣賞泰米爾風格建築及廟塔天花板上的花卉裝飾。

德利皇朝蘇丹是棉蘭歷史的重要一頁。如果你親眼看到馬伊姆王宮奪目的黃色外牆,便會明白即使棉蘭不再受蘇丹統治,蘇丹的禮制仍然深深地影響當地。

若身處鄰近多峇湖的小鎮Parapat,可乘渡輪前往巴塔克文化發源地沙摩西島,體驗地道文化。你亦可到Tomok Village村莊觀賞傳統巴塔克木屋。假如你對原住民社區感興趣,TB Silalahi Center中心讓訪客深入了解巴塔克歷史及文化。

大自然

A YIP

Berastagi鎮距離棉蘭約兩小時車程,由荷蘭殖民地開拓者建立。登上鎮內的Gundaling山丘,從高處俯瞰城鎮風光,然後再欣賞印尼最高的瀑布之一、高達120米的Sipiso-piso瀑布。

錫納朋火山雖然處於活火山狀態,但可進行的戶外活動非常豐富,旅客可在這裡採摘士多啤梨和參觀咖啡園等。假如你喜歡茗茶,可到Sidamanik省風景優美的Bah Butong Tea Gardens茶園了解種茶過程。

當然,遊客來到棉蘭絕不能錯過觀賞多峇湖。你可選擇下榻Taman Simalem Resort度假村,或到Simalungun地區的Bukit Indah Simarjarunjung景區,飽覽這座由200萬年來最大型火山爆發而形成的湖泊。後者更設樹屋及長凳等觀賞位置,供遊人放鬆休息,與多峇湖合照留念。

Tangkahan小村位於蘇門答臘北部熱帶叢林的心臟地帶,仍保留著河畔不經人工斧鑿的自然環境,讓象群能夠悠閒漫步林中。除了看到野生大象外,走狹窄的木吊橋過河同樣叫人難忘。

若想見到罕有的野生動物,可到訪Mount Leuser國家公園。注重生態保育的荷李活影星Leonardo DiCaprio,最近便到訪了這個聯合國教科文組織世界遺產,探望蘇門答臘猩猩。其他在公園生活的動物包括蘇門答臘虎及蘇門答臘犀牛,同樣不容錯過。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Indonesia

4 Themed Itineraries for Medan

Get the most out of Cathay Dragon's new Indonesian destination with our guide to the best local food, shopping, culture and nature experiences. Words by RANDY MULYANTO, illustrations by A YIP

Food

Medan Guide
A YIP

To kick off a culinary trip in Medan, start with a visit to the heritage spot Tip Top Restaurant. Established during Dutch rule in 1934, the restaurant fed administrators and plantation staff. Today, the menu offers a mix of Western and Indonesian dishes.

Next, try some casual, local fare. Mie Pangsit Akun on Wahidin Road is a local favourite for pork noodles and wonton. Meanwhile, Kari Tabona is famed for its curry vermicelli with chicken and potatoes. Chicken liver and gizzard are popular add-ons to the curry. Asan Chasio on Dr Sun Yat Sen Road serves cha siu (Chinese barbecued pork) and siobak (crispy roast pork belly), which are combined with white rice for a simple lunch. Another place for comfort food is Rumah Makan Padang Lawas. The restaurant highlights South Tapanuli and Mandailing dishes of North Sumatra, brought to the table in small portions. Its signatures are fish, curry and chicken dishes. Cahaya Baru offers Indian dishes, including biryani and curries.

For dinner and late-night snacks, take a wander around Selat Panjang, where food vendors line the streets. Finally, Asia Mega Mas is the city’s Chinatown, and it has plenty of eateries to choose from.

Shopping

Medan Guide
A YIP

Souvenir shopping in Medan means buying sweet treats. Bika Ambon Zulaikha offers bika ambon, a squishy Indonesian cake made with coconut milk. The product comes in a pandan-flavoured variant, too. The bakery has several branches in the city, but the original is on Mojopahit Road. Bolu Meranti on Kruing Road is a popular bakery for Indonesian rolled sponge cake. It comes in several styles: plain, chocolate-topped and cheese-topped. Medan Napoleon, just a few stores down from Bolu Meranti, also sells cakes but with more flavours, including red velvet, green tea, tiramisu and durian. At Mei Yen Cake Shop on Brigjen Katamso Road, customers can buy Lou Pho Piang brand pia, Chinese-influenced flat cake with pork filling. There are also black bean and mung bean versions.

Another common souvenir is local fabrics. Visit Galery Ulos Sianipar for Batak-style cloths, as well as clothing for men and women. The prices for the fabric range widely and are based on the items’ threads and motifs. 

If glossy malls are more your thing, head to Sun Plaza, Medan’s largest shopping mall, which houses international fashion brands as well as a cinema. Centre Point, located in the heart of the city, is another destination for big brands and entertainment.

Culture

Medan Guide
A YIP

Drive by Tugu Guru Patimpus, a monument in the middle of a traffic roundabout that commemorates Guru Patimpus, the founder of Medan city. But to learn more about the area’s history, head to the Museum of North Sumatra.Most of its collections are artefacts from North Sumatra, and they include stone carvings, elaborately carved wooden coffins, scrolls and textiles.

Much of Medan’s culture shines in its diverse places of worship. Marvel at the halls and statues at Maha Vihara Maitreya, one of the largest Buddhist temples in Indonesia. Shri Mariamman Temple is Medan’s oldest Hindu temple, featuring Tamil-style architecture and flower ornaments on the temple ceiling.

The history of the Sultanate of Deli is an indispensable part of the city. A visit to Maimun Palace, striking with its yellow exterior, gives insight into how the sultanate is still present ceremoniously, although it no longer rules the region.

While in the town of Parapat near Lake Toba, experience Batak culture on its native land by taking a ferry to Samosir Island. Head to Tomok Village to see traditional Batak wooden houses. If you’re keen to learn about the indigenous community, TB Silalahi Center offers educational information about Batak history and culture.

Nature

Medan Guide
A YIP

Berastagi, a town about two hours from Medan, was established by Dutch colonists. In that town lies Gundaling Hill, a spot to enjoy the view of Berastagi from above. Next stop, Sipiso-piso Waterfall. Standing at 120 metres tall, it’s one of the highest waterfalls in Indonesia.

Despite its status as an active volcano, Mount Sinabung offers plenty of outdoor activities, like strawberry picking and visits to coffee plantations. If you favour tea, Bah Butong Tea Gardens in Sidamanik is a beautiful place to get to know how tea is grown.

Of course, no one visiting Medan should miss Lake Toba. The lake was created by the largest volcanic eruption in the past two million years. For a great view of the lake, spend a night at Taman Simalem Resort. Another place for outstanding vistas is Bukit Indah Simarjarunjung in Simalungun District. It’s set up with various spots such as tree houses and benches for sitting back and taking a few selfies.

Tangkahan, a small village in the middle of North Sumatra’s tropical forests, maintains its natural riverside setting and lets elephants roam wild. Seeing elephants is a highlight, as is crossing a thin, wooden bridge suspended above a river.

To see rare wildlife, visit Mount Leuser National Park. You’ll be following in the footsteps of actor and conservation activist Leonardo DiCaprio, who recently visited the UNESCO-listed park to see Sumatran orangutans. Other animals that roam these grounds include Sumatran tigers and Sumatran rhinos.   

Cathay Dragon flies to Medan from Hong Kong three times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book