藝術與文化

4位中國炙手可熱的青年時裝設計師

將中國「抄襲大國」之名拋諸腦後吧!新一代設計師將時尚風格推向極致,創造出國內時尚達人夢寐以求的美學結晶。撰文:David Chu

中國的時裝界追求什麼?不用多說,當然是頂尖歐洲品牌。然而,最近時裝界逐漸把焦點轉到獨立本土品牌,而當中不無原因。中國時裝包羅萬有,從街頭潮流以至精緻前衛的風格,不一而足,而無數中國設計師亦正於本地和海外找到知音。我們為你精選四位時裝界名人,每位均代表著中國百花齊放的時裝盛世。

馬莎 ‬

跨界女皇

Masha Ma, China fashion designer
圖片: Mathieu Vladimir Alliard

馬莎在倫敦中央聖馬丁藝術與設計學院畢業後,便於倫敦及巴黎時裝周舉行多場大獲好評的時裝展,成功在國際時裝界爭一席位。雖然馬莎才剛過30歲,但她已躍升為西方國家最享負盛名的中國設計師之一。

其同名品牌的主線走另類次文化風格,呈現型格、粗獷的時尚韻味。不過在中國最廣為人知的,卻是主打年青路線、較商業化的品牌副線MA by Masha,而她亦計劃於未來五年開設約80間專門店。

品牌業務擴充將會奠定馬莎在中國年輕市場的主流地位,她亦非常關心中國的時裝發展,見證著它的蛻變。她說︰「近年中國的時裝業及時尚界漸趨成熟,並走向國際,設計越見複雜精細之餘,就連街頭風格也在國內盛行。」

去年馬莎為出戰2016年里約熱內盧奧運的中國隊設計制服。過往中國選用的制服設計師在海外並不為人認識,而馬莎則是首位具有國際知名度的設計師,意味著中國時裝的崛起。不過就馬莎而言,中國設計師各有各設計方向,不應單以國籍分類。她說︰「人們總愛說『中國設計師』,就好像我們全都一樣,但你會這樣形容法國或英國設計師嗎?應該不會吧。」

masha-ma.com

楊芳

充滿藝術氣息的半訂製時裝

Fang Yang, China fashion
圖片: Tim Franco

對楊芳來說,訂製時裝不等同一本正經的隆重服飾。她秉持製作「可在日常生活穿著的訂製時裝」的宗旨,設計出風格雋永、品質持久出眾,款式經得起時代考驗的服裝。她的設計細節富有訂製服元素,走在潮流尖端,洋溢藝術氣質,同時散發無可比擬的現代青春氣息。取材自日本摺紙藝術的清新褶邊、奪目圖案及優雅剪裁,成為這位上海設計師作品的標誌。

她表示︰「永續是我的目標。我想創造細節一絲不苟的經典服飾,當中蘊含明確的理念:就是希望女性穿上這系列的服飾後不但充滿自信,還會感到舒適自在,獨一無二。」

楊芳曾就讀巴黎高級時裝學院Esmod,並活躍於當地的當代藝術圈子。自從在巴黎創立品牌後,她便忙於在中國開拓市場,宣傳其訂製系列Atelier by Fang及成衣系列By Fang。她最近還與內衣生產商SangLuo合作,推出黑白別注系列。

她亦非常關注中國本土時裝界的蛻變過程。她說︰「中國時裝界甚至其他範疇陸續登上國際舞台,中國時裝開始獲得世界認同,有著舉足輕重的地位,知名度只會有增無減。毋庸置疑,中國時裝在過去數年間展現出非凡的活力。」

by-fang.com

陳野槐

錦衣華服之美

Grace Chen, China fashion
圖片: Tim Franco

她的作品結合奢華的天橋服飾與魅力不凡的百搭設計,使她雄霸北京及上海女裝高級訂製服市場。陳野槐的顧客都是中國政商界的傳統富裕精英,大多比較著重服飾是否經典優雅,而非追求巴黎、紐約或米蘭時裝展的當季潮流,就連中國第一夫人彭麗媛及前中國駐英大使傅瑩都曾穿過她設計的作品。

陳野槐在紐約FIT流行設計學院畢業後,在洛杉磯及紐約兩地設計晚裝服飾,其後移師上海開創自己的訂製時裝品牌。自此她聲名鵲起,過去兩年更加廣受追捧,在海外亦大受歡迎,部分有賴與外國大使及政府官員攜手合作,在巴黎、倫敦及紐約舉行貴賓訂製時裝展,成為中國鮮有享譽國際外交界的設計師之一。

不過陳野槐大部分時間,還是在北京國貿區的工作室或「瑰絲.陳花園」接待多為中年的富裕顧客。「瑰絲.陳花園」為一幢1930年代大宅,位於前上海法租界一隅,經翻新後設計富麗堂皇。她不但會在此接待私人預約,更會舉辦即興派對或私人時裝展。

她表示︰「我們正身處蛻變中的時代,說的不只是時尚風格,還有生活態度、社交方式,甚至科技及零售業等。中國的轉變多姿多采,是其他國家無可媲美的。我想我們正活在盛世之中,亦見證著中國時裝界的轉捩點。」

gracechenstyle.com

周翔宇

男裝千禧世代

Xander Zhou, China fashion
圖片: Tim Franco

大家快來認識這位中國時裝界的型格新晉!其走偏鋒路線的男裝及中性設計以年輕次文化為理念,極盡時尚美感,令中外各地無不大為驚艷。

周翔宇起初在中國修讀平面設計,其後負笈荷蘭海牙鑽研時裝設計。2007年返國後,他決定於北京創立男裝品牌,並把他在北京的藝文好友打扮融入設計之中。

周翔宇正名揚海外,在倫敦尤其為人熟悉。他參加當地半年一度的London Collections: Men男裝展,也在這個英國首都待了一段時間。他的招牌設計是型格大衣、不規則層次時而玩味十足,偶爾對比強烈的剪裁。現在,其同名系列在倫敦、紐約、東京、首爾及他出生的中國均有發售。周翔宇的2017年春夏系列包羅特大、寬鬆的連帽衛衣、塑料布大衣及鬆身吊帶長褲,充分體現當下男裝潮流。

中國時裝大放異彩,周翔宇視之為設計師建功立業的好時機。他說︰「過去數年,中國時裝界雖然變得更混亂,卻同時享有更光明的前景,發展比以往更加蓬勃。各人都在拼命尋找表達自己的方式,令時裝界百花齊放。」

xanderzhou.com 

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

4 of China’s hottest young fashion designers

Forget the copycat reputation – China’s next gen is pushing the boundaries of style and creating an aesthetic that the country’s fashionistas can truly own. Words by DAVID ZHU

What does the fashion set in China want? Top European labels, sure. But these days, increasingly, they’re shifting their focus to homegrown, independent Chinese brands – and no wonder. With styles ranging from street-inspired and modern to avant-garde and elaborate, numerous designers from China are finding an audience both at home and overseas. We pick four names who represent the diverse fashion scene emanating from the country.

Masha Ma‭  ‬

The crossover queen

Masha Ma‭ China fashion designer
Credit: Mathieu Vladimir Alliard & Shoji Fuji

After completing her studies at London’s Central Saint Martins, she put on one successful runway show after another at London and Paris fashion weeks, quickly making a name for herself in the international fashion world. Today Masha Ma is one of China’s most well-known designers in the West, and she’s barely over 30.

Her eponymous main line, channelling underground subculture, has a cool, raw-edged appeal. But it’s Ma’s younger, more commercial secondary line, MA by Masha, that is going to help grow her presence in China: some 80 stores are planned for the next five years.

This expansion will place Ma firmly in the mainstream among young Chinese, whose fashion evolution she has witnessed with keen interest. ‘The industry and fashion scene have grown so much in recent years and are becoming more international and sophisticated,’ she says. ‘Street style is really gaining sway here, too.’

Last year Ma designed outfits for team China for the Rio Olympics; it was the first time the country’s chosen designer was internationally known, an indication of how far China’s fashion has come. But to Ma, Chinese designers shouldn’t be lumped together based on nationality alone, when each has an individual creative direction. ‘People always talk about “Chinese designers” as if we’re all alike,’ says Ma, ‘but would you say that to a French or British designer? No.’

masha-ma.com

Fang Yang‭ ‬

The artful demi-couturier‭ ‬

Fang Yang, China fashion designer
Credit: Tim Franco

For Fang Yang, couture doesn’t mean stuffy. Her philosophy is ‘couture-a-porter’. With a focus on timelessness – enduring styles and durable quality to last years – she has been making headway with couture-inspired detailing on outfits that are fashion forward and artistically inclined yet incredibly modern and youthful. Crisp origami pleats, bold patterns and elegant silhouettes have become signatures of the Shanghai-based designer’s work.

‘My goal is sustainability,’ she says. ‘Timeless clothing with an extreme attention to detail and a clear motto: I want women who wear my collections to feel confident, comfortable and unique.’

Since starting her brand in Paris, where she studied at Esmod and hung out in the city’s contemporary art circles, Fang has been busy building up her client base in China with both her couture line, Atelier by Fang, and her ready-to-wear line, By Fang. She’s recently collaborated with lingerie manufacturer SangLuo to create a black-and-white capsule collection.

She’s had a front-row seat to the transformation of China’s homegrown fashion scene. ‘More and more exposure is built as the world acknowledges that China will play a big role on the international scene, in fashion as in many other fields,’ she says. ‘It surely has created a very positive energy in these past few years.’

by-fang.com

Grace Chen‭ ‬

The grand couturier

Grace Chen, China fashion designer
Credit: Tim Franco

She’s cornered the women’s couture market in Beijing and Shanghai with a combination of extravagant runway pieces and glamorous, easy-to-wear outfits. Chen’s clientele are the conservative, wealthy elites of China’s business and political circles who are more concerned with classic elegance than this season’s trends on the runways of Paris, New York or Milan. She counts China’s first lady Peng Liyuan and former Chinese ambassador to the UK Fu Ying among her customers.

After graduating from the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York, Chen worked in eveningwear in both Los Angeles and New York before starting her own couture label in Shanghai. And her rise has been fast, especially in the past two years. She’s sought after overseas, too, thanks in part to collaborations with foreign embassies and government officials to stage VIP couture shows in Paris, London and New York, becoming one of the few Chinese designers to have a strong international diplomatic presence.

Most of the time, though, Chen hosts her well-heeled, mostly middle-aged clientele in her atelier in Beijing’s Guomao area or at the House of Grace Chen – a huge, glossily refurbished 1930s mansion in Shanghai’s former French Concession – where she takes private appointments and throws the occasional party or intimate runway show.

‘We’re in an era of transformation. It’s not only about style, but also about lifestyle, social style, even technology and retail – there are many things going on in China that haven’t happened in other countries,’ says Chen. ‘I think we are at a great time and major turning point for Chinese fashion.’

gracechenstyle.com

Xander Zhou‭  ‬

The menswear millennial‭ ‬

Xander Zhou, China fashion designer
Credit: Tim Franco

Meet Chinese fashion’s cool, new kid, whose edgy aesthetics in menswear and androgynous take on young subculture are making an impression at home and abroad.

Zhou started off studying graphic design in China before pursuing fashion design at the Hague in the Netherlands. He returned and started his brand in Beijing in 2007, offering menswear that incorporates the look of the artsy Beijing crew he hangs out with.

Zhou’s name is spreading outside China, especially in London; he shows at biannual showcase London Collections: Men and spends a fair amount of time in the British capital. Cool coats, deconstructed layers and interesting, sometimes conflicting silhouettes are signatures. Now his eponymous line is sold in London, New York, Tokyo, Seoul and his native China. His spring-summer 2017 collection is all huge, hanging hoodies, big vinyl fabric coats and baggy trousers with straps – very of-the-moment in menswear.

As China’s fashion scene flourishes, Zhou sees it as the time for designers to make their mark. ‘The fashion scene in China has become more chaotic and at the same time more promising over the past few years, more happening than before,’ says Zhou. ‘It is a state of anarchy in which everyone is finding his own way to express himself.’

xanderzhou.com