頂級酒店

村莊內的世界頂級酒店

分散式的酒店概念為世界各地的古老村莊注入新活力。撰文 KATE SPRINGER

大概沒人想在渺無人煙的荒城度宿一宵,但現在卻有一批與別不同的新式酒店在多個被荒廢的村莊內出現。這種被稱為alberghi diffusi(意大利語,意指「分散式酒店」)的新模式最早於意大利出現,旨在為人口下降、缺乏具發展潛力的產業或必須保育珍貴建築的農村,提供可持續經營的旅遊模式。這個模式成效卓著,現時意大利全國已擁有逾100家分散式酒店,業界更成立了Alberghi Diffusi National Association(分散式酒店國立協會)。這股風潮已吹到亞洲,區內的分散式酒店較著重保育歷史社區,避免因急速發展而被摧毀。

上海建業里嘉佩樂酒店

亞洲最近期的例子是2017年9月開業的上海建業里嘉佩樂酒店。它坐落於傳統的石庫門(指建有石造大門的住宅群)建築內,綿延22條里弄,是衡復歷史文化風貌區的一部分。這個極具歷史意義的街區曾屬法國租界範圍;1930年代,法國地產公司Foncière et Immobiliere de Chine於區內興建住宅,讓中上階層的外商和中國商人毗鄰而居。

這個住宅區不敵歲月摧殘,結構嚴重受損。為了保育四合院建築,政府於2003年將該區劃為受保護地區,其後委託嘉佩樂酒店集團進行翻新工作。歷時兩年的翻新工程嚴格按照昔日的圖則進行,務求保留石庫門社區獨特的中西合璧建築元素,例如中式馬頭牆和西式紅磚排屋。

酒店擁有55幢別墅和40幢服務式公寓,位處徐匯區核心,區內小餐館和商店林立,加上居民的日常活動如洗衣、補鞋等,還有街頭叫賣的小吃攤檔,令該區好不熱鬧。

進入酒店範圍內,就會發現裡面與徐匯區居民的日常生活大異其趣。佔地2.3公頃的物業內有浪漫庭院、花園、圖書館和水療中心。酒店外的購物和餐飲廊由嘉佩樂集團管理,法國名廚Pierre Gagnaire最近在這裡開設了他在中國內地的首家餐廳兼酒吧Le Comptoir de Pierre Gagnaire,裝潢和餐單均洋溢昔日的法式上海格調,提供高級的餐飲體驗。

印尼的Jaya國際設計公司負責別墅的室內設計,法式家具和中式藝術品營造出融和中、法的情調。別墅採用令人感覺溫暖的木材和恬靜的翠綠色調,配備一至三間睡房,以及私人庭院、娛樂室、書桌、屋頂陽台和大理石浴室,還有專屬管家為下榻賓客提供貼心服務。capellashanghai.com

北京瓦廠酒店

瓦廠酒店毗鄰萬里長城慕田峪段,雖未如上海建業里嘉佩樂酒店般簇新,卻也是中國著名的分散式酒店項目,巧妙示範如何在振興掙扎求存的社區與保育歷史建築之餘,同時為旅客提供奢華住宿。

1980年代,居於北京的唐亮和丈夫薩洋首次到訪慕田峪。夫婦二人被萬里長城的清新空氣和美景深深吸引,遂租下一所村屋,並由無師自通的薩洋將屋子改造成洋溢典雅懷舊氣息的現代家居,其後更長居該處。薩洋繼續為私人客戶翻新村屋,引起地方政府注意。在村長的鼓勵下,他們著手發展可持續旅遊模式以振興當地萎靡的經濟,將古老的瓦廠改建成瓦廠酒店,共有25間可眺望長城的客房,以及11幢遍佈鄰近四個村莊的獨立別墅。brickyardatmutianyu.com

塞浦路斯Casale Panayiotis酒店

我在去年10月到訪塞浦路斯,見到當地因年輕人遷居城市,使不少古老村屋荒廢,然而政府積極鼓勵居民翻新舊屋,成效令人讚歎。不過絕大部分的情況都是地點分散的住宅在使用政府資金翻新後,成為在Airbnb上招攬旅客的民宿。不過,我們發現Troodos山脈有一個全面的村落翻新項目。

位於塞浦路斯中部一個陡峭山坡上的Kalopanayiotis,本是幾近荒廢的溫泉之鄉,於1900年代人口大量流失後一蹶不振。不過,曾經是當地居民的酒店創辦人JohnPapadouris卻矢志改變現狀;為了吸引旅客到訪,他租下大批空置房屋,然後翻新成經典與當代格調共冶一爐的Casale Panayiotis酒店,更在村內建設大量公共空間,包括接待處、休息室、咖啡室和葡萄酒吧,以及數家可供飽覽山脈風光的人氣餐廳。 casalepanayiotis.com

意大利Sextantio酒店

這是意大利首家成功轉型的分散式酒店。1990年代,細小的山城Santo Stefano di Sessanio人口急降,因為年輕人都搬到城市居住和找工作。2005年,Sextantio的一眾股東開始重建當地的建築物,將小城定位為吸引外國遊客的鄉郊懷舊旅遊勝地。酒店的31間套房現在看來十分豪華,但其實全都經過徹底翻新;有些曾是牧羊人小屋,有些前身是豬舍,還有多個地窖被改造成會議室、餐廳、葡萄酒吧和婚禮場地。過去十年,不少原居民回鄉開設餐廳、酒吧及提供各種旅遊體驗,令當地人口增加一倍。 santostefano.sextantio.it

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Top hotels

4 hotels for a rural village experience

These scattered hotel concepts have injected new life into historic villages around the world. By KATE SPRINGER

A ghost town might seem like the last place you’d want to spend the night, but a new breed of hotel is now thriving in previously abandoned villages. First emerging in Italy, the alberghi diffusi model (meaning ‘scattered hotel’) aims to provide a sustainable tourism model for rural villages suffering from population decline, a lack of viable industry or simply in need of a way to preserve valuable architecture.

The approach is working – Italy now has more than 100 alberghi diffusi across the country and a dedicated Alberghi Diffusi National Association. Scattered hotels have caught on in Asia, too, albeit with a greater focus on preserving historical communities in the face of rapid development.

Capella Shanghai

Capella-Shanghai

One of the latest examples in Asia is Capella Shanghai, Jian Ye Li, which opened in September 2017. Located inside a traditional shikumen (a stone-gate residential complex), the hotel stretches across 22 alleyways – all part of the Hengfu cultural and heritage preservation zone, within the French Concession. This historic district was originally built in the 1930s by the Foncière et Immobiliere de Chine property company as a mid-upper-income merchants’ town, where both expats and Chinese traders lived side-by-side.

Over the years, the compound suffered severe structural damage. In an effort to preserve the architecture, the government earmarked the courtyard-style residential area as a protected zone in 2003, later enlisting hotel group Capella to take over the renovations. The two-year restoration process followed archive drawings and blueprints closely in order to retain the distinct East-meets-West architectural elements associated with shikumen estates, such as Chinese matou (‘horse head’) gables alongside Western-looking brick townhouses.

The hotel’s 55 villas and 40 serviced residences sit in the heart of the Xuhui district, which is alive with small restaurants, shops and people going about their everyday life – washing laundry, mending shoes and hawking food from street stalls.

A turn into the hotel grounds is, as it once was, a contrast to the everyday lives of Xuhui residents. Across the 2.3 hectare property, you’ll find romantic courtyards, gardens, a library and a spa. In a Capella-managed shopping and dining promenade right outside the resort, French chef Pierre Gagnaire has opened his first restaurant and bar in mainland China. Le Comptoir de Pierre Gagnaire (below right) is an elevated all-day dining experience channelling old-world Parisian Shanghai in both the decor and menu.

Indonesian firm Jaya International designed the interiors of the villas, where Sino-French style takes the form of French furniture juxtaposed with Chinese artwork. Decked out in warm wood and serene green shades, each of the one- to three-bedroom villas includes a private courtyard, entertainment room, desk, rooftop terrace, marble bathroom and a dedicated butler to lean on during your stay. capellashanghai.com

Brickyard Retreat, Beijing

Hotel-Trend-1

Not quite as new, but another notable project in China is Brickyard Retreat, near the Mutianyu section of The Great Wall. This hotel is an excellent example of how to elevate a struggling community, preserve historic architecture and provide a luxurious home base for travellers at the same time.

While living in Beijing in the 1980s, Liang Tang and husband Jim Spear – a self-taught architectural designer – first visited Mutianyu. Lured by the fresh air and views of The Great Wall, the couple leased a village house and turned it into a modern home with a heritage-chic aesthetic, later moving there to live full-time. Spear continued to renovate village houses for private clients, and the local government took notice. Encouraged by the mayor to jumpstart the ailing economy with a sustainable tourism model, Tang and Spear transformed an old tile factory into the Brickyard Retreat, which comprises 25 rooms all facing The Great Wall as well as 11 independent houses scattered across four nearby villages. brickyardatmutianyu.com

Casale Panayiotis, Cyprus

hotel trend april
hotel trend april

During a trip to Cyprus last October, I was impressed by the government’s efforts to incentivise residents into renovating old village houses, largely left abandoned as young people moved to the cities. In most cases, it’s a family house here or there, renovated with funds from the government and then listed on Airbnb. But in the Troodos Mountains we found one of the most comprehensive village renovation projects.

The nearly abandoned spa city of Kalopanayiotis spills down a steep hillside in central Cyprus. The village was floundering due to a population haemorrhage in the 1900s, but founder (and former resident) John Papadouris wasn’t having it. To give travellers a reason to visit, he leased dozens of empty homes from their owners and renovated them in classic-contemporary vibes to create Casale Panayiotis. In addition, Papadouris built communal venues throughout the village, including a reception area, lounge, cafe, wine bar and a few destination restaurants with mountain views. casalepanayiotis.com

Sextantio, Italy

hotel trend april

Italy’s first successful alberghi diffusi. In the 1990s, the tiny hill town of Santo Stefano di Sessanio struggled with a dramatic population decline, as young people moved to urban areas to pursue jobs. In 2005, the owners of Sextantio began renovating buildings across the area and repositioning the town as a charming countryside heritage experience for foreigners. While the 31 suites might look luxurious now, almost all of the rooms required extensive renovation – some converted from shepherds’ lodges, others pigsties. You’ll also find a series of former dungeons converted into a meeting room, a restaurant, a wine bar and a wedding venue. Over the past decade, the population has doubled as people move back to the area to open new restaurants and bars, and offer tourism experiences to visitors.  santostefano.sextantio.it

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book