頂級酒店

世界上最好的共享工作空間酒店

重新塑造成共享工作空間的酒店

一般酒店附設的商務中心,往往位於不起眼的閣樓內,佈置乏味,裡面偶爾有個氣急敗壞的行政人員在操弄打印機,希望盡快將文件列印出來;除此之外,大部分時間人跡罕至。不過這都已成過去了,現在的酒店都積極投入共享工作空間的潮流,大多設有開揚闊落的工作空間,並全天候開放。無論是酒店住客或是外來的客人,都可以在這裡為手提電腦接上電源工作、開會,並且盡情暢飲不絕供應的咖啡。

很多酒店都樂於為此而投放資源,與其讓某些時段或空間的使用率長期偏低,倒不如讓充滿創意的企業家與千禧世代來將之填滿。對酒店來說,這是有利可圖的投資。

紐約Ace Hotel酒店

Hotel Trends, Ace Hotel New York
Katharina

AceHotel酒店位於一幢漂亮的20世紀初建築內,不過令你注目的,應該是酒店大堂的長型共用辦公桌上一列列發光的手提電腦屏幕。極高的天花板、木壁板、舒適的曲尺形沙發、鋪上馬賽克瓷磚的地板、以及毫不做作的熱情氛圍,令忙碌的辦公氣氛變得緩和。

在Ace工作還有不少「福利」,例如可以享受到波特蘭著名咖啡烘焙公司Stumptown Coffee Roasters的世界級咖啡、大量電源插座給你的裝置充電,以及入夜後有駐場DJ或現場音樂表演的雞尾酒吧。

酒店大堂是遙距工作者聚集的主要地點,不過客房空間更為寬敞,其中大部分都備有辦公桌或餐桌,讓你大可以穿著睡衣,整個下午足不出戶留在房內工作。 acehotel.com/newyork

香港逸東酒店

Hotel trends, Eaton Hong Kong
Lit Ma/Common Studio

去年,香港迎來了共享旅舍MojoNomad的升級青年旅館概念(共居空間加入共享工作空間)及嘉里酒店的Kafnu共享工作社群,接下來香港逸東酒店亦引入類似的意念。酒店目前由國際設計公司AvroKO翻新改造,將於9月重開。

不過,煥然一新的不單是酒店的外觀。這間位於九龍佐敦的酒店將不再是只供客人住宿的普通酒店,而是配備了自家媒體公司、藝術中心(包括畫廊、專業錄音室及現場音樂表演場地)、健身中心及佔地兩層的共享工作空間等多重功能。

酒店推出以社會企業為本的Eaton House共享工作會所。酒店賓客可付費使用共享工作空間的設施,包括飲品及小食、一般文件打印、會議室、參加小組討論、電影放映會及工作坊,還有大量與本土企業家及創意人才交流的機會,費用為每天250港元。

除了共享工作空間,整間酒店為迎合遙距工作人士的需要,分別於普慶餐廳、大堂及由十個美食攤位組成的美食廣場EatonFoodHall(現已開幕)設置長餐桌,以及大量設有座位的空間。 eatonhongkong.com

倫敦CitizenM酒店

Hotel trends, CitizenM - Tower of London
Richard Powers/CitizenM hotels

CitizenM於2008年在阿姆斯特丹開業,現於全球設有12間酒店,包括倫敦及台北,下月更於紐約開設第二間酒店。酒店名稱中的「M」是Mobile(流動)的意思,提供自動辦理入住手續及無現金付款等服務,但卻刻意佈置成舒適、低科技,甚至帶點學生氣息的風格。

酒店位於倫敦Tower Hill地鐵站附近,以玻璃及石灰岩建成,大堂就像一個空間寬敞的起居室。設有桌子的露台,或是可俯瞰倫敦市中心全景的cloudM天台酒吧,都是理想的工作地點。客房雖然面積不大,卻配備了特大雙人床、免費網絡電話、免費自選電影,以及可以調節燈光、室溫或設定鬧鐘的「mood pad」觸控式平板裝置。citizenm.com

首爾,RYSE酒店

Hotel trends, RYSE
Kim Yong Kwan

5月開幕的RYSE酒店位於首爾的弘大區,附近不乏娛樂場所與活動。酒店共有274間客房,可說是個不折不扣的創意樂園,室內設計由倫敦的Michaelis Boyd設計工作室主理,裝潢奢華中帶粗樸氣息,風格新穎,頗能迎合設計師、藝術家、音樂家及作家的品味。

RYSE酒店沒有正式的共享工作計劃,卻正好貫徹酒店不拘一格的思維方式。大堂設有休憩區、共用的桌子、會議空間及咖啡室,開揚的佈局和五花八門的配置對靈活安排工作的人極具吸引力。若你來首爾的目的是建立人脈和交流意念,這裡亦是會面傾談的上佳地點。

酒店三樓設有圖書館,是另一個深受遙距工作人士歡迎的地方。圖書館向印刷品致敬,牆邊巧妙地放置了小眾雜誌、趣味讀物及黑膠唱片,既可啟發創意靈感,本身亦是悅目的裝飾。

客房亦能啟發住客的思維,每個房間內都放了本地及國際藝術家的原創真跡,例如Na Kim、Park Yeo-joo、Laurent Segretier及Cody Hudson等的作品。你亦可前往地庫樓層的藝廊Arario Gallery欣賞更多亞洲藝術品。同時,首爾亦舉辦連串藝術、設計及音樂活動,推動本地創意,令城中洋溢一片文藝氣息。rysehotel.com

Top hotels

4 great hotels for digital nomads

Why hotels are reinventing themselves as co-working spaces. By KATE SPRINGER

The hotel business centre: a dreary space tucked away on a mezzanine floor, empty except for a single harassed executive desperately trying to get the printer to work. Well, that was then. This is today: hotels are eagerly joining the co-working revolution. They’re investing in airy, open, all-day spaces where guests and incomers alike can plug in their laptops, have meetings and make a dent in the global supply of coffee beans.

Investing in: but also profiting from. For hotels, otherwise unprofitable times of the day and underused spaces now hum to the sounds of the entrepreneurial and millennial.

Ace Hotel, New York

Hotel trends, Ace Hotel New York
Katharina

Gorgeous early 20th century building aside, the first thing you’ll notice when you walk into Ace Hotel New York’s lobby is the glow of laptop screens atop long, communal tables. The busy atmosphere is offset by sky-high ceilings; wood-panelled walls; comfy, L-shaped sofas; mosaic tile floors; and a welcoming vibe that’s surprisingly devoid of pretension.

There are a few more perks to working at Ace, namely world-class coffee from Portland’s Stumptown Coffee Roasters, countless outlets to keep your gear charged and a cocktail bar that often eases into the evening with DJ sets or live music.

The lobby is the main hub for remote workers, but most of the larger guest rooms also include a desk – or dining table – where you can hole up for an afternoon
if you prefer to work in your pyjamas. acehotel.com/newyork

Eaton, Hong Kong

Hotel trends, Eaton Hong Kong
Lit Ma/Common Studio

Last year, Hong Kong welcomed Mojo Nomad’s upscale hostel concept (complete with co-working common areas) and Kerry Hotel’s Kafnu co-working community to its hotel line-up. Next up? Eaton Hong Kong, which unveils a total revamp this September at the hands of international design firm AvroKO.

But a facelift isn’t the only thing that’s new. The hotel in Kowloon’s Jordan neighbourhood will emerge as much more than just a place to rest your head, introducing its own media company, arts hub (with a gallery, professional recording studios and live music venues), wellness centre and two levels of co-working spaces.

Dubbed Eaton House, the co-working members’ club focuses on socially conscious businesses. For HK$250 per day, hotel guests can also access the co-working spaces, where they’ll enjoy drinks and snacks, meeting rooms, panel discussions, film screenings and workshops, plus lots of opportunities to mingle with Hong Kong-based entrepreneurs and creatives.

Co-working space aside, the entire hotel caters to remote workers with the communal tables at The Astor restaurant, the loungey lobby and the Eaton Food Hall (now open) – a 10-vendor dining destination with extensive seating space. eatonhongkong.com

CitizenM, London

Hotel trends, CitizenM - Tower of London
Richard Powers/CitizenM hotels

CitizenM debuted in Amsterdam in 2008 and has 12 locations around the world, from London to Taipei (with a second New York hotel opening next month). The ‘M’ stands for Mobile. But for all the automatic check-ins and cashless payments, the public areas are deliberately cosy, lo-fi and studenty.

At the glass-and-limestone outpost in Tower Hill, the lobby feels like an enormous living room. You can also take your work to a table on the terrace, or to the cloudM rooftop bar for 360-degree views of Central London. Your room is hardly more than a pod: but you get a king-size bed, free VOIP calls, free movies on demand and a ‘mood pad’ device to change the lighting, temperature and alarm setting. citizenm.com

RYSE, Seoul

Hote trends, RYSE
Kim Yong Kwan

The new kid on the block in Seoul’s Hongdae entertainment district, RYSE opened in May as a creative wonderland. The 274-room hotel caters to designers and artists, musicians and writers with fresh luxe-meets-raw interiors designed by London studio Michaelis Boyd.

There’s no formal co-working programme, but that’s all part of the fluid mentality at RYSE. In the lobby, you’ll find a mix of lounge areas and communal tables, meeting spaces and a cafe. The endless stream of configurations will appeal to flexible workers, not to mention facilitating conversation – if you happen to be in town to network and exchange ideas.

On the third floor, the library is another popular spot for remote workers. In homage to all things print, the walls are artfully stacked with niche magazines, quirky books and vinyl records that will prove to be either creative ammunition or a welcome distraction.

Yet another source of inspiration is found in the guestrooms, which are full of original works by local and international artists such as Na Kim, Park Yeo-joo, Laurent Segretier and Cody Hudson. You’ll find more art in the basement Arario Gallery, which is devoted to Asian works. Meanwhile, Seoul’s highly creative culture pervades the atmosphere with a spectacular line-up of art, design and music events that champion local creativity. rysehotel.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book