頂級酒店

摩登驛站: 天下無雙

亞洲傑出獨立酒店

說到酒店,我們總傾向信奉品牌主義。由跨國巨擘,以至經營好幾個物業的精品住宿,市面上的酒店品牌多不勝數。隨著集團合併,推出全新連鎖品牌以照顧不同顧客,酒店品牌的數目與日俱增。然而,有些酒店卻依然選擇保持獨立,抵禦集團品牌的勢力,採取與眾不同的路線,呈獻獨一無二的待客服務。

芬名酒店  香港

The Fleming, Hong Kong
The Fleming, Hong Kong

芬名酒店經過為期一年的翻新工程,終於在去年10月脫胎換骨,蛻變成新穎的精品酒店。全新設計出自酒店東主John Hui和顧問Jason Cohen的手筆,他們以66間客房向昔日香江情懷致敬。除了洋溢懷舊格調的霓虹招牌和仿竹棚造型的燈飾外,還添上海藍色的條紋地氈、位於大堂的長凳沙發,以及取材自歷史悠久的天星小輪、猶如舷窗的浴室鏡。就連浴室用品亦包裝成老藥店的貨品一樣,設計充滿玩味,可見Hui和Cohen二人的合作相當愉快。兩人的心血結晶讓受夠了千篇一律的住宿體驗、每次在異地的酒店客房醒來也茫然不知自己身在何方的旅客,重燃對旅遊的熱情。
thefleming.com

Claska旅館  日本東京

Claska Hotel Tokyo

大部分酒店都以面積和設施區分客房類別,但設有20間客房的Claska旅館並不願隨波逐流。它位於時尚的東京中目黑區,一切都以設計為先,並按照風格分門別類,包括現代、和室、當代空間或獨一無二的客房,分別由日本國內不同的建築師和設計師塑造。客房以外也洋溢個性,旅館的自家精品店DO(讀音如中文的「都」字),出售以嶄新風格演繹的日本傳統工藝品,成為小眾至愛。為協助訪客探索附近別具一格的社區,酒店還備有復古單車可供租借。此外,名為「Pa Jyama」的702號客房的床更縫滿了玩具熊,掛牆裝飾定期更換,活脫脫是一件裝置藝術作品。
claska.com

The Sarojin酒店  泰國考拉

The Sarojin Khao Lak, Thailand

跟許多獨立酒店一樣,The Sarojin呈現了創辦人自身的旅遊經歷,不過這家海灘度假村背後的故事可不止於此。英國背包客Andrew和Kate Kemp十年來夢想能開設將奢華與背包旅行經歷共冶一爐的度假村酒店。可是就在酒店於2004年準備開幕前數天,南亞大海嘯席捲而至,將大樓摧毀,令兩人延後數年才能實現夢想。現在,這家擁有56間客房的物業沒有半點受蹂躪的痕跡,洋溢奢華而野性的格調。茂盛的草叢、棕櫚葉和蓮花池,跟無邊際泳池、特大浴缸和瑰麗玄關構成的簡約現代設計形成強烈對比。他們更以酒店名義創辦The Sarojin Khao Lak Community Fund基金會,繼續捐款支持海嘯重建工作。
sarojin.com

The Imperial New Delhi酒店  印度德里

The Imperial New Delhi

我們往往傾向將「獨立」酒店與精品和新穎劃上等號。The Imperial New Delhi酒店卻兩者皆非,而是城中的「貴婦」。這家酒店於1936年由Sardar Bahadur Ranjit Singh建造,一直由同一個家族經營,現時由創辦人的兩位孫兒共同擁有。兩人是應用可持續措施節省和再造能源和水的先鋒,令這家懷舊酒店成為印度最環保的企業之一。酒店最近完成翻新,235間客房的設備奢華依舊,但精雕細琢的古董家具、復古藝術複印畫和紋理細緻的大理石地板,滲出經受時間洗禮的獨特氣息。悠久的歷史氛圍縈繞不散,在酒店餐廳Daniell’s Tavern裡尤其濃得化不開,其孟加拉鮮蝦咖喱、瑪撒拉咖喱烤雞和咖喱扁豆湯,在餐單上各據一方已50多年。

theimperialindia.com 

國泰假期備有機票連酒店套票,可瀏覽 cathaypacific.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Top hotels

4 of Asia’s best independent hotels

Brands offer consistency and trust, but these unique hotels offer plenty of character. By CYNTHIA ROSENFELD

When it comes to hotels, we tend to trust in brands. There are lots of brands, of course, from global behemoths to boutique outfits with a handful of properties. The number of brands is increasing, too, as groups merge and create new chains to suit different customers. Yet some hotels choose to stay independent, resisting the lure that a group brand brings, going it alone and delivering unique guest experiences by design.

The Fleming, Hong Kong

Late last year, The Fleming was transformed. After 10 years in existence, it underwent a massive renovation, and a quirky boutique was unveiled. Masterminded by owner John Hui and consultant Jason Cohen, The Fleming has become a 66-room hotel that pays homage to old Hong Kong. Along with retro-inspired neon signage and light fixtures resembling bamboo scaffolding, they added navy striped rugs, bench-style seating in the lobby and porthole-like bathroom mirrors that reference the longstanding Star Ferry service. Hui and Cohen clearly had fun in the design process, down to the Chinese apothecary-style toiletries. Their singular inn will reignite the romance of travel for anyone who has ever woken up in a cookie cutter hotel room wondering, ‘Where am I?’
thefleming.com

Claska Tokyo, Japan

Most hotels have room categories based on size and amenities. But Claska does things differently. At this 20-room inn in Tokyo’s funky Nakameguro neighbourhood, it’s all about design. The rooms here are classified by style – modern, tatami and contemporary spaces or the one-of-a-kind rooms – each created by different architects and designers from across the country. Beyond the rooms, there’s plenty of character. The in-house boutique, DO (pronounced ‘dough’), offers quirky reinterpretations of Japanese traditional crafts and has become a cult favourite. To help visitors discover this eccentric corner of the city, there are vintage bicycles for hire. And Room 702 doubles as an art installation called Pa Jyama, with a teddy bear-filled bed and ever-changing wall displays.
claska.com

The Sarojin Khao Lak, Thailand

Like many independent hotels, The Sarojin is a manifestation of its founders’ travelling experiences. But in this beach resort, there’s more. British backpackers Andrew and Kate Kemp had dreamed of opening a resort for over a decade, something that would bring together luxury and their backpacking adventures. But just days before opening The Sarojin in 2004, the Boxing Day Tsunami struck, destroying their site and setting their plan back by years. Today, the 56-room property shows no signs of the devastation. It’s luxe yet wild, with tall grass, palm fronds and lotus ponds juxtaposed against clean modern design, infinity pools, oversized bathtubs and gorgeous indoor-outdoor blurrings. And in the foundation the couple started, The Sarojin Khao Lak Community Fund, the Kemps and the hotel continue to contribute to the tsunami recovery effort.
sarojin.com

The Imperial New Delhi, India

We tend to think of independent hotels as boutique and new. The Imperial New Delhi is neither; this is one of Delhi’s grand dames. Built in 1936 by Sardar Bahadur Ranjit Singh, the hotel remains in the family, currently owned by two of his grandsons. The two were early adopters of sustainable practices to conserve and recycle energy and water, making the retro-chic address one of India’s greenest enterprises. Recently renovated, all 235 guest rooms include the expected luxury features yet show enduring autonomy with their ornate antique furniture, vintage art prints and intricate marble floors. But the long history remains here, particularly at Daniell’s Tavern, where the Bengali prawn curry, chicken tikka masala and curry lentil soup have been on the menu for more than 50 years.

theimperialindia.com 

Flights per week from Hong Kong

Cathay Dragon and Cathay Pacific: Tokyo: 63
Cathay Pacific: Delhi: 14
Cathay Dragon: Phuket: 14

Flight and hotel packages are available from Cathay Pacific Holidays at cathaypacific.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book