都市生活

香港:二十年·二十事

Fionnuala McHugh與Cathy Adams穿越香港時空20年,重溫多個最具代表性的地方、物件、人物與現象

自《中英聯合聲明》在1984年簽訂後,香港的日曆上就只剩下一個重要的日子:1997年6月30日。本地和海外評論家,寫下連篇累牘的文章,對香港的未來作出各種預測,這些預言家往往對前景不表樂觀。而隨著香港迎向未來,出現了一個有趣的情況— —生活一切如常。

沒有人預料得到,對香港特別行政區真正有影響的,是由泰國貨幣在1997年7月2日貶值開始引發的亞洲金融危機,以及2003年爆發的SARS沙士疫症(疫症的英文名稱縮寫與特別行政區一模一樣,實在是不幸的巧合),這些事件為這個城市帶來深刻的傷痕。這20年來,有新機場開幕,也有舊碼頭關閉。至於食物、咖啡、文化和通訊的水準,均大幅提升。

香港在邁步向前之際,亦開始回顧過去,審視自我,探索身份的認同。但是20年前,人們再三提出、反覆討論的問題是:「1997年之後會發生什麼事?」

我們在此送上20個答案。

赤鱲角

1998年7月6日早上6時27分,國泰航空從紐約出發的889號班機降落赤鱲角,新機場從此正式啟用。位於市區、飛機降落時令人感到驚心動魄的舊啟德機場完成歷史任務,光榮退休。新、舊機場交接順利,雖然起初運作時出現一些技術上的故障,可是這些難題很快就得到解決,並且迅速成為全球數一數二的優秀機場。

《花樣年華》

這齣王家衛導演的電影廣受好評,而梁朝偉更憑片中角色榮獲2000年康城影展最佳男主角獎。電影的影像及音樂洋溢懷舊氣息,對1960年代的香港一往情深,令香港電影跳出李小龍和黑社會的框框,轉為追憶緬懷昔日的時光。

貝貝

2003年秋天,有人發現一條非本地出產的小灣鱷在新界元朗的山貝河出沒,沒有人知道牠的來歷,但牠卻與當局展開長達七個月的捉迷藏,多次避過來自澳洲和中國的捕鱷專家的追捕。牠足智多謀的歷險過程,成為SARS沙士疫症後心情低落的市民茶餘飯後的輕鬆話題。貝貝現居香港濕地公園。

主題公園

海洋公園是香港首個主題公園,早在1977年開幕,公園內既有機動遊戲,也有可愛動物,極具香港多元混雜的特色。其後,迪士尼樂園於2005年9月登陸香港,成為全球規模最小的迪士尼主題公園。這個主題公園除了針對中國市場之外,更因香港人對恐怖的東西情有獨鍾,園內舉行的萬聖節前夕活動,驚嚇程度遠超其他迪士尼樂園。

帆船

傳統大型中式帆船近年再現維港。1955年於澳門建造的鴨靈號,以及餐飲集團Aqua Luna旗下的張保仔號及大張保號(分別在2006和2017年由香港目前所餘無幾的其中一位木船匠建造),現時定期穿梭於維港之上,與兩岸充滿未來氣息的高樓大廈形成有趣的古今對照。

渡輪碼頭

位於中環的天星碼頭和皇后碼頭,由於持續進行的填海工程,分別在2006和2008年遭清拆。碼頭被夷為平地之前,引發為期數月的示威。懷舊之情和香港的身份認同,不但引起對保育歷史遺產的關注,更令「集體回憶」一詞進入特別行政區的公共意識。

史諾比

1998年9月,麥當勞為推廣套餐,推出28款史諾比擺設供顧客換購,它們分別身穿不同國家的服飾,由此引發全城收集狂潮。這個推廣活動曾出現混亂,甚至需要出動警方維持秩序。這事令許多專家大惑不解,只能歸因於亞洲金融風暴影響下,經濟低迷,以致小市民傾向低端消費,並企圖從中獲利。

九龍皇帝

曾灶財於2007年逝世,享年86歲。他身後並未遺下一分一毫,但卻在城中多處留下極具個人風格的塗鴉,宣示他對九龍擁有的主權。他的塗鴉獲得不少人的欣賞,認為有保存的價值。2007年5月,他的部分作品被意外清洗,惹來公眾激烈反響。

米芝蓮指南

過去20年,香港餐飲業愈來愈多姿多采,既有精采的私房菜,也有五花八門的咖啡室,令市民口福大增。2008年12月,米芝蓮美食指南推出了香港和澳門區版本。正統主義者對指南收錄一些廉宜的道地小店表示質疑,但2016年的指南卻更進一步加入了街頭小吃篇。

狗隻

香港人愛狗,是近年才出現的事,而且這份愛十分熱烈。寶雲道的毒狗狂徒不時出沒,但並未對這份愛造成任何影響。過去20年間,狗隻飼主數目大幅飆升,隨著這股熱潮亦創造了大量商機。當局對狗隻在公眾場所的活動有諸多限制,然而狗隻美容、飾物和食品店卻如雨後春筍般湧現,而且生意興隆。

環球貿易廣場

位於西九龍的環球貿易廣場於2010年落成開幕,樓高484米,是全港最高的建築物。2013年,大廈在兩面共五萬平方米的外牆上演「ICC聲光耀維港」燈光音樂匯演,以「單一建築物上最大型燈光音樂表演」晉身健力士世界紀錄。現時每晚有兩次演出,分別為7時45分至8時正,以及9時正至9時15分。

國際金融中心

在維港對岸,面對環球貿易廣場的,就是國際金融中心二期,這是香港第二高建築物。2003年《盜墓者羅拉》和2008年《蝙蝠俠》電影均在這裡取景,羅拉和蝙蝠俠就是在這被戲稱為「大鬚刨」的摩天大廈高處優雅地縱身躍下。

巴塞爾藝術展

香港在藝術方面向來發展不足,2008年香港國際藝術展首度舉行後,高古軒和白立方等畫廊於數年後相繼出現。2013年,國際藝術界盛事巴塞爾藝術展抵港,帶來國際藝術視野,令這個不斷變化的城市添上藝術氣息。

洋紫荊硬幣

前香港金融管理局總裁任志剛推出印有洋紫荊圖案的硬幣,取代有英女王伊利沙伯二世頭像的硬幣。洋紫荊是代表香港的市花。但有女王頭像的硬幣仍然流通,而且可能令你發一筆小財,因為在最近一個拍賣會上,一枚五仙女王頭像硬幣以5,000港元成交。

青馬大橋

剛好趕及在1997年主權移交前完工,它跨越馬灣海峽,不但在全球最長的懸索吊橋中排名11位,更是由香港市區通往機場的必經之路。

鬼佬啤酒

這家手工啤酒廠於2014年開業,由兩個居港英國人創立。兩人也許是嫌香港的啤酒太貴,所以把心一橫釀製自家品牌。這款獲獎啤酒的名稱甚有自嘲搞鬼意味,黑白兩色的樽身招紙印有廣東話「鬼佬」的字典釋義,這是香港人稱呼洋人的俗稱。

麥兜

這隻卡通小豬無處不在,由推廣游泳池衛生的政府宣傳片,到關於電飯煲機械人的電影,以至你正在看的這本雜誌,都曾有他的身影。麥兜出自本地漫畫家麥家碧和謝立文之手,自1990年代末開始,以尖刻的冷笑話來嘲諷在當代香港成長的點滴而聲名大噪,深受大人小朋友歡迎。

香港天際雞尾酒

位於環球貿易廣場(參看第11項)118樓的Ozone,是全球最高的露天酒吧,也是極具香港特色的酒吧:擁有巨型落地玻璃窗、柔和的燈光和新潮的菜式。來到這樣的酒吧,當然要來一杯名叫HK Skyline(香港天際線)的雞尾酒來應景。這款雞尾酒以冧酒、苦艾酒、烏龍茶糖漿、薰衣草「煙霧」以及多種洋溢異國情調的材料調配而成,風味獨特。

保育

近年,保育本土文物開始備受關注,一連串重大的保育項目接連推出,包括仿製傳統中式木帆船大張保號;將荷李活道的舊中區警署改建成有餐廳、博物館和藝廊的活化計劃;以及將在2017年底開幕的高級精品酒店The Murray。這家酒店位於中環紅棉路,前身是前政府總部樓美利大廈,改建工程由Foster + Partners建築事務所負責。

滄海遺珠

最後,我們想請你幫忙,尋找最後一樣代表香港的事物,你認為什麼最能代表現代香港?把你的想法告訴我們,在FacebookInstagramTwitter分享你心目中最能代表香港的東西,並加上#20years20icons主題標籤,我們將於7月底在cathaypacific.com/discovery上公佈最佳的建議。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Urban life

20 years, 20 icons: Symbols of Hong Kong

FIONNUALA MCHUGH and CATHY ADAMS guide us around the places, objects, people and phenomena that define two decades in this extraordinary city

After the signing of the Sino-British Joint Declaration in 1984, there was only one date on Hong Kong’s calendar: 30 June 1997. Millions of words were written, locally and globally, anticipating what was to come. These soothsayers were often uncheerful. Then Hong Kong stepped into its future and a funny thing happened: life carried on.

What really changed the Special Administrative Region was anticipated by no-one. The Asian financial crisis (which began when Thailand devalued its currency on 2 July 1997) and a nasty strain of flu in 2003 (which, by unfortunate coincidence, bore the city’s new initials) left deep marks. A new airport opened; old piers closed. Food (and coffee and culture and communications) greatly improved.

As Hong Kong moved forward it began to look back, assessing itself and its identity. Two decades ago, the endless question had been: ‘What will happen after 1997?’

Here are 20 answers.

Chek Lap Kok

On 6 July 1998, Chek Lap Kok opened for business when Cathay Pacific flight 889 landed at 6:27am from New York. The overnight shift from Kai Tak, the old airport with its white-knuckle-landing runway, had gone smoothly but technical glitches bedevilled early operations. Very soon though, it would soar to be one of the world’s best airports.

In The Mood For Love

Tony Leung won Best Actor at the 2000 Cannes film festival for his role in Wong Kar-wai’s critically acclaimed film. Its poignant depiction – both visual and aural – of 1960s Hong Kong shifted the cinematic representation of the city from Bruce Lee and triads to brooding retrospection.

Pui Pui

During the autumn of 2003, a non-native crocodile in a Yuen Long river began a seven-month standoff with officialdom, evading an imported Australian croc-hunter and experts from China. Its wily escapades diverted the uncertain, post-Sars public. It now resides at the Hong Kong Wetland Park.

Theme parks 

The city’s original theme park, Ocean Park, had opened back in 1977 – with its very Hong Kong mix of rollercoasters and cute animals. Then Disneyland happened. In September 2005, the local Magic Kingdom arrived on the scene, the smallest of Disney’s theme parks. It was specially tailored to the Chinese market: in homage to Hong Kong’s love of all things spooky, its Halloween celebrations are considerably more hardcore than in Walt’s other worlds.

Junks

These traditional bat-winged boats have returned to Hong Kong’s harbour in recent years. The Duk Ling, built in Macau in 1955, and the two Aqua Luna junks (built in 2006 and 2017 by one of Hong Kong’s last wooden-boat builders) are now highly photogenic icons of the past set against the city’s futuristic backdrop.

Ferry piers

The Star Ferry and Queen’s piers in Central were demolished in 2006 and 2008, as part of ongoing land reclamation. The razing was preceded by months of protest. Nostalgia, and issues about Hong Kong’s identity, had raised heritage awareness: the term ‘collective memory’ entered the SAR’s public consciousness.

Snoopy

In September 1998, McDonald’s launched a meal promotion selling Snoopy figures variously dressed in 28 national costumes. Mayhem ensued as the city went collectible crazy: police were required to control unruly queues. Baffled experts attributed the low-end consumer desire, and profiteering, to the Asian financial crisis.

King of Kowloon

Tsang Tsou-choi died in 2007, aged 86. He left no money but his imprint – the graffiti he painted obsessively on the city plus his claim to Kowloon royalty – still lingers, an appreciated individuality. In May, there was a public outcry when some of his work was accidentally erased.

Michelin Guide

The city’s dining diversity (including private kitchens and a varied coffee scene) has improved remarkably in the past two decades. Michelin’s Hong Kong and Macau edition was launched in December 2008. Purists questioned the inclusion of some exceptionally cheap spots but a street food section was added in 2016.

Dogs

Hong Kong’s canine love affair may be recent (and the Bowen Road dog poisoner still occasionally resurfaces) but it is intense. Ownership has rocketed in the last 20 years along with canine commerce. Dog grooming, dog accessories and dog bakeries are flourishing despite official resistance to dogs in public places.

ICC

At 484 metres tall, the International Commerce Centre (opened in 2010) in West Kowloon is the city’s tallest building. In 2013, it made Guinness World Records for its sound and light show, which uses 50,000 square metres on two sides of the building. Watch it each evening between 7:45-8pm and 9-9:15pm.

IFC

Facing off against the ICC across the harbour is Two International Finance Centre (IFC) – Hong Kong’s second tallest building. Notably, Lara Croft (in 2003) and Batman (in 2008) have, each, elegantly swooped off the skyscraper known, rather inelegantly, as the Hong Kong Finger.

Art Basel

In 2008, an art fair called ART HK opened in a culturally undeveloped city. In the following years, galleries such as Gagosian and White Cube began to appear. By 2013, Art Basel had arrived, bringing its international caravan in tow; and Hong Kong – a constant work in progress – had, once more, transformed itself.

Bauhinia coins

It was the decision of Joseph Yam Chi-kwong, former chief executive of Hong Kong Monetary Authority, to replace Queen Elizabeth’s head on the back of the city’s coins. The replacement was that most enduring Hong Kong symbol: the bauhinia flower. Coins with Queen Elizabeth on the back are still in circulation – and could net you a tidy fortune (to give you an idea: an old five cent coin recently sold at auction for HK$5,000).

Tsing Ma Bridge

Squeaking up just before the 1997 handover and holding the title of the world’s 11th-longest suspension bridge, the Tsing Ma Bridge crosses Hong Kong’s western Ma Wan Channel – but is better known for being the bridge that everybody crosses en route from Hong Kong’s urban core to the airport.

Gweilo Beer

This craft brewery first turned on the taps in 2014, after two Brits living in Hong Kong decided to brew their own rather than, we assume, pay the city’s (often wallet-busting) prices. The beer is both award-winning and tongue-in-cheek: its distinctive monochrome label is a dictionary definition of the Cantonese word ‘gweilo’, meaning ‘ghost chap’ – commonly used to describe Westerners.

McDull

This young animated pig has starred in everything from government ads advising on pool hygiene and a film about a rice cooker robot to a feature in this very magazine. Created by cartoonists Alice Mak and Brian Tse, McDull rose to city-wide fame in the late 1990s for his dryly humorous take on growing up in contemporary Hong Kong.

HK Skyline

Ozone, on the 118th floor of the ICC (see point 11), the highest alfresco bar in the world, is very much a modern Hong Kong drinking den: big windows, dim lights, sexy-stylish menu. When you’re in a bar like this, you need to drink a cocktail like the appropriately named HK Skyline – made with rum, absinthe, imperial oolong syrup and lavender ‘smoke’, among a long list of exotic ingredients.

Preservation

Until recently, preserving local heritage didn’t top Hong Kong’s to-do list. That is, until a number of landmark projects began: the Aqua Luna II; the proposed adaptive reuse of Hollywood Road’s Central Police Station into restaurants, a museum and an art gallery; plus the landmark end-of-2017 opening of the Murray Hotel – a super-luxe boutique designed by Foster + Partners in the Murray Building, a former government office, on Cotton Tree Drive.

What have we Missed?

We need your help to find the last icon. What sums up modern Hong Kong to you? Let us know what the last icon should be by tagging #20years20icons on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter. We’ll publish the best suggestions on cathaypacific.com/discovery at the end of July.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book