南非

邁向光明

已故南非總統曼德拉於1990年重獲自由,同時亦敞開了南非的大門。這個非凡的國家今年慶祝曼德拉100歲誕辰紀念,深入他的故鄉,追尋這位偉人的生平事蹟及貢獻

我實在聽不明白Christo Brand在講什麼,並非因為電話的線路有問題,而是他的英語夾雜了濃重的南非口音。我去過開普敦30多次,但仍聽不懂這種口音。

Christo跟我暢談他跟已故總統曼德拉一段非比尋常的友誼。這位南非領袖因對抗南非國民黨政府的種族隔離政策而入獄27年。本月適逢曼德拉100歲誕辰紀念,正好趁此機會對他和南非作更深入的了解。

我以「非比尋常」來形容Brand與曼德拉的友誼,是有原因的。當年曼德拉在開普敦的羅本島和Pollsmoor Prison監獄服刑時,Brand是其中一名負責看守他的獄卒。他起初將曼德拉視為恐怖分子,後來兩人卻成為好友。他曾秘密安排這位非洲人國民大會領袖在獄中與孫女會面,又於曼德拉70歲生日當天一起與他在囚室裡觀賞電影《末代皇帝溥儀》。

Brand憶述:「我於1978年10月首次見到曼德拉,當時我在羅本島工作了大約三個月。上司對我說,他是國內頭號恐怖分子,我們應當對他恨之入骨,但他那時年事已高,所以我對他有一分尊重。」Brand後來寫了《Mandela: My Prisoner, My Friend》一書,記述兩人的相處和友誼。這本書由John Blake Publishing出版。

羅本島是曼德拉於1963年至1982年被囚禁的地點,現在已成為旅客必到的開普敦觀光熱點。昔日曾在這裡服刑的囚友,今天擔任導遊一職,為前來監獄參觀的旅客講解各種詳情。請記住於出發前在網上預約,因為夏季是旅遊旺季,前來參觀的人非常多,加上今年適逢Madiba(當地人對曼德拉的暱稱)的百歲誕辰紀念,定會吸引更多旅客前往南非,進一步帶旺當地的旅遊業。

旅客在Victoria and Alfred Waterfront海濱廣場的碼頭乘坐渡輪,只需20分鐘就可抵達羅本島;而我則坐進租來的福士Golf車內,駕車沿著桌山駛去。昔日第六區的所在地就在我身旁出現,該區曾經是酒吧和爵士樂會所林立的繁華之地,不同種族的人在這裡聚居,十分熱鬧。主張種族隔離的政府當然將這個地方視為眼中釘,於是第六區在1970年代被夷為平地,當地60,000名非白人居民大部分被逼遷至遠離機場的市郊Mitchells Plain那裡去。如果我沿著M2高速公路繼續駛去,就可抵達那個沙塵滾滾的地方,但我拐了個彎,經過遍佈豪宅、整潔雅致的Constantia和Newlands兩區,再駛經多個葡萄園和板球場。

然後我來到綠意盎然的Tokai區內一個高爾夫球場,但那並非我的目的地,而是轉彎駛進最高度設防的Pollsmoor Prison監獄;那是曼德拉於1982年至1988年期間被囚禁的地方。

我承認這並非一般的觀光景點,但任何人若對曼德拉的生平感興趣,只需在駕車抵達後,讓守衛檢查一下車尾箱,就可以將汽車駛進監獄,踏足保安森嚴的監獄範圍,在獄警的飯堂裡用餐(不必擔心,你與那些在囚的黑幫慣犯仍有一段頗遠的距離)。

飯堂裡的食物當然並不是獲獎佳餚,不過價錢便宜。侍應是危險度低而且即將刑滿出獄的囚犯,他們在這裡接受職業訓練,以便出獄後能自力更生,走上正途。我點了一份早餐,有炒蛋、香腸、煙肉和多士。本來客人不應該打聽獄中人被囚的原因,但我實在按捺不住好奇心。招呼我的侍應缺了幾顆牙齒,我聽見他答道:「婊子(chicks)。」於是我再問:「跟女人有關嗎?」「才不!」他以口音極重的南非腔英語回答,元音在他嘴裡隨意吞吐。「我開空頭支票(cheques)……結果彈票了。」

向東駕車約45分鐘,聳立的山峰逐漸展現眼前。還未抵達山腳,就已見到不少葡萄酒莊的招牌。許多葡萄園都會安排品酒活動,並設有餐廳和咖啡室,以及綠樹成蔭的草坪,若客人興之所至,更可以就地野餐。如果在Paarl城附近的公路轉向,朝著以美食見稱的Franschhoek村駛去,途中見到通往Drakenstein Correctional Centre懲教中心的小路,可能令你覺得十分眼熟。

曼德拉就是在1990年2月11日從這裡脫離牢獄,步向自由,當時這個地方叫做維克托韋斯特監獄。旅客可以入內參觀曼德拉在獲釋前幾個月居住的小屋,不過需要在到訪前最少兩星期致電傳訊經理安排參觀事宜。

於是,我有機會坐在曼德拉先生曾經坐過的馬桶上,但沒有自拍,因為想保持對這個地方的尊重。然後有人帶我去看外面的燒烤爐,上面鑽了多個小孔,那是當時的政府安全機關為安裝竊聽器而鑽挖的。總括而言,這是一所平平無奇的磚砌平房……只是多了守衛和安裝了用帶刺鐵絲做的圍欄而已。

南非最大的城市約翰內斯堡距離開普敦約1,400公里,當地有幾個地點,可以讓遊客追溯曼德拉的足跡,了解他在漫長的鐵窗生涯前後的經歷。

祖魯語將約翰內斯堡稱為Jozi或Egoli,名聲一直不甚好。但是這個地方洋溢創意和活力,是我鍾情的地方。我知道只要找一位優秀的導遊替我安排行程,就可以享受愉快的時光;例如今次我找到的是Coffee Beans Routes旅行社(coffeebeansroutes.com)現年34歲的Michael Letlala。

Letlala建議到約翰內斯堡北部Rivonia區的Liliesleaf Farm農莊去。這個地方昔日曾是非洲人國民大會的秘密總部,於1963年被政府查封,導致曼德拉和其他成員受審,最終淪為階下囚。現在這裡已改建為博物館。

他也帶我參觀Sophiatown Heritage Centre歷史文化中心,並由當地一位居民帶領我們在區內徒步遊覽。這裡的命運跟第六區很相似,隨著主張種族隔離的南非國民黨上台,實施強制遷徙政策,這個曾經盛極一時的社區在1940年代開始受到破壞。就連區內的中國人,也被逼遷至約翰內斯堡市中心。

午後,我們在時尚的Maboneng Project區歇腳,坐下來喝咖啡時,Letlala告訴我:「我認為曼德拉留給後人的,是寬恕和愛,以及始終堅守目標的信念。」

數天後,經過一小時飛機和五小時車程後,我沿著顛簸的泥路,朝著印度洋方向前進,附近的Qunu村,是曼德拉出生和長眠之地。這裡是有「狂野海岸」之稱的東開普省,是個非常偏遠的地方,沒有電話訊號,或是可供電話或電腦充電的插座。

我跟Wild Child Africa (wildchildafrica.com)旅行社的東主Matt Botha及其伴侶Camilla Howard一起遠足,度過美好的五天。途中我們曾經將背囊高舉過頭渡河、在瀑布下淋浴、拯救迷途的山羊、遭受日曬雨淋、刮下石頭上的生蠔、遇上獨行的漁民,並沿著無人的海灘漫步。

一個晚上,我和Botha坐在燒得噼啪作響的營火旁邊聊天,他告訴我:「我記得1992年時,我參加了一隊13歲以下的少年欖球隊,有次我們乘車前往奧蘭治自由邦(現在改稱自由邦省)參加比賽,需要在當地度宿一宵。」 「正當我們準備離開旅遊巴時,領隊站起身來,對隊中唯一一名黑人隊友說:『抱歉,今晚你要留在車裡過夜,這家旅館只供白人入住。』很不幸,我們生於一個容許因為種族不同而將隊友留在巴士上過夜的南非。我真希望當時留在他身邊。」他說完之後,手拿著樹枝在撥著火堆,默然反思。

南非是個美好的國家,我一直認為國民是它最強大的資產。而作為一個度假勝地,也有不少獨特而吸引之處。有時候,如同Christo Brand的口音一樣,外人可能會認為南非難以了解;不過像Botha那樣的當地人都認為,這是世上最美麗而多元的國家,有數以百萬計的國民跟自己一樣無條件地愛護這個地方。和解與和平,可能是曼德拉留給當地最大的禮物。

曼德拉為旅遊業帶來的改變

自從曼德拉於1990年2月獲釋後,南非取消種族隔離政策,旅遊業亦開始蓬勃起來。在曼德拉獲釋的那個月,只有119,335名旅客到訪南非。他獲釋之前的一年,只有150萬國際旅客前往當地。

28年過去了,單是2018年3月就有261萬國際旅客進入南非國境,而2017年則共有1,030萬人前來旅行。旅客分別入住南非國內139萬家住宿設施,與當地在1990年只有約1,003家酒店供旅客入住的情況相比,這是個極大的增長。

國泰航空每周有七班由香港飛往約翰內斯堡的航班,從香港飛往開普敦的季節航班於
11月13日推出

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Johannesburg

Nelson Mandela tour, South Africa: How has the country changed?

When Nelson Mandela walked to freedom in 1990 he also opened the doors to South Africa. As this remarkable country celebrates the late president’s 100th birthday, WILL HIDE goes deep into the Mandela heartland in search of the man and the legacy

I am having trouble understanding Christo Brand. It’s not the quality of the phone line. Rather, it’s his thick-as-molasses South African accent when he talks in English. I’ve been to Cape Town more than 30 times but I’m struggling.

Brand is telling me about his unusual friendship with the late President Nelson Mandela – the man who was jailed for 27 years for his opposition to the National Party government’s policy of apartheid – and who was born 100 years ago this month.

Unusual? Brand was one of Mandela’s prison guards on Robben Island and at Pollsmoor Prison, both in Cape Town. He went from regarding Mandela as a terrorist to a close personal friend. He secretly arranged for the African National Congress leader to see his granddaughter in jail and sat with him in his cell on his 70th birthday watching the movie The Last Emperor.

‘I first met him in October 1978, about three months after I’d started my job on Robben Island,’ Brand recalls. ‘I was told he was the biggest terrorist in the country and we were supposed to hate him, but he was already an elderly man, and I treated him with respect.’ Brand is the author of Mandela: My Prisoner, My Friend (John Blake Publishing).

Robben Island, where Mandela was held from 1963 to 1982, is now an essential stop for any visitor to Cape Town. You can inspect the prison blocks and listen as former inmates act as tour guides. (Book online before you leave home: in summer it gets very busy.) Certainly, this centenary year in particular, the legacy of Madiba, as Mandela was affectionately known, acts as a lightning rod for tourism to the country and is a reason many people visit South Africa.

Away from the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, where you board the 20-minute ferry to Robben Island, I climbed into my rented VW Golf and drove round the side of Table Mountain. The former District Six neighbourhood spread out beside me. It was once a lively, thriving area with bars and jazz joints and people of all colours mixing. Which was a problem for the pro-apartheid government. So during the 1970s, District Six was bulldozed and most of its 60,000 non-white residents moved to the dusty suburb of Mitchells Plain, out beyond the airport. If I’d continued on the M2 motorway I’d have arrived there, but I turned off, past the neat, posh, gated suburbs of Constantia and Newlands, past vineyards and cricket grounds.

I reached the golf course in leafy Tokai, but that was not my destination. Instead I turned into the gates of Pollsmoor maximum-security prison, where Mandela was incarcerated between 1982 and 1988.

It’s an unusual tourist destination, I agree, but for those who want to travel on the Mandela trail, it’s possible for anyone – once they’ve had the boot of their car inspected – to drive in, park up and eat at the prison officers’ canteen deep inside the razor-wire protected fences (still well away from hardened gang members).

The food isn’t going to win awards: but it’s cheap. Your waiters are low-risk prisoners awaiting release and being trained for a vocation that will hopefully keep them on the straight and narrow. I was here for breakfast: fried eggs, sausage, bacon, toast. You’re not supposed to ask why people are incarcerated but I couldn’t resist. ‘Bad chicks,’ I was told by my server, who was missing a few teeth. ‘Problems with women?’ I responded. ‘Nah man,’ he replied in heavily accented South African English, where vowels are swallowed up and flung about with abandon. ‘I was writing bad cheques… they bounced.’

Drive east for around 45 minutes and mountains start to rear up in front of you. Before you reach them, signs for wineries become prolific. Many vineyards offer tastings and have restaurants and cafes, as well as tree-shaded lawns on which to spread out an impromptu picnic. If you turn off the motorway near Paarl and head towards the foodie village of Franschhoek, the driveway of the Drakenstein Correctional Centre might look familiar.

It was from here that Mandela walked to freedom on 11 February 1990, when it was known as Victor Verster Prison. With a bit of planning you can go inside to see the cottage where he spent the last few months of his captivity; you just need to call and ask for the communication manager with at least two weeks’ notice.

So I got to sit on Mr Mandela’s toilet, although I thought it would have betrayed the dignity of the place to take a selfie. And I was shown the holes drilled in the barbecue outside where the security services planted their bugging devices. It was all in all a very ordinary brick bungalow… if you ignored the guards and the barbed-wire fence.

In Johannesburg, some 1,400 kilometres away from Cape Town, there is an unofficial Mandela trail that you can follow, reflecting Madiba’s life here both before and after his long incarceration.

Joburg – aka Jozi or Egoli, its Zulu name – has found it hard to shake off its gritty reputation. But it’s a place I love, that pulses with creativity and energy. I always have a great time there as long as I place myself in the hands of a good guide, such as 34-year-old Michael Letlala from Coffee Beans Routes (coffeebeansroutes.com).

Letlala suggested heading to Liliesleaf Farm in Rivonia, in the north of the city, now a museum. It was once the secret headquarters of the African National Congress and a raid there by the government in 1963 led to Mandela and others being put on trial and then jailed.

He also took me to visit Sophiatown Heritage Centre. Here we were hosted by a resident on a walking tour of the area, which, in similar fashion to District Six, was a lively district that was destroyed from the 1940s onwards as the forced-removal policies of the pro-apartheid National Party took hold. Even the neighbourhood’s Chinese population was relocated to the centre of Johannesburg.

‘I think Mandela’s legacy is one of forgiveness, love and to never stop believing in your goals,’ Letlala told me as we paused in the afternoon for coffee in the trendy Maboneng Project area.

A few days – including an hour’s flight and a five-hour drive – later I’m bumping along a dirt road towards the Indian Ocean, not far from Qunu where Mandela was born and where he’s buried. This is the Eastern Cape, also known as the Wild Coast. Kiss goodbye to phone signal or plug sockets to recharge the trinkets of 21st century life.

I spend five glorious days hiking with Matt Botha and his partner Camilla Howard, who run tour company Wild Child Africa (wildchildafrica.com). We cross rivers with backpacks held above our heads, bathe under waterfalls,

rescue lost goats, get rained on, get sunburnt, scrape oysters off rocks, meet solitary fishermen and walk along empty beaches.

‘I remember in 1992,’ Botha tells me around a crackling fire one evening, ‘I was playing in an under-13s rugby team and we’d driven to a match in the Orange Free State [known today as the province of Free State] where we had to stay overnight.

‘Just as we were about to get off the bus, the team manager stood up and said to the only black player, “Sorry, you need to stay on here tonight. This hostel is for whites only.” Unfortunately we were born into a South Africa that made it acceptable to leave a teammate on a bus because of who he was. How I wish that I had stayed with him.’ He pokes at the flames with a stick and reflects silently.

South Africa is a gorgeous country whose strongest asset, I’ve always felt, is its people. As holiday destinations go, it’s hard to beat. At times, like Christo Brand’s accent, it might be hard for outsiders to fathom but locals like Botha believe it’s the most beautiful and diverse country on Earth with millions of people who, like him, love the place unconditionally. The legacy of reconciliation and peace is perhaps Mandela’s greatest gift.

How Mandela changed tourism

Since Nelson Mandela was released in February 1990, and South Africa’s apartheid policies removed, the country’s tourism industry has boomed. In the month of Mandela’s release, just 119,335 tourists visited the country. In the year before his release, there were just 1.5 million international visitors.

Twenty-eight years on, 2.61 million international visitors entered the country in March 2018 alone – and during 2017, 10.3 million arrived on South Africa’s shores. They’re staying in its 1.39 million accommodation units. In 1990, there were an estimated 1,003 hotels for visitors.

Cathay Pacific flies to Johannesburg from Hong Kong seven times a week.
A seasonal service to Cape Town launches on 13 November

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book