華盛頓州

十個到訪西雅圖的理由

西雅圖是美國經濟增長最快的大城市。話雖如此,西雅圖的魅力並不止於這股幹勁;當地戶外景點和文化勝地依然瀰漫著一股慢活氣氛。隨著國泰航空開辦前往西雅圖的不停站航班,我們搜羅了十個到訪這個城市的理由

翠綠之城

對於當地人來說,身在市區又能同時輕易親近大自然,是西雅圖一直以來的魅力所在。佔地216公頃的Discovery Park公園是西雅圖最大的綠化空間,那裡的石灘、叢林和草地(還有燈塔及其他堡壘遺蹟),教人樂而忘返。走在4.5公里的Loop Trail步道上,你可暢遊各個景點,包括飽覽普吉特海灣及雷尼爾山的瞭望台,沿途更可發現海豹、大藍鷺,以及其他大大小小野生動物的蹤影;據報這裡有超過270個雀鳥品種出沒。至於位處公園東南面的Seward Park公園則是白頭鷹的家園,牠們在原始的花旗松、紅雪松與草莓樹林中棲息。

有價有市

Lauren Segal

1907年,西雅圖一群農夫逃避經銷商的剝削,攜手開辦派克市場;時至今日,這個農產品市場每年吸引1,000萬本地人和旅客到訪(平日早上人流較少)。市場於2017年進行擴建,並添上裝置藝術,同時為Old Stove Brewing Co釀酒廠等即場製作產品的企業開設「農產品職人市集」。來到市集入口,你便會嗅到鮮花的芬芳,看到魚販高高懸掛的三文魚。若想品嚐海鮮餐,不妨一試餐廳Matt’s in the Market的馳名炸鯰魚三文治;而Beecher’s Handmade Cheese的芝士通心粉和濃郁而充滿堅果香的招牌芝士,亦深受食客喜愛。至於Metsker Maps of Seattle商店售賣的各款地圖和旅遊配件,必定能討得一眾環球旅人歡心。

本土風味

Lauren Segal

作為環球咖啡巨頭星巴克的發源地,西雅圖的咖啡文化可謂根深蒂固,更孕育出不少地道咖啡小店。派克市場對面的Seattle Coffee Works咖啡店提供咖啡慢品體驗,讓旅客細味手作咖啡藝術,以及微妙的色香味層次。位於East Pike Street大街的Victrola咖啡店選用自家烘培的單一產地咖啡豆,每逢星期三更在店內舉行免費試飲,至於Espresso Vivace路邊咖啡吧則已在國會山屹立30年,其咖啡拉花藝術,以及用意大利北部特濃咖啡調配而成的絲滑奶泡咖啡深受當地人愛戴。

音樂本色

Lauren Segal

90年代初,頹廢搖滾樂隊Nirvana、Pearl Jam、Soundgarden和Alice in Chains以怒氣衝天的歌詞、變音結他和破牛仔褲配格紋裇衫的造型,令西雅圖稱霸流行榜。今天,曾首播Nirvana作品的KEXP電台仍然繼續熱捧當地的獨立音樂,包括另類搖滾樂隊Band of Horses及饒舌歌手Macklemore。若想窺探錄音室的廬山真面目並盡情選購心水黑膠唱片,便要逛逛唱片店Light in the Attic Record Shop。至於音樂人偏愛的演出舞台The Crocodile同時是潮人消遣甚至一展歌喉的勝地;另一個欣賞樂手現場演出的好去處是Paramount Theatre戲院,其建築風格洋溢新古典主義氣息,宏偉非常。

捕獲鮮味

Lauren Segal

西雅圖人有多少種烹調海鮮方法?可真是多不勝數!首先有位於巴拉德區的小食酒吧The Walrus and the Carpenter,由西雅圖名廚Renee Erickson主理,為你奉上肥美的本地生蠔。再來是充滿漁排情調的餐廳Rockcreek炮製的海鮮盛宴,包括來自華盛頓Totten Inlet內灣的青口、Casco Bay海灣的安康魚以至夏威夷吞拿魚。向西走,Mashiko餐廳創意十足的廚師發辦套餐,壽司全選用可持續食材製作。至於餐廳Salty’s on Alki則提供琳瑯滿目的早午自助餐,讓你飽嚐鹽焗三文魚、周打海鮮湯,以及普吉特海灣特產的大蜆等鮮美滋味,飯後更可欣賞艾略特灣一望無際的絕色美景,以及西雅圖迷人的天際綫。

Lauren Segal

小島偷閒

如果沒有登上西雅圖的渡輪,見識全美國最龐大的渡輪網絡,那真是枉稱到過西雅圖。坐船橫渡艾略特灣,在35分鐘的船程中,一邊欣賞海岸美景,一邊前往班布里治島,來一趟難忘的一日遊。在島上步行到主要城鎮維斯洛的途中,會經過富現代感的班布里治島藝術博物館、大量特色小店,以及主打當地食材的人氣餐廳,其中Hitchcock以蠔、三文魚及以傳統方式牧養的Mangalitsa豬而聞名,而Mora Iced Creamery雪糕店的黑莓和薰衣草雪糕亦同樣令人回味無窮。如果想探索自然風光,可以從Classic Cycle單車店租借單車或漫步於Bloedel Reserve自然保護區,一次過飽覽太平洋西北岸的壯麗景致,觀賞高聳的雪松、茂盛的草地和脫俗的苔蘚花園。

Lauren Segal

文學之光

根據銷量數據,西雅圖乃「美國最有書香味的城市」,就算在亞馬遜公司當道的今天,當地人依然鍾情光顧心愛的實體小書店。Elliott Bay Book Company書店每年舉辦超過500場作者讀書會,而店內古色古香的松木書櫃,想必能令書蟲樂而忘返。奪目而充滿時代感的西雅圖中央圖書館出自建築大師Rem Koolhaus之手,另外Alexis Hotel酒店內的Bookstore Bar酒吧亦是開卷勝地,而且還可同時淺呷鷄尾酒。文學經典更會在Book-It Repertory Theatre劇場的舞台上重現。由此可見,西雅圖能夠躋身聯合國教科文組織指定的30多個文學之城的行列,並非浪得虛名。

Lauren Segal

玻璃藝術

Lauren Segal

在西雅圖土生土長的Dale Chihuly曾於威尼斯玻璃工廠習藝,其後自成一家,以從大自然擷取創作靈感的大型玻璃雕塑聞名,而奇胡利玻璃藝術園將這種與自然的連繫活現眼前。館內設有巨型溫室,並懸掛著一件30米長的橙色雕像,室外則綠樹成蔭,玻璃作品星羅棋佈。抬頭遠眺,可見翻新後的太空針塔。這座高聳入雲的塔樓,設有露天觀景台,並有玻璃長凳供訪客休憩,下層舖設世界首個旋轉玻璃地板,城市風光一覽無遺。新落成的溫室The Spheres位於市中心,由三個巨型玻璃球體組成,內有40,000棵來自世界各地雲霧森林的植物。此外,這座建築隸屬亞馬遜公司總部一部分,每月有兩個星期六免費開放予公眾參觀。

博古通今

Chuck Pefley / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

西雅圖的博物館重質兼重量,媲美世界級城市,當中以奧林匹克雕塑公園最為壯觀。公園前身是海濱工業區,現成為擺放Alexander Calder、Richard Serra及Teresa Fernandez等藝術大師作品的園區。這裡全天候免費開放,訪客可從遊客中心出發,沿蜿蜒的步行徑前行,經過縱橫交錯的舊火車軌,直抵岩石嶙峋的海岸線。西雅圖亞洲藝術博物館位於野趣盎然的國會山義工公園,這幢裝飾藝術風格的建築,目前正進行擴建修繕,並將於今年重開;這兩個景點均是西雅圖文化地標西雅圖藝術博物館的分館。

探本尋源

西雅圖在發展成科技樞紐的同時,亦改變了城市的面貌,因此觸動了老一派西雅圖人的神經。縱使市中心多個社區不斷革新,巴拉德及弗里等地區仍然奮力保留原有特色。如想向北歐漁夫開發的巴拉德區歷史文化致敬,可一訪北歐博物館及滿佈船隻和三文魚養殖場的Hiram M. Chittenden Locks水道系統。現時巴拉德區的工人已不再以捕魚為生,轉而在Stoup Brewery釀酒廠釀製手工啤酒,或生產在Venue精品店販售的珠寶與紙製品。巴拉德區東邊的弗里區是新興的美食天堂,餐廳Kamonegi的蕎麥麵更教人欲罷不能,然而當地的公共藝術,依然保留了區內稀奇古怪的本質,俯伏在極光大橋下的怪獸雕塑就是一例。至於冬至巡遊等大型節慶活動,更盡情釋放著城中最放肆不羈的狂歡氣氛。

國泰航空由3月31日起設有由香港飛往西雅圖的航班,每周有四班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Washington State

10 reasons to visit Seattle

Seattle is the US’s fastest-growing big city. But amid this energy, a slower life pervades in its outdoor gems and cultural institutions. As Cathay Pacific launches Hong Kong's only non-stop service there, we round up 10 reasons to visit

Get out

For many locals, Seattle’s enduring appeal lies in the ease of embracing the outdoors, even within city limits. Its largest green space, the 216-hectare Discovery Park, is a wonderland of rocky beaches, forests and meadows (plus a lighthouse and other sites dating to its origins as a fort). The Loop Trail takes you on a 4.5-kilometre jaunt through these landscapes, including a lookout point for views of the Puget Sound and Mount Rainier. Keep an eye out for seals, great blue herons and other creatures great and small; more than 270 bird species have been spotted. Bald eagles reside to the southeast in Seward Park, amid old-growth Douglas firs, red cedars and madrones.

Market value

Lauren Segal

Opened in 1907 by farmers eager to cut out the middleman, Pike Place Market now welcomes 10 million locals and visitors annually (weekday mornings tend to be least crowded). A 2017 expansion added art installations and a ‘meet the producers’ hall for businesses like Old Stove Brewing Co that make products on-site. At the entrance, you’re greeted by the scent of fresh flowers and the sight of flying salmon slung by fishmongers. For a seafood meal, Matt’s in the Market stands out for its fried catfish sandwich. Beecher’s Handmade Cheese is another favourite, whether for a bowl of mac and cheese or a hunk of its nutty, tangy signature. And globetrotters will appreciate the atlases and accessories at Metsker Maps of Seattle

Local brews

Lauren Segal

Seattle is the birthplace of global juggernaut Starbucks. Amid the city’s rich coffee culture, small-scale purveyors have cropped up, and you won’t find them anywhere else. Across from Pike Place Market, Seattle Coffee Works’ Slow Bar tasting experience gives participants a deeper appreciation for flavour nuances and the art of manual brewing. Victrola roasts its own single-origin coffee and hosts free tastings at its East Pike Street location on Wednesdays. In Capitol Hill, Espresso Vivace’s pavement bar has been a fixture for about 30 years – beloved for its latte art and silky cappuccinos made with northern Italian espresso. 

Musicians who come as they are

Seattle
Lauren Segal

In the early ’90s, grunge acts Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden and Alice in Chains put Seattle at the top of the charts with their angst-ridden lyrics, guitar distortion and fashion (ripped jeans, tartan). Radio station KEXP, the first to play Nirvana on air, has continued to champion local talent, from indie rockers Band of Horses to rapper Macklemore. Stop by for a studio tour and browse the vinyl at on-site Light in the Attic Record Shop. As for live shows, the cool kids still want to play The Crocodile, which doubles as a neighbourhood hangout thanks to back bar events like karaoke, and the grander beaux-arts Paramount Theatre.

The freshest catch

Lauren Segal

How does Seattle do seafood? Let us count the ways. First come regional oysters for slurping at The Walrus and the Carpenter, Renee Erickson’s celebrated small-plates bar in Ballard. Rockcreek casts a wider net, serving mussels from Washington’s Totten Inlet as well as Casco Bay monkfish and Hawaiian tuna, in a fishing lodge-inspired space. In West Seattle, creative omakase menus of sustainable-only sushi await at Mashiko, while Salty’s on Alki serves up a bountiful brunch buffet, including salt-crusted salmon, chowder and Puget Sound clams. Come for the food and stay for its front-row view of Elliott Bay and the skyline.

Lauren Segal

Island getaway

Seattle operates the country’s most extensive ferry network, and a visit isn’t complete without hopping aboard. Bainbridge Island makes an appealing day trip, only a 35-minute scenic ride across Elliott Bay. Walking up to the main town of Winslow, you’ll pass the contemporary Bainbridge Island Museum of Art and an eclectic mix of boutiques and locavore dining spots – notably Hitchcock, for oysters, salmon and heritage-breed Mangalitsa hogs, and Mora Iced Creamery for blackberry and lavender flavours. To explore the island’s wild side, rent a bike from Classic Cycle or wander the Bloedel Reserve, which shows off the Pacific Northwest’s majesty (towering cedars; blooming meadows; an ethereal moss garden). 

Seattle
Lauren Segal

Literary luminaries

Amazon named Seattle ‘America’s most well-read city’ based on sales data – but Seattleites are often fiercely loyal to their preferred indie bookstore. The Elliott Bay Book Company hosts more than 500 author readings a year, and bookworms can while away a few hours browsing its cedar shelves. The Central Library, with a strikingly modern Rem Koolhaus design, and the Alexis Hotel’s Bookstore Bar are other places to curl up with a good read (and, at the latter, a stiff cocktail). Classics come to life through the Book-It Repertory Theatre’s stage adaptations. It’s enough to earn Seattle a UNESCO City of Literature designation, one of only about 30 worldwide.

Seattle
Lauren Segal

Art of glass

Lauren Segal

Seattle-area native Dale Chihuly studied at a Venice glass factory before founding his own school and making a name for his large-scale sculptures inspired by nature. Chihuly Garden and Glass plays off that relationship: the indoor centrepiece is a conservatory soaring enough for a 30-metre-long suspended sculpture in citrus hues; outdoors, his works punctuate an oasis of actual plants. Overhead, the renovated Space Needle features an open-air observation deck with glass benches and a lower level with the world’s first rotating glass floor. Also new is The Spheres, a trio of enormous glass orbs full of 40,000 plants sourced from cloud forests worldwide. It’s part of Amazon’s downtown headquarters and open to the public two Saturdays a month.

Museum scene

Chuck Pefley / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Seattle has a quality and quantity of museums on a par with any world-class city. Its most spectacular is Olympic Sculpture Park, a former industrial stretch of waterfront that now showcases installations by the likes of Alexander Calder, Richard Serra and Teresa Fernandez. A path zigzags from the visitor pavilion across former train tracks and down to the rocky shoreline. It’s free and open 365 days a year. Capitol Hill’s Volunteer Park is the bucolic setting for the art-deco Asian Art Museum, slated to reopen this year after extensive renovations. They’re both offshoots of the Seattle Art Museum, the city’s cultural grande dame.

Pride of place

Seattle’s rise as a tech hub is remaking the city and fostering debate among old-timers. Even as downtown neighbourhoods change, others like Ballard and Fremont are striving to stay distinctive. The former was founded by industrious Scandinavian fishermen; pay tribute to that heritage at the Nordic Museum and the Hiram M. Chittenden Locks, a waterway system for boats and spawning salmon. Ballard’s modern-day workers produce craft beer at Stoup Brewery and jewellery and paper goods sold at Venue. To the east, Fremont has a hip food scene (Kamonegi’s soba noodles are habit forming) but still keeps things weird with its public art – a troll lurks under Aurora Bridge – and freewheeling festivals like the Solstice Parade.

Cathay Pacific flies to Seattle from Hong Kong four times a week starting 31 March