印尼

10個到訪印尼棉蘭的理由

印尼第三大城市棉蘭不但是文化熔爐,更是探索蘇門答臘北部大自然生態的門戶

1. 靜謐湖畔

Lake Toba is a gem near Medan
credit: Matthew Oldfield

多峇湖明淨如鏡,山巒環抱,難怪成為印尼官方十大旅遊景點之一。它距離棉蘭四小時車程,是印尼最大的火山口湖及淡水湖,水深達505米。來到多峇湖畔的Tongging村,遊人可近距離欣賞迷人的湖光山色,或漫步於大街小巷,感受純樸的農村氣氛。

沙摩西島坐落於多峇湖中央,只需從Parapat小鎮的主要碼頭乘坐渡輪,約半小時便可抵達,是體驗當地文化的勝地。在沙摩西島,訪客不妨前往King Sidabutar王的長眠之地King Sidabutar王墓,並觀賞Sigale-gale葬禮舞蹈,其中一角由真人大小的木偶演出,以蘇門答臘北部少數民族巴塔克的傳統音樂伴奏,講述王子戰死沙場的故事。

2. 印度風情

Little India in Medan
credit: Matthew Oldfield

Kampung Madras是泰米爾族在印尼的主要聚居地,有「棉蘭小印度」之稱。印度人遷居當地的歷史可追溯至19世紀中,當時荷蘭殖民政府將印度工人送往該區興建樓房。想品嚐印度煎餅和其他受印度文化影響的美食?到這裡的攤檔準沒錯。若適逢印度重大節慶,更可體驗精采繽紛的熱鬧慶祝活動。

3. 護膚溫泉

A hot spring resort in Berastagi, near to Medan
credit: Matthew Oldfield

距離棉蘭約兩小時車程的Berastagi鎮是水療迷的天堂,當地的西巴亞克火山不斷湧出含硫磺的泉水,讓旅客可在火山腳下泡溫泉。不少遊人選擇徒步到活 火山口觀賞氤氳繚繞的人間仙境,再到Semangat Gunung村浸泡舒緩身心的硫磺池。他們相信池水中的礦物具有護膚功效,在深夜時浸泡事半功倍,所以村落在夜裡特別熱鬧。

4. 中華之光

Tjong A Fie Mansion
credit: Matthew Oldfield

祖籍中國廣東省的客家人張阿輝,在蘇門答臘經營不同業務,生產砂糖及棕櫚油,但他最為人稱頌的是資助棉蘭興建大橋、學校及宗教場所等公共設施。樓高兩層的張阿輝故居現開放予公眾參觀。這座建於1900年的宅邸佔地一公頃,修復後各個客廳、主人房、相片廊及宴會廳均保留原有的陳設。他的哥哥張榕軒亦不讓弟弟專美,為當地的發展貢獻良多,張榕軒博物館展出了他的舊照、衣物及樂器等紀念品,向其致敬。博物館建築群的花園特別值得一遊,那裡設有多個池塘和悉心修剪的樹籬。

5. 窩心美食

Snack time at Kedai Kopi Apek
credit: Matthew Oldfield

棉蘭的飲食文化五味紛陳,融合巴塔克、中國、印度、馬拉及米南(蘇門答臘西部一個少數民族)的特色。Pasar Hindu印度市集對面的Kedai Kopi Apek咖啡室以位於蘇門答臘北部小鎮詩地加蘭的咖啡馳名,採用當地的小果咖啡豆調泡,伴以柴燒爐烤焗的自家製咖央(椰子蛋醬)多士,滋味無窮。
如想品嚐更飽腹的美食,不妨試試以椰奶烹調的棉蘭湯品soto medan。位於Sei Deli大道的RM Sinar Pagi餐廳於1962年開業,食客可選配牛肉或雞肉,再佐以馬鈴薯餡餅、白飯及參巴醬。此外,千萬別錯過Kumango大道的Bihun Bebek Asie餐廳,小店主打中式鴨肉米粉,鴨湯中有大量鴨肉絲、炸蒜及芥菜,風味甚佳。

6. 瀑布奇觀

Two Colours Waterfall in Tongging Village
credit: Gregorius Bhisma Adinaya / EyeEm / Getty Images

約74,000年前的一次大規模火山爆發,形成了多峇湖北陲Tongging村內壯觀的Sipiso-piso瀑布。沿天梯拾級而下,便能到達120米下的瀑布底部。此外,坐落於Sibolangit區的雙色瀑布同樣聞名遐邇,吸引遊客慕名而至,觀賞由藍色漸變成灰白色的潺潺流水。瀑布位於森林內,需要步行兩小時方可到達,適合熱愛大自然的旅客。

7. 叢林穿梭

Jungle treks in Bukit Lawang
credit: Matthew Oldfield

Bukit Lawang熱帶叢林距離棉蘭約3.5小時車程,只要踏上其遠足路徑,便有機會一睹罕有的蘇門答臘猩猩,大開眼界。村莊屬於Mount Leuser國家公園的一部分,是猩猩保育中心的所在地,在導遊帶領下,遠足旅客也有機會遇到長尾獼猴、土生土長的托馬斯氏葉猴及長臂猿。這類遠足導賞團是整個村落的重要收入來源,並由原住民擔任導遊。

8. 堂皇宮殿

Maimun Palace in Sunatra
credit: Matthew Oldfield

棉蘭除了與中國和印度文化頗有淵源之外,亦保留了馬拉的文化根源。馬來回教的德利皇朝蘇丹曾統治蘇門答臘,其統治者於1891年興建了馬伊姆王宮,宮殿糅合印尼、波斯及歐洲建築風格。王宮共有40個廳房,地牢設有牢獄。遊人可在王宮內的攤檔租借馬來傳統服飾,收費則視乎所選擇的布料品質及配飾而定。

9. 宗教勝地

The Great Mosque of Medan
credit: Matthew Oldfield

棉蘭匯聚不同宗教,信眾最多的依次為回教、基督教、佛教及印度教,足以證明當地有多元種族聚居。不少教堂或寺廟均混合了不同的建築風格,反映其文化共融。例如病人之痊聖母教堂是形似印度廟的天主教堂,供奉聖母瑪利亞,相傳她曾於17世紀在印度南部泰米爾納德邦的岸邊村落顯靈。棉蘭大清真寺則是區內著名地標,由荷蘭建築師設計,於1909年竣工,呈八角形,採用意大利、德國及中國的大理石及法國的彩色玻璃等建材興建。要數香火最鼎盛,便是佛道一家的東岳觀建築群,其歷史可追溯至1960年代。而在Berastagi鎮則有Lumbini Natural Park自然公園,這裡的南傳佛教寺廟建築群連花園佔地四公頃,模仿緬甸著名的仰光大金寺興建,當中多座佛像更是從緬甸運來。

10. 土產水果

Homegroen fruits in Medan
credit: Matthew Oldfield

印尼現任總統佐科維多多到訪棉蘭時,曾親赴Ucok Durian榴槤市場品嚐以甜美著
稱的本地榴槤。如果想品嚐更多當地土產水果,可到棉蘭市郊Berastagi鎮,到訪熙來攘往的Berastagi水果市場。甜橙當然是首選,但蛇皮果、山竹和柿子等同樣是當地盛產的水果,亦不妨一試。

 本地情報

「作為馬六甲海峽的貿易城市,棉蘭不但歷史悠久,更是前往蘇門答臘北部的門戶。從這裡可以出發前往秀麗迷人的多峇湖,以及雄偉但經常爆發的錫納朋火山。不過它並不僅是一座門戶城市,當地豐富的多元文化才是其引人入勝之處,為旅客提供豐富繽紛的體驗、歷史和景點。」

國泰航空印尼地區經理Chris Bowden

「棉蘭除了各式各樣的文化遺址,它的美食亦充份展現出當地的多元文化主義。在這裡你可以品嚐到巴塔克、爪哇、米南、馬來、印度及中國佳餚,感受這些文化如何影響棉蘭,並從中建構出當地的身份象徵。」

JW棉蘭萬豪酒店銷售和市場總監Fred Reynold

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Indonesia

10 Reasons to Visit Medan, Indonesia

Medan, Indonesia’s third largest city, is not only a rich melting pot of cultures but also an entry point to the wild nature of North Sumatra. And it's easier to experience now that Cathay Dragon has started flights to the bustling metropolis. Words by RANDY MULYANTO, Photos by MATTHEW OLDFIELD

1. Lakeside Serenity

credit: Matthew Oldfield

With its glassy surface and surrounding mountains, it’s easy to see why Lake Toba has been included in the Indonesian government’s ‘10 priority tourism destinations’. The lake (four hours by car from Medan) is the country’s largest to result from a crater, and it’s the largest freshwater reservoir, with a depth reaching 505 metres. Tongging Village is located on Lake Toba’s periphery and is an accessible spot to have a closer look at the lake. Stroll through the streets to enjoy the quietness of the farming community.

Lake Toba also presents a cultural side on Samosir Island, which sits in the middle of the lake. It takes about half an hour to get to the island by ferry from the main pier, in the town of Parapat. Once on the island, visitors can check out the Tomb of King Sidabutar and watch a Sigale-gale funeral dance, which involves a life-size wooden puppet as one of the characters. Inspired by the story of a king’s son who died on the battlefield, the performance is accompanied by traditional music of the Batak (a North Sumatran ethnic group).

2. Slice of India

credit: Matthew Oldfield

Home to the largest ethnic Tamil community in Indonesia, Kampung Madras is known as Medan’s Little India. Indians’ history here dates back to the mid-19th century, when the Dutch colonialists sent Indian workers to the area, mainly as construction workers. Craving some roti canai flatbread? The stalls in this neighbourhood are sure bets for this and numerous other Indian-influenced dishes. If you’re in town during a big Indian festival, you’ll find all the vibrant celebrations here.

3. Some Like It Hot

credit: Matthew Oldfield

In Berastagi, about two hours from Medan, spa junkies can go for a hot spring dip at the foot of Mount Sibayak, thanks to its crater filled with sulphurous water. Many hike to the crater on the active volcano for steam-enveloped views, then head to the relaxing sulphur pools found at Semangat Gunung village. The minerals in the water are supposed to be good for the skin, and many visitors enjoy the springs late at night because they believe it’s a more effective healing experience.

4. Fascinating Chinese Heritage

credit: Matthew Oldfield

Born in China’s Guangdong province, Hakka Chinese Tjong A Fie established several businesses in Sumatra, producing sugar and palm oil. What earned him widespread admiration, however, was his funding of public facilities in Medan such as bridges, schools and places of worship. His residence, the two-storey Tjong A Fie Mansion, is open to visitors. Built in 1900, the restored property occupying one hectare shows off a number of living rooms, the master bedroom, a photo gallery and a ballroom with their original furnishings. Tjong’s older brother, Tjong Yong Hian, was also involved in the city’s development, and his life is honoured at Tjong Yong Hian Gallery, a museum that houses memorabilia such as old photos, clothing and musical instruments that belonged to him. The compound’s garden is the highlight, consisting of ponds and manicured hedges.

5. Comfort Food

credit: Matthew Oldfield

Medan has a rich culinary scene, with influences from Batak, Chinese, Indian, Malay and Minang (an ethnic group from West Sumatra) cultures. Kedai Kopi Apek, across from Pasar Hindu (Hindu Market), is a shop offering coffee that uses Arabica beans sourced from the North Sumatran town of Sidikalang. Toast with homemade kaya (coconut egg jam) is prepared on a firewood stove. If you prefer something more filling, try soto medan, a Medan-style soup made with coconut milk. RM Sinar Pagi on Sei Deli Road has been selling the dish since 1962. You can choose beef or chicken for the protein, and it’s all served with perkedel kentang (potato patties), white rice and sambal. Don’t miss Bihun Bebek Asie on Kumango Road. It serves Chinese-style duck vermicelli soup with a generous portion of shredded duck meat in duck broth, along with fried garlic and mustard greens.

6. Waterfall Adventures

credit: Gregorius Bhisma Adinaya / EyeEm / Getty Images

A massive eruption that took place about 74,000 years ago resulted in Sipiso-piso Waterfall, located in Tongging village, at the northern tip of Lake Toba. Walk down the hundreds of steps paved into the landscape to reach the 120-metre waterfall’s bottom. Also well known is the Two Colours Waterfall. Located in Sibolangit district, it’s famed for its blue and greyish-white colour gradations. Getting there requires a two-hour trek through the forest – perfect for nature lovers.

7. Jungle Treks

credit: Matthew Oldfield

About 3.5 hours from Medan, the jungles of Bukit Lawang offer eye-opening treks, with the chance to see rare Sumatran orangutans. Part of Mount Leuser National Park, the village is home to an orangutan rehabilitation centre. During a guided trek, visitors are also likely to spot long-tailed macaques, indigenous Thomas’ langurs and gibbons. All of the guides here are local residents, so the trekking operations are an important source of income for the community.

8. Palatial Grandeur

credit: Matthew Oldfield

Apart from its Chinese and Indian heritage, Medan also preserves its Malay cultural ties. Established in 1891 by the late ruler of the Sultanate of Deli, a Malay and Muslim sultanate that no longer rules in Sumatra, Maimun Palace incorporates Indonesian, Persian and European architecture styles. It has 40 rooms, as well as a prison in the basement. Visitors are invited to change into traditional Malay clothes, available at one of several stalls inside the palace, with fees depending on your choice of fabric quality and accessories.

9. Worship Sites

credit: Matthew Oldfield

With adherents to Islam, Christianity, Buddhism and Hinduism (in that order of prevalence), Medan’s mix of religions reflects its ethnic diversity. Its places of worship, many of them built in hybrid styles, represent this mix. Our Lady of Good Health Church, for example, is a Catholic church resembling an Indian temple. It honours Mary, who is said to have appeared in a coastal village in the southern Indian state of Tamil Nadu in the 17th century. The Great Mosque of Medan is a major landmark. Designed by a Dutch architect and completed in 1909, it features an octagonal shape and materials including marble from Italy, Germany and China, and stained glass from France. Meanwhile, Gunung Timur Temple is an active Taoist and Buddhist temple complex that dates back to the 1960s. In the town of Berastagi lies Lumbini Natural Park, a four-hectare Theravada Buddhist temple complex and garden. It’s a replica of Myanmar’s famed Shwedagon Pagoda, with many of its statues imported from the country.

10. Homegrown Fruits

credit: Matthew Oldfield

During a visit to Medan, Indonesia’s current president Joko Widodo took his time to visit Ucok Durian for the famed local durian, known for its sweetness. For more variety, head outside of Medan to Berastagi, where you’ll find the bustling Berastagi Fruit Market. Don’t miss the jeruk madu (sweet orange). Other local fruits to sample include salak, mangosteens and persimmons.

Local knowledge

‘Steeped in history as a trading town on the Strait of Malacca, Medan sits proudly as the gateway to Northern Sumatra, providing access to the stunning Lake Toba and the majestic yet fiery Mount Sinabung. But it’s rich mix of cultures make it much more than a gateway city, with a plethora of experiences, histories and sights to enjoy.’

Chris Bowden, Cathay Pacific’s country manager for Indonesia

‘The multiculturalism of Medan is not only gleaned through the city’s varied heritage sites but also in its culinary offerings. To savour the tastes of the city means sampling Batak, Jawa, Minang, Melayu, Indian and Chinese cuisines. They all influence and showcase the identity of Medan.’

Fred Reynold, director of sales and marketing at JW Marriott Medan

Cathay Dragon flies to Medan from Hong Kong three times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book