印度

10種不可錯過的印度美食

無論你快要前往印度度假,抑或只是想在你所處的社區找一間心儀的印度餐廳,請別忘了點選必吃的脆米沙律bhelpuri、香料牛油雞、香料抓飯以及多款地道小菜

隨便在印度某個城市的大街小巷或香料市場內閒逛一會,不知不覺就會被弄得暈頭轉向而迷路。不過,在百味紛陳的印度美食世界裡,不用擔心因為選擇太多而不知所措;就讓我們與你一起進行一趟滋味十足的香辣之旅,遍嚐咖哩角之外的印度美食。

Bhelpuri 爆米花

這是孟買街頭常見的地道小食,材料有脆米、花生、青辣椒與香濃的羅望子醬,味道略帶香辣,可以直接吃,或者以薄餅捲著吃,各種材料帶來豐富而平衡的口感,令人食指大動。

香料牛油雞

牛油雞發源自德里,深受當地人的喜愛。這道菜的重點是醬汁,以番茄、牛油及鮮奶油做成;這款醬汁由舊德里的Moti Mahal餐廳三位創辦人於1950年代創製。

至於雞則用乳酪、生薑、蒜蓉及紅辣椒粉醃過夜才煮,煮的時候除了在醬汁內加入新鮮番茄和香料之外,還加入一大塊牛油,因此叫做牛油雞。這種煮法讓香濃的醬汁滲入雞肉內,一口咬下,醬汁在口腔內四濺,立時齒頰留香,令你吃完還要再吃,欲罷不能。

羊肉咖喱

這是一道孟加拉邦風味的慢煮菜式,將羊肉與香料放進由洋蔥、生薑與蒜頭煮成的濃汁內燘煮而成,通常是在喜慶節日吃的菜式,加爾各答尤其喜歡以這道菜來歡度佳節。煮羊肉咖喱用的是芥子油,這是西孟加拉邦最常用的食油,因此令孟加拉邦的菜式帶有與別不同的風味。用慢煮的方式來燘羊肉,可以保留羊肉的鮮味,令肉質嫩滑,吃後回味無窮。

海德拉巴Biryani香料抓飯

Biryani香料飯是南亞的米飯菜式,以印度香米、肉類、乳酪及香料煮成。海德拉巴風味的香料飯則帶有莫臥兒及伊朗的烹飪風格,將生米和生肉加入香料,再放進陶罐內,以木柴或炭烹煮。煮飯的時間和火候均要準確把握,既要將肉煮熟,又不能令飯煮得過熟;過程雖然頗花精神和心思,但煮出來的香飯令人垂涎三尺,一切辛苦都是值得的。

馬沙拉薄餅

在一塊薄餅內塞滿加了香料的薯蓉,就成了美味的馬沙拉薄餅。這種食品源自南印度的卡納塔克邦,有非常悠久的歷史,據說可以追溯至2,000年前。首先在薯蓉內加入馬沙拉香料、再以芥子、芫荽葉、洋蔥、青辣椒、椰子酸辣醬及薑來調味,然後用薄餅捲起,再配上各式酸辣醬來吃,是理想早餐之選。

肉類串燒

在印度,肉類串燒並非將肉塊串在木簽上來燒那麼簡單。Kakori串燒與galauti串燒都是有百年以上歷史的傳統菜式:前者以絞碎的羊肉加入黑胡椒、蒜蓉及多種印度香料調味,後者以勒克瑙的製法風味最佳,據說用上逾150種印度香料來調味,因此味道層次繁富,令其他串燒相形見絀。肉餅在調味後於炭火上燒烤,讓你領略串燒滋味新境界。

Modak 甜蒸餃

Modak甜蒸餃在印度很多地方都十分流行,這種甜點用米粉或麵粉做成帶甜味的外皮,以鮮磨椰子碎及棕櫚糖作餡料,然後再拿去炸或蒸,吃的時候加上酥油,更加香口。這是傳統的甜點,每逢節慶,就會做來作應節食品。現在也有人用非傳統的餡料來做 modak甜蒸餃,例如番紅花、朱古力及果仁等,新口味令這種傳統美食更加吸引。

薯仔煮椰菜花

這是印度一道極常見的素菜,以薯仔、椰菜花與香料煮成,是其中一款必嚐菜式。薯仔煮椰菜花材料簡單而健康,帶有家常風味,可隨意配搭其他食物;配上淡咖喱、米飯及薄餅同吃,風味尤佳。有些餐廳會在材料中加入新鮮番茄和咖喱葉,令這道菜香氣更濃郁,色彩更繽紛。這是印度經典菜式,不可錯過。

Paddu鬆餅

Paddu鬆餅又叫kuzhi paniyaram或gunta ponganalu,是一種香脆中帶軟韌、內裡中空的鹹味薄餅;用黑扁豆及米做成粉漿再放入有圓形模子的鍋內蒸熟。這種鬆餅是下午茶時常見的小食,也可以做成甜味或香辣味,視乎在粉漿內加入的材料而定,例如紅蘿蔔、洋蔥、椰子或紅糖等。

天多利烤雞

發源自旁遮普邦的天多利烤雞是印度名菜,以香料和乳酪將雞塊醃過,再塗上燒烤汁,然後放入圓筒形的陶泥烤爐內燒烤。燒烤汁由多種香料調製而成,包括肉桂、月桂葉及丁香等,令味道層次更豐富。烤雞出爐後,略帶焦香,令人胃口大開。

國泰航空及國泰港龍航空每周設有由香港飛往班加羅爾,真奈,海得拉巴,加爾各答,孟買和德里的航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

India

10 must-try Indian dishes

Bhelpuri, butter chicken, biryani and more. Always best served in India. By KATY WONG

It’s easy to get lost in the spice markets and alleyways of India’s cities, but you needn’t be lost when deciding what to eat. Follow us as we go beyond the samosa, into a world of spicy, hearty goodness.

Bhelpuri

Bhelpuri

Made with puffed rice, tomatoes, peanuts, green chilies and a tangy tamarind sauce, this savoury dish is a classic street eat sold everywhere in Mumbai. It can be eaten directly or served with flatbreads and while it has a hint of spiciness, the ingredients bring a rich and balanced texture to this mouth-watering snack.

Butter chicken

Butter-chicken

Originally from Delhi, this dish is a favourite in the region. The centrepiece is a gravy made of tomatoes, butter and cream originally created by three founders of the Moti Mahal restaurant in Old Delhi in the 1950s. The chicken is marinated overnight with yogurt, ginger, garlic paste and red chilli powder.

The name comes from the huge chunk of butter that goes into the gravy alongside the fresh tomatoes and spices, creating a highly moreish tangy sauce that soaks into the chicken. Bite, then wait for the mini mouth explosion.

Kosha mangsho (mutton curry)

This slow-cooked Bengali-style dish features mutton cooked with spices in an onion, ginger and garlic gravy and is often served on festivals and special occasions, especially in Kolkata. It’s cooked in mustard oil, widely used in West Bengal and which gives a lot of Bengali dishes their distinctive flavour. Steam cooking the mutton also helps retain the flavours and tenderness, making this a lip-smacking introduction to Bengali cuisine.

Hyderabadi biryani

Hyderabadi-biryani

Biryani is a South Asian mixed rice dish made with Basmati rice, meat, yogurt and spices. The Hyderabadi version originally came together as a blend of Mughlai and Iranian cuisine and features raw rice and raw meat cooked together with spices in an earthen pot, over wood or charcoal. The meticulousness of the timing required to cook the meat without overcooking the rice makes this a tricky process, but the results are well worth it.

Masala dosa

A crispy crepe stuffed with a spiced potato mash, the masala dosa is a delicious, and ancient (some say it goes back 2,000 years) staple originally from South India. First made in Karnataka, the potato masala is seasoned with mustard seeds, coriander leaves, onions, green chilies, coconut chutney and ginger, wrapped up in a thin dosa and served with various chutneys. A perfect idea for breakfast.

Kebab

India-kebab

Kebabs in India are much more than meats grilled on wooden sticks. Kakori kebab and galauti kabab are traditional dishes with more than 100 years of history. The kakori kebab is made with minced lamb or mutton, seasoned with black pepper, garlic paste and other Indian spices. The galouti kebab, best served in Lucknow, is said to incorporate more than 150 Indian spices, giving it a flavour medley that leaves other kebabs in the dust. Roasted or grilled over a charcoal fire, these meaty patties redefine what you know as a kebab.

Modak

Modak

Popular in many parts of India, modak is an Indian sweet flour dumpling filled with freshly grated coconut and jaggery. Fried or steamed, it’s perfect served with ghee. This is also a traditional sweet prepared fresh for festivals and ceremonies. Today, new fillings such as saffron, chocolate and nuts are added to make those modak even more moreish.

Aloo gobhi

Aloo-ghobi

Made with soft potatoes, cauliflower and spices, this vegetarian dish is one of the most popular in India. It’s healthy and homely and goes perfectly with all sorts of other dishes, especially mild curries, rice and flatbreads. Fresh tomatoes and curry leaves are used in some restaurants to enhance the smell and color. A classic and a must-try.

Paddu

Paddu

Also known as kuzhi paniyaram or gunta ponganalu, this crispy-soft, savory puffed dosa is loved by adults and children alike. Crispy on the outside and soft in the middle, the batter is made of black lentils and rice. It can be made sweet or spicy depending on the mix ingredients, which can include carrots, onions, coconut or brown sugar. By steaming the batter using a mould, it’s a popular tea time snack.

Tandoori chicken

Chicken-tandoori

Marinated in a spicy yogurt marinade, the chicken in this famous dish is roasted in a cylindrical clay oven. The gravy is seasoned with spices and other aromatic inclusions such as cinnamon, bay leaves and cloves, building layers of flavor. Originally from the Punjab, a juicy yet slightly charred rendition makes for a perfect barbecue addition.

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly to Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai and Delhi each week. 

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book