都市生活

馬尼拉BGC特區十大熱門地點

帶你前往馬尼拉的新興時尚特區,探索波尼法西奧環球城的住宿、飲食及購物好去處

馬尼拉給人的感覺就像是一個匯聚多個城市於一身的大都會,總共劃分為16個行政區,包含了數以百計的社區。來到菲律賓首府,你可以前往Pasay的SM亞洲購物中心盡情享受減壓的購物療法、預訂一家位於馬卡蒂區的高級餐廳,或是到多間位於Parañaque區的賭場(如誘人的Lady Luck)試試手氣,若想徹底體驗大都會的觀光元素,就必須遊走城中各處。

但如果你想節省時間,來個精華遊,不妨逕直前往達義市的波尼法西奧環球城(BGC)。這個特區近期人氣鼎盛,是當前最「潮」的地區,幾乎每個星期都有新的熱鬧酒吧或餐廳開業,為本地人、遊客及伴隨著雨後春筍般落成的豪華公寓進駐區內的住客提供服務。

BGC所在的位置原是軍事基地,曾先後有美軍和菲律賓軍方駐紮,其後於1990年代移交給菲律賓基地轉換與發展管理局,以便將前軍事用地改建為供菲律賓人居住、工作及娛樂的社區。有關當局並未立即著手開發BGC,直到2000年代才開始進行,並持續至今,絲毫沒有放緩的跡象。我們為你精選下列BGC最佳住宿、飲食及購物場所,讓你體驗此時此刻的菲律賓時尚風貌。

Gallery by Chele

被視為菲國最佳餐廳之一的Gallery by Chele前身是曾在「亞洲50最佳餐廳」名列第35位的VASK,餐廳於2018年全面翻新,易名再度出發。大廚Chele Gonzalez和Carlos Villaflor打破空間與烹飪概念的界限,在室內擺設菲律賓設計師Kenneth Cobonpue匠心獨運的木造家具,並為菜式注入嶄新意念。革新後的餐廳氣氛更平易近人,大廚Gonzalez運用他在高級餐飲方面的背景,盡情探索本地食材的各種變化,不時推出創意獨特的新菜式,如近期最受歡迎的兩道菜:餡料包括魷魚粒、炸蒜末和日本七味辣椒粉的炸丸子black bombs,以及採用本地特產的紫色芋頭炮製的墨西哥卷Cebu tacos。

第39街與第11大道交叉路口,Clipp Center大樓5樓,+63 917 546 1673

Mercer St.

坐落在Uptown Mall商場的女性精品店Mercer St.專售本地設計師作品,其中包括許多尚未開設個人專賣店的新進設計師作品,若你有興趣發掘具有潛力的菲國創意新秀,這裡就是理想去處。店家由25歲的Nicole Co開設,她稱這間陽光充沛的小店為包羅萬有的一站式商店,層板及貨架上擺放了各式各樣商品,從護膚品到家居用品,應有盡有。讓人見獵心喜的商品,包括造型極為簡單、適合搭配任何服裝的Queen of Soles皮製拖鞋,條紋牛仔布製成的Hemlock連身褲、性感蛇皮印花的Eighth Mermaid比基尼,以及帶有咖啡香味的Bare Essentials手洗皂。

第36街Uptown Mall商場,+63 917 554 1716

Bank Bar

一如其他著名的大城市,近期風靡全球的雞尾酒狂熱亦席捲了馬尼拉。隱藏在一家7-11便利商店後面的Bank Bar酒吧,是BGC特區最受歡迎的飲酒場所之一。酒吧裝潢融入時下最流行的工業風,管線外露的天花板搭配天鵝絨座椅,營造出別緻的時尚感。酒吧擅長調製加入創新元素的經典雞尾酒,如松露味的T、帶有濃郁咖啡香的Cafe Negroni,以及點綴木屑以強調煙燻味的Smoked Amaretto Flip。

第26街312號RCBC Savings Bank Corporate Center中心地下,+63 2 8801 4862

Wild Flour Italian

在洛杉磯創辦餐飲機構Republique的Margarita及Walter Manzke夫婦於本地成立餐飲帝國Wildflour,展現了在BGC特區大張旗鼓的意圖。集團旗下最新成員Wild Flour Italian供應備受喜愛的意大利菜,包括一些其他餐廳從未推出過的菜式。除了經典的薄餅、自家製意粉,還有用上大量海鮮烹煮、適合涼爽氣候享用的燉海鮮湯cioppino,必須一提的是餐廳的番茄湯底和薄餅的番茄醬,都是採用被譽為「番茄之王」的San Marzano品種。

第26街與第五大道交叉口Net Lima Building大樓地下,+63 2 8856 7600

BGC藝術中心

Credit: Jonathan Tabisaura

這所藝術與科學中心於2016年成立,迄今已上演了多齣備受矚目的作品,如Andrew Keenan-Bolger的聖誕百老匯音樂會、音樂劇《蝴蝶君》,以及近期登場的Pinoy Playlist音樂節。這個舞台還用作音樂節目之外的活動,例如於特定周末舉行的藝術市集Art Mart,讓訪客欣賞及選購本地藝術家的創作。無獨有偶的是,營運BGC Arts Centre藝術中心的Bonifacio Art Foundation股份有限公司亦負責管理鄰近一帶的其他博物館。

第26街與第九大道交叉口,+63 2 7796 0189

Sarsa

Credit: Anjo Lapresca

知名大廚JP Anglo在馬尼拉開設五間供應高級菲律賓經典菜式的餐廳,深受當地人喜愛,而Sarsa更是讓初試者體驗菲律賓美食的絕佳地點。建議你試試虱目魚煮的sinigang魚湯(加入羅望子,帶有酸味)、palabok米粉(淋上大量的金黃色醬料及Anglo自製的XO醬),以及大廚的創意料理inasal烤雞,將雞肉醃製再以木炭燒烤,搭配多種蘸醬,保證讓你齒頰留香。

第25街與第七大道交叉口Forum South Global大樓,+63 2 866 0912

馬尼拉城堡香格里拉大酒店

Credit: Kevin Kaminski

樓高61層的馬尼拉城堡香格里拉大酒店是菲國首府其中一家最新落成和最時髦的酒店,提供種類廣泛的節目和設備,可說是匯聚視聽娛樂的熱點。酒店附設Provenance Art Gallery藝廊,經常舉行各種藝術展覽,展現菲律賓與時並進的文化盛況。餐飲選擇包括豐盛的自助早餐(堪稱冠絕馬尼拉)、斯里蘭卡著名餐廳Ministry of Crab的海外分店,還有一間獨具神秘色彩,以製作嚴謹的雞尾酒而著稱,甚至擁有調酒實驗室的The Back Room酒吧。

第30街與第五大道交叉口,+63 2 8820 0888

Elephant Grounds

Credit: Miguel Nacianceno

香港高級咖啡烘焙店Elephant Grounds首次進軍海外,同樣以賣相精緻的美食吸引Instagram愛好者拍照分享。菲律賓設計師JJ Acuña定居香港,亦曾為香港總店效力,他以木料材質的裝潢、翠綠的熱帶植物和賞心悅目的體育場座椅佈置,賦予這個空間盎然生氣。這裡供應的咖啡與南海彼岸的總店如出一轍,馬尼拉餐飲大亨Nicco Santos和Quenee Vilar則提供建議,根據本地人的口味將菜式做出一些微調。因此,你會發現除了牛油果多士,這裡還有三款米飯,其中一款放上菲律賓常見的早餐:醃牛肉tapa。

One Bonifacio High Street商場LG層,+63 999 887 1417

The Peak

高踞剛開業一年的馬尼拉君悅酒店60樓,餐廳及酒吧The Peak坐擁傲視菲律賓7,000個島嶼最高地標的遼闊景觀,將城市美景盡收眼底。同樣美輪美奐的室內佈置由Nao Taniyama & Associates設計公司操刀,以線條鮮明的燈具、混搭粗毛與絲絨等織品的佈置,以及隨處可見的雲石桌面,營造出豪華的頂層公寓氛圍。這所餐飲設施劃分為多個區域,其中威士忌吧坐落在低調隱密的角落,卻擁有豐富的藏酒量,供應眾多令人夢寐以求的佳釀,包括來自澳洲塔斯曼尼亞的Lagavulin 16 Year Old和Sullivans Cove雙桶單一麥芽威士忌。

第35街與第八大道交叉口馬尼拉君悅酒店60樓,+63 2 8838 1234

Case Study Atelier

2018年開業的Case Study Atelier裝潢以世紀中期現代主義為靈感,店內商品琳瑯滿目,其中不乏備受追捧的街頭服飾品牌,如來自托斯卡納的Uashmama水洗紙環保手提袋、以回收牛仔布製成的Converse限量版高筒運動鞋、Chinatown Market的笑臉圖案乒乓球拍,以及來自香港的Fingercroxx鮮豔霓虹色防風外套。

Bonifacio High Street商場104-1A單位LG層C2,+63 995 743 2259

Credit: Shutterstock
Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

10 Highlights of Manila’s BGC Neighbourhood

Where to stay, eat, drink and shop in Bonifacio Global City, Manila’s hottest ’hood

Metro Manila can feel like many cities within one; it counts 16 administrative districts, made up of hundreds of smaller neighbourhoods. Whether it’s retail therapy inside the commercial village Mall of Asia in Pasay or securing reservations at the fancy restaurants in Makati or tempting Lady Luck in the casinos of Parañaque, if you want to see all that the Philippine capital has to offer, you have to travel around.

But if you’d like a shortcut, head straight for Taguig’s Bonifacio Global City. BGC, as its often billed, has recently become the ‘it’ neighbourhood, where every week seems to usher in a new buzzy bar or restaurant – catering to residents of the luxury condos popping up at record speed, as well as other locals and visitors.

Previously, the land BGC occupies was used for military bases – first American then Philippine. It was turned over to the Bases Conversion Development Authority in the 1990s – with the aim of transforming former army properties into places where Filipinos could live, work and play – but it wasn’t until the 2000s that development of the BGC really got underway. Now the momentum shows no signs of slowing. To experience the best of the contemporary Philippines, follow our picks for where to stay, eat, drink and shop in BGC.

Gallery by Chele

One of the country’s finest dining rooms (the original VASK once ranked as high as 35 on Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants) was revamped in 2018. Chefs Chele Gonzalez and Carlos Villaflor completely reimagined both the space – now featuring architectural wood furniture by Filipino designer Kenneth Cobonpue – and the culinary concept of the rechristened Gallery by Chele. Today’s more accessible iteration uses Gonzalez’s fine-dining background to explore all that’s possible with local ingredients. The menu changes often, but ‘black bombs’ (croquette balls stuffed with chopped squid, burnt garlic and Japanese togarashi spices) and the Cebu tacos, which uses ube, or purple yams, for the colourful shells, are recent crowd-pleasers.

5/F, Clipp Center, 11th Avenue, corner of 39th Street; +63 917 546 1673

Mercer St.

A women’s boutique inside Uptown Mall that champions local designers (many of whom don’t have standalone shopfronts of their own), Mercer St. is perfect for discovering under-the-radar Philippine creatives. Owner Nicole Co, 25, calls her light-bathed shop a one-stop-destination, given the racks and shelves dedicated to everything from skincare to home goods. Some of the best finds include minimalist, wear-with-everything leather slides from Queen of Soles, stripe denim rompers by Hemlock clothing, sexy snakeskin-print Eighth Mermaid bikinis and coffee-scented hand soaps from Bare Essentials.

Uptown Mall, 36th Street; +63 917 554 1716

Bank Bar

Like most major cities, Manila is experiencing a cocktail boom. In the BGC, one of the most popular drinking dens is Bank Bar, a speakeasy concept secreted behind a 7-Eleven. Inside, there’s an industrial-chic vibe courtesy of the juxtaposition of the exposed ceilings and velvet chairs. The bar itself focuses on fancy twists on classic cocktails, like the truffled whiskey sour, the coffee-spiked ‘cafe negroni’, or the Amaretto Flip garnished with wood chips for a smokier profile.

G/F, RCBC Savings Bank Corporate Center, 312 26th Street; +63 2 8801 4862

Wild Flour Italian

The local Wildflour empire built by Margarita and Walter Manzke – founders of Los Angeles dining institution Republique – shows no signs of slowing down. Their latest project, Wild Flour Italian, celebrates some of their favourite Italian recipes, including ones that haven’t featured on any previous menus. Expect pizzas, house made pasta and a seafood-loaded, cool-weather-perfect cioppino (fish stew) featuring a San Marzano tomato broth from the same sauce used on the pizzas.

G/F, Net Lima Building, 26th Street, corner of 5th Avenue; +63 2 8856 7600

The BGC Arts Centre

Credit: Jonathan Tabisaura

Established in 2016, this destination for the arts and the sciences has already staged high-profile productions such as Andrew Keenan-Bolger’s Christmas Broadway concert, M Butterfly and the recent Pinoy Playlist music festival. But it’s not all singing here: on select weekends, for instance, visitors might get to peruse and shop the Art Mart bazaars, which highlights work by local artists. Not coincidentally, the BGC Arts Centre is run by the Bonifacio Art Foundation, Inc., which also oversees the neighbourhood museums.

26th Street, corner of 9th Avenue; +63 2 7796 0189

Sarsa

Credit: Anjo Lapresca

The five Manila locations of celebrity chef JP Anglo’s beloved local chain serve elevated takes on classic national dishes. In fact, Sarsa is an excellent place for the unfamiliar to begin their Filipino food education. Order the milkfish sinigang (a soup with a sour tamarind-base broth), palabok (a rice noodle dish slathered with a golden sauce and topped with a variety of ingredients including Anglo’s own XO sauce), and the chef’s speciality: the chicken inasal, charcoal-grilled marinated chicken that comes with a variety of dipping sauces.

Forum South Global, 7th Avenue, corner of 25th Street; +63 2 866 0912

Shangri-La at the Fort

Credit: Kevin Kaminski

One of the newest hotels in the capital region, Shangri-La at The Fort is also one of the swankiest. The soaring 61-storey hotel doubles as an entertainment hub, with extensive programming and amenities. Case in point: exhibitions held at the on-site Provenance Art Gallery, a showcase for the country’s growing cultural scene. Dining venues include a massive breakfast buffet (arguably the best in Manila), an outpost of Sri Lanka’s renowned Ministry of Crab and a clandestine speakeasy called The Back Room, which takes cocktail-making so seriously it has its own mixology lab.

30th Street, corner of 5th Avenue; +63 2 8820 0888

Elephant Grounds

Credit: Miguel Nacianceno

The first international branch of Hong Kong’s upscale coffee roaster boasts the familiar Instagram-friendly experience that the Elephant Grounds brand is known for. Hong Kong-based Filipino designer JJ Acuña, who also worked on the Hong Kong cafes, brought this space to life with wood accents, lush tropical plants and a handsome stadium seating setup. The coffee is the very same that’s brewing across the South China Sea, but celebrated Manila-based restaurateurs Nicco Santos and Quenee Vilar consulted on how to tweak the menu for the local palate. As a result, in addition to avo toast, you’ll find a trio of rice bowls including one topped with tapa, strips of cured beef typically enjoyed for breakfast.

LG/F, One Bonifacio High Street; +63 999 887 1417

The Peak

Crowning the 60th floor of the year-old Grand Hyatt Manila, The Peak restaurant and bar is the highest you’ll find on any of the Philippines’ 7,000 islands – with city views unfurling in all directions. The equally photogenic interiors by Nao Taniyama & Associates are meant to evoke glamorous penthouse living through sculptural light fixtures, a mix-and-match collection of textiles (from shag to velvet) and plenty of marble tabletops. While the whisky bar is the most intimate and subdued corner of this multi-section emporium, it’s no less opulent: a 16-year Lagavulin and a Sullivans Cove double-cask single malt from Tasmania, Australia, are among the covetable bottles.

60/F, Grand Hyatt Manila, 35th Street, corner of 8th Avenue; +63 2 8838 1234

Case Study Atelier

The mid-century-modern-inspired Case Study Atelier, which opened in 2018, is packed to the gills with some of the most sought-after streetwear brands: sustainable totes made of washable paper by Tuscany-based Uashmama; limited edition Converse high-tops fashioned out of renewed denim; graphic happy-face ping pong paddles by Chinatown Market; and bright neon windbreakers by Fingercroxx from Hong Kong.

C2, LG/F, Unit 104-1A, Bonifacio High Street Central, +63 995 743 2259

Credit: Shutterstock
Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book