丹麥

10個去哥本哈根的理由

丹麥首都的魅力並不止於童話故事《美人魚》。適逢國泰航空開辦飛往哥本哈根的服務,讓我們細數遊訪這個城市的十大理由。撰文 JAMES CLASPER

1. 全球最炙手可熱的美食

Copenhagen, Noma 2.0, salad with sea snail
Jason Loucas

曾幾何時,丹麥菜只令人聯想起醃漬鯡魚和豬肉,現在已不可同日而語,皆因它現已成為一眾破格餐廳的代名詞,例如Noma就因開創以本土時令食材入饌的先河,令哥本哈根成為覓食勝地。這家名為Noma 2.0的餐廳於2月遷址重開,再次成為城中最熱門的食府,而它開創的「新派北歐菜」更早已遍地開花,革新當地飲食文化。哥本哈根的而且確是個美食天堂,當地雲集16家米芝蓮星級食府,當中不少由曾在Noma工作的廚師主理,還有大量優質酒吧、咖啡館和麵包店供食客挑選。連傳統菜式如單片三文治smorrebrod也轉走高檔路線,至於丹麥人至愛的快餐食品:熱狗,近日也大多改由有機食材製作。

2. 單車天堂

每天都以單車代步的哥本哈根居民約佔62%,因此踏單車是體驗地道丹麥生活的捷徑。踏單車不但好玩、健康及環保,更幾乎是市內最快捷的交通工具。哥本哈根現時擁有長達350公里的單車徑網絡,大部分路段都與馬路分隔,故此在市內踏單車極其安全;加上設有大量著名的單車基建,例如造型奪目的Bicycle Snake單車橋,不難理解何以哥本哈根是全球最適合踏單車的城市(抱歉了,阿姆斯特丹)。

Copenhagen, Bicycle Snake
Ulf Svane

3. 新派佳釀

Copengagen, Mikkeller, Craft brewery
Camilla Stephan

正當哥本哈根的美食在過去十年改頭換面,這邊廂,當地的飲酒文化亦不遑多讓。大部分酒吧只供應嘉士伯啤酒的日子早已遠去,當地的MikkellerTo Øl等本土小型啤酒廠,在城中捲起了一場手工啤酒革命。其別具一格的自創啤酒現已於全城各地供應,例如在釀造廠兼酒吧BRUS或烤肉店Warpigs均可品嚐得到。同樣,本土烈酒製造商Empirical Spirits和Copenhagen Distillery,亦積極突破質素和味道的界限。現時天然葡萄酒在哥本哈根大行其道,許多饕客都摒棄傳統葡萄酒,選擇極少加工、只採用天然原生酵母發酵而成的「葡萄汁」;專門出售天然葡萄酒的酒吧、餐廳和商店,亦如雨後春筍般湧現。

4. 童話樂園

巴根遊樂園於1583年開業,號稱為全球最古老的遊樂園,坐落哥本哈根以北的
鹿公園Jaegerborg Dyrehave中,是一個詩情畫意、風景秀麗的森林樂園。不過,更值得一遊的遊樂園卻是位處市中心的蒂沃利花園,自1843年開業以來,一直吸引無數尋求刺激的遊客,當中包括童話作家安徒生,還有華特迪士尼,後者更深受啟發,設立自家主題公園。追求緊張快感的遊客大可選擇驚心動魄的機動遊戲,例如主打噴火龍和煙花效果的「惡魔」過山車;而園內的迷人建築、雅致花園和璀璨燈光,於晚間尤為壯麗,令訪客著迷不已。

5. 古今藝術

哥本哈根的藝廊和博物館涵蓋古典以至當代藝術品,迎合不同訪客的喜好。 丹麥國立美術館網羅Vilhelm Hammershoi等優秀丹麥藝術家的畫作,而新嘉士伯美術館則設有迷人的冬日花園,以及一系列古希臘和羅馬雕塑,教人歎為觀止。哥本哈根的前屠場區和北方市郊雲集當代藝廊,而位於城市以北的路易斯安那現代美術博物館,則收藏世界級的20世紀藝術和雕塑藏品。

6. 不對稱建築

哥本哈根雖欠缺像巴黎鐵塔或自由神像般舉世聞名的地標,市內卻不乏教人印象深刻的當代建築,特別是海濱一帶。丹麥皇家圖書館擴建的新館Black Diamond(黑鑽石)就是一例:這幢奪目的建築物於1999年落成,其黑花崗岩外牆和破格的平行四邊形造型,令黑鑽之名不脛而走。另一邊廂,市中心南部則有多座丹麥建築師Bjarke Ingels的代表作拔地而起,包括擁有梯級式天台花園的Mountain Dwellings,以及形狀如阿拉伯數字「8」的大型綜合住宅建築 8 House。

7. 海港暢泳

Copenhagen, Johns Hotdog Deli
Ulf Svane

打點行裝時,別忘了帶泳衣。哥本哈根已清理海港,讓人安心暢泳。市內現時設有四個公營海港浴場,每逢夏季擠滿了弄潮兒和曬太陽的遊人;天氣轉冷後,甚至可以看見無懼寒冬的勇者在海中載浮載沉。市內還有許多讓人可躍進海港暢泳的地點;其中一個熱門勝地是餐廳La Banchina對開的浮橋,這家時尚餐廳還設有自家流動桑拿浴室。城中連綿4.6公里的海灘,亦深受當地人歡迎。如閣下無意行下水禮,大可租借Go-Boat,在海港上悠閒蕩槳;這款太陽能小艇易於操控,是觀賞市內風光的妙法。

8. 爵士樂韻

Copenhagen, Lygtens Kro, live music
Ulf Svane

1950至1960年代,Ben Webster、Stan Getz和Dexter Gordon等美國爵士樂手湧至哥本哈根,令當地聲名大噪,從此它便成為全球其中一個最著名的爵士樂之都。其一年一度的爵士音樂節,至今仍然吸引全球各地樂迷前往朝聖。現在,聽眾幾乎每晚都可現場欣賞爵士樂演奏,地點包括Getz和Gordon曾演出的Jazzhus Montmartre,以及位於新潮社區諾雷布羅的餐廳Gaarden & Gaden等潮人熱點。城中最
歷史悠久的爵士樂殿堂是La Fontaine,這家格調閒適的爵士俱樂部以其周日晚上的即興表演時段著稱,Lady Gaga更曾於
該處舉行深夜音樂會。

9. 20世紀中葉設計

Copenhagen, Design Museum Denmark, Chair exhibition
Gerald Haenel/Laif/IC

哥本哈根絕對會令愛上丹麥設計的人樂而忘返:Illums Bolighus等高級家具店售賣20世紀中葉設計巨匠的作品,包括Arne Jacobsen和Finn Juhl等,而 Hay House 等精品店則網羅一系列當代時尚丹麥設計家品。丹麥藝術與設計博物館展出歷來所有經典產品,包括以椅子為專題的常設展覽。

10. 丹麥式幸福

眾所周知,丹麥人的快樂指數高踞全球榜首。該國除了社會較平等、人民互信度高之外(即使遺失錢包也很大機會可以尋回 ),工作和生活的良好平衡也應記一功。此外,還有丹麥的hygge(意思大約是閒適)概念,這種舒適溫馨的生活方式,於近年在世界各地掀起熱潮。舉例而言,在悠閒的哥本哈根來一趟公園野餐;或是在燭光搖曳的咖啡館裡與某人共享親密時光,那份難以言喻的窩心感覺就是「hygge」;或如The Happiness Research Institute學院主管Meik Wiking所言,那是「丹麥式快樂之中被忽略的要素」。

國泰航空於5月2日至10月26日期間設有由香港飛往哥本哈根的航班,每周有三班

Denmark

10 great reasons to go to Copenhagen

There’s a lot more to Copenhagen than The Little Mermaid. As Cathay Pacific begins flights to the Danish capital, we round up the top 10 reasons to visit the city. Words by JAMES CLASPER

1. The world’s hottest cuisine

Copenhagen, Noma 2.0, salad with sea snail
Jason Loucas

Danish food once meant pickled herring and pork. No longer. Today it’s synonymous with cutting-edge restaurants such as Noma, which pioneered a style of cuisine based on local and seasonal ingredients and put Copenhagen on the culinary map. Having reopened at a new location in February as Noma 2.0, it is once again the hottest table in town. But the cuisine it launched, New Nordic, has long since spread across the city, transforming its food culture. Indeed, with 16 Michelin-starred restaurants – many of them opened by former Noma chefs – plus an array of top-notch bars, cafes and bakeries, Copenhagen is a foodie’s paradise. Even traditional dishes such as smorrebrod, the open-faced sandwich, have gone upmarket, while every Dane’s favourite fast food, the hot dog, is more likely to be organic these days.

2. Cycling haven

There’s no quicker way to feel like a local than to jump on a bicycle. After all, some 62 percent of residents use a bike to commute to work or school every day. Not only is cycling fun, healthy and sustainable, but it’s almost always the speediest way from A to B in the Danish capital. Copenhagen now has a 350-kilometre-long network of cycle paths, the majority of which are segregated from traffic, making cycling in the capital extremely safe. Throw in plenty of iconic cycling infrastructure, like the eye-catching Bicycle Snake cycle bridge, and it isn’t hard to see why Copenhagen is the world’s most bicycle-friendly city. (Sorry, Amsterdam.)

Copenhagen, Bicycle Snake
Ulf Svane

3. New brews

Copengagen, Mikkeller, Craft brewery
Camilla Stephan

Just as Copenhagen’s food scene has been transformed in the past decade, so has its drinking culture. Long gone are the days when bars only served Carlsberg. The city has witnessed a revolution in craft beer, driven by local microbreweries like Mikkeller and To Øl. Today, you can find their imaginative beers across the city, such as at brewpub BRUS and barbecue joint Warpigs. Likewise, local liquor manufacturers Empirical Spirits and Copenhagen Distillery are pushing the boundaries of quality and flavour. Natural wine is all the rage in Copenhagen, too, with many foodies eschewing conventional wine for ‘juice’ made with hardly any intervention and fermented only with naturally existing yeast. In fact, there’s been a boom in bars, restaurants and shops selling only natural wine.

4. Fairy-tale parks

Founded in 1583, Bakken claims to be the world’s oldest amusement park. It’s surely pretty, set amid the bucolic woodlands of Jaegerborg Dyrehave, a deer park just north of Copenhagen. But the real jewel is the city’s other amusement park, Tivoli Gardens. Located in the city centre, Tivoli has attracted thrill-seekers ever since its launch in 1843, including fairy-tale writer Hans Christian Andersen and Walt Disney, who was inspired to launch his own theme park. While adrenaline junkies flock to white-knuckle rides such as The Demon – featuring fire-breathing dragons and fireworks – most visitors are charmed by Tivoli’s impressive buildings, pretty gardens and spectacular lights, especially at nighttime.

5. Art from past to present

From the classical to the contemporary, Copenhagen’s galleries and museums showcase art to suit every taste. The National Gallery of Denmark boasts paintings by pre-eminent Danish artists such as Vilhelm Hammershoi, while the Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek has a charming winter garden and a spectacular collection of ancient Greek and Roman sculpture. Copenhagen’s meatpacking district and northern suburbs are home to several contemporary art galleries, while the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, north of the city, houses a world-class collection of 20th-century art and sculpture.

6. Asymmetrical architecture

It may lack world-famous landmarks such as the Eiffel Tower or the Statue of Liberty, but Copenhagen’s skyline is dotted with impressive examples of contemporary architecture, especially along its waterfront. A case in point is the Black Diamond, an eye-catching extension of the Danish Royal Library. Completed in 1999, the building gets its nickname from its black granite cladding and parallelogram shape. South of the city centre, meanwhile, are some of Danish architect Bjarke Ingels’s most iconic buildings, including the Mountain Dwellings, distinguished by their terraced roof gardens, and 8 House, a large residential complex shaped like the figure eight.

7. Harbour swims

Copenhagen, Johns Hotdog Deli
Ulf Svane

Don’t forget your bathing suit: Copenhagen has cleaned up its harbour and made it safe enough for swimming. In fact, there are now four official Harbour Baths, which throng with swimmers and sunbathers during the summer. When it gets colder, you might even spot a few courageous winter bathers. And there are plenty of other spots for taking a dip in the harbour. One of the most popular is the pontoon outside La Banchina, a trendy restaurant with its own mobile sauna. Also popular with locals is the city’s 4.6-kilometre stretch of beach. And if you’d prefer to stay dry, spend a few hours puttering around the harbour in a Go-Boat: they’re solar-powered, easy to pilot and a delightful way to see the city.

8. All that jazz

Copenhagen, Lygtens Kro, live music
Ulf Svane

Copenhagen has long been one of the jazz capitals of the world, a reputation bolstered in the 1950s and 1960s, when American jazz musicians such as Ben Webster, Stan Getz and Dexter Gordon flocked to the Danish capital. And its annual jazz festival still draws global fans. Audiences today can catch a show most nights of the week at venues such as Jazzhus Montmartre, where Getz and Gordon performed, and contemporary spots like Gaarden & Gaden, a restaurant in the trendy Norrebro neighbourhood. But the oldest and cosiest spot in town is La Fontaine. Famous for its Sunday night jam session, it once hosted a late-night set by Lady Gaga.

9. Mid-century design

Copenhagen, Design Museum Denmark, Chair exhibition
Gerald Haenel/Laif/IC

Devotees of Danish design will be in heaven: high-end shops such as Illums Bolighus sell furniture designed by mid-century giants such as Arne Jacobsen and Finn Juhl, while boutiques like Hay House offer a stylish range of contemporary Danish design for the home. All the iconic pieces are on display at Design Museum Denmark, including a permanent exhibition solely about chairs.

10. Hygge life

Doubtless you’ve heard that the Danes are consistently ranked among the world’s happiest people. As well as their country’s low levels of inequality and high levels of trust – lose your wallet and chances are someone will return it – Danes point to their healthy work-life balance. Then there’s the Danish concept of hygge, a way of living that’s been trending globally in recent years. It means cosiness or conviviality, and you can experience it in the laid-back capital by picnicking in one of its parks, say, or by cosying up to someone in a candlelit cafe. That warm, fuzzy feeling? That’s hygge – or what Meik Wiking, head of The Happiness Research Institute, calls the ‘overlooked ingredient in the recipe for Danish happiness’.

Cathay Pacific flies to Copenhagen from Hong Kong three times a week from 2 May to 26 October

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book